DETAILED ACTION
Claim Interpretation
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 112
Claims 1-4 and 6-10 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 112(b) or 35 U.S.C. 112 (pre-AIA ), second paragraph, as being indefinite for failing to particularly point out and distinctly claim the subject matter which the inventor or a joint inventor (or for applications subject to pre-AIA 35 U.S.C. 112, the applicant), regards as the invention.
Claim 1 recites the limitation "the applicator tube" in lines 10 and 11. There is insufficient antecedent basis for this limitation in the claim.
Regarding claim 2, the recitation of "preferably" renders the claim indefinite because it is unclear whether the limitation(s) following the phrase are part of the claimed invention. See MPEP § 2173.05(d).
Claim 8 recites the limitation the reactive species" in line 2. There is insufficient antecedent basis for this limitation in the claim.
Claims 3, 4, 6, 7, 9 and 10 are necessarily rejected as being dependent on a rejected claim.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 102
Claim(s) 1-4 and 8-10 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 102(a)(1) and (a)(2) as being anticipated by RU 2 258 242 C1 to Pedder et al. (Pedder, see machine translation attached).
Regarding claim 1, Pedder teaches a device (Figure 2) for mounting on a plasma source (coaxial electrode system 5.2), including a housing (supporting dielectric housing 5.1) that delimits a space (activation region 5.14) between a plasma source (coaxial electrode system 5.2) and the housing (Figure 2), wherein the housing has an outlet opening (Figure 2) and an inlet opening (Figure 2), wherein a sealing element (support sealing sleeve 5.9) is situated around the inlet opening on which the plasma source is mounted (Figure 2), the sealing element being configured to close off the space between the plasma source and the inlet opening (Figure 2), and an applicator (Figure 2) with a proximal end (Figure 2), wherein the proximal end of the applicator includes an applicator tube fixing means (a removable outlet fitting 5.8) that is suitable for connecting to an applicator tube (cannula 7), and wherein the applicator tube is connected to the applicator fixing means by means of an adapter (nozzle 6).
Regarding claim 2, Pedder teaches the device of claim 1 as well as wherein the plasma source is a device for generating a cold plasma jet (abstract), the device preferably being a handheld plasma device (Figure 6).
Regarding claim 3, Pedder teaches the device of claim 1 as well as wherein the sealing element (support sealing sleeve 5.9) is a sealing ring (Figure 2).
Regarding claim 4, Pedder teaches the device of claim 1 as well as wherein the applicator tube is detachable fastened to the applicator (pg. 5, last paragraph which states in part “on the working part of the supporting body 5.1, a removable outlet fitting 5.8 is installed with a nozzle 6 connected to it and connected to a cannula 7…”).
Regarding claim 8, Pedder teaches the device of claim 1 as well as wherein the applicator tube is suitable for guiding the reactive species generated by the plasma source to the treatment site (Figures 2 and 6).
Regarding claim 9, Pedder teaches the device of claim 8 as well as wherein the applicator tube is configured in such a way that treatment sites can be reached (Figures 2 and 6).
Regarding claim 10, Pedder teaches the device of claim 1 as well as wherein the applicator tube is a hose, a cannula (cannula 7), or a catheter.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claim(s) 6 and 7 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Pedder.
Regarding claim 6, Pedder teaches the device of claim 1, but not wherein the applicator tube fixing means is a Luer lock connection. It would have been obvious to one having ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to have modified the applicator tube fixing means of Pedder to be a Luer lock connection as an obvious matter of engineering design choice because applicant has not disclosed that the Luer lock connection provides an advantage, is used for a particular purpose, or solves a stated problem. Furthermore, one of ordinary skill in the art would have expected Pedder and applicant’s invention to perform equally well with either the removable outlet fitting of Pedder or a Luer lock connection. Therefore, it would have been prima facie obvious to modified Pedder to obtain the invention as specified in claim 6, because such a modification would have been considered a mere design consideration which fails to patentably distinguish over the prior art reference of Pedder or the claimed Luer lock connection because both fixing means would perform the same.
Regarding claim 7, Pedder teaches the device of claim 1 as well as that the applicator tube is connected to the applicator tube fixing means via the adapter (pg. 5, last paragraph which states in part “a removable outlet fitting 5.8 is installed with a nozzle 6 connected to is and connected to a cannula 7…”), but not specifically that the applicator tube is detachably connected to the applicator tube fixing means via the adapter. It would have been obvious to one having ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to have modified Pedder so that the applicator tube is detachable connected to the applicator tube fixing means via the adapter, since it has been held that constructing a formerly integral structure in various elements involves only routine skill in the art.
Conclusion
/KAITLYN E SMITH/Primary Examiner, Art Unit 3794