DETAILED ACTION
Priority
Receipt is acknowledged of certified copies of papers required by 37 CFR 1.55.
Claim Interpretation
Drawings
The drawings are objected to under 37 CFR 1.83(a). The drawings must show every feature of the invention specified in the claims. Therefore, the first repercutor recited in claim 3 must be shown (including a labeled reference number) or the feature(s) canceled from the claim(s). No new matter should be entered.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 112
Claims 8 and 9 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 112(b) or 35 U.S.C. 112 (pre-AIA ), second paragraph, as being indefinite for failing to particularly point out and distinctly claim the subject matter which the inventor or a joint inventor (or for applications subject to pre-AIA 35 U.S.C. 112, the applicant), regards as the invention.
Re: claim 8. The phrase “a processing unit” is indefinite. It is unclear to the Examiner whether the processing unit of claim 8 is intended to be the same or different from the processing unit recited in claim 1. A similar issue exists with respect to the phrases “an adjuster”, “a shaft”, and “a device for monitoring wear”.
The remaining claim is indefinite due to its dependency from claim 8.
Claim limitation “a means of storing” recited in claim 8 invokes 35 U.S.C. 112(f) or pre-AIA 35 U.S.C. 112, sixth paragraph. However, the written description fails to disclose the corresponding structure, material, or acts for performing the entire claimed function and to clearly link the structure, material, or acts to the function. No corresponding structure is found in the disclosure Therefore, the claim is indefinite and is rejected under 35 U.S.C. 112(b) or pre-AIA 35 U.S.C. 112, second paragraph.
Applicant may:
(a) Amend the claim so that the claim limitation will no longer be interpreted as a limitation under 35 U.S.C. 112(f) or pre-AIA 35 U.S.C. 112, sixth paragraph;
(b) Amend the written description of the specification such that it expressly recites what structure, material, or acts perform the entire claimed function, without introducing any new matter (35 U.S.C. 132(a)); or
(c) Amend the written description of the specification such that it clearly links the structure, material, or acts disclosed therein to the function recited in the claim, without introducing any new matter (35 U.S.C. 132(a)).
If applicant is of the opinion that the written description of the specification already implicitly or inherently discloses the corresponding structure, material, or acts and clearly links them to the function so that one of ordinary skill in the art would recognize what structure, material, or acts perform the claimed function, applicant should clarify the record by either:
(a) Amending the written description of the specification such that it expressly recites the corresponding structure, material, or acts for performing the claimed function and clearly links or associates the structure, material, or acts to the claimed function, without introducing any new matter (35 U.S.C. 132(a)); or
(b) Stating on the record what the corresponding structure, material, or acts, which are implicitly or inherently set forth in the written description of the specification, perform the claimed function. For more information, see 37 CFR 1.75(d) and MPEP §§ 608.01(o) and 2181.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 102
Claim(s) 1, 2, 8-11, and 14 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 102(a)(1) as being anticipated by US Patent 5339069 to Penner et al.
Re: claims 1, 10, 11, and 14. Penner et al. show in figures 1 and 8 and disclose in col. 9 lines 65-68 and col. 10 lines 31-43 a device for monitoring wear of friction material in a drum brake system, wherein the brake system comprises an adjuster 15 that moves a shaft 11 of the brake drum shown in figure 6, the monitoring device comprising: a) a sensor assembly 25 that senses a relative movement between the adjuster 15 and the shaft 11, with the sensor assembly positioned in the brake system as shown; and b) a processing unit 42 communicating with the sensor assembly to acquire data on the relative movement between the adjuster 15 and the shaft 11, the data on the relative movement between the adjuster 15 and the shaft 11 being correlated with the wear of the friction material as described in the above mentioned column and line sections.
Re: claim 2. Penner et al. disclose in col. 9 lines 64-66 wherein the relative movement between the adjuster 15 and the shaft 11 is an angular variation, in which the processing unit 42 performs said correlation of the relative movement data between the adjuster 15 and the shaft 11 with movement data related to the wear of the friction material.
Re: claim 8. Penner et al. show in figures 1 and 8 a system for monitoring wear of friction material in a vehicle provided with a drum brake system comprising an adjuster 15 that moves a shaft 11 of the brake drum, the monitoring system being characterized in that it comprising: a) a device for monitoring wear of friction material as defined in claim 1; and b) a means of storing 43 at least one movement data relating to the wear of friction material; wherein, a processing unit 42 of the monitoring device converts a data of the relative movement between the adjuster 15 and the shaft 11 into said movement data related to the wear of the friction material.
Re: claim 9. Penner et al. show in figures 1 and 8 and describe in col. 10 lines 38-42 wherein the monitoring device is communicative with a remote station 40, in which the remote station receives movement data related to the wear of the friction material.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claim(s) 3-7, 12, and 13 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Penner et al. in view of WO-2012069068 (WO’068).
Re: claims 3, 4, 12, and 13. Penner et al. show in figure 8 wherein the sensor assembly comprises a first repercutor 25 associated with the shaft 11 but is silent with regard to a second repercutor associated with the brake system.
WO’068 teaches in claim 17 the use of a sensor 22 associated with an adjuster lever in connection with an s-cam shaft in a drum brake system.
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the invention to have modified the sensor assembly of Penner et al. to have included a second repercutor, in view of the teachings WO’068, in order to provide a means of more accurately detecting relative movement between the shaft and the adjuster and to provide a means of distinguishing between normal lining and lining wear and to help detect mechanical malfunction and excessive clearance.
Re: claim 5. Penner et al., as modified, teach in figure 5 of WO’068 wherein the second repercutor 22 comprises a sensing module positioned in a structure or the shown box at the end of the lead line of 22, in which the structure or box comprises a base or bottom surface associated with the adjuster 1 as shown in the left figure of figure 5, and a housing or the remaining surfaces of the box accommodating the sensing module in order to provide a means of protecting the sensing module from damage or debris.
Re: claims 6 and 7. Penner et al., as modified, teach in figure 5 of WO’068 wherein the housing or the surrounding surfaces of the box at the end of the lead line of 22 of the structure is fixed to the base or bottom surface and comprises an interface or intervening elements between the first repercutor and the second repercutor.
Conclusion
The prior art made of record and not relied upon is considered pertinent to applicant's disclosure. References: EP-3135948, WO-2012130253, KR-20080111718, and US Patent Application 2002/0104720 to Borugian teach the use of similar drum brake assemblies.
mmb
September 5, 2026
/MELODY M BURCH/Primary Examiner, Art Unit 3616