DETAILED ACTION
Specification
Applicant is reminded of the proper content of an abstract of the disclosure.
A patent abstract is a concise statement of the technical disclosure of the patent and should include that which is new in the art to which the invention pertains. The abstract should not refer to purported merits or speculative applications of the invention and should not compare the invention with the prior art.
If the patent is of a basic nature, the entire technical disclosure may be new in the art, and the abstract should be directed to the entire disclosure. If the patent is in the nature of an improvement in an old apparatus, process, product, or composition, the abstract should include the technical disclosure of the improvement. The abstract should also mention by way of example any preferred modifications or alternatives.
Where applicable, the abstract should include the following: (1) if a machine or apparatus, its organization and operation; (2) if an article, its method of making; (3) if a chemical compound, its identity and use; (4) if a mixture, its ingredients; (5) if a process, the steps.
Extensive mechanical and design details of an apparatus should not be included in the abstract. The abstract should be in narrative form and generally limited to a single paragraph within the range of 50 to 150 words in length.
See MPEP § 608.01(b) for guidelines for the preparation of patent abstracts.
The abstract of the disclosure is objected to because the abstract exceeds 150 words (231 words). The abstract also recites “casters is presented”, which should be “casters are presented”. A corrected abstract of the disclosure is required and must be presented on a separate sheet, apart from any other text. See MPEP § 608.01(b).
Claim Objections
Claim 6 is objected to because of the following informalities:
Claim 6 recites “such as telescopic lift platforms, freight elevators, telescopic arms, lifting systems among others”, which is missing “and” such that it is “and lifting systems among others”.
Appropriate correction is required.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 112
Claims 1-10 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 112(b), as being indefinite for failing to particularly point out and distinctly claim the subject matter which the inventor or a joint inventor, regards as the invention.
Regarding claim 1, the phrase "such as" renders the claim indefinite because it is unclear whether the limitations following the phrase are part of the claimed invention. See MPEP § 2173.05(d).
Claim 1 recites “its entire length” and “they reach its working height” but it is unclear which component “its” are referred to in each instance. Multiple components are introduced before “its” such that “its” could be any one of them.
Dependent claims 2-10 fail to solve the deficiency.
Claim 2 recites “the at least one endless screw-type axis is a TR-25 Spindle -Trapezoidal Thread screw” but claim 1 claimed that the system can either be “at least one threaded bar or at least one endless screw-type axis”. Claim 2 would seem optional if the chosen embodiment in claim 1 is the “at least one threaded bar” embodiment. Does claim 2 specifically claim for an embodiment that has “the at least one endless screw-type axis”? If so, a limitation is missing that sets that embodiment for the invention in claim 2.
Claim 3 recites “consists of three movable telescopic columns (3.2)” but the reference number in the paratheses only lists one movable telescopic column and fig. 10 only shows one column for column 3.2. What are the three movable telescopic columns?
Claim 6 recites “it is applicable” but it is also unclear what is “it”. Is it a component or referring to a general statement?
Regarding claim 6, the phrase "such as" renders the claim indefinite because it is unclear whether the limitations following the phrase are part of the claimed invention. See MPEP § 2173.05(d).
Claim 9 recites “the first control panel” but it is unclear if it is referring back to “at least one first drive panel” due to inconsistent terminology. It seems that “the first drive panel” is only for an embodiment in which there is only one first control panel but “at least one first drive panel” claims for embodiments that has one or more.
Claim 10 recites “the movable telescopic column” but claim 1 claimed for movable telescopic columns. It is unclear if claim 10 is referring to one of the plurality of telescopic columns or if it is a typo for the plurality of telescopic columns.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claims 1, and 3-8 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Sergio (BR 202021003709) in view of William (US 3688455).
Regarding claim 1, Sergio teaches of a mechanical system (abstract, mechanical lifting system) characterized by being powered by an electric motor (¶01 and 019, the system can be driven by electric energy and the tasks are carried out by a motor), wherein the mechanical system comprises:
- at least one threaded bar or at least one endless screw-type axis (fig. 9, threaded bars or screws 8; ¶04, uses endless screw-type axes) assembled with gears (gears 11) and connected to the electric motor (¶01 and 019, movement of the bar can be carried out by an electrically powered motor), such as to transmit rotary movement along its entire length (as best understood by the 112b rejection above, ¶04, a mechanical system composed of endless screw-type axes, mounted with gears that transmit the rotational movement along throughout its length): and
- telescopic columns (figs. 2 and 25, telescopic columns 3, guide column 13);
the telescopic columns (3) being composed of a fixed column (fig. 24, guide column 13) and a set of movable telescopic columns (¶029, telescopic columns 3 slide over each other) in which the movable telescopic columns are telescopically arranged and disposed surrounding the fixed telescopic column (seen in fig. 9),
the movable telescopic columns (3) being mechanically connected and actuated by the least one threaded bar or the at least one endless screw- type axis, such that the movable telescopic columns are telescopically and successively moved until they reach its working height (H) (¶04, a mechanical system composed of endless screw-type axes, mounted with gears that transmit the rotational movement along throughout its length, causing the columns to move successively until reaching their maximum height of 6 meters or standardized heights of 2 and 4 meters, or even within these ranges, a certain height desired by the operator).
Sergio does not appear to teach of the mechanical system being configured to perform a telescopic movement in an automated way.
William teaches of the mechanical system being configured to perform a telescopic movement in an automated way (col. 1 lines 50-55, a number of telescoping sections which can be raised and lowered automatically).
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to have modified Segio to incorporate the teachings of William of the mechanical system being configured to perform a telescopic movement in an automated way in order to free up time and energy from the user to move the telescopic columns and the user has time to do something else while the system automatically moves the columns.
Regarding claim 3, Sergio as modified teaches of claim 1, and characterized in that the set of movable telescopic columns (fig. 19, columns 3) consists of three movable telescopic columns (¶029, 3 of the four telescopic columns 3 from innermost to third innermost) and a movable telescopic column fixed to operator basket (fig. 26, ¶029, the fourth telescopic column 3 that is outermost, or fourth innermost, is movable up and down and is fixed to the operator basket 4).
Regarding claim 4, Sergio as modified teaches of claim 1, and characterized in that each movable telescopic column is actuated by at least one endless screw-type axis (¶004, a mechanical system composed of endless screw-type axes, mounted with gears that transmit the rotational movement along throughout its length).
Regarding claim 5, Sergio as modified teaches of claim 1, and characterized in that each movable telescopic column is actuated by exactly one threaded bar (fig. 8, the movable telescopic columns 3 is actuated by exactly one threaded bar 8).
Regarding claim 6, Sergio as modified teaches of claim 1, characterized in that it is applicable in equipment such as telescopic lift platforms, freight elevators, telescopic arms, lifting systems among others (abstract, is used for telescopic lifting platforms).
Regarding claim 7, Sergio as modified teaches of claim 1, and characterized by configuring a stable use in elevation at a working height H, with 0 < H < Hmax, in which
"0" corresponds to the height in non-operating mode, and
"Hmax" corresponds to the maximum height reached in operating mode (figs. 1-2, abstract, the lifting platform is configured for stable use in elevation at a working height between 0 and Hmax).
Regarding claim 8, Sergio as modified teaches of claim 7, and characterized in that the maximum operating height is 6m (¶04, the columns move successively until reaching their maximum height of 6 meters).
It should be noted that the maximum height as claimed does not show criticality as disclosed in the specifications or the drawings.
Claim 2 is rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Sergio as applied to claim 1 above, and further in view of Auto Linear Motion (Auto Linear Motion - TR-25 Spindle -Trapezoidal Thread screw).
Regarding claim 2, Sergio as modified teaches of claim 1, and characterized in that the at least one endless screw-type axis is Trapezoidal Thread screw dimensioned according to load and height to be lifted (¶030, The threaded bars (8) (of different lengths) are manufactured with a trapezoidal thread (ACME) with four or five entries, depending on the ascent and descent speed. The components are dimensioned according to load and height to be lifted).
Sergio does not appear to teach of characterized in that the at least one endless screw-type axis is a TR-25 Spindle -Trapezoidal Thread screw.
Auto Linear Motion teaches of characterized in that the at least one endless screw-type axis is a TR-25 Spindle -Trapezoidal Thread screw (p. 1, the threaded spindle screw is a Tr25X5 Trapezoidal Lead Screw).
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to have modified Sergio to incorporate the teachings of Auto Linear Motion of characterized in that the at least one endless screw-type axis is a TR-25 Spindle -Trapezoidal Thread screw dimensioned according to load and height to be lifted in order to use an endless screw-type axis with the required load capacity, speed, and drive torque for the invention’s application as motivated by Auto Linear Motion on p. 3.
Claims 9-10 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Sergio as applied to claim 1 above, and further in view of Masters et al. (US 20210221663), hereinafter Masters.
Regarding claim 9, Sergio as modified teaches of claim 1, but does not appear to teach of characterized by comprising at least one first drive panel and a second drive panel, the second drive panel having a selector switch in which:
in position MO, the first and second drive panels are off,
in position M1, the first drive panel is on and the second drive panel is off, so that the lifting or closing of the telescopic columns is performed by activating the first drive panel; and
in position M2, the first drive panel is off and the second drive panel is off and the second drive panel is on, so that the lifting or closing of the telescopic columns is performed by activating the second drive panel.
Masters teaches of (fig. 1) characterized by comprising at least one first drive panel (first boom control panel 142) and a second drive panel (second boom control panel 152), the second drive panel (152) having a selector switch (fig. 3, ¶0023, control panel 300, which may be used in the position of second boom control panel 152, has a key switch 332) in which:
in position M0, the first and second drive panels are off (¶0028, A power off position 340 interrupts all electric and hydraulic power operations except emergency lowering),
in position M1, the first drive panel (142) is on and the second drive panel (152) is off (¶0028, Turning key switch 332 to a PLATFORM (BOOM) position 338 selects operation from first boom control panel 142. The first drive panel 142 is active, or on, while the second drive panel is in active, or off), so that the lifting or closing of the telescopic columns (¶0025, telescopic columns of boom 116) is performed by activating the first drive panel (142) (fig. 4, lifting or closing of the telescopic columns of boom 116 is controlled by boom extension joystick control 406); and
in position M2, the first drive panel (142) is off and the second drive panel (152) is on (¶0028, Turning key switch 332 to a PLATFORM (WORK CAGE) position 334 selects operation from second boom control panel 152. Turning key switch 332 to a CAB position 336 selects operation from second boom control panel 152. The first drive panel 142 is inactive, or off, and the second drive panel 152 is active, or on), so that the lifting or closing of the telescopic columns (116) is performed by activating the second drive panel (152) (¶0023-0025, control panel 300, which may be used in the position of second boom control panel 152, has a boom control 324 to raise or lower, or lift or close, the telescopic columns 116).
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to have modified Sergio to incorporate the teachings of Masters of characterized by comprising at least one first drive panel and a second drive panel, the second drive panel having a selector switch in which:
in position MO, the first and second drive panels are off,
in position M1, the first drive panel is on and the second drive panel is off, so that the lifting or closing of the telescopic columns is performed by activating the first drive panel; and
in position M2, the first drive panel is off and the second drive panel is off and the second drive panel is on, so that the lifting or closing of the telescopic columns is performed by activating the second drive panel in order to operate the controls of the system when the user is facing in different directions or is in different locations, and to prevent commands from one control panel from interfering with the commands of another as motivated by Masters in para. 0003, 0019, and 0022.
Regarding claim 10, Sergio as modified teaches of claim 1, and (fig. 2) characterized by comprising a chassis (chassis 2) and an operator basket (operator’s basket 4), the fixed telescopic column (fig. 24, guide column 13) is fixed to the chassis (seen in fig. 24) and the movable telescopic column (3) is fixed to the operator basket (seen in fig. 15).
Sergio does not appear to teach of the telescopic lift platform having a first drive panel installed in the operator basket and a second drive panel installed in the chassis, the second drive panel having a selector switch, in which:
in position MO, the first and second drive panels are off,
in position M1, the first drive panel is on and the second drive panel is off, so that the lifting or closing of the telescopic columns is performed by activating the first drive panel: and
in position M2, the first drive panel is off and the second drive panel is on, so that the lifting or closing of the telescopic columns is performed by activating the second drive panel.
Masters teaches of (fig. 1) the telescopic lift platform (¶0002, the telehandler lifts a user by using a telescoping boom) having a first drive panel (first boom control panel 142) installed in the operator basket (personnel platform 128) and a second drive panel (second boom control panel 152) installed in the chassis (¶0022, second boom control panel 152 can be mounted on frame 102), the second drive panel (152) having a selector switch (fig. 3, ¶0023, control panel 300, which may be used in the position of second boom control panel 152, has a key switch 332), in which:
in position M0, the first and second drive panels are off (¶0028, A power off position 340 interrupts all electric and hydraulic power operations except emergency lowering),
in position M1, the first drive panel (142) is on and the second drive panel (152) is off (¶0028, Turning key switch 332 to a PLATFORM (BOOM) position 338 selects operation from first boom control panel 142. The first drive panel 142 is active, or on, while the second drive panel is in inactive, or off), so that the lifting or closing of the telescopic columns (¶0025, telescopic columns of boom 116) is performed by activating the first drive panel (142) (fig. 4, lifting or closing of the telescopic columns of boom 116 is controlled by boom extension joystick control 406): and
in position M2, the first drive panel (142) is off and the second drive panel (152) is on (¶0028, Turning key switch 332 to a PLATFORM (WORK CAGE) position 334 selects operation from second boom control panel 152. Turning key switch 332 to a CAB position 336 selects operation from second boom control panel 152. The first drive panel 142 is inactive, or off, and the second drive panel 152 is active, or on.), so that the lifting or closing of the telescopic columns (116) is performed by activating the second drive panel (152) (¶0023-0025, control panel 300, which may be used in the position of second boom control panel 152, has a boom control 324 to raise or lower, or lift or close, the telescopic columns 116).
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to have modified Sergio to incorporate the teachings of Masters of a first drive panel and second drive panel as claimed above in order to operate the controls of the system when the user is facing in different directions or is in different locations, and to prevent commands from one control panel from interfering with the commands of another as motivated by Masters in para. 0003, 0019, and 0022.
Conclusion
The cited references made of record in the contemporaneously filed PTO-892 form and not relied upon in the instant office action are considered pertinent to applicant's disclosure, and may have one or more of the elements in Applicant’s disclosure and at least claim 1.
/ZOE TAM TRAN/ Examiner, Art Unit 3647