DETAILED ACTION
Priority
Receipt is acknowledged of certified copies of papers required by 37 CFR 1.55.
Information Disclosure Statement
The Information Disclosure Statements filed on 11/27/2024 and 12/16/2024 have been considered. Initialed copies of form 1449 is enclosed herewith.
Claim Interpretation
Claim limitations in this application that use the generic placeholder word “mechanism” coupled with functional language without reciting sufficient structure to achieve the function are being interpreted under 35 U.S.C. 112(f) or pre-AIA 35 U.S.C. 112, sixth paragraph, except as otherwise indicated in an Office action.
Claim limitation “a kinematic adjusting mechanism … for transmitting an adjusting force” have been interpreted under 35 U.S.C. 112(f) or pre-AIA 35 U.S.C. 112, sixth paragraph, because it uses a generic placeholder “mechanism” coupled with functional language “for transmitting”; without reciting sufficient structure to achieve the function. Furthermore, the generic placeholder is not preceded by a structural modifier.
Since the claim limitations invokes 35 U.S.C. 112(f) or pre-AIA 35 U.S.C. 112, sixth paragraph, claims 1- 20 have been interpreted to cover the corresponding structure described in the specification that achieves the claimed function, and equivalents thereof.
A review of the specification shows that the following appears to be the corresponding structure of the limitations:
“a kinematic adjusting mechanism”: block (4) depicted in figure 2 comprising “two components” (Spec. ¶. [0061]).
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 112
Claims 1- 20 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 112(a) or 35 U.S.C. 112 (pre-AIA ), first paragraph, as failing to comply with the written description requirement. The claims contains subject matter which was not described in the specification in such a way as to reasonably convey to one skilled in the relevant art that the inventor or a joint inventor, or for applications subject to pre-AIA 35 U.S.C. 112, the inventors, at the time the application was filed, had possession of the claimed invention.
Re. claim 1, the claim element "a kinematic adjusting mechanism" is a limitation that invokes 35 U.S.C. 112(f) or pre-AIA 35 U.S.C. 112, sixth paragraph. However, the written description fails to disclose the corresponding structure, material, or acts for the claimed function. Examiner is unable to find the corresponding structure in the Specification because the sections of Applicant's Specification that discuss these elements do not include the corresponding structure (block (4) depicted in figure 2 comprising “two components;” see ¶. [0061]) of the Applicant's Specification.) Therefore, claims 1- 20 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 112(a) for failing to comply with the written description requirement. Appropriate correction is required.
Claims 1- 20 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 112(b) or 35 U.S.C. 112 (pre-AIA ), second paragraph, as being indefinite for failing to particularly point out and distinctly claim the subject matter which the inventor or a joint inventor, or for pre-AIA the applicant regards as the invention.
As the instant specification fails to disclose the necessary structure of the “kinematic adjusting mechanism” for performing the claimed function, the claim is rejected as indefinite, as per Aristocrat, 521 F.3d at 1337-38, 86USPQ2d at 1242. Mere reference to a general box without providing an explanation of the appropriate structure necessary to perform the claimed function is not an adequate disclosure of the corresponding structure to satisfy the requirements of 35 USC l 12(b ). Accordingly, the claim limitation is considered indefinite, as the metes and bounds of the limitation cannot be ascertained due to the lack of a disclosed structure for performing the function of the mechanism claimed in means plus function form. This rejection also holds for claims 2- 20 by virtue of its dependence on claim 1.
Claim 1 recites the limitation “a drive device for adjusting an interior assembly of a vehicle, at least comprising.” The transitional term "comprising" is inclusive or open-ended and does not exclude additional, unrecited elements or method steps. Therefore, the phrase “at least” is been unnecessarily added rendering the claim indefinite, because the claims includes elements and functions not actually disclosed (those encompassed by “at least”), thereby rendering the claims confusing, vague, and indefinite.
Claim 8 recites the limitation "the adjusting motor”. There is insufficient antecedent basis for this limitation in the claim.
Regarding claim 11, the phrase " in particular " renders the claim indefinite because it is unclear whether the limitations following the phrase are part of the claimed invention. See MPEP § 2173.05(d).
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 102
Claims 1- 10 and 14- 19 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 102(a)(1) as being anticipated by Golly et al. (US 20210362625 A1).
Re. claim 1, Golly discloses a drive device for adjusting an interior assembly of a vehicle (Figs 1- 3), at least comprising:
a motor-type adjusting drive (8) for generating an adjusting force (¶. [0039]),
a kinematic adjusting mechanism to be driven by the adjusting drive for transmitting an adjusting force generated by the adjusting drive to the interior assembly (¶. [0023]- [0024]),
a control device for controlling the adjusting drive (control element performing the control algorithm 400), and
an electronic detection device for detecting an adjustment event (sensor 9), in which at least one external force acts on at least one of the drive device and the interior assembly (¶. [0040]),
wherein the control device is configured to generate an opposing force via the motor-type adjusting drive in response to the detection of the adjustment event (¶. [0040]), which counteracts an adjustment of the interior assembly due to the external force (Fig. 4 and its associated text).
Re. claim 2, Golly discloses wherein the control device is configured to cause a reset of at least one of at least one component of the adjusting drive and at least one component of the kinematic adjusting mechanism (¶. [0012]) into a target position in response to the detection of the adjustment event via the motor-type adjusting drive and the opposing force generated therewith, and to keep the at least one component at the target position with the external force still applied via the generated opposing force (¶. [0017]- [0019] and ¶. [0038]- [0042]).
Re. claim 3, Golly discloses wherein the target position is specified as a position within a target range (¶. [0017]- [0019] and ¶. [0038]- [0042]).
Re. claim 4, Golly discloses wherein the control device comprises a memory and is configured to store the target position after an adjustment of the interior assembly has been completed under the action of an adjusting force generated by the adjusting drive (¶. [0038]- [0039]).
Re. claim 5, Golly discloses wherein the adjusting drive comprises a non-self-locking transmission (¶. [0023] and [0039]).
Re. claim 6, Golly discloses wherein for generating the opposing force or for increasing the opposing force the adjusting drive can be operated as a short-circuit brake (¶. [0019] and [0044]).
Re. claim 7, Golly discloses wherein the detection device is provided for monitoring at least one of at least one component of the adjusting drive and the kinematic adjusting mechanism (¶. [0015], [0020] and ¶. [0038] and [0041])
Re. claim 8, Golly discloses wherein the detection device is provided to monitor an adjustment position of a rotor of the adjusting motor (sensor 9 is Hall sensor sensing the motor shaft/rotor position ¶. [0022] and [0037]).
Re. claim 9, Golly discloses wherein a monitoring sensor system which is provided to detect the occurrence of an adjustment event via an adjustment of a component of the adjusting motor of the adjusting drive caused by the external force (¶. [0015], [0020] and ¶. [0038] and [0041]).
Re. claims 10 and 18, Golly discloses wherein the monitoring sensor system for monitoring the rotor comprises at least one Hall sensor or at least one analog, magnetic rotor position sensor (sensor 9 is Hall sensor sensing the motor shaft/rotor position ¶. [0037]).
Re. claim 14, Golly discloses wherein the detection device is configured to detect an adjustment event by an on-board sensor signal (see sensor 9).
Re. claim 15, Golly discloses wherein cyclically carry out a check for a possible change in an adjustment position (see control algorithm of Fig. 4).
Re. claim 16, Golly discloses wherein detect a change in an adjustment position in dependence on an operating mode of the drive device and in response thereto newly initialize a reference position for the at least one component, which is relevant for the detection of an adjustment event (see control algorithm of Fig. 4).
Re. claim 17, Golly, ¶. [0015], [0020] and ¶. [0038] and [0041].
Re. claim 19, Golly teaches a vehicle seat depicted in Figs. 1- 3.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claims 11, 13 and 20 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Golly et al. (US 20210362625 A1) in view of Samain et al. (US 20200369188 A1).
Re. claims 11- 12 and 20, Golly discloses wherein an adjusting motor of the adjusting drive is the adjustment motor 8 which “uses a pulse-width-modulated voltage and causes the adjustment motor 8 to perform a rotary movement” (¶. [0042]); however, it’s silence with regard to the motor been a DC motor, in particular a brushless DC motor. Samain a DC brushless motor electronically controlled to adjust the vehicle seat 10. Hence, it would have been obvious to one with ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention, to modify the invention of Golly with the teaching of Samain to implement BLDC motor as seat adjusting drive. Therefore, “implementing the motor 150 as a brushless motor may help to reduce noise and/or improve durability and reliability. Since motor 150 is used for driving both screw shafts 111, 112 and usage of multiple motors is therefore not necessary, excessive costs for using a brushless motor can be avoided.” (Samain, ¶. [0048])
Re. claim 13, the combination of Golly and Samain discloses wherein the detection device is provided to measure a motor impedance for monitoring an adjustment position of the rotor of the DC motor (using Ohm’s law, the impedance is proportionally related to motor current/voltage; hence, it would have been obvious to one with ordinary skill in the art to measure impedance of the motor for ease of calculation.
Conclusion
/SAID BOUZIANE/Primary Examiner, Art Unit 2837