Status under America Invents Act
Claim Interpretation
In the present application the “clamping means”; “diving means” and “biasing means” limitations of claim 1 are interpreted as being directed to the clamping means element 13, driving means element 32 and biasing means element 11 disclosed in the application and equivalents thereof.
Rejections based on Prior Art
Claims 1-13 and 18 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 102(a)(1) as being anticipated by Ertugrul et al (US 2018/0355914).
In regard to Claims 1 and 2, as annotated below in Ertugrul et al Figure 4, Ertugrul et al disclose a dental handpiece comprising a head 1, 10 and a clamping means/member 3 (note Fig 1) for clamping a dental drill 2 (illustrated in phantom Fig 1) wherein the clamping means/member 3 is rotatably arranged within bearing 7 having inner race 7.1 and outer race 7.4 that is fixed to the housing 10 of the head. The Ertugrul et al handpiece further includes a driving means (drive shaft 22, Fig 1) for driving the clamping means/member 3 about an axial direction of the drill axis 6; a push button (identified in the annotated Figure below) movable in an axial direction 6 against the spring biasing means (identified in the annotated Figure below) for releasing the drill from the clamping means 3. Further in regard to claims 1, 6 and 7, as identified in the annotated Figure below, Ertugrul et al a radial inner surface of the push button that contacts and slides over the radial outer surface of the bearing outer race which serves as a guide for the push button and wherein a radial clearance is provided between a radial inner surface of the housing and a radial outer surface of the push button. Additionally, it is noted than an annotated copy of applicant’s disclosed invention (Figure 2a) has been provided for comparing applicant’s disclosed and claimed elements with those of the prior art.
In regard to claim 3, note the identified bearing inner 7.1 and outer 7.2 races identified above in Ertugrul et al Figure 4 above. In regard to claim 4, the bearing inner race 7.1 is fixed about the clamping member 3. In regard to claim 5, the bearing outer race 7.2 is fixed to the head housing. In regard to claims 6 and 7, note the identified elements in the annotated Figure and the remarks above. In regard to claim 8, the identified push button of Ertugrul et al contacts and slides over the radial outer surface of the bearing outer race which serves as a guide for the push button. In regard to claims 9 and 10, note the identified biasing means in Ertugrul et al which is illustrated as a cone shaped spring. In regard to claim 11, the Ertugrul et al clamping member is a chuck illustrated with resilient arms for clamping a dental drill (note the similarity to applicant’s own clamping member/means). In regard to claims 12 and 13, Ertugrul et al illustrates a hollow shaft 4 (note Figure 1) that receives the chuck 3 and which rotates within the head (via the drive means/shaft 22). With regard to claim 18 the identified push button of Ertugrul et al above is a “single piece.”
Claims 14-17 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Ertugrul et al (US 2018/0355914) in view of Mosimann (US 4,773,856).
As set forth above Ertugrul et al disclose all of the limitations of the parent claims. In regard to the limitations of dependent claims 14, 16 and 17 requiring that the clamping member include an axially movable ball in the hollow shaft, that is in direct contact with the arms of the chuck, and protrudes from an upper end of the hollow shaft; Ertugrul et al discloses a cone shaped wedge member that is axially movable within the shaft, is in direct contact with the arms of the chuck, and protrudes from the hollow shaft upper end (see Figure 4) rather than the claimed ball. Mosimann, however, teaches the use of a ball 21 protruding from the upper end of a hollow shaft 9 in a push button release for a dental hand piece that helps to reduce wear and overheating of the push button mechanism (note particularly column 3, lines 8-15). To have replaced the cone shaped wedge member of Ertugrul et al with a ball member 21 as taught by Mosimann in order to reduce wear and overheating would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention. In regard to claim 15 requiring the ball to be made of a ceramic material, Mosimann discloses that the ball is made of ceramic (column 3, line 47).
Claims 19 and 20 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Ertugrul et al (US 2018/0355914)(hereinafter Ertugrul et al ‘914) in view of Ertugrul et al (US 2022/007710)(hereinafter Ertugrul et al ‘710).
As set forth above Ertugrul et al ‘914 disclose all of the limitations of parent claim 2. In regard to two-piece push button limitations where one piece is a cap and the other a hat-shaped flange in dependent claims 19 and 20, Ertugrul et al ‘710 for a very similar dental handpiece push button release teaches forming the push button of two pieces including an outer cap 42 and a hat shaped flange 54 (note particularly Figures 3 and 4) for the purpose helping to prevent excessive heat on the outer surface of the push button (note particularly paragraphs [0010] and [0027]). To have formed the Ertugrul et al ‘914 push button (annotated Figure 4 above) as an outer cap and inner hat shaped flange collar as taught by Ertugrul et al ‘710 in order to reduce heat build up on the outer surface of the button as taught by Ertugrul et al ‘914 would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention.
/RALPH A LEWIS/Primary Examiner, Art Unit 3772 (571) 272-4712
/EDELMIRA BOSQUES/Supervisory Patent Examiner, Art Unit 3772