CTNF 18/870,309 CTNF 92185 DETAILED ACTION Notice of AIA Status 07-03-aia AIA 15-10-aia The present application, filed on or after March 16, 2013, is being examined under the first inventor to file provisions of the AIA. This action is in response to application 18870309 filed on 11/27/2024. Claims 17-36 are presented for examination. Priority Acknowledgment is made of applicant’s claim for foreign priority under 35 U.S.C. 119 (a)-(d). The certified copy of foreign priority document, Application No. EP22183493.0, filed in European Patent office on 07/07/2022, has been received. Claim Objections 07-29-01 AIA Claim 20 is objected to because of the following informalities: In line 3 of claim 20, “a a driving direction” should read “a driving direction” . Appropriate correction is required. 07-30-03-h AIA Claim Interpretation 07-30-03 AIA The following is a quotation of 35 U.S.C. 112(f): (f) Element in Claim for a Combination. – An element in a claim for a combination may be expressed as a means or step for performing a specified function without the recital of structure, material, or acts in support thereof, and such claim shall be construed to cover the corresponding structure, material, or acts described in the specification and equivalents thereof. The following is a quotation of pre-AIA 35 U.S.C. 112, sixth paragraph: An element in a claim for a combination may be expressed as a means or step for performing a specified function without the recital of structure, material, or acts in support thereof, and such claim shall be construed to cover the corresponding structure, material, or acts described in the specification and equivalents thereof. 07-30-05 The claims in this application are given their broadest reasonable interpretation using the plain meaning of the claim language in light of the specification as it would be understood by one of ordinary skill in the art. The broadest reasonable interpretation of a claim element (also commonly referred to as a claim limitation) is limited by the description in the specification when 35 U.S.C. 112(f) or pre-AIA 35 U.S.C. 112, sixth paragraph, is invoked. As explained in MPEP § 2181, subsection I, claim limitations that meet the following three-prong test will be interpreted under 35 U.S.C. 112(f) or pre-AIA 35 U.S.C. 112, sixth paragraph: (A) the claim limitation uses the term “means” or “step” or a term used as a substitute for “means” that is a generic placeholder (also called a nonce term or a non-structural term having no specific structural meaning) for performing the claimed function; (B) the term “means” or “step” or the generic placeholder is modified by functional language, typically, but not always linked by the transition word “for” (e.g., “means for”) or another linking word or phrase, such as “configured to” or “so that”; and (C) the term “means” or “step” or the generic placeholder is not modified by sufficient structure, material, or acts for performing the claimed function. Use of the word “means” (or “step”) in a claim with functional language creates a rebuttable presumption that the claim limitation is to be treated in accordance with 35 U.S.C. 112(f) or pre-AIA 35 U.S.C. 112, sixth paragraph. The presumption that the claim limitation is interpreted under 35 U.S.C. 112(f) or pre-AIA 35 U.S.C. 112, sixth paragraph, is rebutted when the claim limitation recites sufficient structure, material, or acts to entirely perform the recited function. Absence of the word “means” (or “step”) in a claim creates a rebuttable presumption that the claim limitation is not to be treated in accordance with 35 U.S.C. 112(f) or pre-AIA 35 U.S.C. 112, sixth paragraph. The presumption that the claim limitation is not interpreted under 35 U.S.C. 112(f) or pre-AIA 35 U.S.C. 112, sixth paragraph, is rebutted when the claim limitation recites function without reciting sufficient structure, material or acts to entirely perform the recited function. Claim limitations in this application that use the word “means” (or “step”) are being interpreted under 35 U.S.C. 112(f) or pre-AIA 35 U.S.C. 112, sixth paragraph, except as otherwise indicated in an Office action. Conversely, claim limitations in this application that do not use the word “means” (or “step”) are not being interpreted under 35 U.S.C. 112(f) or pre-AIA 35 U.S.C. 112, sixth paragraph, except as otherwise indicated in an Office action. 07-30-06 This application includes one or more claim limitations that do not use the word “means,” but are nonetheless being interpreted under 35 U.S.C. 112(f) or pre-AIA 35 U.S.C. 112, sixth paragraph, because the claim limitation(s) uses a generic placeholder that is coupled with functional language without reciting sufficient structure to perform the recited function and the generic placeholder is not preceded by a structural modifier. Such claim limitation(s) is/are: “ control unit ” and “ evaluation unit ” in claim 35 . Because this/these claim limitation(s) is/are being interpreted under 35 U.S.C. 112(f) or pre-AIA 35 U.S.C. 112, sixth paragraph, it/they is/are being interpreted to cover the corresponding structure described in the specification as performing the claimed function, and equivalents thereof. The specification and drawings only refer to “ control unit ” as reference numeral 9 and “ evaluation unit ” as reference numeral 8. If applicant does not intend to have this/these limitation(s) interpreted under 35 U.S.C. 112(f) or pre-AIA 35 U.S.C. 112, sixth paragraph, applicant may: (1) amend the claim limitation(s) to avoid it/them being interpreted under 35 U.S.C. 112(f) or pre-AIA 35 U.S.C. 112, sixth paragraph (e.g., by reciting sufficient structure to perform the claimed function); or (2) present a sufficient showing that the claim limitation(s) recite(s) sufficient structure to perform the claimed function so as to avoid it/them being interpreted under 35 U.S.C. 112(f) or pre-AIA 35 U.S.C. 112, sixth paragraph. Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 112 07-30-02 AIA The following is a quotation of 35 U.S.C. 112(b): (b) CONCLUSION.—The specification shall conclude with one or more claims particularly pointing out and distinctly claiming the subject matter which the inventor or a joint inventor regards as the invention. The following is a quotation of 35 U.S.C. 112 (pre-AIA), second paragraph: The specification shall conclude with one or more claims particularly pointing out and distinctly claiming the subject matter which the applicant regards as his invention. 07-34-23 Claim limitations “ control unit ” and “ evaluation unit ” invoke 35 U.S.C. 112(f) or pre-AIA 35 U.S.C. 112, sixth paragraph. However, the written description fails to disclose the corresponding structure, material, or acts for performing the entire claimed function and to clearly link the structure, material, or acts to the function. The specification and drawings only refer to “ control unit ” as reference numeral 9 and “ evaluation unit ” as reference numeral 8 without disclosing what the particular structures are for the two units. Therefore, the claim is indefinite and is rejected under 35 U.S.C. 112(b) or pre-AIA 35 U.S.C. 112, second paragraph. Applicant may: (a) Amend the claim so that the claim limitation will no longer be interpreted as a limitation under 35 U.S.C. 112(f) or pre-AIA 35 U.S.C. 112, sixth paragraph; (b) Amend the written description of the specification such that it expressly recites what structure, material, or acts perform the entire claimed function, without introducing any new matter (35 U.S.C. 132(a)); or (c) Amend the written description of the specification such that it clearly links the structure, material, or acts disclosed therein to the function recited in the claim, without introducing any new matter (35 U.S.C. 132(a)). If applicant is of the opinion that the written description of the specification already implicitly or inherently discloses the corresponding structure, material, or acts and clearly links them to the function so that one of ordinary skill in the art would recognize what structure, material, or acts perform the claimed function, applicant should clarify the record by either: (a) Amending the written description of the specification such that it expressly recites the corresponding structure, material, or acts for performing the claimed function and clearly links or associates the structure, material, or acts to the claimed function, without introducing any new matter (35 U.S.C. 132(a)); or (b) Stating on the record what the corresponding structure, material, or acts, which are implicitly or inherently set forth in the written description of the specification, perform the claimed function. For more information, see 37 CFR 1.75(d) and MPEP §§ 608.01(o) and 2181. Prior Art Rejections 07-06 AIA 15-10-15 In the event the determination of the status of the application as subject to AIA 35 U.S.C. 102 and 103 is incorrect, any correction of the statutory basis for the rejection will not be considered a new ground of rejection if the prior art relied upon, and the rationale supporting the rejection, would be the same under either status. Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 102 07-07-aia AIA 07-07 The following is a quotation of the appropriate paragraphs of 35 U.S.C. 102 that form the basis for the rejections under this section made in this Office action: A person shall be entitled to a patent unless – 07-08-aia AIA (a)(1) the claimed invention was patented, described in a printed publication, or in public use, on sale, or otherwise available to the public before the effective filing date of the claimed invention. 07-15 AIA Claim s 17-27, 30, 35 and 36 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 102( a)(1 ) as being anticipated by Nagano et al. (US Patent Pub. No. 2019/0011712 A1) Regarding claim 17, Nagano teaches a method of controlling a display device in a vehicle having a driver thereof (Nagano, Figs. 8-10, and [0082]-[0088], mirror adjustment method for virtual image in a vehicle), the method comprising: providing a content to be displayed by the display device (Nagano, Figs. 1-2 and [0055], image display device receive image signal to be displayed); determining a drive situation dependent condition (Nagano, [0138], determine the direction and size of steering angle); determining a view adjustment function based at least in part on the determined drive dependent condition, the view adjustment function including a positional adjustment and a perspective adjustment of a view of the content (Nagano, [0137]-[0138], adjust display area in conjunction with the steering wheel operation; Nagano, Figs. 22, 27 and 30; Nagano, [0062], mirror adjustment signal); determining an adjusted view of the content in accordance with the view adjustment function (Nagano, Figs. 22, 27 and 30, virtual image can be adjusted); and displaying the content in the adjusted view (Nagano, Figs. 22, 27 and 30, adjusted virtual image). Regarding claim 18, Nagano teaches the limitations of claim 17 and further teaches the drive situation dependent condition comprises a direction of gaze of the driver (Nagano, [0115], adjust based on driver’s eye point movement and visual line direction). Regarding claim 19, Nagano teaches the limitations of claim 18 and further teaches the direction of gaze is determined at least in part using an in-vehicle camera, wherein the camera is directed to the driver to capture a motion of at least one of the group consisting of a head of the driver and eyes of the driver (Nagano, [0060], camera inside of the vehicle determine posture, which includes head, and position and movement of eye of driver). Regarding claim 20, Nagano teaches the limitations of claim 18 and further teaches determining the view adjustment function includes determining the view adjustment function further based on a driving direction of the vehicle (Nagano, [0118], vehicle traveling direction). Regarding claim 21, Nagano teaches the limitations of claim 20 and further teaches the drive situation dependent condition comprises a driving direction of the vehicle (Nagano, [0118], steering wheel operation correlate with driving direction). Regarding claim 22, Nagano teaches the limitations of claim 21 and further teaches the driving direction of the vehicle is determined by determining a steering wheel angle (Nagano, [0118] and [0138], driving direction is according to steering wheel operation/angle). Regarding claim 23, Nagano teaches the limitations of claim 17 and further teaches the positional adjustment includes a horizontal movement of the content in accordance with a gaze-horizon-view angle of the driver (Nagano, [0115]-[0121], determine visual line of driver and adjust HUD at optimum position; Nagano, Figs. 22, 27 and 30, adjusted virtual image horizontally). Regarding claim 24, Nagano teaches the limitations of claim 23 and further teaches the perspective adjustment is determined based on the positional adjustment (Nagano, [0133], [0136] and Figs. 25A-25B, move display position of image left or right as viewed by driver’s eye). Regarding claim 25, Nagano teaches the limitations of claim 17 and further teaches the perspective adjustment is determined based on the positional adjustment (Nagano, [0137]-[0138], adjust display area in conjunction with the steering wheel operation). Regarding claim 26, Nagano teaches the limitations of claim 17 and further teaches the perspective adjustment includes a distortion of the content such that the content appears with consistent proportions of dimensions for the driver in each adjusted view of the content (Nagano, [0140], distortion correction). Regarding claim 27, Nagano teaches the limitations of claim 17 and further teaches the content is displayed on a virtual curved surface at least partially surrounding the driver, wherein at least one of the positional adjustment and the perspective adjustment includes a movement of the content along the virtual curved surface (Nagano, [0067], projection of image on a curved shape of the windshield). Regarding claim 30, Nagano teaches the limitations of claim 17 and further teaches the display device is a head-up display of the vehicle (Nagano, [0012]-[0013], head up display mounted on a vehicle). Regarding claim 35, Nagano teaches the limitations of claim 17 and further teaches a data processing system for controlling a display device in a vehicle (Nagano, Fig. 1, vehicle 1), wherein: the system is configured to perform the method of claim 17, and the system comprises, an evaluation unit and a control unit, wherein the evaluation unit is configured to determine the drive situation dependent condition and to determine the view adjustment function based on the determined drive dependent condition (Nagano, Fig. 2, vehicle information acquisition unit 5), and the control unit is configured to control the display device to cause the display device to display the content in the adjusted view (Nagano, Fig. 2, electronic control unit 11). Regarding claim 36, Nagano teaches the limitations of claim 17 and further teaches a non-transitory storage medium containing a computer program comprising instructions, which when executed on one or more processors, causes a system to perform the method according to claim 17 (Nagano, [0055] and Fig. 2, nonvolatile memory 13 storing program) . Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103 07-20-aia AIA The following is a quotation of 35 U.S.C. 103 which forms the basis for all obviousness rejections set forth in this Office action: A patent for a claimed invention may not be obtained, notwithstanding that the claimed invention is not identically disclosed as set forth in section 102, if the differences between the claimed invention and the prior art are such that the claimed invention as a whole would have been obvious before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to a person having ordinary skill in the art to which the claimed invention pertains. Patentability shall not be negated by the manner in which the invention was made. 07-21-aia AIA Claim 28 is rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Nagano et al. (US Patent Pub. No. 2019/0011712 A1) in view of Funabiki et al. (US Patent Pub. No. 2019/0392740 A1) Regarding claim 28, Nagano teaches the limitations of claim 17. Nagano does not seem to explicitly teach the drive situation dependent condition comprises at least one of an acceleration and a deceleration of the vehicle, wherein in case of an acceleration of the vehicle the adjustment function is determined such that the content appears farther away from the driver in the adjusted view, and in case of an acceleration of the vehicle the adjustment function is determined such that the content appears closer to the driver in the adjusted view. However, in a related art of head-up display, Funabiki teaches the drive situation dependent condition comprises at least one of an acceleration and a deceleration of the vehicle, wherein in case of an acceleration of the vehicle the adjustment function is determined such that the content appears farther away from the driver in the adjusted view, and in case of an acceleration of the vehicle the adjustment function is determined such that the content appears closer to the driver in the adjusted view (Funabiki, [0086], acceleration extending projection distance, and deceleration shortening projection distance). Before the time of the first effective filing of the claimed invention, it would have been obvious to a person ordinary skill in the art to incorporate the adjustment of the virtual display method as suggested by Funabiki in the head-up display of Nagano. The suggestion/motivation would have been in order to have the image match the focus of the driver without making the change very noticeable by the driver (Funabiki, [0063] and [0086]) . 07-21-aia AIA Claim 29 is rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Nagano et al. (US Patent Pub. No. 2019/0011712 A1) in view of Ding (US Patent Pub. No. 2020/0152156 A1) . Regarding claim 29, Nagano teaches the limitations of claim 17. Nagano does not seem to explicitly teach providing a background to be displayed by the display device along with the content, wherein the view adjustment function comprises a movement of the background relative to the content. However, in a related art of providing head-up display, Ding teaches providing a background to be displayed by the display device along with the content, wherein the view adjustment function comprises a movement of the background relative to the content (Ding, [0017], background image with the HUD image, i.e., locate where the HUD is located). Before the time of the first effective filing of the claimed invention, it would have been obvious to a person ordinary skill in the art to further include background image as suggested by Ding in the head-up display of Nagano and the background image follow the shifting of the image in Nagano. The suggestion/motivation would have been in order to avoid having the head-up display image confused with overlapping objects from outside of the vehicle (Ding, [0017]) . 07-21-aia AIA Claim 31 is rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Nagano et al. (US Patent Pub. No. 2019/0011712 A1) in view of Hans et al. (US Patent Pub. No. 2016/0001807 A1) Regarding claim 31, Nagano teaches the limitations of claim 17. Nagano does not seem to explicitly teach the display device is a display in a steering wheel of the vehicle. However, in a related art of providing information for a driver of a vehicle, Hans teaches a display device is a display in a steering wheel of the vehicle (Hans, Fig. 1 and [0016], present information on a screen of a steering wheel). Before the time of the first effective filing of the claimed invention, it would have been obvious to a person ordinary skill in the art to further include a display on the steering as suggested by Hans in the device of Nagano. The suggestion/motivation would have been in order to provide more area to display relevant information to the driver (Hans, [0004]) . 07-21-aia AIA Claim s 32 and 33 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Nagano et al. (US Patent Pub. No. 2019/0011712 A1) in view of Kim et al. (US Patent Pub. No. 2019/0315275 A1) Regarding claim 32, Nagano teaches the limitations of claim 17. Nagano does not seem to explicitly teach the display device is a display in at least one of the group consisting of a central console, a dashboard, a rear-view mirror, and a side-view mirror of the vehicle. However, in a related art of providing information to a driver of a vehicle, Kim teaches a display device is a display in at least one of the group consisting of a central console, a dashboard, a rear-view mirror, and a side-view mirror of the vehicle (Kim, Figs. 14B, 19, 21 and 22, displays in various location of the interior of the vehicle). Before the time of the first effective filing of the claimed invention, it would have been obvious to a person ordinary skill in the art to further include the extra displays as suggested by Kim in the device of Nagano. The suggestion/motivation would have been in order to increase the field of vision of the driver (Kim, [0209]-[0210]). Regarding claim 33, Nagano teaches the limitations of claim 17. Nagano does not seem to explicitly teach the display device is a display in a region adjacent to a windshield of the vehicle. However, in a related art of providing information to a driver of a vehicle, Kim teaches a display device is a display in a region adjacent to a windshield of the vehicle (Kim, 13A, 13B, assistant display 172). Before the time of the first effective filing of the claimed invention, it would have been obvious to a person ordinary skill in the art to further include the extra displays as suggested by Kim in the device of Nagano. The suggestion/motivation would have been in order to increase the field of vision of the driver (Kim, [0209]-[0210]) . 07-21-aia AIA Claim 34 is rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Nagano et al. (US Patent Pub. No. 2019/0011712 A1) in view of Akachi et al. (US Patent Pub. No. 2018/0264943 A1) Regarding claim 34, Nagano teaches the limitations of claim 17. Nagano does not seem to explicitly teach the content is displayed by the display device in such a way that it is fully visible only for a driver. However, in a related art of displaying image by a head-up display for a driver of a vehicle, Akachi teaches content is displayed by the display device in such a way that it is fully visible only for a driver (Akachi, [0060], display information to allow only the driver to acquire). Before the time of the first effective filing of the claimed invention, it would have been obvious to a person ordinary skill in the art to limit the displaying of image to just the driver as suggested by Akachi in the system of Nagano. The suggestion/motivation would have been in order to allow driver to view private information (Aakchi, [0060]). Conclusion Any inquiry concerning this communication or earlier communications from the examiner should be directed to DONG HUI LIANG whose telephone number is (571)272-0487. The examiner can normally be reached M-F 7am-3pm EST. Examiner interviews are available via telephone, in-person, and video conferencing using a USPTO supplied web-based collaboration tool. To schedule an interview, applicant is encouraged to use the USPTO Automated Interview Request (AIR) at http://www.uspto.gov/interviewpractice. If attempts to reach the examiner by telephone are unsuccessful, the examiner’s supervisor, BENJAMIN C. LEE can be reached at (571)272-2963. The fax phone number for the organization where this application or proceeding is assigned is 571-273-8300. Information regarding the status of published or unpublished applications may be obtained from Patent Center. Unpublished application information in Patent Center is available to registered users. To file and manage patent submissions in Patent Center, visit: https://patentcenter.uspto.gov. Visit https://www.uspto.gov/patents/apply/patent-center for more information about Patent Center and https://www.uspto.gov/patents/docx for information about filing in DOCX format. For additional questions, contact the Electronic Business Center (EBC) at 866-217-9197 (toll-free). If you would like assistance from a USPTO Customer Service Representative, call 800-786-9199 (IN USA OR CANADA) or 571-272-1000. /DONG HUI LIANG/Primary Examiner, Art Unit 2629 Application/Control Number: 18/870,309 Page 2 Art Unit: 2629 Application/Control Number: 18/870,309 Page 3 Art Unit: 2629 Application/Control Number: 18/870,309 Page 4 Art Unit: 2629 Application/Control Number: 18/870,309 Page 5 Art Unit: 2629 Application/Control Number: 18/870,309 Page 6 Art Unit: 2629 Application/Control Number: 18/870,309 Page 7 Art Unit: 2629 Application/Control Number: 18/870,309 Page 8 Art Unit: 2629 Application/Control Number: 18/870,309 Page 9 Art Unit: 2629 Application/Control Number: 18/870,309 Page 10 Art Unit: 2629 Application/Control Number: 18/870,309 Page 11 Art Unit: 2629 Application/Control Number: 18/870,309 Page 12 Art Unit: 2629 Application/Control Number: 18/870,309 Page 13 Art Unit: 2629 Application/Control Number: 18/870,309 Page 14 Art Unit: 2629 Application/Control Number: 18/870,309 Page 15 Art Unit: 2629 Application/Control Number: 18/870,309 Page 16 Art Unit: 2629 Application/Control Number: 18/870,309 Page 17 Art Unit: 2629