DETAILED ACTION
The office action is in response to original application filed on 11-27-24. Claims 1-6 and 8-13 are pending in the application and have been examined.
Information Disclosure Statement
The information disclosure statement (IDS) submitted filed before the mailing of a first Office action on the merits. The submission is in compliance with the provisions of 37 CFR 1.97(b) (3). Accordingly, the information disclosure statement is being considered by the examiner.
Priority
Receipt is acknowledged of certified copies of papers submitted under 35 U.S.C. 119(a)-(d), which papers have been placed of record in the file.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claims 1-6 and 8-13 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 (a) as being unpatentable over US 2024/0088703 to Wang et al. (“Wang”) in view of US 10,351,004 to Pastor et al. (“Pastor”).
Regarding claim 1, Wang disclose a method of managing (figs. 1-8) the supply of electrical energy in a vehicle (fig. 2, 205), wherein the vehicle comprises an electric propulsion system (fig. 1, the propulsion electrical components can be or include an electric motor 102 or inverter 118) for providing motive power to the vehicle, a number of high voltage vehicle components (para; 0019, electric vehicle can include non-propulsion electric components such as an on-board charger, DC to DC converter, AC compressor, or heat pump. The propulsion and non-propulsion components can be connected to one or more electric buses), and an electrical system (fig. 1), wherein the electrical system comprises: a high voltage electrical system (paras; 0017-19, components of the high voltage system) configured to provide electricity to the electric propulsion system and to the number of high voltage vehicle components during operation of the vehicle, a number of propulsion batteries (110), and an electrical connector (112), wherein the method comprises the steps of, and the number of propulsion batteries is disconnected from the high voltage electrical system: performing a pre-charge (para; 0025, The propulsion electrical components can deliver power to the drive components of the electric vehicle, (e.g., a battery can provide power for the electric motors 102 to generate tractive effort) or the drive components of the electric vehicle can deliver power to the DC link 120) of the high voltage electrical system,
But, Wang does not disclose the electrical connector is electrically connected to an external electric power source and then supplying electricity from the external electric power source to at least one high voltage vehicle component of the vehicle.
However, Pastor discloses the electrical connector is electrically connected to an external electric power source (fig. 1. 32) and then supplying electricity from the external electric power source to at least one high voltage vehicle component of the vehicle (Col. lines 21-22, Input connector 18 is connectable to mains supply 32 by an external Electric Vehicle Supply Equipment (EVSE) 33).
Therefore, it would have been obvious to one ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to modify Wang by adding external electric power source as part of its configuration as taught by Pastor, in order to AC source connects includes internal relays which are movable between a closed position and an opened position.
Regarding claim 2, Wang disclose the step of performing the pre-charge of the high voltage electrical system (para; 0025, The propulsion electrical components can deliver power to the drive components of the electric vehicle, (e.g., a battery can provide power for the electric motors 102 to generate tractive effort) or the drive components of the electric vehicle can deliver power to the DC link 120) comprises the step of: performing the pre-charge of the high voltage electrical system by supplying electricity,
But, Wang does not disclose the external electric power source to the high voltage electrical system.
However, Pastor discloses the external electric power source to the high voltage electrical system (Col. lines 21-22, Input connector 18 is connectable to mains supply 32 by an external Electric Vehicle Supply Equipment (EVSE) 33).
Therefore, it would have been obvious to one ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to modify Wang by adding external electric power source as part of its configuration as taught by Pastor, in order to AC source connects includes internal relays which are movable between a closed position and an opened position.
Regarding claim 3, Wang disclose the electrical system of the vehicle comprises a low voltage electrical system for providing electricity to a number of low voltage vehicle components of the vehicle (para; 0020, lines 9-14, The controller can receive the call from a component of the electric vehicle (e.g., an airbag subsystem). Responsive to the call to reduce the voltage of the capacitor, the controller can determine a voltage of the capacitor, and determine if the plurality of switches have been engaged (e.g., by the controller)), a number of low voltage batteries (DC link 120) connected to the low voltage electrical system, and an electric voltage converter, and wherein the step of performing the pre-charge of the high voltage electrical system (para; 0025, The propulsion electrical components can deliver power to the drive components of the electric vehicle, (e.g., a battery can provide power for the electric motors 102 to generate tractive effort) or the drive components of the electric vehicle can deliver power to the DC link 120) comprises the step of: performing the pre-charge of the high voltage electrical system (para; 0025, The propulsion electrical components can deliver power to the drive components of the electric vehicle, (e.g., a battery can provide power for the electric motors 102 to generate tractive effort) or the drive components of the electric vehicle can deliver power to the DC link 120) by supplying electricity from the low voltage batteries to the high voltage electrical system via the electric voltage converter (para; 0030, lines 9-13, Non-propulsion high voltage electrical components 104 can include an on board charger or DC to DC converter thereof, an A/C compressor, or a heat pump. The non-propulsion high voltage electrical components 104 can source or sink power from the DC link 120).
Regarding claim 4, Wang disclose a charging module to operate in a voltage control mode (abstract, electric vehicle to electrical power to charge the capacitor),
But, Wang does not disclose supplying electricity from the external electric power source to at least one high voltage vehicle component of the vehicle comprises and supplying electricity from the external electric power source to at least one high voltage vehicle component of the vehicle via the charging module.
However, Pastor discloses supplying electricity from the external electric power source to at least one high voltage vehicle component (Col. lines 21-22, Input connector 18 is connectable to mains supply 32 by an external Electric Vehicle Supply Equipment (EVSE) 33) of the vehicle comprises and supplying electricity from the external electric power source to at least one high voltage vehicle component (Col. lines 21-22, Input connector 18 is connectable to mains supply 32 by an external Electric Vehicle Supply Equipment (EVSE) 33) of the vehicle via the charging module.
Therefore, it would have been obvious to one ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to modify Wang by adding external electric power source as part of its configuration as taught by Pastor, in order to AC source connects includes internal relays which are movable between a closed position and an opened position.
Regarding claim 5, Wang disclose the method comprises the step of: ensuring that the number of propulsion batteries is disconnected from the high voltage electrical system (paras; 0017-19, components of the high voltage system) But, Wang does not disclose supplying electricity from the external electric power source to at least one high voltage vehicle component of the.
However, Pastor discloses the step of supplying electricity from the external electric power source to at least one high voltage vehicle component of the vehicle (Col. lines 21-22, Input connector 18 is connectable to mains supply 32 by an external Electric Vehicle Supply Equipment (EVSE) 33).
Therefore, it would have been obvious to one ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to modify Wang by adding external electric power source as part of its configuration as taught by Pastor, in order to AC source connects includes internal relays which are movable between a closed position and an opened position.
Regarding claim 6, Wang disclose the method comprises the step of: operating the at least one high voltage vehicle component (104)
But, Wang does not disclose the vehicle using electricity supplied from the external electric power source.
However, Pastor discloses the vehicle using electricity supplied from the external electric power source (Col. lines 21-22, Input connector 18 is connectable to mains supply 32 by an external Electric Vehicle Supply Equipment (EVSE) 33).
Therefore, it would have been obvious to one ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to modify Wang by adding external electric power source as part of its configuration as taught by Pastor, in order to AC source connects includes internal relays which are movable between a closed position and an opened position.
Regarding claim 8, Wang disclose a non-transitory computer-readable medium comprising instructions which, when executed by a computer, cause the computer to carry out the method (para; 0005, At least one aspect is directed to a non-transitory computer readable media. The non-transitory computer readable media can contain instructions that can be executed by a processor of the system).
Regarding claim 9, Wang disclose a control arrangement (108) configured to manage the supply of electrical energy in a vehicle (fig. 2, 205), wherein the vehicle comprises an electric propulsion system (para; 0004, lines 7-13, The method can include engaging a switching component to switch a propulsion component between a first state and a second state. The propulsion component can, in the first state, convert between electrical and mechanical energy. The propulsion component can, in the second state, convert from electrical or mechanical energy to thermal energy) for providing motive power to the vehicle, a number of high voltage vehicle components (104), and an electrical system (fig. 1), wherein the electrical system comprises: a high voltage electrical system (paras; 0017-19, components of the high voltage system) configured to provide electricity to the electric propulsion system and to the number of high voltage vehicle components during operation of the vehicle, a number of propulsion batteries (110), and an electrical connector (112), wherein the control arrangement is configured to, and the number of propulsion batteries is disconnected from the high voltage electrical system: perform a pre-charge (para; 0025, The propulsion electrical components can deliver power to the drive components of the electric vehicle, (e.g., a battery can provide power for the electric motors 102 to generate tractive effort) or the drive components of the electric vehicle can deliver power to the DC link 120) of the high voltage electrical system,
But, Wang does not disclose the electrical connector is electrically connected to an external electric power source and then supply electricity from the external electric power source to at least one high voltage vehicle component of the vehicle.
However, Pastor discloses the electrical connector is electrically connected to an external electric power source (fig. 1. 32) and then supply electricity from the external electric power source to at least one high voltage vehicle component of the vehicle (Col. lines 21-22, Input connector 18 is connectable to mains supply 32 by an external Electric Vehicle Supply Equipment (EVSE) 33).
Therefore, it would have been obvious to one ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to modify Wang by adding external electric power source as part of its configuration as taught by Pastor, in order to AC source connects includes internal relays which are movable between a closed position and an opened position.
Regarding claim 10, Wang disclose an electric propulsion system (fig. 1, the propulsion electrical components can be or include an electric motor 102 or inverter 118) for providing motive power to the vehicle, a number of high voltage vehicle components (para; 0019, electric vehicle can include non-propulsion electric components such as an on-board charger, DC to DC converter, AC compressor, or heat pump. The propulsion and non-propulsion components can be connected to one or more electric buses), and an electrical system, wherein the electrical system comprises: a high voltage electrical system configured to provide electricity to the electric propulsion system and to the number of high voltage vehicle components during operation of the vehicle, a number of propulsion batteries (110), an electrical connector (112), and a control arrangement (108).
Regarding claim 11, Wang disclose the high voltage electrical system comprises a DC link (fig. 1, 120), and wherein the control arrangement is configured to perform the pre-charge of the high voltage electrical system (104) by supplying electricity to the DC link (120).
Regarding claim 12, Wang disclose the electrical connector form part of a charging interface (112) for charging the number of propulsions batteries (110).
Regarding claim 13, Wang disclose the number of high voltage vehicle components comprises one or more of: an electric power take-off component, a climatization component, an air compressor, a servo pump, a DC/DC converter (para; 0024, DC electric motor 102 can be connected to the DC link, such as directly, or through a DC-to-DC converter or filtering circuit), and an electric machine (102).
Conclusion
The prior art made of record and not relied upon is considered pertinent to applicant's disclosure.
Soo et al. US 2016/0236586 Al- A vehicle includes a connector for coupling a battery in the vehicle to a load external to the vehicle. An energy management system includes a controller that is programmed to operate the battery in a vehicle according to a target state of charge range that is defined by upper and lower state of charge limits. In response to receiving a request to prepare for power generation at a destination prior to arriving at the destination, the controller increases the lower state of charge limit as the distance to the destination decreases. In response to the request, the battery is operated during the drive cycle to the destination so that the battery state of charge at the destination allows the battery to provide power to the external load for a predetermined period of time before an engine is started.
/ESAYAS G YESHAW/Examiner, Art Unit 2836
/REXFORD N BARNIE/Supervisory Patent Examiner, Art Unit 2836