DETAILED ACTION
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
1. Claims 26-27 and 38-45 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Sakaguchi (US 2016/0056904) in view of Morioka (US 2012/0122392).
2. As per claim 26, Sakaguchi teaches an apparatus comprising logic and circuitry configured to cause a millimeterWave (mmWave) wireless communication station (STA) to: transmit a preamble of a packet over a mmWave wireless communication channel, the preamble comprising a Short Training Field (STF), a Long Training Field (LTF) after the STF, and a Signal (SIG) field after the LTF (Sakaguchi, ¶0066 “… short training field … logn training field … Data section …”),
While SAkaguchi doesn’t explicitly mention, Morioka teaches wherein the SIG field comprises a presence indicator configured to indicate that the packet comprises a Training (TRN) field configured for Beamforming (BF) training (Morioka, ¶0109 0110 “ … BTF …”); and transmit the TRN field of the packet over the mmWave wireless communication channel, the TRN field is after the SIG field, the TRN field comprising a plurality of TRN subfields, wherein a TRN subfield comprises at least one of the STF or the LTF (Morioka, ¶0121 “ … L-STF … beam training …”). Therefore, taking the combined teaching of Sakaguchi and Morioka as a whole, it would have been obvious to one having ordinary skill in the art at the time of the invention to implement the instant limitation for the benefit of efficient transmission and/or reception of communication information in order to improve communication system.
3. Claim 41 is similarly analyzed as claim 26 for obviousness reason discussed above.
4. Claim 44 is similarly analyzed as claim 26 for obviousness reason discussed above.
5. As per claim 27, Sakaguchi in view of Morioka teaches the apparatus of claim 26, wherein the SIG field comprises a TRN type indicator configured to indicate a type of the TRN field (Morioka, ¶0121).
6. Claim 45 is similarly analyzed as claim 27 for obviousness reason discussed above.
7. As per claim 38, Sakaguchi in view of Morioka teaches the apparatus of claim 26, wherein the TRN subfield comprises the STF (Morioka, ¶0121).
8. As per claim 39, Sakaguchi in view of Morioka teaches the apparatus of claim 26, wherein the TRN subfield comprises the LTF (Morioka, ¶0121).
9. As per claim 40, Sakaguchi in view of Morioka teaches the apparatus of claim 26 comprising a radio to transmit the packet over the mmWave wireless communication channel, one or more antennas connected to the radio, and a processor to execute instructions of an operating system (Morioka, ¶0080 0081).
Allowable Subject Matter
10. Claims 28-37 are objected to as being dependent upon a rejected base claim, but would be allowable if rewritten in independent form including all of the limitations of the base claim and any intervening claims.
Conclusion
ZEWDU A. KASSA
Examiner
Art Unit 2637
/ZEWDU A KASSA/Primary Examiner, Art Unit 2635