DETAILED ACTION
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 102
Claims 25-26, 29-30, 37, and 39-43 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 102(a)(1) as being anticipated by Hong et al. (US 2021/0218408; “Hong”).
Regarding claim 25, Hong teaches an apparatus (Figures 1 and 5A) comprising:
a Local Oscillator (LO) generator (Figure 1) configured to generate an LO signal (output of 100), the LO generator comprising:
a plurality of frequency sources (generating iinj,QP, iinj,QN, iinj,IP, iinj,IN) configured to provide a respective plurality of frequency source signals (iinj,QP, iinj,QN, iinj,IP, iinj,IN) according to a first frequency (of 110); and
an injection-locked frequency divider (100; details in figure 5A) configured to provide the LO signal having a second frequency (frequency of divide 100), wherein the second frequency is based on the first frequency divided by n (divider ratios in para. [0059]), wherein n is an odd integer greater than 1 (e.g. 3, 5, 7, 11, 13; para. [0059]), wherein the injection-locked frequency divider (100/500) comprises a plurality of injection paths (see multiple injection paths of signals iinj,QP, iinj,QN, iinj,IP, iinj,IN into the ring oscillator of figure 5A) to inject the plurality of frequency source signals (iinj,QP, iinj,QN, iinj,IP, iinj,IN) into an injection-locked Ring Oscillator (RO 500 in figure 5A).
As for claim 26, Hong teaches wherein the plurality of frequency sources comprises a first frequency source (generating iinj,IP) to provide a first frequency source signal (iinj,IP) according to the first frequency, and a second frequency source (generating iinj,QP) to provide a second frequency source signal (iinj,QP) according to the first frequency, wherein the injection-locked frequency divider (100/500) comprises a first injection path (using iinj,IP) to inject the first frequency source signal into a first inverter stage (the first inverter in the RO of figure 5A) of the injection-locked RO, and a second injection path (using iinj,QP) to inject the second frequency source signal into a second inverter stage (inverter 4 in figure 5A) of the injection-locked RO.
Regarding claim 29, Hong teaches wherein a count of injection paths in the plurality of injection paths is greater than a count of frequency sources in the plurality of frequency sources (As seen in figure 5A, the injection paths outnumber the frequency sources).
Regarding claim 30, Hong teaches wherein two or more injection paths are configured to inject a same frequency source signal into the injection-locked RO (For example, signal iinj,QP is injected into inverters 4 and 8).
As for claim 37, Hong teaches wherein n=3 (para. [0059]).
As for claim 39, Hong teaches wherein a frequency source of the plurality of frequency sources comprises a Digital Phase Locked Loop (Figure 1 is a PLL that includes digital elements, such as digital divider 120).
Regarding claim 40, Hong teaches a Radio Frequency (RF) chain configured to process an RF signal based on the LO signal (Hong teaches the quadrature device in figure 1 being applied to an RF communication system utilizing outputs of the quadrature device. Para. [0032]).
Regarding claim 41, Hong teaches a device (Figures 1 and 5A) comprising:
a Local Oscillator (LO) generator (Figure 1) configured to generate an LO signal (output of 100), the LO generator comprising:
a plurality of frequency sources (generating iinj,QP, iinj,QN, iinj,IP, iinj,IN) configured to provide a respective plurality of frequency source signals (iinj,QP, iinj,QN, iinj,IP, iinj,IN) according to a first frequency (of 110); and
an injection-locked frequency divider (100; details in figure 5A) configured to provide the LO signal having a second frequency (frequency of divide 100), wherein the second frequency is based on the first frequency divided by n (divider ratios in para. [0059]), wherein n is an odd integer greater than 1 (e.g. 3, 5, 7, 11, 13; para. [0059]), wherein the injection-locked frequency divider (100/500) comprises a plurality of injection paths (see multiple injection paths of signals iinj,QP, iinj,QN, iinj,IP, iinj,IN into the ring oscillator of figure 5A) to inject the plurality of frequency source signals (iinj,QP, iinj,QN, iinj,IP, iinj,IN) into an injection-locked Ring Oscillator (RO 500 in figure 5A);
a Radio Frequency (RF) chain configured to process an RF signal based on the LO signal (Hong teaches the quadrature device in figure 1 being applied to an RF communication system utilizing outputs of the quadrature device. Para. [0032]);
an antenna (An RF communication system inherently requires an antenna to communicate RF signals) to communicate the RF signal; and
a processor (Hong utilizes computer-readable instructions for operating the device. Para. [0080]) configured to process information based on the RF signal.
As for claim 42, Hong teaches wherein the plurality of frequency sources comprises a first frequency source (generating iinj,IP) to provide a first frequency source signal (iinj,IP) according to the first frequency, and a second frequency source (generating iinj,QP) to provide a second frequency source signal (iinj,QP) according to the first frequency, wherein the injection-locked frequency divider (100/500) comprises a first injection path (using iinj,IP) to inject the first frequency source signal into a first inverter stage (the first inverter in the RO of figure 5A) of the injection-locked RO, and a second injection path (using iinj,QP) to inject the second frequency source signal into a second inverter stage (inverter 4 in figure 5A) of the injection-locked RO.
As for claim 43, Hong teaches a wireless communication device (Para. [0032]), wherein the processor is configured to process wireless communication signals communicated by the RF chain.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claim 44 is rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Hong.
Regarding claim 44, Hong teaches the device of claim 41, as detailed above, but fails to teach the device comprising a radar device, wherein the processor is configured to generate radar information based on radar signals communicated by the RF chain.
However, it is well-known to those of ordinary skill in the art utilize wireless communication transceivers in radar devices.
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to utilize the wireless communication transceiver of Hong in a radar device because such a modification would have been merely exercising a well-known application of a wireless communication transceiver circuit.
Claims 25-31, 37-38, and 40-44 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Xu et al. (US 2017/0163273; “Xu”).
Regarding claim 25, Xu teaches an apparatus (figures 1 and 2) comprising:
a Local Oscillator (LO) generator (figure 1; details of oscillator 122 are shown in figure 2) configured to generate an LO signal (output of 122), the LO generator comprising:
a plurality of frequency sources (106-110) configured to provide a respective plurality of frequency source signals (output to selection circuitry 120) according to a first frequency (frequency of signal input to selection circuitry 120); and
an injection-locked frequency divider (122; details in figure 2) configured to provide the LO signal (output of 122/222) having a second frequency (frequency of 122/222), wherein the second frequency is based on the first frequency divided by n, wherein n is an integer greater than 1 (Para. [0034] and [0038] teach injection-locked oscillator 122 operating as an injection-locked frequency divider that divides an input frequency by integers N; wherein N>1), wherein the injection-locked frequency divider comprises a plurality of injection paths to inject the plurality of frequency source signals into an injection-locked Ring Oscillator (See the plurality of injection paths into the plurality of inverters 202-208 in the ring oscillator of figure 2).
While Xu teaches the integer n (disclosed as N in Xu) capable of being both greater than 1 or an odd number, Xu fails to teach the integer n expressly being an odd integer greater than 1.
The integer n (disclosed as N in Xu) of Xu is described as the harmonic of the oscillator 122/222 that matches a frequency of the input signal of the apparatus (para. [0034]). Xu teaches determining different injection points for different harmonics through experimentation or simulation (para. [0071]). Therefore, the value of n in Xu is a matter of design choice based on the frequency of the input signal to the apparatus in figure 1 of Xu.
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to choose a value of n in Xu that is an odd number greater than 1 (e.g. n=3) because such a modification would have been a matter of design choice made to match the harmonic of the oscillator 122/222 of Xu with the frequency of the input signal to the apparatus of Xu. The associated injection points for the odd number of n greater than 1 (e.g. n=3) would then be determined through experimentation or simulation as taught in para. [0071] of Xu.
As for claim 26, Xu teaches wherein the plurality of frequency sources comprises a first frequency source (106) to provide a first frequency source signal (output of 106) according to the first frequency, and a second frequency source (108) to provide a second frequency source signal (output of 108) according to the first frequency, wherein the injection-locked frequency divider (122/222) comprises a first injection path (at INJ_1) to inject the first frequency source signal into a first inverter stage (202) of the injection-locked RO, and a second injection path (at INJ) to inject the second frequency source signal into a second inverter stage (204) of the injection-locked RO.
As for claim 27, Xu teaches the number of frequency sources (amplifier paths 106-110) being equal to three or a lesser/greater number depending on the number of required frequency bands (para. [0027], [0029]), but fails to expressly teach wherein a count of injection paths in the plurality of injection paths is equal to a count of frequency sources in the plurality of frequency sources.
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to increase the number of frequency sources (e.g. increase to four to match the number of injection paths in figure 2) in the apparatus of Xu when the required number of frequency bands is increased from three to four.
As for claim 28, Xu teaches wherein the plurality of injection paths are configured to respectively inject the plurality of frequency source signals into the injection- locked RO (The injection selection circuitry 120 selects which frequency source signal is input to each injection point/path in the RO of figure 2. Para. [0033]).
As for claim 29, Xu teaches wherein a count of injection paths (four) in the plurality of injection paths (to inverters 202-208 in figure 2) is greater than a count of frequency sources (three) in the plurality of frequency sources (106-110).
Regarding claim 30, Xu teaches wherein two or more injection paths are configured to inject a same frequency source signal into the injection-locked RO (Para. [0033] teaches the operation of selection circuitry 120.).
Regarding claim 31, Xu teaches wherein an injection path of the plurality of injection paths comprises a plurality of injection-locking transistors connected in series to an inverter stage of the injection-locked RO, wherein the plurality of injection-locking transistors is controllable according to a frequency source signal of the plurality of frequency source signals (See serial transistors connected to inverters in figure 2.).
As for claim 37, the modified apparatus of Xu discussed above in the rejection of claim 25 teaches wherein n=3.
Regarding claim 38, Xu teaches a frequency multiplier (130) configured to multiply the second frequency of the LO signal by a factor (N) greater than one (para. [0034], [0038]).
As for claim 40, Xu teaches a Radio Frequency (RF) chain (132-140) configured to process an RF signal (The apparatus of Xu is an RF transceiver. Para. [0001] and [0025]) based on the LO signal.
Regarding claim 41, Xu teaches a device (figures 1 and 2) comprising:
a Local Oscillator (LO) generator (figure 1; details of oscillator 122 are shown in figure 2) configured to generate an LO signal (output of 122), the LO generator comprising:
a plurality of frequency sources (106-110) configured to provide a respective plurality of frequency source signals (output to selection circuitry 120) according to a first frequency (frequency of signal input to selection circuitry 120); and
an injection-locked frequency divider (122; details in figure 2) configured to provide the LO signal (output of 122/222) having a second frequency (frequency of 122/222), wherein the second frequency is based on the first frequency divided by n, wherein n is an integer greater than 1 (Para. [0034] and [0038] teach injection-locked oscillator 122 operating as an injection-locked frequency divider that divides an input frequency by integers N; wherein N>1), wherein the injection-locked frequency divider comprises a plurality of injection paths to inject the plurality of frequency source signals into an injection-locked Ring Oscillator (See the plurality of injection paths into the plurality of inverters 202-208 in the ring oscillator of figure 2);
a Radio Frequency (RF) chain (132-140) configured to process an RF signal (The apparatus of Xu is an RF transceiver. Para. [0001] and [0025]) based on the LO signal;
an antenna (102) to communicate the RF signal; and
a processor (para. [0075] and [0077]) configured to process information based on the RF signal.
While Xu teaches the integer n (disclosed as N in Xu) capable of being both greater than 1 or an odd number, Xu fails to teach the integer n expressly being an odd integer greater than 1.
The integer n (disclosed as N in Xu) of Xu is described as the harmonic of the oscillator 122/222 that matches a frequency of the input signal of the apparatus (para. [0034]). Xu teaches determining different injection points for different harmonics through experimentation or simulation (para. [0071]). Therefore, the value of n in Xu is a matter of design choice based on the frequency of the input signal to the apparatus in figure 1 of Xu.
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to choose a value of n in Xu that is an odd number greater than 1 (e.g. n=3) because such a modification would have been a matter of design choice made to match the harmonic of the oscillator 122/222 of Xu with the frequency of the input signal to the apparatus of Xu. The associated injection points for the odd number of n greater than 1 (e.g. n=3) would then be determined through experimentation or simulation as taught in para. [0071] of Xu.}}
As for claim 42, Xu teaches wherein the plurality of frequency sources comprises a first frequency source (106) to provide a first frequency source signal (output of 106) according to the first frequency, and a second frequency source (108) to provide a second frequency source signal (output of 108) according to the first frequency, wherein the injection-locked frequency divider (122/222) comprises a first injection path (at INJ_1) to inject the first frequency source signal into a first inverter stage (202) of the injection-locked RO, and a second injection path (at INJ) to inject the second frequency source signal into a second inverter stage (204) of the injection-locked RO.
As for claim 43, Xu teaches a wireless communication device (para. [0001]), wherein the processor is configured to process wireless communication signals communicated by the RF chain.
Regarding claim 44, Xu teaches the device of claim 41, as detailed above, but fails to teach the device comprising a radar device, wherein the processor is configured to generate radar information based on radar signals communicated by the RF chain.
However, it is well-known to those of ordinary skill in the art utilize wireless communication transceivers in radar devices.
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to utilize the wireless communication transceiver of Xu in a radar device because such a modification would have been merely exercising a well-known application of a wireless communication transceiver circuit.
Allowable Subject Matter
Claims 32-36 are objected to as being dependent upon a rejected base claim, but would be allowable if rewritten in independent form including all of the limitations of the base claim and any intervening claims.
The following is a statement of reasons for the indication of allowable subject matter: The best prior art references of record, Xu and Hong, fail to teach:
“a controller configured to control a phase of at least one frequency source signal of the plurality of frequency source signals based on an amplitude of the LO signal.”, as set forth in claim 32;
“a controller configured to control a phase difference between at least first and second frequency source signals of the plurality of frequency source signals based on an amplitude of the LO signal.”, as set forth in claim 33;
“wherein the plurality of frequency sources are uncorrelated.”, as set forth in claim 34; and
“wherein a frequency source signal of the plurality of frequency source signals has a first phase noise, and wherein the LO signal has a second phase noise lower than the first phase noise.”, as set forth in claim 35.
Conclusion
The prior art references made of record and not relied upon teach local oscillator generators, comprising: plural frequency sources and injection-locked frequency dividers with injection-locked ring oscillators.
/LEVI GANNON/Primary Examiner, Art Unit 2849 November 17, 2025