DETAILED ACTION
Claim Objections
Claims 1-20 are objected to because of the following informalities:
Claim 1 is directed to an apparatus, however the body of the claim only has method steps. Examiner respectfully suggest amending the claim to include hardware within the body of the claim. Examiner notes this could be rejected under 35 U.S.C. 112b for being indefinite. Claims 2-20 depend from claim 1 and therefore inherit the same issue.
Appropriate correction is required.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claims 1, 6, 9, 11, 19, and 20 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Nhan et al. (US20240349274 hereinafter Nhan), in view of Wei et al. (US20220086876 hereinafter Wei), in further view of Ly et al. (US20240147546 hereinafter Ly).
Regarding claim 1. Nhan teaches an apparatus of a user equipment (UE) (fig. 3 and pars. 0072-0076, teaches UE 100), the apparatus comprising processing circuitry configured to (fig. 3 and pars. 0072-0076, teaches UE 100 includes processor 120):
decode, based on signals received from a base station, first configuration information (fig. 2 and pars. 0055-0057, teaches NW 200 sends a DCI of format 0_0 with CRC bits scrambled by the new RNTI for scheduling a PUSCH transmission. Then, the UE 100 determines the PUSCH transmission to be scheduled and parameters for the PUSCH transmission based on the DCI. Wherein, determining the parameters for the PUSCH transmission, the UE 100 determines the number of repetitions of the PUSCH transmission. Wherein, the “DCI of format 0_0 with CRC bits scrambled by the new RNTI for scheduling a PUSCH transmission” reads as the first configuration information within the context of this passage. Moreover, the language “the UE 100 determines the PUSCH transmission to be scheduled and parameters for the PUSCH transmission based on the DCI” reads as decoding based on the first configuration information. Par. 0034, teaches network element (NW), par. 0037, teaches Physical Downlink Shared Channel (PDSCH), par. 0006 teaches radio network temporary identifier (RNTI) and Cyclic redundancy check (CRC));
determine, based on the first configuration information, …for a PUSCH scheduled by fallback Downlink Control (DCI) (fig. 2 and pars. 0055-0057, teaches NW 200 sends a DCI of format 0_0 with CRC bits scrambled by the new RNTI for scheduling a PUSCH transmission. Then, the UE 100 determines the PUSCH transmission to be scheduled and parameters for the PUSCH transmission based on the DCI. Wherein, determining the parameters for the PUSCH transmission, the UE 100 determines the number of repetitions of the PUSCH transmission. Whereas par. 0044, teaches the downlink control information (DCI) is in a format 0_0 is a fallback DCI. Wherein, the “DCI of format 0_0 with CRC bits scrambled by the new RNTI for scheduling a PUSCH transmission” reads as the first configuration information within the context of this passage); and
configure transceiver circuitry (fig. 3 and pars. 0072-0076, teaches UE 100 includes wireless communication interfaces 160 may include components that interface the processor 120 with the antenna 165, or other input/output components) to transmit, to the base station, a request … for the PUSCH scheduled by fallback DCI (fig. 2 and pars. 0043-0052, teaches the UE transmits an initial transmission of a third message Msg3 to the NW 200. Wherein, the NW 200 may determine an implicit request for PUSCH repetition from a PUSCH repetition request for the third message Msg3. Moreover, fig. 2 and pars. 0052-0057, teaches the NW 200 sends a DCI of format 0_0 with CRC bits scrambled by the new RNTI for scheduling a PUSCH transmission. Wherein, par. 0044, teaches the downlink control information (DCI) is in a format 0_0 is a fallback DCI. Thus, Msg3 that requests a PUSCH repetition that the NW grants using a scheduling fallback DCI, reads as a request to for the PUSCH scheduled by fallback DCI).
However, although Nhan teaches the first configuration information (fig. 2 and pars. 0055-0057), the apparatus and methods of Nhan explicitly fails to disclose, determining, based on the first configuration information, that Physical Uplink Shared Channel (PUSCH) repetition is to be enabled.
Wei disclosed apparatus, systems, and methods for PUSCH repetition, so Wei is analogous to Nhan. Furthermore, Wei teaches determining, based on the first configuration information, that Physical Uplink Shared Channel (PUSCH) repetition is to be enabled (fig. 9 and pars. 0128-0133, teaches the UE may receive DCI on a PDCCH scheduling a PUSCH transmission. Then, the UE may determine the number of PUSCH repetitions for the PUSCH transmission according to the DCI. Wherein, par. 0007 teaches the Downlink Control Information (DCI) enables the UE to determine a number of Physical Uplink Shared Channel (PUSCH) repetitions for the PUSCH transmission. Thus, the UE is enabled by the DCI to determine that PUSCH repetition is enabled).
Therefore, it would have been obvious for one of the ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the invention to utilize determining, based on the first configuration information, that Physical Uplink Shared Channel (PUSCH) repetition is to be enabled, as disclosed by Wei with the method and apparatus of Nhan. The motivations for doing so would be to improve wireless communication. (see Wei pars. 0003-0005)
However, although Nhan teaches a request … for the PUSCH scheduled by fallback DCI (fig. 2 and pars. 0043-0052), the combination of Nhan and Wei explicitly fails to disclose, transmitting, to the base station, a request to enable PUSCH repetition.
Ly disclosed apparatus, systems, and methods for PUSCH repetition, so Ly is analogous to Nhan. Furthermore, Ly teaches transmitting, to the base station, a request to enable PUSCH repetition (fig. 3 and par. 0062, teaches in step 335 the UE transmits to the base station request PUSCH repetition via dedicated PRACH resources. Thus, aspects may enable PUSCH repetition. Wherein, the request reads as a request to enable PUSCH repetition. Par. 0006, teaches physical random access channel (PRACH) and physical uplink shared channel (PUSCH)).
Therefore, it would have been obvious for one of the ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the invention to utilize transmitting, to the base station, a request to enable PUSCH repetition, as disclosed by Ly with the combination of Nhan and Wei. The motivations for doing so would be to improve spectral efficiency. (see Ly par. 0005)
Regarding claim 6. Nhan, Wei, and Ly teaches an apparatus of claim 1. Nhan further teaches the request … for PUSCH scheduled by fallback DCI (fig. 2 and pars. 0043-0052, teaches the UE transmits an initial transmission of a third message Msg3 to the NW 200. Wherein, the NW 200 may determine an implicit request for PUSCH repetition from a PUSCH repetition request for the third message Msg3. Moreover, fig. 2 and pars. 0052-0057, teaches the NW 200 sends a DCI of format 0_0 with CRC bits scrambled by the new RNTI for scheduling a PUSCH transmission. Wherein, par. 0044, teaches the downlink control information (DCI) is in a format 0_0 is a fallback DCI. Thus, Msg3 that requests a PUSCH repetition that the NW grants using a scheduling fallback DCI, reads as a request to enable PUSCH repetition for the PUSCH scheduled by fallback DCI) is transmitted using a Physical Random Access Channel (PRACH) resource (par. 0033, teaches the UE requests Msg3 repetition via suitable PRACH resources. Par. 0039 teaches physical random-access channel (PRACH)).
However, although Nhan teaches a request … for the PUSCH scheduled by fallback DCI (fig. 2 and pars. 0043-0052), the combination of Nhan and Wei explicitly fails to disclose, the request to enable PUSCH repetition.
Ly teaches the request to enable PUSCH repetition (fig. 3 and par. 0062, teaches in step 335 the UE transmits to the base station request PUSCH repetition via dedicated PRACH resources. Thus, aspects may enable PUSCH repetition. Wherein, the request reads as a request to enable PUSCH repetition. Par. 0006, teaches physical random access channel (PRACH) and physical uplink shared channel (PUSCH)).
Therefore, it would have been obvious for one of the ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the invention to utilize the request to enable PUSCH repetition, as disclosed by Ly with the combination of Nhan and Wei. The motivations for doing so would be to improve spectral efficiency. (see Ly par. 0005)
Regarding claim 9. Nhan, Wei, and Ly teaches an apparatus of claim 1. Nhan further teaches the request to enable PUSCH repetition for PUSCH scheduled by fallback DCI (fig. 2 and pars. 0043-0052, teaches the UE transmits an initial transmission of a third message Msg3 to the NW 200. Wherein, the NW 200 may determine an implicit request for PUSCH repetition from a PUSCH repetition request for the third message Msg3. Moreover, fig. 2 and pars. 0052-0057, teaches the NW 200 sends a DCI of format 0_0 with CRC bits scrambled by the new RNTI for scheduling a PUSCH transmission. Wherein, par. 0044, teaches the downlink control information (DCI) is in a format 0_0 is a fallback DCI. Thus, Msg3 that requests a PUSCH repetition that the NW grants using a scheduling fallback DCI, reads as a request to enable PUSCH repetition for the PUSCH scheduled by fallback DCI) is transmitted using Msg3 PUSCH higher layer signaling (par. 0026, teaches UE may request repetition transmission for a transmission of a radio resource control (RRC) request message (Msg3) via a Physical Uplink Shared Channel (PUSCH), i.e., Msg3 PUSCH).
Regarding claim 11. Nhan, Wei, and Ly teaches an apparatus of claim 1. Nhan further teaches the processing circuitry (fig. 3 and pars. 0072-0076, teaches UE 100 includes processor 120) is further configured to: decode, based on signals received from the base station, a repetition factor for PUSCH repetition for PUSCH scheduled by fallback DCI (fig. 2 and pars. 0055-0057, teaches NW 200 sends a DCI of format 0_0 with CRC bits scrambled by the new RNTI for scheduling a PUSCH transmission. Then, the UE 100 determines the PUSCH transmission to be scheduled and parameters for the PUSCH transmission based on the DCI. Wherein, determining the parameters for the PUSCH transmission, the UE 100 determines the number of repetitions of the PUSCH transmission. Wherein, the “DCI of format 0_0 with CRC bits scrambled by the new RNTI for scheduling a PUSCH transmission” reads as the first configuration information within the context of this passage. Moreover, the language “the UE 100 determines the number of repetitions of the PUSCH transmission” reads as decoding a repetition factor for PUSCH repetition for PUSCH scheduled by fallback DCI).
Regarding claim 19. Nhan, Wei, and Ly teaches an apparatus of claim 11. Nhan further teaches wherein the repetition factor is for PUSCH scheduled by fallback UL DCI that are to be transmitted after Msg3 PUSCH (fig. 2 and pars. 0055-0057, teaches NW 200 sends a DCI of format 0_0 with CRC bits scrambled by the new RNTI for scheduling a PUSCH transmission. Then, the UE 100 determines the PUSCH transmission to be scheduled and parameters for the PUSCH transmission based on the DCI. Wherein, determining the parameters for the PUSCH transmission, the UE 100 determines the number of repetitions of the PUSCH transmission. Wherein, the DCI of format 0_0 with CRC bits scrambled by the new RNTI for scheduling a PUSCH transmission comes after Msg 4 which is after Msg3. Wherein, par. 0052, teaches Msg3 is a PUSCH repetition request, thus reads as a Msg3 PUSCH. Moreover, the language “the UE 100 determines the number of repetitions of the PUSCH transmission” reads as decoding a repetition factor for PUSCH repetition for PUSCH scheduled by fallback DCI. Wherein, par. 0044, teaches the DCI format 0_0 is a fallback DCI, which has a smaller payload and is more robust and relevant for scheduling uplink transmission before RRC reconfiguration. Par. 0043 teaches radio resource control (RRC)) and before a radio resource control (RRC) reconfiguration is completed by the UE (fig. 2 and par. 0066, teaches the DCI format 0_0 message that grants a PUSCH transmission that comes before the first RRC reconfiguration. Moreover, par. 0044 teaches the DCI format 0_0 is a fallback DCI, which has a smaller payload and is more robust and relevant for scheduling uplink transmission before RRC reconfiguration).
Regarding claim 20. Nhan, Wei, and Ly teaches an apparatus of claim 19. Nhan further teaches wherein the fallback UL DCI is DCI format 0_0 (par. 0044, teaches the DCI format 0_0 is a fallback DCI, which has a smaller payload and is more robust and relevant for scheduling uplink transmission before RRC reconfiguration).
Claim 2 is rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Nhan et al. (US20240349274 hereinafter Nhan) in view of Wei et al. (US20220086876 hereinafter Wei), in view of Ly et al. (US20240147546 hereinafter Ly), in view of Taherzadeh Boroujeni et al. (US20250024506 hereinafter Taherzadeh Boroujeni), in further view of Abotabl et al. (US 20250097982 hereinafter Abotabl).
Regarding claim 2. Nhan, Wei, and Ly teaches an apparatus of claim 1. Nhan further teaches the first configuration information is received in a System Information Block (SIB) transmitted by the base station … for PUSCH repetition for PUSCH scheduled by fallback DCI (fig. 2 and pars. 0055-0057, teaches NW 200 sends a DCI of format 0_0 with CRC bits scrambled by the new RNTI for scheduling a PUSCH transmission. Then, the UE 100 determines the PUSCH transmission to be scheduled and parameters for the PUSCH transmission based on the DCI. Wherein, determining the parameters for the PUSCH transmission, the UE 100 determines the number of repetitions of the PUSCH transmission. Whereas par. 0044, teaches the downlink control information (DCI) is in a format 0_0 is a fallback DCI. Wherein, the “DCI of format 0_0 with CRC bits scrambled by the new RNTI for scheduling a PUSCH transmission” reads as the first configuration information within the context of this passage. Moreover, par. 0032, teaches the number of repetitions may be configured (either using system information broadcast, or UE-specific configuration)), wherein the processing circuitry (fig. 3 and pars. 0072-0076, teaches UE 100 includes processor 120) determines that PUSCH repetition for PUSCH scheduled by fallback DCI (fig. 2 and pars. 0055-0057, teaches NW 200 sends a DCI of format 0_0 with CRC bits scrambled by the new RNTI for scheduling a PUSCH transmission. Then, the UE 100 determines the PUSCH transmission to be scheduled and parameters for the PUSCH transmission based on the DCI. Wherein, determining the parameters for the PUSCH transmission, the UE 100 determines the number of repetitions of the PUSCH transmission).
However, although Nhan teaches the first configuration information (fig. 2 and pars. 0055-0057), the combination of Nhan, Wei, and Ly explicitly fails to disclose, the first configuration information is received … transmitted by the base station and comprises a dedicated Synchronization Signal Block (SSB) Reference Signal Receive Power (RSRP) threshold for PUSCH repetition…, wherein the processing circuitry determines that PUSCH repetition … is to be enabled when a measured RSRP on SSBs transmitted by the base station is below the dedicated SSB RSRP threshold.
Taherzadeh Boroujeni disclosed apparatus, systems, and methods for PUSCH repetition, so Taherzadeh Boroujeni is analogous to Nhan. Furthermore, Taherzadeh Boroujeni teaches the first configuration information is received … transmitted by the base station and comprises a dedicated Synchronization Signal Block (SSB) Reference Signal Receive Power (RSRP) threshold for PUSCH repetition (par. 0107, teaches the UE may receive a system information message from a network entity (e.g., a base station). Wherein, the system information message may indicate a received power threshold associated with a two-step random access procedure. The received power threshold may be an SSB-based RSRP threshold. Moreover, the threshold is for triggering msg3 repetitions. Wherein, par. 0118, which teaches enable the UE 115-a to transmit multiple msgA payload repetitions (e.g., PUSCH repetitions) to the base station) …,
wherein the processing circuitry (fig. 5 and par. 0137, teaches device 505 may also include a processor) determines that PUSCH repetition … is to be enabled when a measured RSRP on SSBs transmitted by the base station is below the dedicated SSB RSRP threshold (pars. 0113-0114, teaches if SSB-based RSRP measurements of the synchronization signals 205 are below this threshold, the UE 115-a may trigger msgA payload repetitions. Wherein, the language “msgA payload repetitions” reads as PUSCH repetition within the context of par. 0118, which teaches enable the UE 115-a to transmit multiple msgA payload repetitions (e.g., PUSCH repetitions) to the base station).
Therefore, it would have been obvious for one of the ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the invention to utilize the first configuration information is received … transmitted by the base station and comprises a dedicated Synchronization Signal Block (SSB) Reference Signal Receive Power (RSRP) threshold for PUSCH repetition…, wherein the processing circuitry determines that PUSCH repetition … is to be enabled when a measured RSRP on SSBs transmitted by the base station is below the dedicated SSB RSRP threshold, as disclosed by Taherzadeh Boroujeni with the combination of Nhan, Wei, and Ly. The motivations for doing so would be to improve reliability. (see Taherzadeh Boroujeni par. 0005)
However, the combination of Nhan, Wei, Ly and Taherzadeh Boroujeni explicitly fails to disclose, the first configuration information is received in a System Information Block (SIB) transmitted by the base station and comprises a dedicated Synchronization Signal Block (SSB) Reference Signal Receive Power (RSRP) threshold.
Abotabl disclosed apparatus, systems, and methods for a System Information Block (SIB), so Abotabl is analogous to Nhan. Furthermore, Abotabl teaches the first configuration information is received in a System Information Block (SIB) transmitted by the base station and comprises a dedicated Synchronization Signal Block (SSB) Reference Signal Receive Power (RSRP) threshold (fig. 7A and par. 0092, teaches the base station may provide the UE a SIB that contains or defines values of multiple RSRP thresholds 702, 704 for respective SSBs 402. Par. 0066 teaches system information blocks (SIBs), par. 0005 teaches synchronization signal block (SSB) and reference signal received power (RSRP)).
Therefore, it would have been obvious for one of the ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the invention to utilize the first configuration information is received in a System Information Block (SIB) transmitted by the base station and comprises a dedicated Synchronization Signal Block (SSB) Reference Signal Receive Power (RSRP) threshold, as disclosed by Abotabl with the combination of Nhan, Wei, Ly and Taherzadeh Boroujeni. The motivations for doing so would be to improve network energy savings. (see Abotabl par. 0029)
Claims 3 and 4 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Nhan et al. (US20240349274 hereinafter Nhan) in view of Wei et al. (US20220086876 hereinafter Wei), in view of Ly et al. (US20240147546 hereinafter Ly), in further view of Taherzadeh Boroujeni et al. (US20250024506 hereinafter Taherzadeh Boroujeni).
Regarding claim 3. Nhan, Wei, and Ly teaches an apparatus of claim 1. Nhan further teaches the first configuration information (fig. 2 and pars. 0055-0057, teaches NW 200 sends a DCI of format 0_0 with CRC bits scrambled by the new RNTI for scheduling a PUSCH transmission. Then, the UE 100 determines the PUSCH transmission to be scheduled and parameters for the PUSCH transmission based on the DCI. Wherein, determining the parameters for the PUSCH transmission, the UE 100 determines the number of repetitions of the PUSCH transmission. Whereas par. 0044, teaches the downlink control information (DCI) is in a format 0_0 is a fallback DCI. Wherein, the “DCI of format 0_0 with CRC bits scrambled by the new RNTI for scheduling a PUSCH transmission” reads as the first configuration information within the context of this passage),
wherein the processing circuitry (fig. 3 and pars. 0072-0076, teaches UE 100 includes processor 120) determines that PUSCH repetition for PUSCH scheduled by fallback DCI (fig. 2 and pars. 0055-0057, teaches NW 200 sends a DCI of format 0_0 with CRC bits scrambled by the new RNTI for scheduling a PUSCH transmission. Then, the UE 100 determines the PUSCH transmission to be scheduled and parameters for the PUSCH transmission based on the DCI. Wherein, determining the parameters for the PUSCH transmission, the UE 100 determines the number of repetitions of the PUSCH transmission).
However, although Nhan teaches the first configuration information (fig. 2 and pars. 0055-0057), the combination of Nhan, Wei, and Ly explicitly fails to disclose, the first configuration information comprises a Synchronization Signal Block (SSB) Reference Signal Receive Power (RSRP) threshold for Physical Random Access Channel (PRACH) repetition, wherein the processing circuitry determines that PUSCH repetition … is to be enabled when a measured RSRP on SSBs transmitted by the base station is below the SSB RSRP threshold.
Taherzadeh Boroujeni further teaches the first configuration information comprises a Synchronization Signal Block (SSB) Reference Signal Receive Power (RSRP) threshold for Physical Random Access Channel (PRACH) repetition (par. 0107, teaches the UE may receive a system information message from a network entity (e.g., a base station). Wherein, the system information message may indicate a received power threshold associated with a two-step random access procedure. The received power threshold may be an SSB-based RSRP threshold. Moreover, the threshold is for triggering msg3 repetitions. Wherein, par. 0118, which teaches enable the UE 115-a to transmit multiple msgA payload repetitions (e.g., PUSCH repetitions) to the base station. Moreover, par. 0114 teaches the base station 105-a may transmit control signaling including SSB-based RSRP threshold for triggering msgA preamble (e.g., PRACH) repetitions. Par. 0004 teaches physical random access channel (PRACH)),
wherein the processing circuitry (fig. 5 and par. 0137, teaches device 505 may also include a processor) determines that PUSCH repetition … is to be enabled when a measured RSRP on SSBs transmitted by the base station is below the SSB RSRP threshold (pars. 0113-0114, teaches if SSB-based RSRP measurements of the synchronization signals 205 are below this threshold, the UE 115-a may trigger msgA payload repetitions. Wherein, the language “msgA payload repetitions” reads as PUSCH repetition within the context of par. 0118, which teaches enable the UE 115-a to transmit multiple msgA payload repetitions (e.g., PUSCH repetitions) to the base station).
Therefore, it would have been obvious for one of the ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the invention to utilize the first configuration information comprises a Synchronization Signal Block (SSB) Reference Signal Receive Power (RSRP) threshold for Physical Random Access Channel (PRACH) repetition, wherein the processing circuitry determines that PUSCH repetition … is to be enabled when a measured RSRP on SSBs transmitted by the base station is below the SSB RSRP threshold, as disclosed by Taherzadeh Boroujeni with the combination of Nhan, Wei, and Ly. The motivations for doing so would be to improve reliability. (see Taherzadeh Boroujeni par. 0005)
Regarding claim 4. Nhan, Wei, and Ly teaches an apparatus of claim 1. Nhan further teaches the first configuration information (fig. 2 and pars. 0055-0057, teaches NW 200 sends a DCI of format 0_0 with CRC bits scrambled by the new RNTI for scheduling a PUSCH transmission. Then, the UE 100 determines the PUSCH transmission to be scheduled and parameters for the PUSCH transmission based on the DCI. Wherein, determining the parameters for the PUSCH transmission, the UE 100 determines the number of repetitions of the PUSCH transmission. Whereas par. 0044, teaches the downlink control information (DCI) is in a format 0_0 is a fallback DCI. Wherein, the “DCI of format 0_0 with CRC bits scrambled by the new RNTI for scheduling a PUSCH transmission” reads as the first configuration information within the context of this passage) … for Msg3 repetition (par. 0026, teaches a UE may request repetition transmission for a transmission of a radio resource control (RRC) request message (Msg3) via a Physical Uplink Shared Channel (PUSCH), i.e., Msg3 PUSCH, granted by an uplink grant in a random access response (RAR) message (Msg2) for initial transmission of the Msg3 PUSCH or granted by Downlink Control Information (DCI) format 0_0 with Cyclic Redundancy Check (CRC) bits scrambled by Temporary Cell-Radio Network Temporary Identifier (TC-RNTI) for retransmission of the Msg3 PUSCH),
wherein the processing circuitry (fig. 3 and pars. 0072-0076, teaches UE 100 includes processor 120) determines that PUSCH repetition for PUSCH scheduled by fallback DCI (fig. 2 and pars. 0055-0057, teaches NW 200 sends a DCI of format 0_0 with CRC bits scrambled by the new RNTI for scheduling a PUSCH transmission. Then, the UE 100 determines the PUSCH transmission to be scheduled and parameters for the PUSCH transmission based on the DCI. Wherein, determining the parameters for the PUSCH transmission, the UE 100 determines the number of repetitions of the PUSCH transmission).
However, although Nhan teaches the first configuration information (fig. 2 and pars. 0055-0057), the combination of Nhan, Wei, and Ly explicitly fails to disclose, the first configuration information comprises a Synchronization Signal Block (SSB) Reference Signal Receive Power (RSRP) threshold for Msg3 repetition, wherein the processing circuitry determines that PUSCH repetition … is to be enabled when a measured RSRP on SSBs transmitted by the base station is below the SSB RSRP threshold.
Taherzadeh Boroujeni further teaches the first configuration information comprises a Synchronization Signal Block (SSB) Reference Signal Receive Power (RSRP) threshold for Msg3 repetition (par. 0107, teaches the UE may receive a system information message from a network entity (e.g., a base station). Wherein, the system information message may indicate a received power threshold associated with a two-step random access procedure. The received power threshold may be an SSB-based RSRP threshold. Moreover, the threshold is for triggering msg3 repetitions. Wherein, par. 0118, which teaches enable the UE 115-a to transmit multiple msgA payload repetitions (e.g., PUSCH repetitions) to the base station), wherein the processing circuitry (fig. 5 and par. 0137, teaches device 505 may also include a processor) determines that PUSCH repetition … is to be enabled when a measured RSRP on SSBs transmitted by the base station is below the SSB RSRP threshold (pars. 0113-0114, teaches if SSB-based RSRP measurements of the synchronization signals 205 are below this threshold, the UE 115-a may trigger msgA payload repetitions. Wherein, the language “msgA payload repetitions” reads as PUSCH repetition within the context of par. 0118, which teaches enable the UE 115-a to transmit multiple msgA payload repetitions (e.g., PUSCH repetitions) to the base station).
Therefore, it would have been obvious for one of the ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the invention to utilize the first configuration information comprises a Synchronization Signal Block (SSB) Reference Signal Receive Power (RSRP) threshold for Msg3 repetition, wherein the processing circuitry determines that PUSCH repetition … is to be enabled when a measured RSRP on SSBs transmitted by the base station is below the SSB RSRP threshold, as disclosed by Taherzadeh Boroujeni with the combination of Nhan, Wei, and Ly. The motivations for doing so would be to improve reliability. (see Taherzadeh Boroujeni par. 0005)
Claim 5 is rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Nhan et al. (US20240349274 hereinafter Nhan) in view of Wei et al. (US20220086876 hereinafter Wei), in view of Ly et al. (US20240147546 hereinafter Ly), in view of Taherzadeh Boroujeni et al. (US20250024506 hereinafter Taherzadeh Boroujeni), in further view of Xiong et al. (US20230224073 hereinafter Xiong).
Regarding claim 5. Nhan, Wei, and Ly teaches an apparatus of claim 1. Nhan further teaches the first configuration information (fig. 2 and pars. 0055-0057, teaches NW 200 sends a DCI of format 0_0 with CRC bits scrambled by the new RNTI for scheduling a PUSCH transmission. Then, the UE 100 determines the PUSCH transmission to be scheduled and parameters for the PUSCH transmission based on the DCI. Wherein, determining the parameters for the PUSCH transmission, the UE 100 determines the number of repetitions of the PUSCH transmission. Whereas par. 0044, teaches the downlink control information (DCI) is in a format 0_0 is a fallback DCI. Wherein, the “DCI of format 0_0 with CRC bits scrambled by the new RNTI for scheduling a PUSCH transmission” reads as the first configuration information within the context of this passage),
wherein the processing circuitry (fig. 3 and pars. 0072-0076, teaches UE 100 includes processor 120) determines that PUSCH repetition for PUSCH scheduled by fallback DCI (fig. 2 and pars. 0055-0057, teaches NW 200 sends a DCI of format 0_0 with CRC bits scrambled by the new RNTI for scheduling a PUSCH transmission. Then, the UE 100 determines the PUSCH transmission to be scheduled and parameters for the PUSCH transmission based on the DCI. Wherein, determining the parameters for the PUSCH transmission, the UE 100 determines the number of repetitions of the PUSCH transmission).
However, although Nhan teaches the first configuration information (fig. 2 and pars. 0055-0057), the combination of Nhan, Wei, and Ly explicitly fails to disclose, the first configuration information comprises … a Synchronization Signal Block (SSB) Reference Signal Receive Power (RSRP) threshold, wherein the processing circuitry determines that PUSCH repetition … enabled for any measured RSRP on SSBs transmitted by the base station.
Taherzadeh Boroujeni disclosed apparatus, systems, and methods for PUSCH repetition, so Taherzadeh Boroujeni is analogous to Nhan. Furthermore, Taherzadeh Boroujeni teaches the first configuration information comprises … a Synchronization Signal Block (SSB) Reference Signal Receive Power (RSRP) threshold (par. 0107, teaches the UE may receive a system information message from a network entity (e.g., a base station). Wherein, the system information message may indicate a received power threshold associated with a two-step random access procedure. The received power threshold may be an SSB-based RSRP threshold. Moreover, the threshold is for triggering msg3 repetitions. Wherein, par. 0118, which teaches enable the UE 115-a to transmit multiple msgA payload repetitions (e.g., PUSCH repetitions) to the base station) …,
wherein the processing circuitry (fig. 5 and par. 0137, teaches device 505 may also include a processor) determines that PUSCH repetition … enabled for any measured RSRP on SSBs transmitted by the base station (pars. 0113-0114, teaches if SSB-based RSRP measurements of the synchronization signals 205 are below this threshold, the UE 115-a may trigger msgA payload repetitions. Wherein, the language “msgA payload repetitions” reads as PUSCH repetition within the context of par. 0118, which teaches enable the UE 115-a to transmit multiple msgA payload repetitions (e.g., PUSCH repetitions) to the base station).
Therefore, it would have been obvious for one of the ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the invention to utilize the first configuration information comprises … a Synchronization Signal Block (SSB) Reference Signal Receive Power (RSRP) threshold, wherein the processing circuitry determines that PUSCH repetition … enabled for any measured RSRP on SSBs transmitted by the base station, as disclosed by Taherzadeh Boroujeni with the combination of Nhan, Wei, and Ly. The motivations for doing so would be to improve reliability. (see Taherzadeh Boroujeni par. 0005)
However, the combination of Nhan, Wei, Ly and Taherzadeh Boroujeni explicitly fails to disclose, the first configuration information comprises a value for a Synchronization Signal Block (SSB) Reference Signal Receive Power (RSRP) threshold.
Xiong disclosed apparatus, systems, and methods for a Synchronization Signal Block (SSB) Reference Signal Receive Power (RSRP) threshold, so Xiong is analogous to Nhan. Furthermore, Xiong teaches the first configuration information comprises a value for a Synchronization Signal Block (SSB) Reference Signal Receive Power (RSRP) threshold (par. 0108, teaches an SSB-RSRP threshold value configured by the base station and used for msg3 repetition. Par. 0092 teaches synchronization signal block (SSB) and par. 0012 teaches reference signal received power (RSRP)).
Therefore, it would have been obvious for one of the ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the invention to utilize the first configuration information comprises a value for a Synchronization Signal Block (SSB) Reference Signal Receive Power (RSRP) threshold, as disclosed by Xiong with the combination of Nhan, Wei, Ly and Taherzadeh Boroujeni. The motivations for doing so would be to improve communications. (see Xiong pars. 0005-0008)
Claim 7 is rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Nhan et al. (US20240349274 hereinafter Nhan) in view of Wei et al. (US20220086876 hereinafter Wei), in view of Ly et al. (US20240147546 hereinafter Ly), in further view of Sedin et al. (US20250016837 hereinafter Sedin).
Regarding claim 7. Nhan, Wei, and Ly teaches an apparatus of claim 6.
However, although Nhan suggest a first preamble associated with the request transmitted on a shared RACH occasion (RO) with a second preamble for a legacy UE (fig. 2 an pars. 0038-0039, teaches the UE 100 sends a first message Msg1 to the NW 200. The first message Msg1 includes a preamble sent via physical random-access channel (PRACH) using a random access channel (RACH) occasion (RO). The message Msg1 is a random-access response (RAR) request), the combination of Nhan, Wei, and Ly explicitly fails to disclose, the request comprises a first preamble associated with the request transmitted on a shared RACH occasion (RO) with a second preamble for a legacy UE.
Sedin disclosed apparatus, systems, and methods for a request, so Sedin is analogous to Nhan. Furthermore, Sedin teaches the request comprises a first preamble associated with the request transmitted on a shared RACH occasion (RO) with a second preamble for a legacy UE (pars. 0115-0164, teaches the UE requests Msg3 PUSCH repetition at least when the RSRP of the downlink pathloss reference is lower than an RSRP threshold. Wherein, the request includes separate preamble with shared RO configured by the same PRACH configuration index with legacy UEs. Par. 0021, teaches Reference Signal Received Power (RSRP) and par. 0015 teaches Physical Random Access Channel (PRACH)).
Therefore, it would have been obvious for one of the ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the invention to utilize the request comprises a first preamble associated with the request transmitted on a shared RACH occasion (RO) with a second preamble for a legacy UE, as disclosed by Sedin with the combination of Nhan, Wei, and Ly. The motivations for doing so would be to improve efficiency. (See Sedin par. 0222)
Claim 8 is rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Nhan et al. (US20240349274 hereinafter Nhan) in view of Wei et al. (US20220086876 hereinafter Wei), in view of Ly et al. (US20240147546 hereinafter Ly), in further view of Li et al. (US20240389134 hereinafter Li).
Regarding claim 8. Nhan, Wei, and Ly teaches an apparatus of claim 6. Nhan further teaches the request is transmitted (fig. 2 and pars. 0043-0052, teaches the UE transmits an initial transmission of a third message Msg3 to the NW 200. Wherein, the NW 200 may determine an implicit request for PUSCH repetition from a PUSCH repetition request for the third message Msg3. Moreover, fig. 2 and pars. 0052-0057, teaches the NW 200 sends a DCI of format 0_0 with CRC bits scrambled by the new RNTI for scheduling a PUSCH transmission. Wherein, par. 0044, teaches the downlink control information (DCI) is in a format 0_0 is a fallback DCI. Thus, Msg3 that requests a PUSCH repetition that the NW grants using a scheduling fallback DCI, reads as a request to for the PUSCH scheduled by fallback DCI).
However, although Nhan teaches the request is transmitted (fig. 2 and pars. 0043-0052), the combination of Nhan, Wei, and Ly explicitly fails to disclose, transmitting on a RACH occasion (RO) that is different from a RO for a legacy UE.
Li disclosed apparatus, systems, and methods for transmitting, so Li is analogous to Nhan. Furthermore, Li teaches transmitting on a RACH occasion (RO) that is different from a RO for a legacy UE (par. 0024 teaches, UEs may use separate RACH resources different from legacy UEs to indicate reduced UE capabilities or repetition preferences. Par. 0004 teaches random access channel (RACH)).
Therefore, it would have been obvious for one of the ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the invention to utilize transmitting on a RACH occasion (RO) that is different from a RO for a legacy UE, as disclosed by Li with the combination of Nhan, Wei, and Ly. The motivations for doing so would be to improve wireless communication. (see Li par. 0003)
Claim 10 is rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Nhan et al. (US20240349274 hereinafter Nhan) in view of Wei et al. (US20220086876 hereinafter Wei), in view of Ly et al. (US20240147546 hereinafter Ly), in further view of Lee et al. (US20220232635 hereinafter Lee).
Regarding claim 10. Nhan, Wei, and Ly teaches an apparatus of claim 9. Nhan further teaches the Msg3 PUSCH higher layer signaling… for PUSCH scheduled by fallback DCI (fig. 2 and pars. 0055-0057, teaches NW 200 sends a DCI of format 0_0 with CRC bits scrambled by the new RNTI for scheduling a PUSCH transmission. Then, the UE 100 determines the PUSCH transmission to be scheduled and parameters for the PUSCH transmission based on the DCI. Wherein, determining the parameters for the PUSCH transmission, the UE 100 determines the number of repetitions of the PUSCH transmission. Wherein, the DCI of format 0_0 with CRC bits scrambled by the new RNTI for scheduling a PUSCH transmission comes after Msg 4 which is after Msg3. Wherein, par. 0052, teaches Msg3 is a PUSCH repetition request, thus reads as a Msg3 PUSCH. Wherein, par. 0044, teaches the DCI format 0_0 is a fallback DCI, which has a smaller payload and is more robust and relevant for scheduling uplink transmission before RRC reconfiguration).
However, although Nhan teaches signaling corresponding to enabling PUSCH repetition (fig. 2 and pars. 0055-0057), the combination of Nhan and Wei explicitly fails to disclose, signaling corresponding to enabling PUSCH repetition.
Ly further teaches signaling corresponding to enabling PUSCH repetition (fig. 3 and par. 0062, teaches in step 335 the UE transmits to the base station request PUSCH repetition via dedicated PRACH resources. Thus, aspects may enable PUSCH repetition. Wherein, the request reads as a request to enable PUSCH repetition. Par. 0006, teaches physical random access channel (PRACH) and physical uplink shared channel (PUSCH)).
Therefore, it would have been obvious for one of the ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the invention to utilize signaling corresponding to enabling PUSCH repetition, as disclosed by Ly with the combination of Nhan and Wei. The motivations for doing so would be to improve spectral efficiency. (see Ly par. 0005)
However, although Nhan teaches the Msg3 PUSCH higher layer signaling (fig. 2 and pars. 0055-0057), the combination of Nhan, Wei, and Ly explicitly fails to disclose, the Msg3 PUSCH higher layer signaling comprises (i) a logical channel identification (LCID) codepoint corresponding to enabling PUSCH repetition…(ii) a Medium Access Control (MAC) sub-header corresponding to enabling PUSCH repetition.
Lee disclosed apparatus, systems, and methods for Msg3 PUSCH, so Lee is analogous to Lee. Furthermore, Lee teaches the Msg3 PUSCH higher layer signaling comprises (i) a logical channel identification (LCID) codepoint corresponding to enabling PUSCH repetition… (par. 0213, teaches the MAC subheader of the Msg3 PUSCH may include an LCID field, and may indicate the UE capability or the UE type through any one of the reserved codepoints/indexes of the LCID field. Wherein, the LCID codepoint/index may indicate a message of a UE supporting PDSCH repetitive transmission. Par. 0051 teaches Medium Access Control (MAC)),
(ii) a Medium Access Control (MAC) sub-header corresponding to enabling PUSCH repetition …(par. 0213, teaches the MAC subheader of the Msg3 PUSCH may include an LCID field, and may indicate the UE capability or the UE type through any one of the reserved codepoints/indexes of the LCID field. Wherein, the LCID codepoint/index may indicate a message of a UE supporting PDSCH repetitive transmission) or (iii) an enhanced LCID (eLCID) corresponding to enabling PUSCH repetition for PUSCH scheduled by fallback DCI (interpreted as alternative language/disposition limitation and therefore not required to be disclosed by the art made of record).
Therefore, it would have been obvious for one of the ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the invention to utilize the Msg3 PUSCH higher layer signaling comprises (i) a logical channel identification (LCID) codepoint corresponding to enabling PUSCH repetition… (ii) a Medium Access Control (MAC) sub-header corresponding to enabling PUSCH repetition …, as disclosed by Lee with the combination of Nhan, Wei, and Ly. The motivations for doing so would be to reduce power consumption. (see Lee par. 0248)
Claim 12 is rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Nhan et al. (US20240349274 hereinafter Nhan) in view of Wei et al. (US20220086876 hereinafter Wei), in view of Ly et al. (US20240147546 hereinafter Ly), in further view of Wang et al. (US20260136372 hereinafter Wang).
Regarding claim 12. Nhan, Wei, and Ly teaches an apparatus of claim 11. Nhan further teaches the processing circuitry is further configured (fig. 3 and pars. 0072-0076, teaches UE 100 includes processor 120) to: decode, based on signals received from the base station (fig. 2 and pars. 0055-0057, teaches NW 200 sends a DCI of format 0_0 with CRC bits scrambled by the new RNTI for scheduling a PUSCH transmission. Then, the UE 100 determines the PUSCH transmission to be scheduled and parameters for the PUSCH transmission based on the DCI. Wherein, determining the parameters for the PUSCH transmission, the UE 100 determines the number of repetitions of the PUSCH transmission).
However, although Nhan teaches decoding, based on signals received from the base station (fig. 2 and pars. 0055-0057), the combination of Nhan, Wei, and Ly explicitly fails to disclose, decoding second configuration information comprising candidate repetition factors, wherein the repetition factor is selected from the candidate repetition factors.
Wang disclosed apparatus, systems, and methods for PDSCH repetition, so Wang is analogous to Nhan. Furthermore, Wang teaches decoding second configuration information comprising candidate repetition factors (fig. 3 and par. 0136, teaches a candidate number of repetition transmissions for common PDSCH repetition transmission is configured in SIB1, the terminal considers that the network enables the common PDSCH repetition transmission. Moreover, pars. 0074 and 0212-0213, teaches the terminal determines a number of repetition transmissions. For example, the plurality of value candidates of the number of repetition transmissions herein may be at least one of {1, 2, 4, 8, 16, 32}, and the set of numbers of repetition transmissions is any subset of the set {1, 2, 4, 8, 16, 32}. Thus, reads as the terminal decoding second configuration information comprising candidate repetition factors. Par. 0093 teaches system information block (SIB) and par. 0065 teaches physical downlink shared channel (PDSCH)), wherein the repetition factor is selected from the candidate repetition factors (par. 0212 teaches select one value of the number of repetition transmissions from the set of numbers of repetition transmissions, to be determined as the number of repetition transmissions for the common PDSCH repetition transmission).
Therefore, it would have been obvious for one of the ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the invention to utilize decoding second configuration information comprising candidate repetition factors, wherein the repetition factor is selected from the candidate repetition factors, as disclosed by Wang with the combination of Nhan, Wei, and Ly. The motivations for doing so would be to improve reliability. (see Wang par. 0069)
Claim 13 is rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Nhan et al. (US20240349274 hereinafter Nhan) in view of Wei et al. (US20220086876 hereinafter Wei), in view of Ly et al. (US20240147546 hereinafter Ly), in further view of Tang (US20240155614).
Regarding claim 13. Nhan, Wei, and Ly teaches an apparatus of claim 11.
However, the combination of Nhan, Wei, and Ly explicitly fails to disclose, the repetition factor is selected from a set of default repetition factors.
Tang disclosed apparatus, systems, and methods for a repetition factor, so Tang is analogous to Nhan. Furthermore, Tang teaches the repetition factor is selected from a set of default repetition factors (par. 0069, teaches UE 704 may determine a particular repetition factor from the set of candidate repetition factors or the set of default candidate repetition factors).
Therefore, it would have been obvious for one of the ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the invention to utilize the repetition factor is selected from a set of …repetition factors, as disclosed by Tang with the combination of Nhan, Wei, and Ly. The motivations for doing so would be to improve reliability. (see Tang par. 0062)
Claims 14, 16, and 17 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Nhan et al. (US20240349274 hereinafter Nhan) in view of Wei et al. (US20220086876 hereinafter Wei), in view of Ly et al. (US20240147546 hereinafter Ly), in further view of Ly et al. (US20240008090 hereinafter Ly-2).
Regarding claim 14. Nhan, Wei, and Ly teaches an apparatus of claim 11. Nhan further teaches the repetition factor is for PUSCH scheduled by fallback DCI that are to be transmitted before a radio resource control (RRC) reconfiguration is completed by the UE (fig. 2 and pars. 0055-0057, teaches NW 200 sends a DCI of format 0_0 with CRC bits scrambled by the new RNTI for scheduling a PUSCH transmission. Then, the UE 100 determines the PUSCH transmission to be scheduled and parameters for the PUSCH transmission based on the DCI. Wherein, determining the parameters for the PUSCH transmission, the UE 100 determines the number of repetitions of the PUSCH transmission. Moreover, the language “the UE 100 determines the number of repetitions of the PUSCH transmission” reads as decoding a repetition factor for PUSCH repetition for PUSCH scheduled by fallback DCI. Wherein, DCI format 0_0 is a fallback DCI, which has a smaller payload and is more robust and relevant for scheduling uplink transmission before RRC reconfiguration).
However, although Nhan teaches the repetition factor is for PUSCH scheduled by fallback DCI that are to be transmitted before a radio resource control (RRC) reconfiguration is completed by the UE (fig. 2 and pars. 0044 and 0055-0057), the combination of Nhan, Wei, and Ly explicitly fails to disclose, the repetition factor is … to be transmitted after a radio resource control (RRC) reconfiguration is completed by the UE.
Ly-2 disclosed apparatus, systems, and methods for radio resource control (RRC) reconfiguration, so Ly-2 is analogous to Nhan. Furthermore, Ly-2 teaches the repetition factor is … to be transmitted after a radio resource control (RRC) reconfiguration is completed by the UE (fig. 5 and par. 0078, teaches UE 501 may transmit a radio resource control (RRC) reconfiguration complete indication in MSG3 in step 510. Then, fig. 5 and pars. 0083-0084 teaches base station 503 may transmit UL retransmission message 514 to employ MSG3 repetition to the UE. Wherein, par. 0089, teaches UE 501 may determine the number of repetitions based on available or allocated UL slots in the UL retransmission message 514. Thus, the repetition factor is … to be transmitted after a radio resource control (RRC) reconfiguration is completed by the UE).
Therefore, it would have been obvious for one of the ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the invention to utilize the repetition factor is … to be transmitted after a radio resource control (RRC) reconfiguration is completed by the UE, as disclosed by Ly-2 with the combination of Nhan, Wei, and Ly. The motivations for doing so would be to improve reliability. (see Ly-2 par. 0003)
Regarding claim 16. Nhan, Wei, Ly, and Ly-2 teaches an apparatus of claim 14. Nhan further teaches the processing circuitry is further configured to (fig. 3 and pars. 0072-0076, teaches UE 100 includes processor 120) to: decode, based on signals received from the base station, uplink (UL) grant DCI comprising the repetition factor (fig. 2 and pars. 0055-0057, teaches NW 200 sends a DCI of format 0_0 with CRC bits scrambled by the new RNTI for scheduling a PUSCH transmission. Then, the UE 100 determines the PUSCH transmission to be scheduled and parameters for the PUSCH transmission based on the DCI. Wherein, determining the parameters for the PUSCH transmission, the UE 100 determines the number of repetitions of the PUSCH transmission. Wherein, the language “the UE 100 determines the number of repetitions of the PUSCH transmission for the PUSCH transmission based on the DCI” reads as decoding based on the first configuration information uplink (UL) grant DCI comprising the repetition factor. Moreover, par. 0044, teaches NW 200 may grant a retransmission of the Msg3 PUSCH using a downlink control information (DCI)).
Regarding claim 17. Nhan, Wei, Ly, and Ly-2 teaches an apparatus of claim 16. Nhan further teaches the repetition factor is included in (i) a modulation and coding scheme (MCS) information field of the UL grant DCI (Par. 0052, teaches the NW 200 configures the value of the MSB of the MCS information field to indicate a largest number of repetitions. Whereas, par. 0057, the UE 100 determines which bits of the MCS information field are the MSBs and the LSBs based on the scrambled CRC bits of the DCI. Wherein, UE 100 may determine the number of repetitions of the PUSCH transmission by searching a look up table specific to the RNTI type based on the value of the MSB. Similarly, the MCS index for the PUSCH transmission is determined by searching a look up table specific to the RNTI type based on the value of the LSB. Each RNTI type may have a separate associated look up table for each of the number of repetitions and the MCS index as well as other values indicated in the DCI. Moreover, par. 0044, teaches NW 200 may grant a retransmission of the Msg3 PUSCH using a downlink control information (DCI). Par. 0028 most significant bits (MSBs), modulation and coding scheme (MCS), par. 0041 east significant bits (LSBs), and par. 0005 radio network temporary identifier (RNTI) cyclic redundancy check (CRC)), (ii) a time domain resource allocation (TDRA) information field of the UL grant DCI (interpreted as alternative language/disposition limitation and therefore not required to be disclosed by the art made of record), or (iii) a Hybrid Automatic Repeat Request (HARQ) processing number information field of the UL grant DCI (interpreted as alternative language/disposition limitation and therefore not required to be disclosed by the art made of record).
Claim 18 is rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Nhan et al. (US20240349274 hereinafter Nhan) in view of Wei et al. (US20220086876 hereinafter Wei), in view of Ly et al. (US20240147546 hereinafter Ly), in view of Ly et al. (US20240008090 hereinafter Ly-2), in further view of Sridharan et al. (US20220123865 hereinafter Sridharan).
Regarding claim 18. Nhan, Wei, Ly, and Ly-2 teaches an apparatus of claim 14. Nhan further teaches the processing circuitry is further configured (fig. 3 and pars. 0072-0076, teaches UE 100 includes processor 120) to: decode, based on signals received from the base station, a PUSCH configuration … comprising the repetition factor (fig. 2 and pars. 0055-0057, teaches NW 200 sends a DCI of format 0_0 with CRC bits scrambled by the new RNTI for scheduling a PUSCH transmission. Then, the UE 100 determines the PUSCH transmission to be scheduled and parameters for the PUSCH transmission based on the DCI. Wherein, determining the parameters for the PUSCH transmission, the UE 100 determines the number of repetitions of the PUSCH transmission. Wherein, the language “the UE 100 determines the number of repetitions of the PUSCH transmission for the PUSCH transmission based on the DCI” reads as decoding based on the first configuration information uplink (UL) grant DCI comprising the repetition factor. Moreover, par. 0044, teaches NW 200 may grant a retransmission of the Msg3 PUSCH using a downlink control information (DCI). Wherein, the language “a DCI of format 0_0 with CRC bits scrambled by the new RNTI for scheduling a PUSCH transmission” reads as a PUSCH configuration due to including the number of repetitions of the PUSCH transmission for the PUSCH transmission).
However, the combination of Nhan, Wei, Ly, and Ly-2 explicitly fails to disclose, decode, based on signals received from the base station, a PUSCH configuration information element (IE) comprising the repetition factor.
Sridharan disclosed apparatus, systems, and methods for PUSCH repetitions, so Sridharan is analogous to Nhan. Furthermore, Sridharan teaches decode, based on signals received from the base station, a PUSCH configuration information element (IE) comprising the repetition factor (fig. 12 and par. 0232, teaches the base station 110 may indicate the number of PUSCH repetitions in an RRC message, such as using a RepK value (or a RepK information element). Wherein, par. 0226, teaches UE 120 (e.g., a mobile station) may determine a maximum number of repetitions for a PUSCH (e.g., for PUSCH communications) based at least in part a configuration indicated by the base station 110. Par. 0014 physical uplink shared channel (PUSCH) and par. 0109 radio resource control (RRC)).
Therefore, it would have been obvious for one of the ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the invention to utilize decode, based on signals received from the base station, a PUSCH configuration information element (IE) comprising the repetition factor, as disclosed by Sridharan with the combination of Nhan, Wei, Ly, and Ly-2. The motivations for doing so would be to improve services. (see Sridharan par. 0005)
Allowable Subject Matter
Claim 15 is objected to as being dependent upon a rejected base claim, but would be allowable if rewritten in independent form including all of the limitations of the base claim and any intervening claims.
Conclusion
/TRACY LAUREN RAIMONDO/Examiner, Art Unit 2474
/Michael Thier/Supervisory Patent Examiner, Art Unit 2474