DETAILED ACTION
Claim Objections
Claim 1 is objected to because of the following informalities: Claim 1 recites “A video encoder of signaling reference picture list entry information for video data, the video encoder comprising:” This should be “A video encoder [of ]signaling reference picture list entry information for video data, the video encoder comprising:” Appropriate correction is required.
Claim 2 is objected to because of the following informalities: Claim 2 recites “A video decoder of decoding video data, the video decoder comprising: a processor, and a memory associated with the processor; wherein the processor is configured to:” This should be “A video decoder [of ]decoding video data, the video decoder comprising: a processor, and a memory associated with the processor; wherein the processor is configured to:” Appropriate correction is required.
Claim Interpretation
Nonfunctional Descriptive Material
Claim 3 recites “A non-transitory computer readable recording medium storing a bitstream”. There are no recitations of a processor or other element-merely a bitstream content (a bitstream which is used to reconstruct an image). Under MPEP 2111.05(III), this claim is merely machine-readable media. The Examiner finds that there is no disclosed or claimed functional relationship between the stored bitstream and the medium. Instead, the medium is merely a support or carrier for the bitstream being stored. Therefore, the bitstream stored should not be given patentable weight. See MPEP 2111.05 applying In re Lowry, 32 F.3d 1579, 1583-84, 32 USPQ2d 1031, 1035 (Fed. Cir. 1994); and In re Ngai, 367 F.3d 1336, 70 USPQ2d 1862 (Fed. Cir. 2004). As such, claim 3 is subject to a prior art rejection based on any non-transitory computer readable storage medium known before the earliest effective filing date of the present application.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 102
Claim(s) 1-3 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 102(a)(1) as being anticipated by SJÖBERG, (US 2023/0370627).
Regarding claim 1: SJÖBERG teaches a video encoder of signaling reference picture list entry information for video data [¶0015 teaches: The HEVC long-term picture signaling mechanism needs five lists to be generated where each list has detailed description and occupies extensive parts of the specification text.], the video encoder comprising: a processor, and a memory associated with the processor [¶0141 teaches: An encoder can include a processor coupled to a memory, and the processor may be further coupled to a network interface for storage of encoded pictures to a mass memory or for communication through a network.]; wherein the processor is configured to: signal a syntax element specifying a value for a variable specifying an absolute delta picture order count for a short term reference picture [¶0172 teaches: delta_poc_s1_minus1[ i ] plus 1, when i is equal to 0, specifies the difference between the picture order count values of the current picture and the i-th entry in the stRpsIdx-th candidate short-term RPS that has picture order count value greater than that of the current picture, or, when i is greater than 0, specifies the difference between the picture order count values of the i-th entry and the ( i - 1 )-th entry in the current candidate short-term RPS that have picture order count values greater than the picture order count value of the current picture. The value of delta_poc_s1_minus1[ i ] shall be in the range of 0 to 2.sup.15 - 1, inclusive.], wherein the signaled value plus one specifies the value for the variable in a case that a corresponding short term reference picture is a first occurring short term reference picture in a reference picture list [¶0005 teaches: Both encoder and decoder keep track of POC and assign POC values to each picture that is encoded/decoded; and [¶0172 teaches: delta_poc_s1_minus1[ i ] plus 1… current picture, or, when i is greater than 0 (i.e. includes 1 or first occurring short term reference picture)].
Regarding claim 2: this claim recites a decoder which is complementary to the encoder rejected in claim 1. SJÖBERG teaches a video decoder [Both encoder and decoder, ¶0005]. Therefore, the rejection of claim 1 applies equally to this claim.
Regarding claim 3: this claim has been interpreted above as nonfunctional descriptive material under MPEP 2111.05(III) and the case law cited therein because claim 3 recites “A non-transitory computer readable recording medium storing a bitstream”. As such, claim 3 is subject to a prior art rejection based on any non-transitory computer readable storage medium known before the earliest effective filing date of the present application. In other words, the proper interpretation of claim 3 is merely a machine-readable media in which the media is merely a support or carrier for the bitstream being stored wherein the bitstream stored and the way such bitstream is generated should not be given patentable weight.
SJÖBERG, which is analogous art, discloses non-transitory computer readable storage medium having stored therein a bitstream comprising video information [¶0077 teaches: a computer readable storage medium having stored thereon a bitstream generated according to any of the methods described]. As such, SJÖBERG clearly anticipates the non-transitory, computer-readable storage medium storing a compressed bitstream.
Conclusion
Prior art not relied upon: Please refer to the references listed in an attached PTO-892 and that are not relied upon for the claim rejections detailed above. The prior art made of record and not relied upon is considered pertinent to applicant's disclosure.
In particular, WANG et al., (US 2023/0111484) teaches video processing including performing a conversion between a video and a bitstream of the video according to a rule. At least one of the parameter sets of the bitstream includes a general syntax structure;
PANG et al., (US 2016/0100189) teaches a video coding device configured to determine a reference picture used for coding the current video block and determine a picture order count (POC) value for the reference picture;
QUALCOMM, (CA 2849499) teaches coding reference pictures for a reference picture set; and
CHOI et al., (US 2023/0032818) teaches signaling of constraint flags using gate flag in codes video stream.
In the case of amending the claimed invention, Applicant is respectfully requested to indicate the portion(s) of the specification which dictate(s) the structure relied on for proper interpretation and also to verify and ascertain the metes and bounds of the claimed invention.
/MARNIE A MATT/Primary Examiner, Art Unit 2485