DETAILED ACTION
Claim Interpretation
For Example, in claim 11:
angular mode derivation apparatus;
gradient derivation unit;
angular mode derivation unit.
In claim 12:
angular mode derivation apparatus; and
mode convert processing unit.
In claim 13:
angular mode derivation apparatus; and
angular mode selection unit.
In claim 14: angular mode derivation apparatus.
In claim 15: angular mode derivation apparatus.
In claim 16: angular mode derivation apparatus.
In claim 17:
angular mode derivation apparatus; and
angular mode selection unit.
In claim 18:
video decoding apparatus;
angular mode derivation apparatus; and
prediction image derivation unit.
In claim 19:
video decoding apparatus; and
transform processing unit.
In claim 20:
video decoding apparatus; and
prediction image derivation unit.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claim(s) 11 and 15 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over XIU et al., (From IDS: AHG12: Removal of floating operations in DMD and TIMD, Document: JVET-X0149-v1, Joint Video Experts Team (JVET) of ITU-T SG 16 WP 3 and ISO/IEC JTC1/SC 29, 24th Meeting, by teleconference, 6-15 October 2021) in view of YASUGI et al., (WO 2025/032844).
Regarding claim 11: XIU teaches: An angular mode derivation apparatus [1 Introdution, ¶1 teaches: two decoder-side coding tools] , comprising: a gradient derivation unit configured to derive a first gradient(Dx) being a gradient 1of a pixel value included in a gradient derivation target image, a second gradient(Dy) different from the first gradient, a first absolute value(absx) of the first gradient, a second absolute value(absy) of the second gradient [1 Introduction, ¶3 teaches: the gradient orientation of each template sample (i.e. first and second gradient)…applied at sample position to calculate such orientation from its horizontal and vertical gradients], and a magnitude relationship(xgty) between the first absolute value and the second absolute value [¶5 teaches: The weights of the two angular modes are
determined based on their gradient amplitude (i.e. magnitude relationship), which are derived based on floating-point operations]; an angular mode derivation unit configured to set the second absolute value(absy) to a first variable(S0) and the first absolute value(absx) to a second variable(S1), in a case that the first absolute value(absx) is greater than the second absolute value(absy), and otherwise, set the first absolute value(absx) to the first variable(S0) and the second absolute value(absy) to the second variable(Sl), derive a reciprocal number(v) of the second variable(S1) by using the first variable(S0) and a first table(gradDivTable) [2 Proposal, ¶1 teaches: the gradient orientations based on the LUT-based scheme],.
However, it does not appear that XIU explicitly teaches derive an angle coefficient(iRatio) by using the first variable(S0) and the reciprocal number(v).
In a related field of endeavor, YASUGI teaches derive an angle coefficient(iRatio) by using the first variable(S0) and the reciprocal number(v) [¶ teaches: The angle coefficient derivation unit 310466 derives the angle coefficient ratioLog of the target pixel (which may be subsampled) based on two gradients (Dx, Dy). Here, it derives the logarithmic value of the slope ratioLog based on the absolute value absx of the first gradient and the absolute value absy of the second gradient.].
Given the teachings as a whole, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to incorporate YASUGI’s teaching of an angle coefficient into XIU’s angular mode derivation apparatus for the benefit, as taught by YASUGI, of has the advantage of being simple. [YASUGI translation, page 18]
Regarding claim 15: the essence of the claim is taught above in the rejection of claim 11.
In addition, XIU teaches wherein elements of the second table(LUT) are integers of 0 or greater [2 Proposal, ¶7 teaches: DivSigTable[l6] = { 0, 7, 6, 5 ,5, 4, 4, 3, 3, 2, 2, 1, 1, 1, 1, 0 }].
Allowable Subject Matter
Claims 12-14 and 16-20 are objected to as being dependent upon a rejected base claim, but would be allowable if rewritten in independent form including all of the limitations of the base claim and any intervening claims.
Conclusion
Prior art not relied upon: Please refer to the references listed in an attached PTO-892 and that are not relied upon for the claim rejections detailed above. The prior art made of record and not relied upon is considered pertinent to applicant's disclosure.
In particular, TSAI et al., (US 2025/0254292) teaches a method and apparatus for improvement of decoder-derived intra prediction in a video coding system;
LEE et al., (US 2022/0060744) teaches decoding an image including determining whether a current block is in a bi-directional optical flow (BIO) mode, calculating gradient information of prediction samples of the current block when the current block is in the BIO mode, and generating a prediction block of the current block using the calculated gradient information; and
SHEN (US 2017/0302962) teaches: acquiring a gradient amplitude and a gradient angle of each element in a prediction block; analyzing statistics on the gradient angles and generating a gradient angle histogram of the prediction block; if the texture smoothness of the prediction block is greater than a first pre-determined threshold value, determining that the prediction block is a first-type prediction block, and setting a prediction mode of the first-type prediction block to comprise a direct current prediction mode and a planar prediction mode.
In the case of amending the claimed invention, Applicant is respectfully requested to indicate the portion(s) of the specification which dictate(s) the structure relied on for proper interpretation and also to verify and ascertain the metes and bounds of the claimed invention.
/MARNIE A MATT/Primary Examiner, Art Unit 2485