DETAILED ACTION
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 102
REJECTION BASED ON DUNHAM
Claim(s) 1, 3-4, and 9-10 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 102(a)(1) as being anticipated by US Patent 135,530 to Dunham.
Regarding claim 1, Dunham discloses a carrier (Fig. 1) for a rolled mat or cylindrical object (the carrier is capable of this intended use), the carrier comprising: a substantially cruciform body (D, center G – Fig. 4) having a spine (D) oriented along a first axis and a belt (G) oriented along a second axis which is substantially perpendicular to the first axis (Fig. 4), the spine and the belt intersecting at a central portion of the body (Fig. 4); the spine comprising a first end and a second end, each end extending from the central portion and being provided with a mounting portion (a, d); the belt comprising a first element (one half of G) and a second element (other half of G), each element extending from the central portion and being provided with fastening means (buckle portions at the ends of G); the belt being deformable into a loop, the loop being closeable by the fastening means, to surround the rolled mat or cylindrical object (Fig. 4).
Regarding claim 3, Dunham discloses wherein the or each mounting portion comprises at least one aperture through the body or at least one loop connected to or formed with the body (Fig. 4).
Regarding claim 4, Dunham discloses wherein the fastening means is a buckle (Fig. 4).
Regarding claim 9, Dunham discloses wherein the fastening means comprises a buckle and the buckle comprises a male buckle part formed on or with one of the first element and the second element, and a female buckle part formed on or with the other of the first element and second element (Fig. 4).
Regarding claim 10, Dunham discloses wherein the first element and/or the second element further comprises a strap or straps (G) connecting the body to the buckle (Figs. 2, 4).
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claim(s) 5-7 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Dunham in view of US Patent 9,926,953 to Russell.
Regarding claim 5, Dunham fails to disclose a magnetic connection. However, Russell discloses a strap that is secured with a magnet on one end and a ferromagnetic portion on the other end (Figs. 1-2; Col. 25, lines 27-60). It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill to have used a magnetic connection for the strap because the modification only involves a simple substitution of one known, equivalent securing element for another to obtain predictable results.
Regarding claim 6, the combination from claim 5 discloses wherein the ferromagnetic portion is flexible (ferromagnetic woven yarns – Russell Col. 25, lines 27-35).
Regarding claim 7, the combination from claim 5 discloses wherein the ferromagnetic portion is provided in the form of a plurality of discrete strips (Russell Figs. 6A-7A) parallel with the first axis (strips would be parallel to the first axis in Dunham).
Claim(s) 23 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Dunham in view of US Patent 6,491,196 to Coler.
Regarding claim 23, Dunham fails to disclose adjusting the length of the strap. However, Coler discloses a carrier including a strap portion (14) and buckle (16) wherein the strap has an adjustable length (Col. 3, lines 6-12). It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill to have used Coler’s strap and buckle in Dunham because the modification only involves a simple substitution of one known, equivalent strap and buckle element for another to obtain predictable results.
Claim(s) 12-14, 18, 22 and 24 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Dunham in view of US Published Application 2014/0091119 to Racanati.
Regarding claim 12, Dunham fails to disclose a substantially non-flexible stiffening means. However, Racanati discloses a strap carrier including a spine that comprises a stiffening means and is substantially non-flexible (para. 0012). It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill to have included a stiffening means in the spine to provide added stiffness and rigidity to the carrier.
Regarding claim 13, the combination from claim 12 discloses wherein the stiffening means comprises a spine insert provided in the body (Racanati para. 0012) over substantially an entire length of the spine (in the combination, the stiffening component would extend the entire length of the spine, similar to the entirety of the spine being stiffened in Racanati (para. 0012).
Regarding claim 14, the combination from claim 12 discloses wherein the spine insert is formed of or comprises metal (Racanati para. 0012).
Regarding claim 18, Dunham discloses a strap (H) configured for attachment at each end thereof to the mounting portions of the spine (Fig. 1). Dunham fails to disclose the strap being adjustable. However, Racanati discloses a carrier including a strap (301) that is adjustable (at 601) and padded (at 401). It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill to have made the strap adjustable and padded in Dunham to allow for adapting to various user sizes and to make using the strap more comfortable.
Regarding claim 22, Dunham fails to disclose a mat. However, Racanati discloses a similar strapped carrier that is used to carry a yoga mat (para. 0002). It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill to have used Dunham’s carrier to carry a yoga mat because it would allow for carrying the yoga mat hands-free.
Regarding claim 24, the combination from claim 18 discloses wherein the strap is padded at least partially over its length (Racanati – at 401).
Claim(s) 15 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Dunham and Racanati, further in view of US Patent 3,097,774 to Houston.
Regarding claim 15, the combination from claim 12 fails to disclose corrugations. However, Houston discloses a carrier that includes structural corrugations (Fig. 3). It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill to have included corrugations in the stiffening means because it would increase stiffness, as taught by Houston (Col. 1, lines 60-65).
Claim(s) 16 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Dunham in view of US Patent 151,929 to Speer.
Regarding claim 16, Dunham fails to disclose wherein the spine is at least partially concave in cross-section in a direction of the second axis. However, Speer discloses a carrier including a spine that is concave (Figs. 1-2). It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill to have made the spine concave to better conform to the round carried item.
Claim(s) 19 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Dunham and Racanati, further in view of US Published Application 2016/0227911 to Benzakin.
Regarding claim 19, the combination from claim 18 fails to disclose a pouch on the strap. However, Benzakin discloses a carrying strap wherein the strap is provided with a strap bag or pouch (122) disposed on the length of the strap. It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill to have included a pouch on the strap in the combination because it would increase the carrying capacity of the assembly.
Claim(s) 20-21 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Dunham in view of US Patent 6,644,527 to Karenga.
Regarding claim 20, Dunham fails to disclose anti-slip means. However, Karenga discloses a strap carrier including anti-slip means on the strap (Col. 3, lines 33-42). It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill to have included anti-slip means on the strap to prevent it from slipping off the user’s shoulder.
Regarding claim 21, the combination from claim 20 discloses wherein the anti-slip means comprises a non-slip pad (rubber pad – Col. 3, lines 33-38).
REJECTION BASED ON GILLENWATER
Claim(s) 1 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 102(a)(1) as being anticipated by US Design Patent D510,801 to Gillenwater.
Regarding claim 1, Gillenwater discloses a carrier (Fig. 1) for a rolled mat or cylindrical object (the carrier is capable of this intended use), the carrier comprising: a substantially cruciform body (Fig. 1) having a spine (vertical member in Fig. 1) oriented along a first axis and a belt (horizontal member in Fig. 1) oriented along a second axis which is substantially perpendicular to the first axis (Fig. 1), the spine and the belt intersecting at a central portion of the body (Fig. 1); the spine comprising a first end and a second end, each end extending from the central portion and being provided with a mounting portion (Fig. 1 – buckles at ends of vertical member); the belt comprising a first element (Fig. 1 – one half of horizontal belt) and a second element (Fig. 1 – other half of horizontal belt), each element extending from the central portion and being provided with fastening means (Fig. 1 – buckle portions at the ends of horizontal belt elements); the belt being deformable into a loop, the loop being closeable by the fastening means, to surround the rolled mat or cylindrical object (Figs. 2-3).
Claim(s) 2 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Gillenwater in view of US Patent 4,926,501 to Goosen.
Regarding claim 2, Gillenwater fails to disclose a concave junction. However, Goosen discloses a strap attachment including a unitary body that has concave junctions between the horizontal and vertical portions (Fig. 1). It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill to have made the spine and belt in Gillenwater unitary and having concave junctions because the modification only involves a simple substitution of one known, equivalent strap element attachment (unitary – concave) for another (stitched – angular) to obtain predictable results. Further, using a unitary design would eliminate the extra step of stitching in the manufacturing process.
Claim(s) 11 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Gillenwater in view of Goosen and US Patent 8,899,644 to Hancey.
Regarding claim 11, the combination from claim 2 discloses a unitary body, but fails to disclose silicone. However, Hancey discloses a strap carrier formed of silicone (Col. 2, lines 47-54). It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill to have formed the body from silicone in the combination because the modification only involves choosing from a finite number of predictable materials to use in a strap carrier.
Response to Arguments
Applicant's arguments filed 9/11/2026 have been fully considered but they are not persuasive.
As to applicant’s argument that Dunham fails to disclose a cruciform body (page 9), as stated in the rejection, elements D and center G (Fig. 4) form a cruciform body.
As to applicant’s argument that Dunham fails to disclose a spine in claim 1 because it is not a preferably metal stiffening means inserted into the carrier body (page 9), this argument goes beyond the scope of claim 1 because these requirements are not included in claim 1. Dunham satisfies all of the requirements of claim 1. Recitations regarding metal and the spine being an insert were included in previous dependent claim 13 and were addressed in the rejection of that claim.
As to applicant’s argument that Dunham discloses additional straps (page 9), the presence of additional straps does not preclude elements D and center G (Fig. 4) from being considered a substantially cruciform body, especially in view of applicant’s use of “comprising” in the preamble.
As to applicant’s argument that Dunham fails to disclose an integral single cruciform body (page 9), this argument goes beyond the scope of claim 1, as this is not recited in claim 1.
As to applicant’s argument that Dunham fails to satisfy the definition of “cruciform” (page 10), prior art elements D and center G (Fig. 4, Dunham) satisfy a broadest reasonable interpretation of this term. The presence of other structure in Dunham does not preclude these elements from forming a substantially cruciform body as claimed. Applicant’s argument that claim 1 requires a single, unitary body goes beyond the scope of claim 1, as this is not recited in claim 1.
As to applicant’s argument regarding the purpose of applicant’s carrier (page 11), Dunham discloses the invention as claimed.
As to applicant’s argument that Gillenwater is substantially paddle-like (page 12), Fig. 1 of Gillenwater shows a substantially cruciform body under a broadest reasonable interpretation of that term.
As to applicant’s argument that Gillenwater’s capability of forming in a loop prevents it from being considered cruciform (page 12), the looped orientation does not alter the fact that Fig. 1 in Gillenwater illustrates a substantially cruciform body. Any other differences noted by applicant go beyond the scope of claim 1.
As to applicant’s argument that Gillenwater fails to disclose mounting portions (page 13), as noted in the rejection, Fig. 1 illustrates buckles at the ends of the vertical member, which are mounting portions. Any other differences noted by applicant go beyond the scope of claim 1.
Conclusion
Applicant's amendment necessitated the new ground(s) of rejection presented in this Office action. Accordingly, THIS ACTION IS MADE FINAL. See MPEP § 706.07(a). Applicant is reminded of the extension of time policy as set forth in 37 CFR 1.136(a).
/SCOTT T MCNURLEN/Primary Examiner, Art Unit 3734