DETAILED ACTION
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 112
Claim 22 rejected under 35 U.S.C. 112(b) or 35 U.S.C. 112 (pre-AIA ), second paragraph, as being indefinite for failing to particularly point out and distinctly claim the subject matter which the inventor or a joint inventor (or for applications subject to pre-AIA 35 U.S.C. 112, the applicant), regards as the invention.
Claim 22 recites the limitation stating “wherein the optical system includes an optical system according to claim 1” renders it unclear whether the previously recited optical system is the optical system of claim 1 or instead includes a separate optical system according to claim 1. Consequently, the optical system whose last lens defines the position of the optical filter and whose focal length is represented by F cannot be determined with reasonable certainty.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claim(s) 11 and 14-18 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Chen et al. US 2022/0196971 (2nd Embodiment Fig. 3) in view of Chen et al US 2020/0333565 (hereinafter Chen II).
Regarding claim 11, Chen teaches an optical system (see Fig. 3 and para 0134: image capturing unit) comprising:
a first lens having a meniscus shape convex toward an object side (para 0135: lens 210 has convex object-side surface 211 and concave image side surface 212);
a second lens disposed on a sensor side of the first lens (para 0136 and Fig. 3: second lens 220);
an n-th lens closest to an image sensor (para 0134 and 0145, Fig. 3: lens 296 is the eleventh/n-th lens);
an n-1th lens disposed on an object side of the n-th lens (para 0134, 0144 and Fig. 3: lens 293 is the tenth/n-1th lens); and
five or more lenses disposed between the second lens and the n-1th lens (Figs. 3 and para 0134: seven lens 230-290 disposed between second lens 220 and then lens 293),
wherein one of lenses disposed between the second lens and the n-1th lens has a minimum effective diameter (Fig. 3 appears to show lens 230 as the minimum effective diameter among lenses 230-290),
wherein the n-th lens has a maximum effective diameter among the lenses of the optical system (Fig. 3 appears to show lens 293 as the largest/maximum effective diameter among the lenses of the optical system),
wherein the n-th lens has a meniscus shape convex toward the object side (para 0145: lens 296 has convex object side surface 297 and concave image-side surface 298),
wherein a sensor surface of the n-th lens has a critical point between the optical axis and the end of an effective region (Fig. 3 and para 0145: the image side surface 298 of eleventh lens 296 has at least one convex critical point in an off-axis region),
wherein a sum of center thicknesses of the lenses is ΣCT, wherein a sum of an optical axis distance between two adjacent lenses is ΣCG, wherein a maximum center thickness of the lenses is CT_Max, wherein a maximum of optical axis distances between the adjacent lenses is CG_Max, wherein n is a total number of lenses in the optical system, wherein the following Equation satisfies: 1<ΣCT/ΣCG<2.5 wherein the following Equation satisfies: 10<(CT_Max+CG_Max)*n<30 (From Table 3: ΣCT = 5.520 mm, ΣCG = 3.222 mm, CT_Max = 0.928 mm, CG_Max = 1.251 and n = 11, thus ΣCT/ΣCG = 5.520/3.222 = 1.713, satisfied claimed range, and (CT_Max+CG_Max)*n = (0.928+1.251)*11 = 23.969 satisfied claimed range.
Chen does not teach wherein the n-1th lens has a meniscus shape convex toward the sensor side because tenth lens 293 has both object-side surface 294 and image-side surface 295 convex in the paraxial region (see para 0144).
However, Chen II teaches the missing limitation, in the ninth embodiment, the optical system includes fifth lens 950 as the penultimate lens and sixth lens 960 as the final lens (Fig. 17 and para 0151). The positive penultimate fifth lens 950 has a concave object side surface 951 and convex image side surface 952 and therefore has a meniscus shape convex toward the sends side (see para 0159). Chen II further demonstrates this penultimate lens immediately followed by a negative final lens 960 having a convex object side surface 961 and concave image side surface 962 i.e., the same object convex meniscus orientations as Chen’s final lens 296 (para 0157). Accordingly, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date to modify the positive tenth lens 293 of Chen to have a concave object side surface while retaining its convex image side surface, as taught by the positive penultimate lens 950 of Chen II, thereby providing the known image end arrangement of a sensor convex positive penultimate meniscus followed by an objective convex negative final meniscus. One would have been motivated to make this modification to provide correcting high order and off-axis aberrations, enhancing resolving power and retaining high image quality in a compact optical system as taught in paras. 0033-0034 and 0053.
Regarding claim 14, the combination of Chen teaches the optical system of claim 11, and Chen II further teaches wherein an object-side surface and a sensor-side surface of the n-1th lens are provided without a critical point from the optical axis to an end of an effective region (penultimate fifth lens 950 has concave object side surface 951 and convex image side surface 952, both of which are aspheric (see para 156), and Fig. 17 depicts both surfaces 951 and 952 extending continuously and monotonically from the optical axis through their respective ray used effective regions, without a reversal in surface slope or other critical point).
Regarding claim 15, the combination of Chen teaches the optical system of claim 11, and Chen further teaches wherein an optical axis distance between the n-th lens and the n−1th lens is CG10, wherein a center thickness of the n-th lens is CT11, wherein the following Equation satisfies: 2<CG10/CT11<3 (From Table 3: CG10 = -1.016+2.267 = 1.251 mm, CT11 = 0.5 mm, thus CG10/CT11 = 1.251/0.5 = 2.502, satisfied claimed range).
Regarding claim 16, the combination of Chen teaches the optical system of claim 11, and Chen further teaches wherein the sum of the center thicknesses from the first lens to the n-th lens is ΣCT, wherein the sum of the center distance between two adjacent lenses is ΣCG, wherein the total number of lenses is n, wherein the following Equation satisfies: ΣCT*n>45 wherein the following Equation satisfies: ΣCG*n>30 (From Table 3: ΣCT = 5.520 mm, ΣCG = 3.222 mm, and n = 11; ΣCT*n = 5.52*11 = 60.72, which satisfied claimed range, and ΣCG*n = 3.222*11 = 35.442 which satisfied claimed range).
Regarding claim 17, the combination of Chen teaches the optical system of claim 11, and Chen further teaches wherein a largest effective diameter between an object-side surface and sensor-side surface of each lens is CA_Max, wherein ½ of a maximum diagonal length of the image sensor is Imgh, wherein the following Equation satisfies: 0.5<CA_Max/(2*Imgh)<1 (Eleventh lens 296 has the maximum effective diagmet and the maximum effective radius of its image side surface 298 is Y11R2 (see paras. 0064, 0145 and 0149). And CA_Max = 2Y11R2, Chen also provides: TL/ImgH = 1.38 (see table in para 0149), and TL/Y11R2 = 1.71 (see table in para 0149), Therefore, CA_Max/(2*Imgh) = 2*Y11R2/(2*Imgh) = Y11R2/ImgH = TL/Imgh/(TL/Y11R2) = 1.38/1.71 = 0.807, which satisfied the claimed range.)
Regarding claim 18, Chen teaches the optical system of claim 11, wherein an optical axis distance from a center of an object-side surface of the first lens to an upper surface of the image sensor is TTL, wherein ½ of a maximum diagonal length of the image sensor is Imgh, wherein an effective focal length of the optical system is F, wherein a maximum separation distance from a center of a sensor-side surface of the n-th lens to a lens surface in direction of the optical axis based on a straight line extending in a direction perpendicular to the optical axis is Max_Sag112, wherein the total number of lenses is n, wherein the following Equation satisfies: 10<(TTL/Imgh)*|Max_Sag112|*n<25 (From Table 3, para 0147 and 149: TTL = 9.89 mm, Imgh = 7.15 mm, F = 7.7, n = 11 and |Max_Sag112| ~ 1.44 mm, thus (TTL/Imgh)*|Max_Sag112|*n = ~21.9, which satisfied claimed range.
Claim(s) 19 and 20 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over by Chen et al. US 2022/0196971 (4th Embodiment) in view of Chen’s Third Embodiment.
Regarding claim 19, Chen teaches an optical system (Fig. 7, 4th Embodiment image capturing unit) comprising:
a first lens group having a plurality of lenses (Fig. 7: the first lens group are, first lens 410, second lens 420, third lens 430, fourth lens 440 and fifth lens 450);
a second lens group having more lenses than the first lens group (Fig. 7: the second lens group are, sixth lens 460, seventh lens 470, eighth lens 480, ninth lens 490, tenth lens 493 and eleventh lens 496); and
an aperture stop disposed between lenses of the first lens group (Fig. 7: aperture stop 400 is disposed between first lens 420 and third lens 420, which both lenses belong to the first group),
wherein the first lens group has a concave sensor-side surface closest to the second lens group (para 0171: the lens of the first group closest to the second group is fourth lens 450, and the image side surface 452 is concave),
wherein a maximum effective diameter among the lenses of the first and second lens groups is CA_Max (Fig. 7: shows the largest effective lens diameter at eleventh lens 496 particularly its image side 498, and in para 0058 identifies Y11R2 is the maximum effective radius, and Table in para 0181: TL/Y11R2 = 1.67 and TL = 10.59 mm, therefor, Y11R2 = 10.59/1.67 = 6.341 and CA_Max = 2*Y11R2 = 12.683 mm),
wherein an optical axis distance from a center of an object-side surface of a first lens in the first lens group to a sensor-side surface of a last lens in the second lens group is TD (this corresponds to Chen’s Td, and from Table in para 0181: Td/ ΣCT = 1.72, and ΣCT from Table 7 = 5.384 mm, thus TD = Td = 1.72*(5.384) = 9.260 mm),
wherein a total number of lenses is n, and the following Equation satisfies: 1000<CA_Max*TD*n<1500 (thus CA_Max*TD*n = 12.683*9.260*11 = 1291.9, which satisfied claimed range).
Chen fails to teach: wherein the second lens group has a convex object-side surface closest to the first lens group.
However, Chen’s third embodiment teaches a positive sixth lens 360 having a convex object side surface 361 (Fig. 5: Table 5). It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date to configure the object side surface of positive sixth lens 460 as convex, as taught by Chen’s alternative sixth lens configuration to provide an alternative known surface configuration for adjusting optical aberrations while retaining the positive refractive power and axil arrangement of the sixth lens.
Regarding claim 20, the combination of Chen teaches the optical system of claim 19, wherein the first lens group has a different number of lenses with positive refractive power and a number of lenses with negative refractive power (paras. 167-171: first group lenses 410, 420 and 430 have positive refractive power, while lenses 440 and 450 have negative refractive power), wherein the second lens group has the same number of lenses with positive refractive power and lenses with negative refractive power (lenses 460, 480 and 493 have positive refractive power, and lenses 470, 490 and 496 have negative refractive power, see paras. 172-177), wherein the first lens of the first lens group has positive refractive power (first lens 410 has positive refractive power see para 167), and wherein the last lens of the second lens group has a sensor-side surface having a critical point and negative refractive power (see para. 177: eleventh lens 496 has negative refractive power and its image side surface 498 has at least one convex critical point in an off-axis region).
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 102
Claim(s) 19 and 21 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 102(a)(1) as being anticipated by Chen et al. US 2022/0196971 (4th Embodiment).
Regarding claim 19, Chen teaches an optical system (Fig. 7, 4th Embodiment image capturing unit) comprising:
a first lens group having a plurality of lenses (Fig. 7: the first lens group are, first lens 410, second lens 420, third lens 430, fourth lens 440);
a second lens group having more lenses than the first lens group (Fig. 7: the second lens group are, fifth lens 450, sixth lens 460, seventh lens 470, eighth lens 480, ninth lens 490, tenth lens 493 and eleventh lens 496); and
an aperture stop disposed between lenses of the first lens group (Fig. 7: aperture stop 400 is disposed between first lens 420 and third lens 420, which both lenses belong to the first group),
wherein the first lens group has a concave sensor-side surface closest to the second lens group (para 0170: the lens of the first group closest to the second group is fourth lens 440, and the image side surface 442 is concave),
wherein the second lens group has a convex object-side surface closest to the first lens group (para 0171: the lens of the second group closest to the second group is fifth lens 450, and object side surface 451 is convex),
wherein a maximum effective diameter among the lenses of the first and second lens groups is CA_Max (Fig. 7: shows the largest effective lens diameter at eleventh lens 496 particularly its image side 498, and in para 0058 identifies Y11R2 is the maximum effective radius, and Table in para 0181: TL/Y11R2 = 1.67 and TL = 10.59 mm, therefor, Y11R2 = 10.59/1.67 = 6.341 and CA_Max = 2*Y11R2 = 12.683 mm),
wherein an optical axis distance from a center of an object-side surface of a first lens in the first lens group to a sensor-side surface of a last lens in the second lens group is TD (this corresponds to Chen’s Td, and from Table in para 0181: Td/ ΣCT = 1.72, and ΣCT from Table 7 = 5.384 mm, thus TD = Td = 1.72*(5.384) = 9.260 mm),
wherein a total number of lenses is n, and the following Equation satisfies: 1000<CA_Max*TD*n<1500 (thus CA_Max*TD*n = 12.683*9.260*11 = 1291.9, which satisfied claimed range).
Regarding claim 21, Chen teaches the optical system of claim 19, wherein a sum of center thicknesses of the lenses of the first and second lens groups is ΣCT (ΣCT from Table 7 = 5.384 mm), wherein a sum of optical axis distances between two adjacent lenses is ΣCG (and from Table 7: ΣCG = 3.898 mm), wherein the total number of lenses in the optical system is n, wherein the following Equation satisfies: 11<(ΣCT/ΣCG)*n<19.8 (thus (ΣCT/ΣCG)*n = (5.384/3.898)*11 = 15.19, which satisfied claimed range).
Allowable Subject Matter
The following is a statement of reasons for the indication of allowable subject matter:
Regarding claim 1, the closest prior art (Chen US 2022/0196971) teaches an optical system comprising: first to eleventh lenses arranged along an optical axis toward a sensor side from an object side (See para 0101, 0102, 128-129: eleven consecutively arranged lens element),
wherein the first lens has positive refractive power on the optical axis and has a meniscus shape convex toward the object side (para 0130: first lens 110 has positive refractive power, and para 0130: first lens objective surface is convex and image side surface is concave),
wherein the eleventh lens has negative refractive power on the optical axis and has a concave sensor-side surface (para 0145: eleventh lens 196 has negative refractive power, and para 0145: image side surface 198 is concave),
wherein the sensor-side surface of the eleventh lens has a critical point between the optical axis and an end of an effective region (para 146: image side surface 198 has a convex critical point in an off axis region).
Chen fails to teach:
wherein an object-side surface and a sensor-side surface of the tenth lens are provided without a critical point from the optical axis to an end of an effective region, and
wherein the object-side surface and the sensor-side surface of the tenth lens have an inclination angle of less than 10 degrees from the optical axis to more than 43% of an effective radius of the tenth lens.
Claims 2-10 are allowable because they depend on allowable base claim 1.
Conclusion
The prior art made of record and not relied upon is considered pertinent to applicant's disclosure.
US-20160266350-A1: teaches optical imaging device having 1 to 11th lens units.
/EPHREM Z MEBRAHTU/Primary Examiner, Art Unit 2872