DETAILED ACTION
Claims 1 - 30 are presented for examination.
Specification
The title of the invention is objected for not being descriptive. A new title is required that is clearly indicative of the invention to which the claims are directed.
Information Disclosure Statement
The information disclosure statements (IDS) submitted are in compliance with the provisions of 37 CFR 1.97. Accordingly, the information disclosure statement is being considered by the Examiner.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claims 1-8, 10-11 and 29 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Kim (US Pub. 20230239108 A1) in view of Onggosanusi et al. (US Pub. 20210044343 A1).
For claims 1 and 29, Kim discloses a user equipment (UE), comprising:
one or more memories; one or more transceivers (Fig. 5A; UE contains a storage unit, transceiver, controller, and processor, with the controller reading/writing storage and operating the transceiver) [¶¶0190–0194]; and
one or more processors communicatively coupled to the one or more memories and the one or more transceivers, the one or more processors, either alone or in combination, configured to (Fig. 3D; an uplink-positioning UE procedure) [¶0167]:
receive, via the one or more transceivers, a pre-configuration of a first set of parameters of a first sounding reference signal (SRS) for positioning configuration (Fig. 3D; the RRCReconfiguration supplies SRS resource-set, time, frequency, spatial, and power-control parameters) [¶¶0167–0169], wherein the first set of parameters is valid for a first plurality of cells (Fig. 3D; the UE stores the configuration and applies the first-cell-list validity mechanism containing plural cell information) [¶¶0172–0174];
transmit, via the one or more transceivers, a first SRS for positioning activation request for a first positioning session between the UE and a location server (Fig. 3D; the LMF calculates position from reported SRS measurements) [¶¶0167, 0181], the first SRS for the UE to transmit SRS for positioning resources according to the first SRS for positioning configuration (Fig. 3D; transmission follows activation of the configured set) [¶0170];
receive, via the one or more transceivers, a first SRS for positioning activation message for the first positioning session (Fig. 3D; the UE receives the resource-set activation MAC CE) [¶0170], wherein the first SRS for positioning activation message indicates that the UE is permitted to transmit SRS for positioning resources according to the first SRS for positioning configuration (Fig. 3D; the UE receives the resource-set activation MAC CE) [¶0170]; and
transmit, via the one or more transceivers, one or more SRS for positioning resources based on the first SRS for positioning configuration (Fig. 3D; transmission follows activation of the configured set) [¶0170].
But Kim doesn’t explicitly teach positioning activation request requesting permission.
However, Onggosanusi discloses the first SRS for positioning activation request requesting permission for the UE to transmit SRS for positioning resources according to the first SRS for positioning configuration (Fig. 9B; the UE requests a grant for configured SP-SRS resources) [¶0163];
Since, all are analogous arts addressing configuration parameters used in a mobile network; Therefore, it would have been obvious before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to a person having ordinary skill in the art would have been motivated to combine the teachings of Kim with Onggosanusi to ensure the most suited configuration is used for optimization of the user equipment and the mobile network, thus, improving network efficiency.
Claim 1 differs from claim 29 only by the additional recitation of the following limitation, which is also taught by the cited prior art. The cited prior art Kim further discloses a method of wireless communication performed by a user equipment (UE) (Fig. 3D; an uplink-positioning UE procedure) [¶0167].
All other identical limitations are rejected based on the same rationale as shown above.
For claim 2, Kim discloses the first SRS for positioning activation message includes a second set of parameters of the first SRS for positioning configuration (Fig. 3D; the activation MAC CE supplies cell, BWP, carrier, and resource-set selectors) [¶0170],
the second set of parameters is valid for only one cell of the first plurality of cells (Fig. 3D; the MAC CE’s cell field identifies the particular serving cell) [¶0170], the second set of parameters includes parameters for the first SRS for positioning configuration not included in the first set of parameters (Fig. 3D; the preconfiguration defines resource characteristics, while activation adds the cell/BWP/carrier selectors) [¶¶0168–0170], and
the one or more SRS for positioning resources are transmitted based on the first set of parameters and the second set of parameters (Fig. 3D; the preconfiguration defines resource characteristics, while activation adds the cell/BWP/carrier selectors) [¶¶0168–0170].
For claim 3, Kim discloses the first set of parameters indicate time and frequency resources of the first SRS for positioning configuration (Fig. 3D; start position, symbol count, frequency shift/hopping, periodicity, and offset define those resources) [¶0168], and values of the second set of parameters are specific to the only one cell of the first plurality of cells (Fig. 3D; the activation’s cell/BWP selectors identify a particular serving-cell configuration) [¶0170].
For claim 4, Kim discloses the second set of parameters indicate spatial relation, pathloss reference, and time alignment information of the first SRS for positioning configuration [¶¶0168–0170].
For claim 5, Kim discloses the first SRS for positioning configuration further indicates an identifier of the first set of parameters (Fig. 3D; each configured positioning-SRS resource set has a resource-set identifier) [¶0168].
For claim 6, Kim discloses the first SRS for positioning activation message includes the identifier of the first set of parameters (Fig. 3D; the MAC CE includes the positioning-SRS resource-set ID) [¶0170].
For claim 7, Kim discloses the first SRS for positioning configuration further indicates: a list of identifiers of the first plurality of cells for which the first set of parameters is valid (Fig. 3D; the first-cell list contains plural cell entries, each including PCI and ARFCN) [¶0172],
a time during which the first set of parameters is valid, or any combination thereof (Fig. 3D; the first-cell list contains plural cell entries, each including PCI and ARFCN) [¶0172].
For claim 8, Kim discloses the first SRS for positioning configuration further includes a third set of parameters of a second SRS for positioning configuration [¶¶0172, 0174], and
the third set of parameters is valid for a second plurality of cells [¶¶0172, 0174].
For claim 10, Kim as modified by Onggosanusi, Onggosanusi further discloses transmitting a deactivation request for transmission of the one or more SRS for positioning resources (Figs. 9A–9C context; UE-originated deactivation separately or with SP-SRS) [¶0161]; and
Kim further discloses receiving a deactivation message permitting deactivation of the transmission of the one or more SRS for positioning resources (Fig. 3D; the gNB sends downlink control information directing the UE to stop the positioning SRS) [¶0182]. See motivation to combine the references from the above.
For claim 11, Kim discloses the deactivation request is included in a measurement results message for the first positioning session (Fig. 3D; the gNB sends downlink control information directing the UE to stop the positioning SRS) [¶0182].
Claim(s) 12 is rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Kim (US Pub. 20230239108 A1) in view of Onggosanusi et al. (US Pub. 20210044343 A1) in further view of Hwang et al. (US Pub. 20110117926 A1).
For claim 12, Kim, as modified by Onggosanusi, discloses all limitations this claim depended on.
But Kim, as modified by Onggosanusi, doesn’t explicitly disclose the following limitation taught by Hwang.
Hwang discloses values of the first set of parameters are the same for all cells of the first plurality of cells (Fig. 9; the dedicated positioning resource at a common time-frequency location across all participating cells) [¶0039].
Since, all are analogous arts addressing configuration parameters used in a mobile network; Therefore, it would have been obvious before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to a person having ordinary skill in the art would have been motivated to combine the teachings of Kim and Onggosanusi with Hwang to ensure the correct values for parameters is used for processing for the user equipment and the mobile network, thus, improving information accuracy.
Claims 13-16, 18-25, 27-28 and 30 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Kim (US Pub. 20230239108 A1) in view of Onggosanusi et al. (US Pub. 20210044343 A1) in further view of Pan et al. (US Pub. 20240267822 A1).
For claims 13 and 30, Kim discloses a base station, comprising:
one or more memories;
one or more transceivers; and
one or more processors communicatively coupled to the one or more memories and the one or more transceivers, the one or more processors (Fig. 5B; base station includes storage, transceiver, backhaul interface, and a processor-containing controller) [¶¶0196–0199], either alone or in combination, configured to:
preconfigure a user equipment (UE) with at least a first set of parameters of a first sounding reference signal (SRS) for positioning configuration (Fig. 3D; the RRCReconfiguration supplies SRS resource-set, time, frequency, spatial, and power-control parameters) [¶¶0167–0169], wherein the first set of parameters is valid for a first plurality of cells (Fig. 3D; the UE stores the configuration and applies the first-cell-list validity mechanism containing plural cell information) [¶¶0172–0174];
receive, via the one or more transceivers, from the UE, an SRS for positioning activation request for a first positioning session between the UE and a location server (Fig. 3D; the LMF calculates position from reported SRS measurements) [¶¶0167, 0181], wherein the SRS for the UE to transmit SRS for positioning resources according to the first SRS for positioning configuration (Fig. 3D; transmission follows activation of the configured set) [¶0170]; and
transmit, via the one or more transceivers, to the UE, a first SRS for positioning activation message for the first positioning session (Fig. 3D; the UE receives the resource-set activation MAC CE) [¶0170], wherein the first SRS for positioning activation message indicates that the UE is permitted to transmit SRS for positioning resources according to the first SRS for positioning configuration (Fig. 3D; the UE receives the resource-set activation MAC CE) [¶0170] ; and
transmit, via the one or more transceivers, to the location server, a positioning information message indicating that the first SRS for positioning configuration has been activated in the UE (Fig. 3D; the transmission of positioning message that follows activation of the configured set) [¶0167-172].
But Kim doesn’t explicitly teach positioning activation request requesting permission.
However, Onggosanusi discloses wherein the SRS for positioning activation request requests permission for the UE to transmit SRS for positioning resources according to the first SRS for positioning configuration (Fig. 9B; the UE requests a grant for configured SP-SRS resources) [¶0163];
Since, all are analogous arts addressing configuration parameters used in a mobile network; Therefore, it would have been obvious before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to a person having ordinary skill in the art would have been motivated to combine the teachings of Kim with Onggosanusi to ensure the most suited configuration is used for optimization of the user equipment and the mobile network, thus, improving network efficiency.
But Kim and Onggosanusi don’t explicitly teach a positioning information update message.
However, Pan discloses transmit, via the one or more transceivers, to the location server, a positioning information update message indicating that the first SRS for positioning configuration has been activated in the UE (Fig. 2; gNB-to-LMF confirmation of completed Pos-SRS activation and separately teaches gNB use of the Positioning Information Update for SRS-state/configuration changes.) [¶0046, 0053].
Since, all are analogous arts addressing configuration parameters used in a mobile network; Therefore, it would have been obvious before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to a person having ordinary skill in the art would have been motivated to combine the teachings of Kim and Onggosanusi with Pan to ensure the updated information is used for processing for the user equipment and the mobile network, thus, improving information accuracy.
Claim 13 differs from claim 30 only by the additional recitation of the following limitation, which is also taught by the cited prior art. The cited prior art further Kim discloses a method of wireless communication performed by a user equipment (UE) (Fig. 3D; an uplink-positioning UE procedure) [¶0167].
All other identical limitations are rejected based on the same rationale as shown above.
For claim 14, Kim discloses the first SRS for positioning activation message includes a second set of parameters of the first SRS for positioning configuration (Fig. 3D; the MAC CE supplies cell/BWP/carrier/resource-set selectors) [¶0170],
the second set of parameters is valid for only one cell of the first plurality of cells (Fig. 3D; the selected serving cell is identified in the MAC CE) [¶0170], and
the second set of parameters includes parameters for the first SRS for positioning configuration not included in the first set of parameters (Fig. 3D; activation adds cell/BWP/carrier selectors to the stored configuration) [¶¶0168–0170].
For claim 15, Kim as modified by Onggosanusi and Pan, Pan further discloses receiving, from the location server, assistance information for determining the second set of parameters (Fig. 9A; the LMF’s requested-SRS package supplies desired configuration information and the base station determines the SRS configuration based on that request) [¶¶0146–0149, 0166–0167]. See motivation to combine the references from the above.
For claim 16, Kim as modified by Onggosanusi and Pan, Pan further discloses the assistance information includes a pathloss reference, a spatial relation, synchronization signal block (SSB) information, or any combination thereof for the base station (Figs. 8 and 9A; requested parameter types, including a request for spatial relation) [¶¶0146–0149, 0166–0167]. See motivation to combine the references from the above.
For claim 18, Kim discloses receiving, from the location server, a deactivation request for deactivating transmission of one or more SRS for positioning resources transmitted by the UE based on the first set of parameters and the second set of parameters (Fig. 3D; the gNB receives POSITIONING DEACTIVATION from the LMF after positioning completion) [¶0182]; and transmitting, to the UE, a deactivation message permitting deactivation of the transmission of the one or more SRS for positioning resources (Fig. 3D; the gNB sends downlink control information directing the UE to stop transmission) [¶0182].
For claim 19, values of the first set of parameters are the same for all cells of the first plurality of cells, and values of the second set of parameters are specific to the only one cell of the first plurality of cells.
For claim 20, Kim as modified by Onggosanusi and Pan, Pan further discloses receiving, from the location server, a request for preconfigured SRS for positioning configurations, the request indicating desired parameters of one or more SRS for positioning configurations (Fig. 9A; the LMF sends a requested-SRS package whose fields identify desired resource-set ID, resource ID, time-domain, frequency-domain, and spatial-relation information) [¶¶0146–0149, 0166]. See motivation to combine the references from the above.
For claim 21, Kim as modified by Onggosanusi and Pan, Pan further discloses transmitting a response to the location server, the response including at least the first set of parameters (Figs. 2 and 9A; the base station determines the first configuration and sends it to the LMF, including through the positioning-information response procedure) [¶¶0044–0045, 0167]. See motivation to combine the references from the above.
For claim 22, Kim discloses the first SRS for positioning configuration further indicates an identifier of the first set of parameters (Fig. 3D; the configured resource set includes its identifier) [¶0168].
For claim 23, Kim discloses the first SRS for positioning activation message includes the identifier of the first set of parameters (Fig. 3D; the MAC CE contains the positioning-SRS resource-set ID) [ ¶0170].
For claim 24, Kim discloses the first SRS for positioning configuration further indicates: a list of identifiers of the first plurality of cells for which the first set of parameters is valid, a time during which the first set of parameters is valid, or any combination thereof (Fig. 3D; the first-cell list contains plural PCI/ARFCN cell entries) [¶0172].
For claim 25, Kim discloses the first SRS for positioning configuration further includes a third set of parameters of a second SRS for positioning configuration, wherein the third set of parameters is valid for a second plurality of cells [¶¶0172, 0174].
For claim 27, Kim as modified by Onggosanusi and Pan, Pan further discloses receiving, from the UE, a deactivation request for deactivating transmission of the one or more SRS for positioning resources (Figs. 9A–9C context; describes deactivation) [¶0146–0149, 0166–0167]; and
Kim further discloses transmitting, to the UE, a deactivation message permitting deactivation of the transmission of the one or more SRS for positioning resources (Fig. 3D; the gNB sends control information directing the UE to stop positioning-SRS transmission) [¶0182]. See motivation to combine the references from the above.
For claim 28, Kim discloses the deactivation request is included in a measurement results message for the first positioning session (Fig. 3D; the gNB receives POSITIONING DEACTIVATION from the LMF after positioning completion) [¶0182].
Allowable Subject Matter
Claims 9, 17, 26 are objected to as being dependent upon a rejected base claim, but would be allowable if rewritten in independent form including all of the limitations of the base claim and any intervening claims.
Conclusion
The prior art made of record and not relied upon is considered pertinent to applicant's disclosure.
US 20210226821 A1; US 20210242991 A1; US 20210242991 A1; US 20220021498 A1
Inquiries
If attempts to reach the Examiner by telephone are unsuccessful, the Examiner’s supervisor, Armouche, Hadi can be reached on 571-270-3618. The fax phone number for the organization where this application or proceeding is assigned is 571-273-8300.
/PAKEE FANG/
Primary Examiner, Art Unit 2409