DETAILED ACTION
1. Claims 1-5 have been examined and are pending (amended claimed set received in the Office on 11/29/2024).
Priority
3. Applicant’s claim for the benefit of a prior-filed application under 35 U.S.C. 119(e) or under 35 U.S.C. 120, 121, or 365(c) is acknowledged.
Information Disclosure Statement
4. The information disclosure statement (IDS) submitted on 11/29/2024 has been found to be in compliance with the provisions of 37 CFR 1.97. Accordingly, the information disclosure statement has been considered by the examiner.
Drawings
5. The drawings were received on 11/29/2024. These drawings are accepted.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 102
8. Claims 1, 2, 4, and 5 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 102(a)(1) as being anticipated by WIPO 2020/217457 A1 to Kudo et al., published October 29, 2020 (Examiner cites US PGPub 2022/0210622 A1 to Kudo et al. (hereinafter “Kudo”) as the English translation.).
Regarding Claim 1, Kudo discloses a communication quality estimation system comprising:
a processor (Kudo: Figure 1, elements 1-0, 1-2); and
a memory storing program instructions (Kudo: [0097] – program/logic/memory/medium) that cause the processor to:
perform learning of a model (Kudo: [0034] – corresponds to “…a communication quality learning unit 1-5 that performs machine learning of quality of communication between the base station 1 and the wireless terminal 2 and a relationship between the base station management information and the object information to generate a learning model”.) which receives wireless environment information as an input and outputs a communication quality (Kudo: [0037] – corresponds to inputting a plurality of environmental conditions to determine (output) a communication quality.), based on a plurality of pieces of data which are recorded each time one or more terminals connect to a certain base station and perform communication (Kudo: Figure 5 with [0070-0071] – corresponds to collecting environmental data (object information for quality) at a certain time (“each time”) and outputs to a learning model, which in turn creates an input/output outputting a future communication quality.) and include a set of the wireless environment information and the communication quality of the terminal on which the communication is performed (Kudo: [0037], Figure 5 with [0070-0072] – the environmental data and the communication quality collected at a certain time to determine a communication quality for communication between the base station and the terminal.); and
estimate a communication quality in a case where a terminal is connected to a certain base station by inputting, to the model on which learning is performed, the wireless environment information of the terminal for which the certain base station is set as a connection candidate (Kudo: [0055-0057], [0070-0074] – interpreted to correspond to collecting pieces of data from a plurality base stations for input to a learning model, in which one base station outputs the communication quality of one terminal, wherein the terminal is in communication the base station having received the other base stations’ object/quality data.).
Regarding Claim 2, Kudo discloses the communication quality estimation system according to claim 1, wherein the program instructions cause the processor to perform learning of the model for each of a plurality of base stations (Kudo: [0055-0057], [0070-0074] – interpreted to correspond to collecting pieces of data from a plurality base stations for input to a learning model, in which one base station outputs the communication quality of one terminal, wherein the terminal is in communication the base station having received the other base stations’ object/quality data.), based on the plurality of pieces of data which are recorded each time one or more terminals connect to a base station and perform communication and include a set of the wireless environment information and the communication quality of the terminal when the communication is performed (Kudo: Figure 5 with [0070-0071] – corresponds to collecting environmental data (object information for quality) at a certain time (“each time”) and outputs to a learning model, which in turn creates an input/output outputting a future communication quality.), and estimate a communication quality in a case where a certain terminal is connected to a base station by inputting the wireless environment information of the terminal to the model on which learning is performed and which corresponds to the base station as a connection candidate of the certain terminal (Kudo: [0055-0057], [0070-0074] – interpreted to correspond to collecting pieces of data from a plurality base stations for input to a learning model, in which one base station outputs the communication quality of one terminal, wherein the terminal is in communication the base station having received the other base stations’ object/quality data.).
Claim 4, directed to a method embodiment of claim 1, recites similar features as claim 1 and is therefore rejected upon the same grounds as claim 1. Please see above rejection of claim 1.
Claim 5, directed to an article of manufacture embodiment of claim 1, recites similar features as claim 1 and is therefore rejected upon the same grounds as claim 1. Please see above rejection of claim 1. Kubo discloses the article of manufacture as a medium in at least [0097].
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
13. Claim 3 is rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Kudo in view of United States Patent Application Publication 2017/0243400 A1 to Skidmore (hereinafter “Skidmore”).
Regarding Claim 3, Kudo discloses the communication quality estimation system according to claim 1, but does not expressly disclose wherein the wireless environment information of the terminal includes any one of an available bandwidth of a first base station to which the terminal is connected, the current date and time, an RSSI of the first base station, a channel usage rate of the first base station, the number of second base stations which are on the same channel as the channel of the first base station and from which the terminal can receive radio waves, a channel usage rate of each of the second base stations, or the second base station.
However, these features are not considered new or novel in the presence of Skidmore. Skidmore is similarly concerned with determining predictive data based on measurement information (Skidmore: [0037]). Skidmore discloses the wireless environment information of the terminal includes bandwidth (Skidmore: [0037]), a date (Skidmore: [0037]), and signal strength (Skidmore: [0037]).
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention (AIA ) to modify the quality information of Kudo in view of the quality information of Skidmore to determine particular quality parameters for the reasons of ascertaining communication of devices in order to provide services to user terminals (Skidmore: [0009]).
Conclusion
14. Applicant is encouraged to submit a written authorization for Internet communications (PTO/SB/439, http://www.uspto.gov/sites/default/files/documents/sb0439.pdf) in the instant patent application to authorize the examiner to communicate with the applicant via email. The authorization will allow the examiner to better practice compact prosecution. The written authorization can be submitted via one of the following methods only: (1) Central Fax which can be found in the Conclusion section of this Office action; (2) regular postal mail; (3) EFS WEB; or (4) the service window on the Alexandria campus. EFS web is the recommended way to submit the form since this allows the form to be entered into the file wrapper within the same day (system dependent). Written authorization submitted via other methods, such as direct fax to the examiner or email, will not be accepted. See MPEP § 502.03.
BENJAMIN H. ELLIOTT IV
Primary Examiner
Art Unit 2474
/BENJAMIN H ELLIOTT IV/Primary Examiner, Art Unit 2474 September 3, 2026