DETAILED ACTION
Priority
Receipt is acknowledged of certified copies of papers required by 37 CFR 1.55.
Response to Amendment
Amendments to claims 1, 4 of 7/6/2026 acknowledged and entered.
New claims 5-8 of 7/6/2026 acknowledged and entered.
Response to Arguments
Applicant's arguments filed 7/6/2026 have been fully considered but they are not persuasive. Regarding claim 1, applicant asserts that matrices are not taught in the prior cited art. Examiner is not in accordance. Kuramoto teaches matrix operations applied to signal values sent from a scope, hence a “scope matrix” in para. 0026. Further to that, Michihata teaches color correction matrix processing on images on p. 9, para. 8. Examiner, then, asserts that the resultant image is a product of the application of both correction matrices on the image data on the scope end and the display end.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 112
Claim 4 rejected under 35 U.S.C. 112(b) or 35 U.S.C. 112 (pre-AIA ), second paragraph, as being indefinite for failing to particularly point out and distinctly claim the subject matter which the inventor or a joint inventor (or for applications subject to pre-AIA 35 U.S.C. 112, the applicant), regards as the invention.
Claim 4 recites the limitation "the feature amount of the captured image" in ln. 5. There is insufficient antecedent basis for this limitation in the claim. Specifically, a number of feature amounts for each pixel are recited, hence it is unclear to examiner what the singular feature amount of the captured image might refer to.
For purposes of examination, examiner would attempt to interpret the claim that the displayed hue of each pixel is augmented by the feature amount of each pixel.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claim(s) 1-4 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Michihata (CN 114269222 B) in view of Holder (CN 112753208 A) and 蔵本 昌之 (JP 6008812 B2).
Regarding claim 1, Michihata teaches An image correction method of correcting a captured image, in an electronic endoscope system to which an electronic endoscope that captures an image of a living tissue with an image sensor and a processor for an electronic endoscope that performs signal processing on a captured image by the image sensor to create a display image are connected, the image correction method comprising:
performing, by the correction target processor, correction on a captured image captured by an image sensor of the correction target endoscope using the first correction parameter and the second correction parameter when the correction target endoscope and the correction target processor are connected (p. 9, para. 8, color matrix processing unit 932E performs color matrix processing for correcting pixel values using a stored color correction matrix),
wherein the first correction parameter is a processor matrix (p. 9, para. 8, The color matrix processing unit 932E performs color matrix processing for correcting pixel values (R, G, and B) of each pixel to pixel values (Rm, Gm, and Bm) by using a color correction matrix on the image after the de-mosaic processing),
the correction target processor performs a color correction calculation by obtaining a pixel value obtained by converting a pixel value of each pixel of the captured image by a matrix that is a product of the processor matrix and the scope matrix (p. 9, para. 8, The color matrix processing unit 932E performs color matrix processing for correcting pixel values (R, G, and B) of each pixel to pixel values (Rm, Gm, and Bm) by using a color correction matrix on the image after the de-mosaic processing.).
Michihata does not explicitly teach calculating a first correction parameter corresponding to a correction target processor which is a processor for an electronic endoscope to be corrected, using a reference endoscope which is an electronic endoscope serving as a reference for correction and a reference processor which is a processor for an electronic endoscope serving as a reference for correction;
causing the correction target processor to store the calculated first correction parameter;
calculating a second correction parameter corresponding to a correction target endoscope which is an electronic endoscope to be corrected, using the reference endoscope and the reference processor;
causing the correction target endoscope to store the calculated second correction parameter;
wherein the second correction parameter is a scope matrix
However, 蔵本 昌之 teaches calculating a first correction parameter corresponding to a correction target processor which is a processor for an electronic endoscope to be corrected, using a reference endoscope which is an electronic endoscope serving as a reference for correction and a reference processor which is a processor for an electronic endoscope serving as a reference for correction (p. 7, para. 4, during calibration, the color mixing of the LEDs using the dichroic mirror is accounted for and correction values Ksub1 and Ksub2 are generated);
causing the correction target processor to store the calculated first correction parameter (p. 7, para. 3, correction values are saved until the next calibration);
wherein the second correction parameter is a scope matrix (fig. 2, element 46, p. 6, para. 5, The matrix calculation unit 46 performs a matrix calculation represented by Expression (1) on each set of the first to fourth mixed pixel signals M1 to M4 input from the complementary color image pickup device 28, and performs the first and first. 2 display signals D1 and D2 are generated. Specifically, for example, the matrix calculation is performed with each of the first to fourth mixed pixel signals M1 to M4 having a relative positional relationship illustrated in FIG.)
However, Holder teaches calculating a second correction parameter corresponding to a correction target endoscope which is an electronic endoscope to be corrected, using the reference endoscope and the reference processor (p. 7, para. 1, factory calibration data generated based on camera properties);
causing the correction target endoscope to store the calculated second correction parameter (p. 7, para. 1, factory calibration data stored in the image capture device);
It would have been prima facie obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to have modified the correction value of Michihata to be generated based on light balance as taught in 蔵本 昌之 in order to account for the light balance of the processor (蔵本 昌之 p. 7, para. 4).
It would have been prima facie obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to have modified the correction value of Michihata to be generated based on a camera as taught in Holder in order to account for camera properties and individual differences (Holder p. 7, para. 1).
Regarding claim 2, Michihata in view of 蔵本 昌之 and Holder teaches The image correction method in an electronic endoscope system according to claim 1,
Further, 蔵本 昌之 teaches wherein
The calculating of the first correction parameter includes,
based on a first pixel value which is a pixel value of a captured image obtained when the reference endoscope and the correction target processor are connected and a predetermined color index is captured, and
based on a second pixel value which is a pixel value of a captured image obtained when the reference endoscope and the reference processor are connected and the color index is captured,
calculating, as the first correction parameter, a parameter for converting the first pixel value into the second pixel value (p. 11, para. 2, correction coefficient acquisition unit is created using inputs from first and second display signals based on value), and
Further, Holder teaches the calculating of the second correction parameter includes,
based on a third pixel value which is a pixel value of a captured image obtained when the correction target endoscope and the reference processor are connected and a predetermined color index is captured, and
based on a fourth pixel value which is a pixel value of a captured image obtained when the reference endoscope and the reference processor are connected and the color index is captured,
calculating, as the second correction parameter, a parameter for converting the third pixel value into the fourth pixel value (p. 4, para. 9, illumination value is compared with a desired value and corrected to output the desired value).
Regarding claim 3, Michihata in view of 蔵本 昌之 and Holder teaches The image correction method in an electronic endoscope system according to claim 2,
蔵本 昌之 teaches further comprising:
specifying a first feature amount (p. 11, para. 2, color value is specified) which is a feature amount obtained from the first pixel value and a second feature amount which is a feature amount obtained from the second pixel value, and calculating a first feature amount correction parameter for converting the first feature amount into the second feature amount;
Holder further teaches specifying a third feature amount (p. 4, para. 9, illumination value specified) which is a feature amount obtained from the third pixel value and a fourth feature amount which is a feature amount obtained from the fourth pixel value, and calculating a second feature amount correction parameter for converting the third feature amount into the fourth feature amount; and
performing, by the correction target processor, correction on a feature amount obtained from a pixel value of a captured image captured by an image sensor of the correction target endoscope using the first feature amount correction parameter and the second feature amount correction parameter when the correction target endoscope and the correction target processor are connected.
Regarding claim 4, Michihata in view of 蔵本 昌之 and Holder teaches The image correction method in an electronic endoscope system according to claim 3,
Further, Michihata teaches wherein the color index is determined from among a plurality of color indexes according to the feature amount obtained from the pixel value of a captured image, so that a hue of an object is reflected by the feature amount of the captured image. (p. 14, para. 10, color matrices may be applied, not applied, and when applied may or may not use a variant that corrects the color).
Regarding claim 5, Michihata in view of 蔵本 昌之 and Holder teaches The image correction method in an electronic endoscope system according to claim 1,
Further, Michihata teaches wherein the reference endoscope is an electronic endoscope provided with an image sensor (fig. 1, element 5, p. 5, para. 5, camera 5) in which a spectral characteristic is a median value, and the reference processor is a processor provided with a light source (fig. 1, element 3, p. 5, para. 2, light source device 3) device in which a spectral characteristic of illumination light is a median value.
Regarding claim 6, Michihata in view of 蔵本 昌之 and Holder teaches The image correction method in an electronic endoscope system according to claim 1,
Further, Michihata teaches wherein the correction on the captured image is performed on each image in units of frames at a time of diagnosis (p. 8, para. 2, the imaging unit 52 outputs a frame of captured image by continuing the above processing until the last row. When the captured image of the next frame is output, the imaging unit 52 returns to each pixel 522b of the first row and performs the same processing as described above).
Regarding claim 7, Michihata in view of 蔵本 昌之 and Holder teaches The image correction method in an electronic endoscope system according to claim 1,
Further, Michihata teaches wherein the processor matrix is calculated as a matrix for converting a pixel value of a specific pixel in the captured image obtained by a combination of the reference endoscope and the correction target processor into a pixel value of a corresponding pixel in the captured image obtained by a combination of the reference endoscope and the reference processor (p. 9, para. 8, The color matrix processing unit 932E performs color matrix processing for correcting pixel values (R, G, and B) of each pixel to pixel values (Rm, Gm, and Bm) by using a color correction matrix on the image after the de-mosaic processing.).
Regarding claim 8, Michihata in view of 蔵本 昌之 and Holder teaches The image correction method in an electronic endoscope system according to claim 1,
Further, 蔵本 昌之 teaches wherein the processor matrix is calculated as a matrix for converting an average pixel value of pixels within a corresponding range of the captured image obtained by a combination of the reference endoscope and the correction target processor into an average pixel value of pixels within a corresponding range of the captured image obtained by a combination of the reference endoscope and the reference processor (p. 7, para. 3, the correction coefficients K .sub.1 and K .sub.2 are preferably calculated using the average values of the plurality of first display signals D1v and D1g and the second display signals D2g and D2v.).
Conclusion
THIS ACTION IS MADE FINAL. Applicant is reminded of the extension of time policy as set forth in 37 CFR 1.136(a).
/TIMOTHY TUAN LUU/ Examiner, Art Unit 3795
/MICHAEL J CAREY/ Supervisory Patent Examiner, Art Unit 3795