DETAILED ACTION
Information Disclosure Statement
The information disclosure statement (IDS) was submitted on 29 November 2024. The submission is in compliance with the provisions of 37 CFR 1.97. Accordingly, the information disclosure statement is being considered by the examiner.
Double Patenting
Claims 1-15 are rejected on the ground of nonstatutory double patenting as being unpatentable over claims 1-20 of U.S. Patent No. 12,701,570. Although the claims at issue are not identical, they are not patentably distinct from each other because claims 1-15 of the instant application merely broaden the scope of claims 1-20 of 12,701,570.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 102
Claim(s) 1-15 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 102(a)(1) as being anticipated by 3GPP R1-2204026 “Discussion on multi-cell PUSCH/PDSCH scheduling with a single DCI” (hereinafter referred to as “3GPP”). NOTE: 3GPP was cited by the applicant in the IDS received 29 November 2024.
As to claim 1, 3GPP teaches a method performed by a user equipment (UE) in a wireless communication system, the method comprising:
receiving, from a base station, first downlink control information (DCI) for scheduling multiple physical downlink shared channels (PDSCHs) on multiple cells based on a first search space set (§§2.1-2.3: gNB transmits and UE receives a DCI to schedule multi-cell PDSCH in a configured search space set); and
receiving, from the base station, the multiple PDSCHs on the multiple cells based on the first DCI (§2.4: when the PDSCHs are scheduled on multi-cells, HARQ-ACK for the scheduled PDSCHs are transmitted in PUCCH (i.e. gNB transmits and UE receives the PDSCHs on multi-cells according to the DCI)),
wherein the first search space set for the first DCI is different from a search space set for a DCI scheduling a PDSCH on one cell (§§2.3-2.4: the search space configured for the multi-cell PDSCH scheduling is separate from a SS set for single-cell PDSCH scheduling).
As to claim 2, 3GPP teaches the method of claim 1, further comprising:
receiving, from the base station, a second DCI for scheduling multiple physical uplink shared channels (PUSCHs) on multiple cells based on a second search space set (§§2.1-2.3: gNB transmits and UE receives a DCI to schedule multi-cell PUSCH in a configured search space set); and
transmitting, to the base station, the multiple PUSCHs on the multiple cells based on the second DCI (§§2.1-2.4: UE transmits and gNB receives the multi-cell PUSCHs scheduled by the DCI),
wherein the second search space set for the second DCI is different from a search space set for a DCI scheduling a PUSCH on one cell (§§2.3-2.4: the search space configured for the multi-cell PUSCH scheduling is separate from a SS set for single-cell PUSCH scheduling).
As to claim 3, 3GPP teaches the method of claim 2, wherein the first search space set and the second search space set are different from each other (§§2.3-2.4: the SS set configured for the multi-cell PDSCH scheduling is separate from the SS set for the multi-cell PUSCH scheduling).
As to claim 4, 3GPP teaches the method of claim 2, further comprising:
receiving, from the base station, information configuring the first search space set and the second search space set for the UE and information on a maximum number of the multiple cells for the multiple PDSCHs (§§2.1-2.3: gNB transmits and UE receives SS set configuration to monitor for DCI scheduling multi-cell PDSCH, SS set configuration to monitor for DCI scheduling multi-cell PUSCH, and the maximum number of multi-cells for the PDSCHs).
As to claim 5, claim 5 is rejected the same way as claim 1.
As to claim 6, claim 6 is rejected the same way as claim 2.
As to claim 7, claim 7 is rejected the same way as claim 3.
As to claim 8, claim 8 is rejected the same way as claim 4.
As to claim 9, 3GPP teaches a method performed by a base station in a wireless communication system, the method comprising:
transmitting, to a user equipment (UE), first downlink control information (DCI) for scheduling multiple physical downlink shared channels (PDSCHs) on multiple cells (§§2.1-2.3: gNB transmits and UE receives a DCI to schedule multi-cell PDSCH in a configured search space set); and
transmitting, to the UE, the multiple PDSCHs on the multiple cells based on the first DCI (§2.4: when the PDSCHs are scheduled on multi-cells, HARQ-ACK for the scheduled PDSCHs are transmitted in PUCCH (i.e. gNB transmits and UE receives the PDSCHs on multi-cells according to the DCI)),
wherein a first search space set for the first DCI is different from a search space set for a DCI scheduling a PDSCH on one cell (§§2.3-2.4: the search space configured for the multi-cell PDSCH scheduling is separate from a SS set for single-cell PDSCH scheduling).
As to claim 10, 3GPP teaches the method of claim 9, further comprising:
transmitting, to the UE, a second DCI for scheduling multiple physical uplink shared channels (PUSCHs) on multiple cells (§§2.1-2.3: gNB transmits and UE receives a DCI to schedule multi-cell PUSCH in a configured search space set); and
receiving, from the UE, the multiple PUSCHs on the multiple cells based on the second DCI (§§2.1-2.4: UE transmits and gNB receives the multi-cell PUSCHs scheduled by the DCI),
wherein a second search space set for the second DCI is different from a search space set for a DCI scheduling a PUSCH on one cell (§§2.3-2.4: the search space configured for the multi-cell PUSCH scheduling is separate from a SS set for single-cell PUSCH scheduling).
As to claim 11, 3GPP teaches the method of claim 10, wherein the first search space set and the second search space set are different from each other (§§2.3-2.4: the SS set configured for the multi-cell PDSCH scheduling is separate from the SS set for the multi-cell PUSCH scheduling).
As to claim 12, 3GPP teaches the method of claim 10, further comprising:
transmitting, to the UE, information configuring the first search space set and the second search space set for the UE and information on a maximum number of the multiple cells for the multiple PDSCHs (§§2.1-2.3: gNB transmits and UE receives SS set configuration to monitor for DCI scheduling multi-cell PDSCH, SS set configuration to monitor for DCI scheduling multi-cell PUSCH, and the maximum number of multi-cells for the PDSCHs).
As to claim 13, claim 13 is rejected the same way as claim 9.
As to claim 14, claim 14 is rejected the same way as claim 10.
As to claim 15, claim 15 is rejected the same way as claim 11.
Conclusion
/JUSTIN T VAN ROIE/ Primary Examiner, Art Unit 2469