DETAILED ACTION
Claim Interpretation
This application includes one or more claim limitations that do not use the word “means,” but are nonetheless being interpreted under 35 U.S.C. 112(f) or pre-AIA 35 U.S.C. 112, sixth paragraph, because the claim limitation(s) uses a generic placeholder that is coupled with functional language without reciting sufficient structure to perform the recited function and the generic placeholder is not preceded by a structural modifier. Such claim limitation(s) is/are: “DBV setting unit” in claims 1 & 11; “mura compensation value determination unit” in claims 1, 2, 5, 11, 12, & 13; “reference gray scale value determination unit” in claims 2 & 3; “reference mura compensation value determination unit” in claim 2; “input mura compensation value determination unit” in claims 5, 6, 7, 9; “image data conversion unit” in claim 10; “image data output unit” in claim 10; .
Response to Arguments
Applicant's arguments filed 6/22/2026 have been fully considered but they are not persuasive.
Regarding the 35 U.S.C 112(f) claim interpretation [Remarks: pg. 9, 4th para.], refer to the last paragraph of the 112f claim interpretation above, which states: “If applicant does not intend to have this/these limitation(s) interpreted under 35 U.S.C. 112(f) or pre-AIA 35 U.S.C. 112, sixth paragraph, applicant may: (1) amend the claim limitation(s) to avoid it/them being interpreted under 35 U.S.C. 112(f) or pre-AIA 35 U.S.C. 112, sixth paragraph (e.g., by reciting sufficient structure to perform the claimed function); or (2) present a sufficient showing that the claim limitation(s) recite(s) sufficient structure to perform the claimed function so as to avoid it/them being interpreted under 35 U.S.C. 112(f) or pre-AIA 35 U.S.C. 112, sixth paragraph.”
The Applicant has not amended the claim limitations to avoid the limitations from being interpreted under 35 U.S.C. 112(f).
The Applicant has not provided sufficient showing that the claim limitations recite sufficient structure to perform the claimed functions to avoid the limitations from being interpreted under 35 U.S.C. 112(f). The Applicant has not specifically pointed out any structural description in the as filed specification.
Thus, the 35 U.S.C. 112(f) claim interpretation is maintained.
Regarding the rejection of claims 1 & 10, the Applicant argues [Remarks: pg. 9, last para. – pg. 11,3rd para.], that Min fails to teach the amended claim limitations.
The Office respectfully disagrees.
Refer to paragraph 55 of Min, which teaches that second memory 302 is an SRAM [static random-access memory (SRAM) A static form of random-access memory that does not require periodic refresh to retain data. Contrast: dynamic random-access memory. IEEE 100 The Authoritative Dictionary of IEEE Standards Terms Seventh Edition”]. A SRAM is a memory circuit that comprises a matrix array of memory elements, each memory element recording digital data. Thus, when data, such as mura compensation values corresponding to a band are recorded in SRAM, the data in the form of the digital data statically occupies only a specific portion of the second memory 302.
Thus, Min teaches a memory configured to store only reference mura compensation values for each gray scale in one specific luminance band which is a reference luminance band memory.
Thus, Min teaches the amended claim limitations to the independent claims.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 102
Claim(s) 1-3, 5, 10-11, & 14 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 102(a)(2) as being anticipated by Min (US 20230186816).
As to claim 1, Min discloses a mura compensation module [abstract & para. 68-73] comprising:
a DBV setting unit (luminance adjuster 400) [figs. 6-12 & para. 68 & 65-66] configured to set one of a plurality of luminance bands (optical band comprising first to seventh DBV bands Band1 to Band 7) [figs. 9-10 & para. 65-68] to a set luminance band (select a target optical band corresponding to dbv) [figs. 6-12 & para. 65-68];
a memory (portion of second memory 302) [fig. 6 & para. 65, 54-55, 69, & 73-75] configured to store only reference mura compensation values for each gray scale in one specific luminance band which is a reference luminance band (black gray-scale adjustment value suitable for target optical band) [para. 69]; and
a mura compensation value determination unit (luminance adjuster 400) [figs. 6-12 & para. 68 & 65-66] configured to determine an input mura compensation value of a first input gray scale value (black gray-scale adjustment value suitable for target optical band for black gray-scale data voltage vdata black) [para. 69] in the set luminance band on the basis of the reference mura compensation values (high grayscale data voltage vdata_gray) [figs. 6-12 & para. 67-70 & 73-75].
As to claim 2, Min discloses the mura compensation module of claim 1, wherein the mura compensation value determination unit includes:
a reference gray scale value determination unit (black gray-scale data voltage vdata black) [para. 69] configured to determine a first reference gray scale value in the reference luminance band corresponding to the first input gray scale value in the set luminance band; and
a reference mura compensation value determination unit (black gray-scale adjustment value suitable for target optical band for black gray-scale data voltage vdata black read by luminance adjust 400) [para. 69] configured to obtain a reference mura compensation value for the first reference gray scale value from the memory.
As to claim 3, Min discloses the mura compensation module of claim 2, wherein the memory further stores a first gain value (black gray-scale adjustment value suitable for target optical band for black gray-scale data voltage vdata black & adjustment & adjustment for high grayscale data voltage vdata_gray) [para. 69-71] for each of the plurality of luminance bands, and
wherein the reference gray scale value determination unit obtains the first gain value for the set luminance band from the memory and determines the first reference gray scale value in the reference luminance band that corresponds to the first input gray scale value in the set luminance band on the basis of the obtained first gain value [para. 69-71].
As to claim 5, Min discloses the mura compensation module of claim 1, wherein the mura compensation value determination unit includes an input mura compensation value determination unit configured to determine the input mura compensation value for the first input gray scale value in the set luminance band on the basis of a reference mura compensation value for a first reference gray scale value in the reference luminance band (black grayscale adjustment value for black grayscale data voltage vdata black, compensation for black margin between different bands) [figs. 6-12 & para. 67-71 & 73-75]; and
wherein the first reference gray scale value in the reference luminance band has a luminance the same as that of the first input gray scale value in the set luminance band [figs. 6-12 & para. 67-71 & 73-75].
As to claim 10, Min discloses a display control apparatus [abstract & fig. 1] comprising:
a pre-processor (host system 200) [figs. 1, 4, & 6 & para. 47, 43-44, 54-57, 64, & 66-68] configured to generate gray scale data including a first input gray scale value (image data data) [figs. 1, 4, 6 & para. 47] for each of a plurality of pixels on the basis of image data;
a mura compensation module (data calculator 308 with luminance adjuster 400) [figs. 6-12 & para. 67-70 & 73-75] configured to determine an input mura compensation value of each of the plurality of pixels using reference mura compensation values in a reference luminance band (black gray-scale adjustment value suitable for target optical band) [para. 69] and the first input gray scale values of the plurality of pixels included in the gray scale data [figs. 6-12 & para. 67-70 & 73-75], the mura compensation module includes a memory (portion of second memory 302) [fig. 6 & para. 65, 54-55, 69, & 73-75] configured to store only the reference mura compensation values for each gray scale in one specific luminance band which is the reference luminance band (black gray-scale adjustment value suitable for target optical band) [para. 69];
an image data conversion unit (gamma compensation voltage generator 305) [figs. 4 & 6 & para. 49, 51, & 71] configured to convert the image data into image data in which the input mura compensation value is reflected with respect to each of the plurality of pixels; and
an image data output unit (data driver 306) [figs. 4 & 6 & para. 29, 48-49, & 71] configured to output the converted image data.
As to claim 11, Min discloses the display control apparatus of claim 10, wherein the mura compensation module includes:
a DBV setting unit (luminance adjuster 400) [figs. 6-12 & para. 68 & 65-66] configured to set one of a plurality of luminance bands (optical band comprising first to seventh DBV bands Band1 to Band 7) [figs. 9-10 & para. 65-68] to a set luminance band and outputs a display brightness value corresponding to the set luminance band (select a target optical band corresponding to dbv) [figs. 6-12 & para. 65-68], and
a mura compensation value determination unit (luminance adjuster 400) [figs. 6-12 & para. 68 & 65-66] configured to determine an input mura compensation value of each of the plurality of pixels in the set luminance band using the display brightness value (high grayscale data voltage vdata_gray) [figs. 6-12 & para. 67-70 & 73-75], the reference mura compensation value in the reference luminance band (black gray-scale adjustment value suitable for target optical band) [para. 69], and the first input gray scale values of the plurality of pixels included in the gray scale data (black gray-scale adjustment value suitable for target optical band for black gray-scale data voltage vdata black) [para. 69].
As to claim 14, Min discloses the display control apparatus of claim 10, wherein the plurality of pixels are divided into the plurality of blocks, and each of the plurality of blocks corresponds to at least one pixel (each pixel being a block) [figs. 1 & 6-12 & para. 67-70, 54, & 73-75].
Allowable Subject Matter
Claims 4, 6-9, & 12-13 are objected to as being dependent upon a rejected base claim, but would be allowable if rewritten in independent form including all of the limitations of the base claim and any intervening claims.
Conclusion
The prior art made of record and not relied upon is considered pertinent to applicant's disclosure.
Lee et al. (US 20160189635).
Applicant's amendment necessitated the new ground(s) of rejection presented in this Office action. Accordingly, THIS ACTION IS MADE FINAL. See MPEP § 706.07(a). Applicant is reminded of the extension of time policy as set forth in 37 CFR 1.136(a).
/DAVID TUNG/Primary Examiner, Art Unit 2622