DETAILED ACTION
Priority
Receipt is acknowledged of certified copies of papers required by 37 CFR 1.55.
Information Disclosure Statement
The information disclosure statement (IDS) submitted on 11/29/2024 is in compliance with the provisions of 37 CFR 1.97. Accordingly, the information disclosure statement is being considered by the examiner.
Drawings
The drawings filed on 11/29/2024 are accepted by the Examiner.
Specification
The disclosure filed on 11/29/2024 is accepted by the Examiner.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 102
Claims 1-5, 8-21 and 29 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 102(a)(2) as being anticipated by Wu (US 20230350081 A1).
Regarding claim 1, Wu discloses receiving downlink control information (DCI) (figure 6 to 7B DCI paragraphs [0081]-[00100]); and determining a location of a global navigation satellite system (GNSS) measurement gap at least according to a time-domain resource location of the DCI, wherein the DCI is used to trigger a random access procedure or the DCI is used to schedule data; or determining the location of the GNSS measurement gap at least according to a time-domain resource location of data, wherein the DCI is used to schedule the data, wherein the GNSS measurement gap is used for GNSS measurement (figure 6 to 7B DCI paragraphs [0081]-[00100] “FIG. 6 illustrates a schematic diagram of performing GNSS measurement according to an embodiment. The UE performing the GNSS measurement to acquire the new GNSS positioning information may be triggered by the base station. For example, if downlink data of the UE arrives and an uplink of the UE is out of synchronization, the base station may indicate to the UE, through signaling, to perform the GNSS measurement to acquire the new GNSS positioning information, and the base station may indicate to the UE, through downlink control information (DCI), to perform the GNSS measurement to acquire the new GNSS positioning information. The DCI may also indicate related information of a GNSS measurement window within which the UE performs the GNSS measurement”).
Regarding claim 15, Wu discloses transmitting first indication information, wherein the first indication information indicates a time offset (figure 6 to 7B DCI paragraphs [0075]-[00100]) “If the UE triggers the GNSS measurement to acquire the new GNSS positioning information, a GNSS module of the UE performs the GNSS measurement, and the GNSS module transfers GNSS positioning information obtained based on the measurement to a wireless communication module of the UE. The wireless communication module estimates a time offset and a frequency offset of a wireless link between the UE and a satellite based on the latest GNSS positioning information and location information broadcast by the satellite, and uses the offsets for the pre-compensation of uplink transmission“ … ” the UE acquires new positioning information based on GNSS measurement, estimates a time-frequency offset based on the new GNSS positioning information, and uses the time-frequency offset for pre-compensation of the PRACH, which is the first available PRACH satisfying a first preset interval after the DCI.”); and transmitting downlink control information (DCI) (figure 6 to 7B DCI paragraphs [0081]-[00100]), wherein the time offset is a duration between a global navigation satellite system (GNSS) measurement gap and a time-domain resource of the DCI, and the DCI is used to trigger a random access procedure or the DCI is used to schedule data; or the time offset is a duration between the GNSS measurement gap and a time-domain resource of data and the DCI is used to schedule the data; and the GNSS measurement gap is used for GNSS measurement (figure 6 to 7B DCI paragraphs [0081]-[00100] “FIG. 6 illustrates a schematic diagram of performing GNSS measurement according to an embodiment. The UE performing the GNSS measurement to acquire the new GNSS positioning information may be triggered by the base station. For example, if downlink data of the UE arrives and an uplink of the UE is out of synchronization, the base station may indicate to the UE, through signaling, to perform the GNSS measurement to acquire the new GNSS positioning information, and the base station may indicate to the UE, through downlink control information (DCI), to perform the GNSS measurement to acquire the new GNSS positioning information. The DCI may also indicate related information of a GNSS measurement window within which the UE performs the GNSS measurement”).
Regarding claim 29, Wu discloses a transceiver, a memory storing computer programs, and a processor coupled with the memory and the transceiver and configured to invoke the computer programs to (figure 3A-3B paragraphs [0056]-[0072]) receive downlink control information (DCI) (figure 6 to 7B DCI paragraphs [0081]-[00100]); and determining a location of a global navigation satellite system (GNSS) measurement gap at least according to a time-domain resource location of the DCI, wherein the DCI is used to trigger a random access procedure or the DCI is used to schedule data; or determining the location of the GNSS measurement gap at least according to a time-domain resource location of data, wherein the DCI is used to schedule the data, wherein the GNSS measurement gap is used for GNSS measurement (figure 6 to 7B DCI paragraphs [0081]-[00100] “FIG. 6 illustrates a schematic diagram of performing GNSS measurement according to an embodiment. The UE performing the GNSS measurement to acquire the new GNSS positioning information may be triggered by the base station. For example, if downlink data of the UE arrives and an uplink of the UE is out of synchronization, the base station may indicate to the UE, through signaling, to perform the GNSS measurement to acquire the new GNSS positioning information, and the base station may indicate to the UE, through downlink control information (DCI), to perform the GNSS measurement to acquire the new GNSS positioning information. The DCI may also indicate related information of a GNSS measurement window within which the UE performs the GNSS measurement”).
Regarding claim 2, Wu discloses claim 1, Wu also discloses determining the location of the GNSS measurement gap according to the time-domain resource location of the DCI and a time offset, wherein the time offset is a duration between the GNSS measurement gap and a time-domain resource of the DCI (figure 7B paragraphs [0081]-[00100] “Specifically, a location where the UE starts the GNSS measurement (or a starting location of the GNSS measurement window) is determined based on the location of the PRACH, for example, the UE starts the GNSS measurement at a location satisfying a preset offset before the PRACH. The preset offset includes at least one of the time required for the UE to perform the GNSS measurement, the time required for the GNSS module to transfer the GNSS positioning information to the wireless communication module, the time required for the UE to estimate the time-frequency offset based on the GNSS positioning information, the preparation time for transmitting the PRACH, and the preset offset is predefined, preconfigured by the base station, or reported by the UE.”).
Regarding claim 3, Wu discloses claim 1, Wu also discloses determining the location of the GNSS measurement gap according to the time-domain resource location of the DCI and a time offset, wherein the time offset is a duration between the GNSS measurement gap and a time-domain resource of the DCI (figure 7B paragraphs [0081]-[00100] “FIG. 7B illustrates a schematic diagram of performing GNSS measurement according to an embodiment. In step 711, the gNB initiates a PRACH through a PDCCH order and indicates to the UE to perform GNSS measurement through DCI format 1-0. In step 712, the UE acquires new GNSS positioning information based on the GNSS measurement, estimates a time-frequency offset based on the new GNSS positioning information, and uses the time-frequency offset for pre-compensation of the PRACH, which is the first available PRACH satisfying a preset condition after DCI.”).
Regarding claim 4, Wu discloses claim 2, Wu also discloses determining the location of the GNSS measurement gap according to the time-domain resource location of the DCI and a time offset, wherein the time offset is a duration between the GNSS measurement gap and a time-domain resource of the DCI (figure 7B paragraphs [0081]-[00100] “For the GNSS measurement triggered at the UE side, the UE is not required to limit the performing of the GNSS measurement within the GNSS measurement window. For example, once the UE triggers the acquiring of the new GNSS positioning information, the UE may immediately (start to) perform the GNSS measurement, and/or start to perform the GNSS measurement at a location satisfying the second preset interval after receiving an indication of the base station to perform the GNSS measurement, wherein the second preset interval is predefined, preconfigured by the base station, or reported by the UE, and/or the UE (starts to perform) performs the GNSS measurement at a location satisfying the preset offset before a next available PRACH transmission occasion, wherein the preset offset is predefined, preconfigured by the base station, or reported by the UE, and/or the UE decides when to (start to) perform the GNSS measurement based on the implementation”).
Regarding claim 5, Wu discloses claim 1, Wu also discloses receiving second indication information indicating a duration of the GNSS measurement gap (figure 6-8 paragraphs [0081]-[00126] “FIG. 8 illustrates a schematic diagram of a GNSS measurement window according to an embodiment. In FIG. 8, the GNSS measurement window 801 is specified. For example, the base station configures the GNSS measurement window for the UE, and the UE is required to limit the GNSS measurement within the GNSS measurement window.”).
Regarding claim 8, Wu discloses claim 1, Wu also discloses performing GNSS measurement within the GNSS measurement gap if a previous GNSS measurement result fails, wherein the previous GNSS measurement result is obtained from the most recent GNSS measurement (figure 7B paragraphs [0081]-[00100] “When one or more of the following (predefined) conditions are satisfied, the base station indicates to the UE to acquire the new GNSS positioning information: downlink data of the UE is arriving, such that there being the downlink data to be transmitted for the UE; a validity time of GNSS positioning information previously used by the UE has expired; a time alignment timer of the UE has expired; a duration of a DRX inactivity time of the UE exceeds a preset threshold value”).
Regarding claim 9, Wu discloses claim 8, Wu also discloses performing GNSS measurement within the GNSS measurement gap if a previous GNSS measurement result fails, wherein the previous GNSS measurement result is obtained from the most recent GNSS measurement (figure 7B paragraphs [0081]-[00100] “When one or more of the following (predefined) conditions are satisfied, the base station indicates to the UE to acquire the new GNSS positioning information: downlink data of the UE is arriving, such that there being the downlink data to be transmitted for the UE; a validity time of GNSS positioning information previously used by the UE has expired; a time alignment timer of the UE has expired; a duration of a DRX inactivity time of the UE exceeds a preset threshold value”).
Regarding claim 10, Wu discloses claim 9, Wu also discloses receiving third indication information, wherein the third indication information indicates a duration of the timer (figure 7B paragraphs [0081]-[00100] “When one or more of the following (predefined) conditions are satisfied, the base station indicates to the UE to acquire the new GNSS positioning information: downlink data of the UE is arriving, such that there being the downlink data to be transmitted for the UE; a validity time of GNSS positioning information previously used by the UE has expired; a time alignment timer of the UE has expired; a duration of a DRX inactivity time of the UE exceeds a preset threshold value”).
Regarding claim 11, Wu discloses claim 10, Wu also discloses transmitting timing reference indication information, wherein the timing reference indication information indicates a reference valid duration of a GNSS measurement result (figure 7B paragraphs [0081]-[00100] “When one or more of the following (predefined) conditions are satisfied, the base station indicates to the UE to acquire the new GNSS positioning information: downlink data of the UE is arriving, such that there being the downlink data to be transmitted for the UE; a validity time of GNSS positioning information previously used by the UE has expired; a time alignment timer of the UE has expired; a duration of a DRX inactivity time of the UE exceeds a preset threshold value”).
Regarding claim 12, Wu discloses claim 8, Wu also discloses transmitting a physical random access channel (PRACH), wherein the DCI is used to trigger the random access procedure (figure 6-7B paragraphs [0081]-[00100] “In step 601 in FIG. 6, the base station may indicate to the UE, in DCI initiating a PRACH procedure through a physical downlink control channel (PDCCH) order, to perform the GNSS measurement to acquire the new GNSS positioning information. For example, an existing specific DCI format, such as DCI format 1-0, is reused” … “Assuming that the UE monitors the above DCI format 1-0 initiating the PRACH procedure through the PDCCH order, if the indication value of the “triggering of GNSS measurement” field of the DCI format 1-0 is “1”, the UE performs the GNSS measurement to acquire the new GNSS positioning information, estimates the time-frequency offset based on the new GNSS positioning information, and then uses the estimated time-frequency offset for the pre-compensation of the PRACH initiated by the DCI format 1-0.”).
Regarding claims 13 and 20, Wu discloses claims 1 and 15, Wu also discloses the location of the GNSS measurement gap is prior to the time-domain resource location of the data, or the time-domain resource location of the data is prior to the location of the GNSS measurement gap (figure 6-7B paragraphs [0081]-[00100] “Specifically, a location where the UE starts the GNSS measurement (or a starting location of the GNSS measurement window) is determined based on the location of the PRACH, for example, the UE starts the GNSS measurement at a location satisfying a preset offset before the PRACH.”).
Regarding claims 14 and 21, Wu discloses claims 13 and 20, Wu also discloses a start location of a time-domain resource of the data relies on an end location of the GNSS measurement gap and a first delay value, the first delay value is a delay of the start location of the time-domain resource of the data relative to the end location of the GNSS measurement gap; or the start location of the time-domain resource of the data relies on an end location of a time-domain resource of the DCI and a second delay value, the second delay value is a delay of the start location of the time-domain resource of the data to the end location of the time-domain resource of the DCI (figure 6-7B paragraphs [0081]-[00100] “start location of GNSS measurement window: one of multiple predefined or preconfigured values is indicated by N bits, where N is a predefined value. This indication field is used to indicate a size of a time-domain interval between the start location of the GNSS measurement window and the DCI format 1-0, and the UE starts the GNSS measurement window at a location satisfying the indicated interval after the DCI format 1-0” … “UE determines the location of the GNSS measurement window according to indication information of the “length of GNSS measurement window” and/or “start location of GNSS measurement window” of the DCI format 1-0, or the UE determines the location of the GNSS measurement window according to information related to the length and/or the start location of the GNSS measurement window, which is predefined, preconfigured by the base station through higher layer signaling, or reported by the UE. The specific locational relationship is shown in FIG. 7A”).
Regarding claim 16, Wu discloses claim 15, Wu also discloses transmitting second indication information, wherein the second indication information indicates a duration of the GNSS measurement gap (figure 6-8 paragraphs [0081]-[00126] “FIG. 8 illustrates a schematic diagram of a GNSS measurement window according to an embodiment. In FIG. 8, the GNSS measurement window 801 is specified. For example, the base station configures the GNSS measurement window for the UE, and the UE is required to limit the GNSS measurement within the GNSS measurement window.”).
Regarding claim 17, Wu discloses claim 15, Wu also discloses the DCI further indicates to enable the GNSS measurement gap (figure 6-8 paragraphs [0081]-[00126] “start location of GNSS measurement window: one of multiple predefined or preconfigured values is indicated by N bits, where N is a predefined value. This indication field is used to indicate a size of a time-domain interval between the start location of the GNSS measurement window and the DCI format 1-0, and the UE starts the GNSS measurement window at a location satisfying the indicated interval after the DCI format 1-0.”).
Regarding claim 18, Wu discloses claim 15, Wu also discloses transmitting third indication information, wherein the third indication information indicates a duration of a timer corresponding to a GNSS measurement result (figure 7B paragraphs [0081]-[00100] “When one or more of the following (predefined) conditions are satisfied, the base station indicates to the UE to acquire the new GNSS positioning information: downlink data of the UE is arriving, such that there being the downlink data to be transmitted for the UE; a validity time of GNSS positioning information previously used by the UE has expired; a time alignment timer of the UE has expired; a duration of a DRX inactivity time of the UE exceeds a preset threshold value”).
Regarding claim 19, Wu discloses claim 18, Wu also discloses receiving timing reference indication information indicating a reference valid duration of the GNSS measurement result and determining the duration of the timer according to the reference valid duration (figure 7B paragraphs [0081]-[00100] “When one or more of the following (predefined) conditions are satisfied, the base station indicates to the UE to acquire the new GNSS positioning information: downlink data of the UE is arriving, such that there being the downlink data to be transmitted for the UE; a validity time of GNSS positioning information previously used by the UE has expired; a time alignment timer of the UE has expired; a duration of a DRX inactivity time of the UE exceeds a preset threshold value”).
Conclusion
The prior art made of record and not relied upon is considered pertinent to applicant's disclosure:
Wang (US 20240187176 A1) discloses sounding reference signal configuration for antenna switching and carrier switching.
Cozzo (US 20230350078 A1) discloses method and apparatus for GNSS operation in non-terrestrial networks.
Dai (US 20230261838 A1) discloses system and method for synchronization assistance.
/JUAN A TORRES/ Primary Examiner, Art Unit 2634