DETAILED ACTION
Acknowledgment
The Preliminary Amendment filed on 11/29/2024 has been received and placed of record. Accordingly, claim 20 has been cancelled and claims 1-19 are pending in the instant application.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 102
Claims 1-5 and 11-18 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 102(a)(1) as being anticipated by Yamamoto et al (US 2003/0109265; art cited by applicant).
Regarding independent claim 1, Yamamoto teaches a method for determining a position of a first wireless device (claim 1, "A positional information providing apparatus") in an underground environment ([0174], "Here, when mobile phone 30 is positioned in between tall buildings, underground, etc. "), the method comprising: obtaining a plurality of position estimations of the first wireless device in the underground environment, wherein the plurality of position estimations are obtained from different positioning services (claim 1, "a receiving means for receiving, from a terminal requesting measurement, identification information identifying a mobile communication terminal to be measured, and measuring quality conditions indicating conditions regarding the quality of the measurement; (...) received measuring quality conditions from among a plurality of measuring systems able to measure position of the mobile communication terminal"), obtaining quality indicators indicating respective qualities of the plurality of position estimations in the underground environment (claim 1, "measuring quality conditions indicating conditions regarding the quality of the measurement; (...) received measuring quality conditions from among a plurality of measuring systems able to measure position of the mobile communication terminal"), selecting a position estimation out of the plurality of position estimations based on the obtained quality indicators (claim 1, "a selecting means for selecting a measuring system suitable for said received measuring quality conditions from among a plurality of measuring systems able to measure position of the mobile communication terminal identified by said received identification information;"), and determining the position of the first wireless device based on the selected position estimation (claim 1, "an acquiring means for acquiring the positional information of said mobile communication terminal based on the measuring system selected by said selecting means; and a transmitting means for transmitting positional information acquired by said acquiring means to a terminal designated to be notified.").
Regarding independent claim 13, the claim is a corresponding apparatus claim and recites similar subject matter as in claim 1. Therefore, similar rationale is applied as for claim 1.
Regarding dependent claims 2 and 14, Yamamoto further teaches wherein at least one quality indicated by the quality indicators is based on a precision associated with a positioning service. See [0006], [0008], [0012] and [0018].
Regarding dependent claims 3 and 15, Yamamoto further teaches wherein the precision is determined when using the associated positioning service to obtain at least one position estimation. See [0006], [0008], [0012] and [0018].
Regarding dependent claims 4 and 16, Yamamoto further teaches wherein at least one quality indicated by the quality indicators is based on a time since the respective position estimation occurred. See [0056], [0060] and [0062].
Regarding dependent claims 5 and 17, Yamamoto further teaches wherein at least one quality indicated by the quality indicators is based on the respective position estimation. See [0006], [0008], [0012] and [0018].
Regarding dependent claim 11, Yamamoto further teaches wherein obtaining the plurality of position estimations of the first wireless device comprises obtaining a position estimation and a respective quality indicator from a second wireless device. See [0006], [0008], [0012] and [0018].
Regarding dependent claim 12, Yamamoto further teaches wherein obtaining the quality indicators comprises estimating at least one quality metric of the plurality of position estimations. See [0006], [0008], [0012] and [0018].
Regarding dependent claim 18, Yamamoto further teaches a system for determining a position of a first wireless device in an underground environment, wherein the system is comprising a control unit and the first wireless device, the system being configured to perform the method according to claim 1. See rationale as for claim 1.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claims 6-10 and 19 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Yamamoto et al (US 2003/0109265; art cited by applicant) in view of Dupray et al (US 2013/0285855).
Regarding dependent claim 6, Yamamoto teaches all subject matter claimed except to further teach wherein at least one quality indicated by the quality indicators is based on a signal strength and/or signal quality between the first wireless device and one or more access points of the one or more different radio positioning services. However, using a signal strength and/or signal quality as quality indicators is notoriously well-known in the art of digital communications. For example, Dupray, from the same field of endeavor, teaches monitoring signal characteristics, such as MS signal strength. See [0055] and [0204]. Therefore, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to modify the system of Yamamoto by employing the teachings as taught by Dupray so as to use signal strength as quality indicator.
Regarding dependent claim 7, Yamamoto as modified by Dupray further teaches wherein the one or more different radio positioning services comprises radio positioning using any one or more out of: Bluetooth Low Energy (BLE), Wi-Fi, Long Term Evolution (LTE), and 5G New Radio (NR). See [0025] and [0088].
Regarding dependent claim 8, Yamamoto as modified by Dupray further teaches wherein the one or more radio positioning estimations are estimated when the first wireless device broadcast a radio signal to any one or more respective access points of the one or more different radio positioning services. See [0076] and [0103].
Regarding dependent claim 9, Yamamoto as modified by Dupray further teaches wherein the plurality of position estimations comprises at least one position estimation estimated using a former position and a movement of the first wireless device. See [0216], [0309] and [0310].
Regarding dependent claim 10, Yamamoto as modified by Dupray further teaches wherein the at least one position estimation is estimated by matching the former position and the movement of the first wireless device (10) with a predefined set of paths of the underground environment. See [0216], [0309] and [0310].
Regarding dependent claim 19, Yamamoto as modified by Dupray fails to further teach a computer program comprising instructions, which when executed by a processor, causes the processor to perform actions according to the method of claim 1. However, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the invention was made to implement the method of claim 1 into a computer instructions to be executed by a processor since it is just a matter of implementing the instructions into a computer or machine readable medium and such implementation would not involve any inventive feature in according to the well-developed computing technology.
Conclusion
Examiner's note: Examiner has cited particular columns and line numbers in references as applied to the claims above for the convenience of the applicant. Although the specified citations are representative of the teachings of the art and are applied to the specific limitations within the individual claim, other passages and figures may apply as well. It is respectfully requested from the applicant, in preparing responses, to fully consider the references in entirety as potentially teaching all or part of the claimed invention, as well as the context of the passage as taught by prior art or disclosed by the Examiner.
The prior art made of record and not relied upon is considered pertinent to applicant's disclosure. References Abrudan et al (US 12,072,429), Mitsuya et al (US 2013/0143597), Kitsunezuka (US 2022/0034989), Frish et al (US 2023/0258453) and Lindgren et al (US 2024/0340610) are cited because they are pertinent to the method and apparatus for determining a position of a first wireless device in an underground environment.
/DON N VO/Primary Examiner, Art Unit 2634