This is the First Office action on the Merits from the examiner in charge of this application.
Priority
Receipt is acknowledged of certified copies of papers required by 37 CFR 1.55.
Drawings
The drawings are objected to under 37 CFR 1.83(a). The drawings must show every feature of the invention specified in the claims. Therefore, the runner member having a hexagonal shape as stated in claim 25 must be shown or the feature(s) canceled from the claim(s). No new matter should be entered.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 102
Claims 1-4, 6-9, and 13-17 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 102(a)(1) as being anticipated by Chen (U.S. Pub. No. 20160278232).
With respect to claim 1, Chen discloses a drawer runner system, comprising: a rail (Fig. 9, supporting base 200) having a mounting plate (vertical wall of supporting base 200); a top engagement portion (Fig. 9, upper supporting portion 206) and a bottom engagement portion (lower supporting portion 206), the top and bottom engagement portions (upper and lower 206) extending in parallel along the rail (supporting base 200 is a second embodiment of supporting base 26 as shown in Figs. 3 and 8, the upper/lower supporting portions 206 of supporting base 206 extend parallel similarly to upper/lower supporting portions 52 of supporting base 26); and a runner member (Fig. 9, second rail 202) having a top sliding surface (upper wall 208a) for sliding engagement with the top engagement portion (upper 206) and a bottom sliding surface (lower wall 208b) for sliding engagement with the bottom engagement portion (lower 206), wherein a lateral width of at least one of the top sliding surface or the bottom sliding surfaces (upper wall 208a or lower wall 208b) is greater than a lateral width of the corresponding top engagement portion or bottom engagement portion (upper/lower 206), respectively (Fig. 9 shows upper/lower 206 fit within 208a/208b, therefore the lateral width of upper/lower 206 is less than the lateral width of 208a/208b).
With respect to claim 2, Chen further discloses wherein the top and bottom engagement portions are vertically aligned (Fig. 9 shows upper supporting portion 206 is vertically aligned with lower supporting portion 206).
With respect to claim 3, Chen further discloses wherein the lateral width of the top sliding surface (upper wall 208a) is greater than the lateral width of the top engagement portion (Fig. 9 shows upper supporting portion 206 fits within upper wall 208a, therefore the lateral width of upper 206 is less than the lateral width of 208a), and wherein the lateral width of the bottom sliding surface (lower wall 208a) is greater than the lateral width of the bottom engagement portion (Fig. 9 shows lower supporting portion 206 fits within lower wall 208b, therefore the lateral width of lower 206 is less than the lateral width of 208b).
With respect to claim 4, Chen further discloses wherein at least one of the top or bottom engagement portions (upper or lower supporting portions 206) is provided with a radius (Fig. 9 shows upper/lower 206 are curved and therefore have a radius).
With respect to claim 6, Chen further discloses wherein the rail (supporting base 200) comprises a top flange extending downwards (see annotated Fig. 9 below, downwardly extending top flange), and an upper lip extending upwards from the top flange (see annotated Fig. 9 below, upwardly extending upper lip), wherein an interface between the top flange and the upper lip forms the top engagement portion (upper supporting portion 206 is formed where the downwardly extending top flange and the upwardly extending upper lip meet).
Annotated Fig. 9
With respect to claim 7, Chen further discloses wherein the rail (supporting base 200) comprises a bottom flange extending upwards (see annotated Fig. 9 below, upwardly extending bottom flange), and a bottom lip extending downwards from the bottom flange (see annotated Fig. 9 below, downwardly extending bottom lip), wherein an interface between the bottom flange and the bottom lip forms the bottom engagement portion (lower supporting portion 206 is formed where the downwardly extending bottom lip and the upwardly extending bottom flange meet).
Annotated Fig. 9
With respect to claim 8, Chen further discloses wherein the mounting plate (vertical wall of supporting base 200), the top engagement portion (upper supporting portion 206), and the bottom engagement portion (lower supporting portion 206) are integrally formed (the cross section of supporting base 200 as shown in Fig. 9 shows that the upper/lower supporting portions are continuous and integral with the vertical wall portion).
With respect to claim 9, Chen further discloses wherein a first lateral distance (see annotated Fig. 9 below, LW1) between the mounting plate (vertical wall of supporting base 200) and the top and bottom engagement portions (upper and lower supporting portions 206) is greater than a second lateral width (see annotated Fig. 9 below, LW2) of the runner member (second rail 202) times 0.5 (see annotated Fig. 9 below, LW1 is reasonably greater than LW2 x 0.5).
Annotated Fig. 9
With respect to claim 13, Chen further discloses wherein the runner member (second rail 202) has a shape of a polygon (second rail 202 is analogous to second rail 28 of the first embodiment, which is shown in Fig. 6A-6B as being rectangular) or a shape of a cylinder.
With respect to claim 14, Chen further discloses wherein at least one of the top sliding surface (upper wall 208a) or the bottom sliding surface (lower wall 208b) is at least partly concave (Fig. 9 shows 208a and 208b are concave to accommodate the convex structure of upper/lower supporting portions 206).
With respect to claim 15, Chen further discloses wherein at least one of the top sliding surface (208a) or the bottom sliding surface comprises an outer end wing, an inner end wing, and a central sliding portion extending from the outer end wing (see annotated Fig. 9 below, outer end wing, inner end wing, central sliding portion), wherein a vertical distance between an outer edge of the top sliding surface and an outer edge of the bottom sliding surface (see annotated Fig. 9 below, vertical distance (VD) between outer edges of 208a and 208b) is larger than a vertical opening distance between the top and bottom engagement portion (see annotated Fig. 9 below, vertical opening distance (VOD) between upper and lower 206), thereby preventing the runner member from being laterally displaces out of the rail (the inner end wing and outer end wing structures of second rail 202 would prevent it from moving laterally away from supporting base 200).
Annotated Fig. 9
With respect to claim 16, Chen further discloses wherein the central sliding portion is at least partly provided with a radius (Fig. 9, central concave portion of 208a/208b is curved and therefore has a radius).
With respect to claim 17, Chen further discloses wherein the radius of the central sliding portion of the top sliding surface (central concave portion of 208a) is equal to or greater than a radius of the top engagement portion (Fig. 9, the radius of upper 206 appears to be less than or equal to the radius of central concave portion of 208a), and/or the radius of the central sliding portion of the bottom sliding surface (central concave portion of 208b) is equal to or greater than a radius of the bottom engagement portion (the radius of lower 206 appears to be less than or equal to the radius of central concave portion of 208b).
Claims 1, 11, 13, 19, 21, and 25 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 102(a)(1) as being anticipated by Andersson (U.S. Pat. No. 11229286).
With respect to claim 1, Andersson discloses a drawer runner system (Figs. 10-13b), comprising: a rail (first guiding rail 310) having a mounting plate (vertical wall of first guiding rail 310); a top engagement portion (Fig. 11a, upper sliding surface 312) and a bottom engagement portion (lower sliding surface 314), the top and bottom engagement portions extending in parallel along the rail (Fig. 11a shows 312 and 314 extend parallel to each other along the first guiding rail 310); and a runner member (sliding member 350) having a top sliding surface (Fig. 12b, upper protrusion 354a) for sliding engagement with the top engagement portion (upper sliding surface 312) and a bottom sliding surface (lower protrusion 354b) for sliding engagement with the bottom engagement portion (lower sliding surface 314), wherein a lateral width of at least one of the top sliding surface or the bottom sliding surface (354a or 354b) is greater than a lateral width of the corresponding top engagement portion or bottom engagement portion (312 or 314), respectively (Figs. 11a and 11b show upper and lower protrusions 354a and 354b extend laterally beyond the upper and lower sliding surfaces 312 and 314).
With respect to claim 11, Andersson further discloses wherein the runner member (sliding member 350) is made of plastic (Col. 3, lines 28-29, “the at least one sliding member may in its entirety be made from a plastic”).
With respect to claim 13, Andersson further discloses wherein the runner member (sliding member 350) has a shape of a polygon (Figs. 12b and 13a show sliding member 350 has a rectangular shape) or a shape of a cylinder.
With respect to claim 19, Andersson further discloses wherein the rail (first guiding rail 310) comprises a horizontal front section (see annotated Fig. 11a below, horizontal front section), an intermediate retardation section being tilted vertically upwards (see annotated Fig. 11a below, upwardly tilted intermediate section), and a rear section being tilted vertically downwards (Fig. 13a, groove 315 tilts downward at the end portion of first guiding rail 310).
Annotated Fig. 11a
With respect to claim 21, Andersson discloses a chest of drawers (Figs. 1a-1b) comprising a cabinet (cabinet 3) at least one drawer (drawer 5a), and at least one drawer runner system (Figs. 10-13b, drawer sliding system 300 in use with drawer 5a), the at least one drawer runner system comprising: a rail (first guiding rail 310) having a mounting plate (vertical wall of first guiding rail 310); a top engagement portion (Fig. 11a, upper sliding surface 312) and a bottom engagement portion (lower sliding surface 314), the top and bottom engagement portions extending in parallel along the rail (Fig. 11a shows 312 and 314 extend parallel to each other along the first guiding rail 310); and a runner member (sliding member 350) having a top sliding surface (Fig. 12b, upper protrusion 354a) for sliding engagement with the top engagement portion (upper sliding surface 312) and a bottom sliding surface (lower protrusion 354b) for sliding engagement with the bottom engagement portion (lower sliding surface 314), wherein a lateral width of at least one of the top sliding surface or the bottom sliding surface (354a or 354b) is greater than a lateral width of the corresponding top engagement portion or bottom engagement portion (312 or 314), respectively (Figs. 11a and 11b show upper and lower protrusions 354a and 354b extend laterally beyond the upper and lower sliding surfaces 312 and 314).
With respect to claim 25, Andersson further discloses wherein the shape of the polygon is a rectangular shape (Figs. 12b and 13a show sliding member 350 has a rectangular shape) or a hexagonal shape.
Claims 1, 5, 10, 20 and 26 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 102(a)(a) as being anticipated by Lazar (U.S. Pat. No. 4331369).
With respect to claim 1, Lazar discloses a drawer runner system (Figs. 2-4), comprising: a rail (Fig. 2, floating slide 3) having a mounting plate (vertical wall of floating slide 3); a top engagement portion (Fig. 3, contact area of face portion 19) and a bottom engagement portion (contact area of face portion 20), the top and bottom engagement portions extending in parallel along the rail (Figs. 2 and 2 show face portions 19 and 20 extend parallel to each other along floating slide 3); and a runner member (Fig. 4, slide guide 5) having a top sliding surface (Figs. 3 and 4, upper surface of smaller shaft 24) for sliding engagement with the top engagement portion (Fig. 3, upper surface of 24 abuts the contact area of face portion 19) and a bottom sliding surface (lower surface of smaller shaft 24) for sliding engagement with the bottom engagement portion (Fig. 3, lower surface of 24 abuts the contact area of face portion 20), wherein a lateral width of at least one of the top sliding surface or the bottom sliding surface (upper/lower surfaces of smaller shaft 24) is greater than a lateral width of the corresponding top engagement portion or bottom engagement portion (contact areas of face portions 19 and 20), respectively (Fig, 3 face portions 19 and 20 fit within the horizontal area of upper/lower surfaces of 24, therefore the lateral width of the contact area of face portions 19/20 are less than the lateral width of the upper/lower surfaces of 24).
With respect to claim 5, Lazar further discloses wherein the lateral width of at least one of the top or bottom engagement portions (see annotated Fig. 3 below, lateral width LW of contact area of face portion 20) is 1mm or less (dimension D of Fig. 3 is disclosed as 0.210 in (5.334mm) or smaller, and the lateral width of the contact area between upper/lower face portions 19/20 with the upper/lower surface of smaller shaft 24 is reasonably less than a fifth of the dimension D, therefore the lateral width is reasonably 1mm or less).
Annotated Fig. 3
With respect toc claim 10, Lazar further discloses wherein the runner member (slide guide 5) is capable of being turned in relation to a drawer side wall (Col. 3, lines 32-38 describe a method for attaching slide guide 5 to chassis 2 which includes the cylindrical stud portion 24 being threaded and inserted into hole 8 from one side of the chassis 2, then a nut is screwed onto the threaded portion from the other side of the chassis, therefore the slide guide 5 is capable of being inserted and turned within the chassis hole 8 during assembly).
With respect to claim 20, Lazar further discloses wherein a total width of the drawer runner system is less than 14mm (Fig. 3, dimension D is “0.210 inch or smaller” which is equal to 5.334mm or smaller, therefore the total width (from the leftmost end of slide guide 5 to the rightmost end of floating slide 3) is reasonably less than 14mm).
With respect to claim 26, Lazar further discloses wherein the total width of the drawer runner system is in a first range of 3mm - 14mm or in a second range of 6 mm – 10 mm (As explained in the rejection of claim 20 above, dimension D is 0.210 inch (5.334 mm) or smaller, therefore the total width (from the leftmost end of slide guide 5 to the rightmost end of floating slide 3) as shown in Fig. 3 is reasonably about 1.5 times the dimension D, or approximately 8mm).
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claims 12, 23, and 24 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Andersson (U.S. Pat. No. 11229286).
With respect to claim 12, Andersson discloses the limitation set forth above. In the present embodiment, Andersson is silent to the material of the rail.
In an alternate embodiment (Figs. 2a-6b) Andersson discloses wherein the rail (Fig. 3a, intermediate slide rail 130) is made of metal (Fig. 3b shows intermediate slide rail 140 with sliding surfaces 132, 134, 136, 138 and as states in Col. 10, lines 32-33, “the sliding surface 132, 134, 136, 138 is formed on a metal bar”).
It would have been obvious to one having ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to modify the first guiding rail to be metal, such as taught in the alternate embodiment of Andersson, with a reasonable expectation of success in order to provide low sliding resistance/friction between the slide member and the first guide rail.
With respect to claim 23, Andersson in view of the alternate embodiment discloses the limitation set forth above. The combination further discloses wherein the metal is provided by a coating (Col. 12, lines 60-64, “the slide surface 132, 134, 136, 138 may be lacquered by electrocoating involving dipping a metal bar into a bath containing the lacquer and applying an electric field to deposit lacquer onto the metal bar acting as one of the electrodes”).
With respect to claim 24, Andersson in view of the alternate embodiment discloses the limitation set forth above. The combination further discloses wherein the coating is a lacquer (Col. 12, lines 60-64, “the slide surface 132, 134, 136, 138 may be lacquered by electrocoating involving dipping a metal bar into a bath containing the lacquer and applying an electric field to deposit lacquer onto the metal bar acting as one of the electrodes”).
Claim 18 is rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Chen (U.S. Pub. No. 20160278232) in view of Reiss (U.S. Pat. 5085524).
With respect to claim 18, Chen discloses the limitation set forth above. Chen further discloses wherein the central sliding portion (concave surface of upper wall 208a) has two portions provided with a radius (left-side of concave surface of 208a and right-side of concave surface of 208a). Chen fails to disclose wherein the central sliding portion has a horizontal portion, the horizontal portion being arranged as an intermediate portion between two portions provided with a radius.
Reiss discloses a central sliding portion has a horizontal portion (Figs. 3 and 4, flat horizontal land 94), the horizontal portion being arranged as an intermediate portion between two portions (inclined surfaces 96 and 102).
It would have been obvious to one having ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to modify the central sliding portion of the upper wall of Chen such that it has a flat horizontal intermediate portion, such as taught by Reiss, (resulting in a horizontal portion between two portions provided with a radius) with a reasonable expectation of success in order to reduce the contact area between the top supporting portion and the upper wall thereby reducing the amount of friction between the two.
Claim 22 is rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Chen (U.S. Pub. No. 20160278232).
With respect to claim 22, Chen discloses the limitation set forth above except wherein the radius is in a first range of 0.5 mm – 5.0 mm, in a second range of 0.7 mm – 4.00 mm, in a third range of 0.8 mm – 3.00 mm, or in a fourth range of 1.0 mm – 2.0 mm. It would have been an obvious matter of design choice to provide the top or bottom engagement portions with a radius that falls within one of the above ranges, since such a modification would have involved a mere change in the size of a component. A change is size is generally recognized as being within the level of ordinary skill in the art. See MPEP 2144.04 (IV)(A).
Conclusion
The prior art made of record and not relied upon is considered pertinent to applicant's disclosure, and all show structures similar to various elements of applicant’s disclosure.
/E.I.A./Examiner, Art Unit 3637
/MATTHEW W ING/Primary Examiner, Art Unit 3637