DETAILED ACTION
Response to Amendment
The Amendment filed 11 September 2026 has been entered. Claims 1-2 and 6-13 remain pending in the application. Applicant's amendments to the Claims have overcome each and every rejection previously set forth in the Non-Final Office Action dated 30 June 2026; however, upon further consideration new rejections are set forth as explained below.
Claim Interpretation
This application includes one or more claim limitations that do not use the word “means,” but are nonetheless being interpreted under 35 U.S.C. 112(f) or pre-AIA 35 U.S.C. 112, sixth paragraph, because the claim limitation(s) uses a generic placeholder that is coupled with functional language without reciting sufficient structure to perform the recited function and the generic placeholder is not preceded by a structural modifier. Such claim limitation(s) is/are: “a separating device” in claim 1.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 102
Claims 1-2, 6-10, and 12-13 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 102(a)(1) as being anticipated by Nakamura (JP H10-127810, all references herein are to the English translation provided).
Regarding claim 1, Nakamura teaches a fire protection device (1) comprising a fire protection blanket (10) which can be placed over a potentially burning object positioned on a parking space, such as in particular a battery-operated vehicle, in order to counteract the spread of fire emanating from or spreading to the object (par. 1), characterized in that
the fire protection blanket is compactly combined into a bale, in particular rolled up and/or folded together, is accommodated in a box-like housing (1A, see par. 5, fig. 1) which can be mounted or is mounted on the parking space (fig. 3) and is connected to a pull-out device (elements 11 and “A”, “B”), by means of which it can be placed in its mounted state manually or automatically completely over the object in the event of fire or fire hazard (p. 5, par. 1) in such a manner that it rests with side portions completely or at least largely all around on the parking space floor (par. 11-13) in order to prevent an influx of oxygen as far as possible (par. 11), the fire protection blanket is rolled up or folded in the housing and is connected to pull-out device (fig. 1),
the housing is mounted in front of the object above it on a parking space boundary, in particular a wall, in the direction of extension (see fig. 3),
deflection means, in the form of deflection rollers (3, see par. 9), are attached away from the housing (fig. 1, 3 – wheels 3 are spaced a distance from the housing) behind and above the object (figs. 3, 4) on a support part (2, see par. 9) and
the pull-out device comprises two pull-out means (figs. 3, 4), in the form of traction cables (par. 10 – “wires” which produce a pulling force/create a state of tension on the blanket, consistent with the definition in the Merriam-Webster dictionary definition of “traction”), which are attached to the fire protection blanket (3) at the side and above the object, running in the pull-out direction (fig. 4), and are guided around the deflection means (par. 9, 11 – the device is moved, or guided, to the parking space via wheel roller 3), with which the fire protection blanket can be pulled out in the pull-out direction over the entire length of the object and can then be deposited with edge portions on the floor of the parking space (par. 11-13; figs. 3, 4) and
a separating device (12A) for separating a connection of the pull-out means from the fire protection blanket or the pull-out means themselves (par. 11 – elements 12A separate “the pull-out means themselves” from the housing) is provided for depositing the fire protection blanket on the floor behind the object (par. 11-13).
Regarding claim 2, Nakamura teaches the fire protection device described regarding claim 1, and further wherein the housing is provided with a wall portion (18, see figs. 1, 3) covering an extraction opening (fig. 1 – opening at lower left corner), which can be moved away automatically in the event of a fire hazard in response to an opening signal triggered manually or by means of a sensor arrangement (par. 11 – “control panel”) to release the extraction opening (par. 11).
Regarding claim 6, Nakamura teaches the fire protection device described regarding claim 1, and further wherein the pull-out device, which is connected in particular to a control apparatus (par. 9 – “control device”; par. 11 – “control panel”), for automatically pulling out the fire protection blanket is coupled to a drive device (12/13/14/15), which can be activated manually or in response to a signal from a fire detector (par. 11 – “instruction from the control panel”).
Regarding claim 7, Nakamura teaches the fire protection device described regarding claim 6, and further wherein an electrical, pneumatic, hydraulic or mechanical energy source, in particular having a spring arrangement, is present for providing the drive energy of the drive device (par. 11 – the valve 14 is electrically operated and allow the gas be released and provide the drive energy of the drive device; therefore, it is “electrical” and “pneumatic”).
Regarding claim 8, Nakamura teaches the fire protection device described regarding claim 7, and further wherein the energy source is arranged on or in the housing (figs. 1, 2).
Regarding claim 9, Nakamura teaches the fire protection device described regarding claim 6, and further wherein the drive device is connected to the pull-out means (elements “A” are contained within 12, see par. 11).
Regarding claim 10, Nakamura teaches the fire protection device described regarding claim 6, and further wherein the drive device is designed for rotating drive and is provided with a winding device or traction-exerting passage means for the pull-out means (par. 15).
Regarding claim 12, Nakamura teaches the fire protection device described regarding claim 1, and further characterized in that a height and/or width adjustment device (2) is provided, via which the housing can be mounted or fitted to the parking space in a height and/or width-adjustable manner (par. 9 – the housing is adjusted along the width of the tunnel via the path 2).
Regarding claim 13, Nakamura teaches a method of preventing or suppressing a fire starting from or spreading to an object, in particular a vehicle, positioned on a parking space (par. 1), in which a fire protection blanket (10) accommodated in a housing (1A) as a rolled-up or folded-up bale (see par. 5, fig. 1) is released and prepared over the object with edge portions placed on the ground (par. 11-13),
wherein the housing is mounted on the parking space (fig. 3 – a vehicle will park in the tunnel if it start on fire) the fire protection blanket is manually or automatically pulled out of the housing over the object by means of a pull-out device (11, “A”, and “B”) and then lowered, and
the pull-out device has pull-out means (figs. 3, 4), in the form of traction cables (par. 10 – “wires” which produce a pulling force/create a state of tension on the blanket, consistent with the definition in the Merriam-Webster dictionary definition of “traction”), coupled to the fire protection blanket for pulling out (fig. 3, 4), which are guided via deflection elements (3, see par. 9, 11 – the device is moved, or guided, to the parking space via wheel roller 3) provided away from the housing (fig. 1, 3 – wheels 3 are spaced a distance from the housing) above and behind the object (figs. 3, 4) and are severed in the event of fire in order to lower the pulled-out fire protection blanket (par. 11 – elements 12A separate, or cut off, the cables 11 from the housing).
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claim 11 is rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Nakamura in view of Bush et al. (US 2010/0269449).
Regarding claim 11, Nakamura discloses the fire protection device described regarding claim 1, and further characterized in that the fire protection blanket is made of a refractory fiber, which is designed for temperatures of up to 1,000°C or higher continuous load (par. 8). Nakamura does not disclose the fire protection blanket is made of high-performance material - which is designed for temperatures of up to 1,500°C continuous load (>24 h) and/or up to 2,500°C maximum load (up to approx. 15 min).
Bush teaches a fire protection device (fig. 1A, 2A, 2B) comprising a fire protection blanket (24) made of high-performance material - which is designed for temperatures of up to 1,500°C continuous load (>24 h) (par. 92).
It would have been obvious for one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to have modified the fire protection blanket of Nakamura, to design it for temperatures of up to 1,500°C continuous, as taught by Bush, since this was known to be a temperature that fires can reach, and such a blanket would be capable of protecting from such a fire.
Response to Arguments
Applicant's arguments filed 11 September 2026 have been fully considered but they are not persuasive.
Applicant argues that Nakamura does not teach a box-like housing in a mountable state since the housing is mobile. In response it is noted that a “mounted state” does not require a fixed state that does not move. The term mount is interpreted to require that the housing is attached to a support, consistent with the definition found in the Merriam-Webster dictionary.
Applicant further argues that Nakamura does not teach the newly added limitations. In response, it is noted that Nakamura is interpreted to teach each of these limitations as explained in the rejections above.
Conclusion
Applicant's amendment necessitated the new ground(s) of rejection presented in this Office action. Accordingly, THIS ACTION IS MADE FINAL. See MPEP § 706.07(a). Applicant is reminded of the extension of time policy as set forth in 37 CFR 1.136(a).
assistance from a USPTO Customer Service Representative, call 800-786-9199 (IN USA OR CANADA) or 571-272-1000.
/CODY J LIEUWEN/Primary Examiner, Art Unit 3752