DETAILED ACTION
Claim Interpretation
This application includes one or more claim limitations that do not use the word “means,” but are nonetheless being interpreted under 35 U.S.C. 112(f) or pre-AIA 35 U.S.C. 112, sixth paragraph, because the claim limitation(s) uses a generic placeholder that is coupled with functional language without reciting sufficient structure to perform the recited function and the generic placeholder is not preceded by a structural modifier. Such claim limitation(s) is/are: “a pull-out device” in claims 1 and 13; “pull-out means” in claims 3 and 14; “deflection means” in claim 4; and “a separating device” in claim 5.
Because this/these claim limitation(s) is/are being interpreted under 35 U.S.C. 112(f) or pre-AIA 35 U.S.C. 112, sixth paragraph, it/they is/are being interpreted to cover the corresponding structure described in the specification as performing the claimed function, and equivalents thereof. Such corresponding structure(s) is/are: for the “pull-out device” and “pull-out means” – “cables”, as described in par. 32; for the “deflection means” – “rollers”, as described in par. 32; and for the “separating device” – a “cutting device”, as described in par. 36.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 112
Claims 3-5 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 112(b) or 35 U.S.C. 112 (pre-AIA ), second paragraph, as being indefinite for failing to particularly point out and distinctly claim the subject matter which the inventor or a joint inventor (or for applications subject to pre-AIA 35 U.S.C. 112, the applicant), regards as the invention.
Claim 3 is rejected as being indefinite because it is unclear if the “pull-out means” recited in line 4 is referring to the “pull-out device” recited in claim 1, from which claim 3 depends, or to a new element. For the purposes of examination, the former interpretation will be assumed since this appears to be consistent with the invention disclosed in the Specification and Drawings.
Claims 4-5 are rejected for depending from indefinite claim 3.
Claim 4 is rejected as being indefinite because it is unclear if the “two pull-out means” recited in line 7 is further limiting the “pull-out means” recited in claim 3, from which claim 4 depends, or to two additional “pull-out means”. For the purposes of examination, the former interpretation will be assumed since this appears to be consistent with the invention disclosed in the Specification and Drawings.
Claim 4 recites the limitations "the side" in line 8 and “the pull-out direction” in lines 8-9 and “edge portions” in line 11. There are insufficient antecedent bases for these limitations in the claim.
Claim 5 are rejected for depending from indefinite claim 3.
Claim 5 is rejected as being indefinite because it is unclear to which of the “pull-out means” the limitation of line 3 refers.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 102
Claims 1, 3, and 12-13 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 102(a)(1) as being anticipated by Jutec (DE 202022101021).
Regarding claim 1, Jutec teaches a fire protection device (p. 1, par. 2; fig. 1) comprising a fire protection blanket (1) which can be placed over a potentially burning object positioned on a parking space, such as in particular a battery-operated vehicle, in order to counteract the spread of fire emanating from or spreading to the object (p. 1, par. 3), characterized in that
the fire protection blanket is compactly combined into a bale, in particular rolled up and/or folded together, is accommodated in a box-like housing (2, see figs. 1, 2) which can be mounted or is mounted on the parking space (fig. 1, 2 – the box 2 is capable of being mounted on a parking space) and is connected to a pull-out device (4/5), by means of which it can be placed manually or automatically completely over the object in the event of fire or fire hazard (p. 5, par. 1) in such a manner that it rests with side portions completely or at least largely all around on the parking space floor (fig. 5) in order to prevent an influx of oxygen as far as possible.
Regarding claim 3, Jutec teaches the fire protection device described regarding claim 1, and further characterized in that the fire protection blanket is rolled up or folded in the housing and is connected to pull-out means (fig. 1, 2).
Regarding claim 12, Jutec teaches the fire protection device described regarding claim 1, and further characterized in that a height and/or width adjustment device (18, which is a “telescopic handle” that can be extended or retracted, adjusting the height and/or width of the box) is provided, via which the housing can be mounted or fitted to the parking space in a height and/or width-adjustable manner.
Regarding claim 13, Jutec teaches a method of preventing or suppressing a fire starting from or spreading to an object, in particular a vehicle, positioned on a parking space (p. 1, par. 2-3), in which a fire protection blanket (1) accommodated in a housing (2) as a rolled-up or folded-up bale (figs. 1, 2) is released (fig. 3) and prepared over the object with edge portions placed on the ground (fig. 5), characterized in that the fire protection blanket is manually or automatically pulled out of the housing over the object by means of a pull-out device (4/5) and then lowered.
Claims 1-10 and 13-14 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 102(a)(1) as being anticipated by Nakamura (JP H10-127810, all references herein are to the English translation provided).
Regarding claim 1, Nakamura teaches a fire protection device (1) comprising a fire protection blanket (10) which can be placed over a potentially burning object positioned on a parking space, such as in particular a battery-operated vehicle, in order to counteract the spread of fire emanating from or spreading to the object (par. 1), characterized in that
the fire protection blanket is compactly combined into a bale, in particular rolled up and/or folded together, is accommodated in a box-like housing (1A, see par. 5, fig. 1) which can be mounted or is mounted on the parking space (fig. 3) and is connected to a pull-out device (elements 11 and “A”, “B”), by means of which it can be placed manually or automatically completely over the object in the event of fire or fire hazard (p. 5, par. 1) in such a manner that it rests with side portions completely or at least largely all around on the parking space floor (par. 11-13) in order to prevent an influx of oxygen as far as possible (par. 11).
Regarding claim 2, Nakamura teaches the fire protection device described regarding claim 1, and further characterized in that the housing is provided with a wall portion (18, see figs. 1, 3) covering an extraction opening (fig. 1 – opening at lower left corner), which can be moved away automatically in the event of a fire hazard in response to an opening signal triggered manually or by means of a sensor arrangement (par. 11 – “control panel”) to release the extraction opening (par. 11).
Regarding claim 3, Nakamura teaches the fire protection device described regarding claim 1, and further characterized in that the fire protection blanket is rolled up or folded in the housing and is connected to pull-out means (fig. 1).
Regarding claim 4, Nakamura teaches the fire protection device described regarding claim 3, and further characterized in that the housing is mounted in front of the object above it on a parking space boundary, in particular a wall, in the direction of extension (see fig. 3), deflection means (3, see par. 9) are attached behind and above the object (figs. 3, 4) on a support part (2, see par. 9) and two pull-out means (figs. 3, 4), in particular in the form of pull ropes (par. 10 – “wires”), are attached to the fire protection blanket (3) at the side and above the object, running in the pull-out direction (fig. 4), and are guided around the deflection means (par. 9, 11 – the device is moved, or guided, to the parking space via wheel roller 3), with which the fire protection blanket can be pulled out in the pull-out direction over the entire length of the object and can then be deposited with edge portions on the floor of the parking space (par. 11-13; figs. 3, 4).
Regarding claim 5, Nakamura teaches the fire protection device described regarding claim 4, and further characterized in that a separating device (12A) for separating a connection of the pull-out means from the fire protection blanket or the pull-out means themselves (par. 11 – elements 12A separate “the pull-out means themselves” from the housing) is provided for depositing the fire protection blanket on the floor behind the object (par. 11-13).
Regarding claim 6, Nakamura teaches the fire protection device described regarding claim 1, and further characterized in that the pull-out device, which is connected in particular to a control apparatus (par. 9 – “control device”; par. 11 – “control panel”), for automatically pulling out the fire protection blanket is coupled to a drive device (12/13/14/15), which can be activated manually or in response to a signal from a fire detector (par. 11 – “instruction from the control panel”).
Regarding claim 7, Nakamura teaches the fire protection device described regarding claim 6, and further characterized in that an electrical, pneumatic, hydraulic or mechanical energy source, in particular having a spring arrangement, is present for providing the drive energy of the drive device (par. 11 – the valve 14 is electrically operated and allow the gas be released and provide the drive energy of the drive device; therefore, it is “electrical” and “pneumatic”).
Regarding claim 8, Nakamura teaches the fire protection device described regarding claim 7, and further characterized in that the energy source is arranged on or in the housing (figs. 1, 2).
Regarding claim 9, Nakamura teaches the fire protection device described regarding claim 6, and further characterized in that the drive device is connected to the pull-out means (elements “A” are contained within 12, see par. 11).
Regarding claim 10, Nakamura teaches the fire protection device described regarding claim 6, and further characterized in that the drive device is designed for rotating drive and is provided with a winding device or traction-exerting passage means for the pull-out means (par. 15).
Regarding claim 13, Nakamura teaches a method of preventing or suppressing a fire starting from or spreading to an object, in particular a vehicle, positioned on a parking space (par. 1), in which a fire protection blanket (10) accommodated in a housing (1A) as a rolled-up or folded-up bale (see par. 5, fig. 1) is released and prepared over the object with edge portions placed on the ground (par. 11-13), characterized in that the fire protection blanket is manually or automatically pulled out of the housing over the object by means of a pull-out device (11, “A”, and “B”) and then lowered.
Regarding claim 14, Nakamura teaches the method of preventing or suppressing a fire starting from or spreading to an object described regarding claim 13, and further characterized in that the pull-out device has pull-out means coupled to the fire protection blanket for pulling out (fig. 3, 4), in particular pull cables (par. 10 – “wires”), which are guided via deflection elements (3, see par. 9, 11 – the device is moved, or guided, to the parking space via wheel roller 3) and are severed in the event of fire in order to lower the pulled-out fire protection blanket (par. 11 – elements 12A separate, or cut off, the cables 11 from the housing).
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claim 11 is rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Jutec in view of Bush et al. (US 2010/0269449).
Regarding claim 11, Jutec discloses the fire protection device described regarding claim 1, and further characterized in that the fire protection blanket is made of high-performance material - which is designed for temperatures of up to 1,100°C continuous load (>24 h) and/or up to 1,600°C maximum load (up to approx. 15 min) (see p. 2, par. 5). Jutec does not disclose the fire protection blanket is made of high-performance material - which is designed for temperatures of up to 1,500°C continuous load (>24 h) and/or up to 2,500°C maximum load (up to approx. 15 min).
Bush teaches a fire protection device (fig. 1A, 2A, 2B) comprising a fire protection blanket (24) made of high-performance material - which is designed for temperatures of up to 1,500°C continuous load (>24 h) (par. 92).
It would have been obvious for one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to have modified the fire protection blanket of Jutec, to design it for temperatures of up to 1,500°C continuous, as taught by Bush, since this was known to be a temperature that fires can reach, and such a blanket would be capable of protecting from such a fire.
Conclusion
The prior art made of record and not relied upon is considered pertinent to applicant's disclosure. Kang (US 2021/0283437) and Hutton (US 2021/0038932) both teach fire protection devices having elements of the claimed invention.
/CODY J LIEUWEN/Primary Examiner, Art Unit 3752