DETAILED ACTION
Status of the claims
Claims 1 – 25 were originally filed in the application.
With preliminary amendment filed on November 30, 2024, Applicant have cancelled claims 1 – 25 and added new claims 26 – 45.
Claims 26 – 45 are pending in the application.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claim(s) 26, 36, 37, 39, 40, 43, and 44 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Lomayev et al (US 2019/0044781) in view of Kenney et al (US 9,867,082).
Regarding claim 26, Lomayev et al teach an apparatus comprising logic and circuitry (see figure 1, paragraph 0044 “circuitry and/ or logic to perform wireless communication”) configured to cause a wireless communication device to: generate a Short Training Field (STF) according to a millimeter Wave (mmWave) )(see paragraph 0048 “mmWave” 0095 “embodiments may be implemented … in an mmWave band”) Physical layer (PHY) Protocol Data Unit (PPDU) format (paragraph 0067, generate a message, for example, … PHY Protocol Data Unit (PPDU)” and see figure 2, component 212 “ L-STF” and “EDMG-STF”), the STF comprising short training Orthogonal Frequency Division Multiplexing (OFDM) symbol (see paragraph 0129 -0132, “OFDM PPDU”); and transmit an mmWave PPDU according to the mmWave PPDU format over an mmWave wireless communication channel in an mmWave frequency band, the mmWave PPDU comprising the STF (see figure 1, 2, 8 “transmit.. EDMG PPDU” and paragraph 0048 “communicate over a directional band, for example, an mmWave band,”). Lomayev et al does not expressly disclose that the STF comprising a plurality of repetitions of an STF structure. However, in analogous art, Kenney et al disclose a OFDM system (see abstract) using PPDU (see figure 1A) that have the STF comprising a plurality of repetitions of an STF structure (see figure 2, component 203 and column 7, lines 59 – column 8, lined 25, “A preamble repeater 203 of the physical layer logic 202 may repeat the symbols of the STF”), the STF structure comprising a plurality of repetitions of a short training Orthogonal Frequency Division Multiplexing (OFDM) symbol (see column 6, lines 40 – 65 “STF 1064 may comprise short training symbols” and “ preamble structure include OFDM training symbols”), the short training OFDM symbol comprising a training sequence over a plurality of OFDM tones (see column 7, lines 59 – column 8, lined 25, the equation, “number of tones in STF payload”). Therefore, it would have been obvious to an ordinary skilled in the art at the time the invention was filed to use repetition of STF. The motivation or suggestion to do so is to extend the range at which the preamble may be detected and decoded by a receiving device.
Regarding claim 36, which inherits the limitations of claim 26, Lomayev et al in view of Kenney et al further teach wherein the STF comprises a time domain repetition of the STF structure, wherein the time domain repetition of the STF structure comprises a sequence in time of two or more repetitions of the STF structure (see Kenney et al; column 7, lines 59 – column 8, lined 25, the equation, “number of tones in STF payload”).
Regarding claim 37, which inherits the limitations of claim 36, Lomayev et al in view of Kenney et al further teach wherein a tone spacing of the short training OFDM symbol is equal to a tone spacing of a data OFDM symbol of a data portion of the mmWave PPDU (see Kenney et al column 6, lines 60 – column 7, line 7).
Regarding claim 39, which inherits the limitations of claim 36, Lomayev et al in view of Kenney et al further teach wherein a count of repetitions in the two or more repetitions of the STF structure is at least 4 (see Kenney et al column 6, lines 60 – column 7, line 7 “one to four additional repetition”).
Regarding claim 40, which inherits the limitations of claim 36, Lomayev et al in view of Kenney et al further teach wherein a count of repetitions in the plurality of repetitions of the short training OFDM symbol is at least 10 (see Kenney et al column 6, lines 60 – column 7, line 7 Kenney disclose repetition of X times. Choosing x to be 10 is within the scope of one of ordinary skilled in the art).
Regarding claim 43, which inherits the limitations of claim 36, Lomayev et al in view of Kenney et al further teach comprising at least one radio to transmit the mmWave PPDU, one or more antennas connected to the radio, and a processor to execute instructions of an operating system of the wireless communication device (see Lomayev et al figure 1).
Regarding claim 44, the claimed product including the features corresponds to subject matter mentioned above in the rejection of claim 26 is applicable hereto.
Claim(s) 27 – 31, 35 and 42 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Lomayev et al (US 2019/0044781) in view of Kenney et al (US 9,867,082) and further in view of Liu et al (US 2021/0385688).
Regarding claim 27, which inherits the limitations of claim 26, Lomayev et al in view of Kenney et al does not expressly disclose that wherein the STF comprises a frequency domain repetition of the STF structure . However, in analogous art, Liu et al teach apparatus for communication comprise uses wherein the STF comprises a frequency domain repetition of the STF structure, the frequency domain repetition of the STF structure comprises two or more repetitions of the STF structure over two or more respective frequency bandwidths (see figure 2 and 6 and paragraph 0029 “ PPDU may include a number (e.g., 4, 8 or 16) of 20-MHz legacy preambles,” and “the 20-MHz legacy preamble used in IEEE 802.11a/g/n/ac or IEEE 802.11ax which may be duplicated or otherwise repeated in the frequency domain”). Therefore, it would have been obvious to an ordinary skilled in the art at the time the invention was filed to have the STF structure repeated in frequency domain. The motivation or suggestion to do so is to perform long-range transmission and reception for low-power indoor applications.
Regarding claim 28, which inherits the limitations of claim 27, Lomayev et al in view of Kenney et al and Liu et al further teach wherein a count of repetitions in the two or more repetitions of the STF structure is based on a minimal mmWave channel bandwidth (BW), wherein a BW of the mmWave wireless communication channel is equal to or greater than the minimal mmWave channel BW (see Liu et al, paragraph 0029).
Regarding claim 29, which inherits the limitations of claim 28, Lomayev et al in view of Kenney et al and Liu et al further teach ions in the two or more repetitions of the STF structure is based on a ratio between the minimal mmWave channel BW and 20 Megahertz (MHz) (see Liu et al, paragraph 0029).
Regarding claim 30, which inherits the limitations of claim 28, Lomayev et al in view of Kenney et al and Liu et al further teach wherein the count of repetitions in the two or more repetitions of the STF structure is 8, and the minimal mmWave channel BW is 160 Megahertz (MHz) (see Liu et al, paragraph 0029, “for a 160-MHz LPI LR preamble, the 20-MHz legacy preamble may be duplicated/repeated eight times”).
Regarding claim 31, which inherits the limitations of claim 28, Lomayev et al in view of Kenney et al and Liu et al further teach wherein the count of repetitions in the two or more repetitions of the STF structure is 16, and the minimal mmWave channel BW is 320 Megahertz (MHz) (see Liu et al, paragraph 0029, “for a 320-MHz LPI LR preamble, the 20-MHz legacy preamble may be duplicated/repeated sixteen times”).
Regarding claim 35, which inherits the limitations of claim 27, Lomayev et al in view of Kenney et al and Liu et al further teach wherein a count of repetitions in the plurality of repetitions of the short training OFDM symbol is 5 or less (see Liu et al paragraph 0029).
Regarding claim 42, which inherits the limitations of claim 26, Lomayev et al in view of Kenney et al and Liu et al further teach wherein a bandwidth (BW) of the mmWave wireless communication channel is equal to or greater than a minimal mmWave channel BW of at least 160 Megahertz (MHz) (see Liu et al paragraph 0029).
Claim(s) 32 – 34 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Lomayev et al (US 2019/0044781) in view of Kenney et al (US 9,867,082) and Liu et al (US 2021/0385688) and further in view of Sun et al (US 2017/0118315).
Regarding claim 32, which inherits the limitations of claim 27, Lomayev et al in view of Kenney et al and Liu et al does not expressly disclose that wherein a tone spacing of the short training OFDM symbol is 312.5 Kilohertz (KHz). However, in analogous art, Sun et al teach wherein a tone spacing of the short training OFDM symbol is 312.5 Kilohertz (KHz) (see figure 1, and paragraph 0032). Therefore, it would have been obvious to an ordinary skilled in the art at the time the invention was filed to have the tone spacing of 312.5 KHz. The motivation or suggestion to do so is to comply with 802.11 communication standard.
Regarding claim 33, which inherits the limitations of claim 27, Lomayev et al in view of Kenney et al and Liu et al does not expressly disclose wherein the short training OFDM symbol comprises the training sequence comprising nonzero energy values populated over OFDM tones having tone indexes which are an integer multiple of 4, and zero energy values over other OFDM tones. However in analogous art, Sun et al teach wherein the short training OFDM symbol comprises the training sequence comprising nonzero energy values populated over OFDM tones having tone indexes which are an integer multiple of 4, and zero energy values over other OFDM tones (see paragraph 0057 and 0058). Therefore, it would have been obvious to an ordinary skilled in the art at the time the invention was filed to have the tone spacing as claimed. The motivation or suggestion to do so is to improve frequency diversity and mitigates narrow-band interference.
Regarding claim 34, which inherits the limitations of claim 27, Lomayev et al in view of Kenney et al and Liu et al does not expressly disclose wherein the short training OFDM symbol comprises the training sequence comprising nonzero energy values populated over OFDM tones having tone indexes which are an integer multiple of 8, and zero energy values over other OFDM tones However in analogous art, Sun et al teach wherein the short training OFDM symbol comprises the training sequence comprising nonzero energy values populated over OFDM tones having tone indexes which are an integer multiple of 8, and zero energy values over other OFDM tones (see paragraph 0057 and 0058). Therefore, it would have been obvious to an ordinary skilled in the art at the time the invention was filed to have the tone spacing as claimed. The motivation or suggestion to do so is to improve frequency diversity and mitigates narrow-band interference.
Claim(s) 38, 41 and 45 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Lomayev et al (US 2019/0044781) in view of Kenney et al (US 9,867,082) and further in view of Park et al (US 2022/0173853).
Regarding claim 38, which inherits the limitations of claim 36, Lomayev et al in view of Kenney et al does not expressly disclose wherein a tone spacing of the short training OFDM symbol is 2.5 Megahertz (MHz). However in analogous art, Park et al teach a communication system using PPDU that have tone spacing of the short training OFDM symbol is 2.5 Megahertz (MHz) (see paragraphs 0069, 0159). Therefore, it would have been obvious to an ordinary skilled in the art at the time the invention was filed to use a STF structure of 2.5MHz. The motivation or suggestion to do so is to comply with requirements of Ultra Low latency communication standard (such as those in the 2.4-2.5 GHz or mmWave bands).
Regarding claim 41, which inherits the limitations of claim 36, Lomayev et al in view of Kenney et al does not expressly disclose that STF structure is no more than 4 microseconds. However in analogous art, Park et al teach a communication system using PPDU that have STF structure is no more than 4 microseconds (see paragraphs 0040 and 0041). Therefore, it would have been obvious to an ordinary skilled in the art at the time the invention was filed to use a STF structure of 4 microseconds. The motivation or suggestion to do so is to comply with requirements of Ultra Low latency communication standard.
Regarding claim 45, which inherits the limitations of claim 44, the claimed product including the features corresponds to subject matter mentioned above in the rejection of claim 41 is applicable hereto.
Conclusion
JAISON . JOSEPH
Primary Examiner
Art Unit 2633
/JAISON JOSEPH/ Primary Examiner, Art Unit 2633