DETAILED ACTION
Remarks
1. This office action is in response to communication filed on 07/09/2026. Claims 1, 3-16 and 18-20 are pending in this application.
2. Applicant's arguments with respect to claims 1, 3-16 and 18-20 have been fully considered but are not persuasive.
Response to Remarks
3. Regarding amended claim 1, applicants asserts that Park (US 2025/0300779) in view of Lim (2025/0193060) fails to disclose limitation “generating one or more small-size multi-resource units (MRUs) or one or more large-size MRUs, or a combination thereof, of a physical-layer protocol data unit (PPDU) in a wide bandwidth greater than 80MHz, wherein the wide bandwidth comprises a 240MHz, 480MHz or 640MHz bandwidth, and wherein the PPDU comprises a 240MHz, 480MHz or 640MHz PPDU” (Remarks, page 11 third paragraph).
Examiner respectfully disagrees.
Park teaches generating one or more small-size multi-resource units (MRUs) or one or more large-size MRUs, or a combination thereof, of a physical-layer protocol data unit (PPDU) in a wide bandwidth greater than 80MHz (Park, ¶0119 “… 80 MHz … PPDU … MRU …”). Lim teaches wherein the wide bandwidth comprises a 240MHz, 480MHz or 640MHz bandwidth, and wherein the PPDU comprises a 240MHz, 480MHz or 640MHz PPDU (Lim, ¶0179 0180 “… bandwidth ... (eg, 480 MHz 640 MHz, etc)”). Therefore, taking the combined teaching of Park and Lim as a whole, it would have been obvious to one having ordinary skill in the art at the time of the invention to implement the instant limitation for the benefit of improving transmission rates increasing bandwidth, improving reliability, reducing errors, and/or reducing latency. Independent claim 16 is similarly analyzed. Applicant argument isn’t persuasive.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claims 1, 3-16 and 19-20 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Park (US 2025/0300779) in view of Lim (US 2025/0193060).
5. As per claim 1, Park teaches a method, comprising: generating one or more small-size multi-resource units (MRUs) or one or more large-size MRUs, or a combination thereof, of a physical-layer protocol data unit (PPDU) in a wide bandwidth greater than 80MHz (Park, ¶0119 “… 80 MHz … PPDU … MRU …” Furthermore, it is well known in the art to generate MRU or a combination of PPDU for the benefit of improving transmission rates increasing bandwidth, improving reliability, reducing errors, and/or reducing latency see Lim US 2025/0254073 for example ¶0115); and wirelessly transmitting the PPDU in the wide bandwidth, wherein each of the one or more small-size MRUs comprises an aggregate of multiple RUs of 106 tones or fewer, and wherein each of the one or more large-size MRUs comprises an aggregate of multiple RUs of 242 tones or more (Park, ¶0120 “ … MRU … small size … 106 … large size … 242 …”).
Lim teaches wherein the wide bandwidth comprises a 240MHz, 480MHz or 640MHz bandwidth, and wherein the PPDU comprises a 240MHz, 480MHz or 640MHz PPDU (Lim, ¶0179 0180 “… bandwidth ... (eg, 480 MHz 640 MHz, etc)”). Therefore, taking the combined teaching of Park and Lim as a whole, it would have been obvious to one having ordinary skill in the art at the time of the invention to implement the instant limitation for the benefit of improving transmission rates increasing bandwidth, improving reliability, reducing errors, and/or reducing latency.
6. Claim 16 is similarly analyzed as claim 1 for obviousness reasons discussed above.
7. As per claim 3, Park in view of Lim method of claim 1, wherein the generating of the one or more small-size MRUs comprises generating the one or more small-size MRUs in each 80MHz frequency subblock of the wide bandwidth (Lim, ¶0117), and wherein the generating of the one or more large-size MRUs comprises generating the one or more large-size MRUs in each 80MHz frequency subblock, each 160MHz frequency subblock or each 320MHz frequency subblock of the wide bandwidth (Lim, ¶0117).
8. Claim 18 is similarly analyzed as claim 3 for obviousness reasons discussed above.
9. As per claim 4, Park in view of Lim method of claim 1, wherein the generating of the one or more small-size MRUs comprise generating at least one of: an aggregate of one 52-tone resource unit (RU) and one 26-tone RU (MRU(52+26)) in each 80MHz frequency subblock of a 240MHz, 480MHz or 640MHz PPDU (Lim, ¶0117 - 0118); and an aggregate of one 106-tone RU and one 26-tone RU (MRU(106+26)) in each 80MHz frequency subblock of the 240MHz, 480MHz or 640MHz PPDU (Lim, ¶0117 - 0118).
10. Claim 19 is similarly analyzed as claim 4 for obviousness reasons discussed above.
11. As per claim 5, Park in view of Lim method of claim 1, wherein the generating of the one or more large-size MRUs comprise generating at least one of: an aggregate of one 484-tone resource unit (RU) and one 242-tone RU (MRU(484+242)) in each 80MHz frequency subblock of a 240MHz, 480MHz or 640MHz PPDU (Lim, ¶0117 - 0118); an aggregate of one 996-tone RU and one 484-tone RU (MRU(996+484)) in each 160MHz frequency subblock of the 240MHz, 480MHz or 640MHz PPDU (Lim, ¶0117 - 0118); an aggregate of one 996-tone RU and one 484-tone RU and one 242-tone RU (MRU(996+484+242)) in each 160MHz frequency subblock of the 240MHz, 480MHz or 640MHz PPDU (Lim, ¶0117 - 0118); an aggregate of two 996-tone RUs and one 484-tone RU (MRU(2×996+484)) in each 320MHz frequency subblock of a 480MHz or 640MHz PPDU; an aggregate of three 996-tone RUs and one 484-tone RU (MRU(3×996+484)) in each 320MHz frequency subblock of the 480MHz or 640MHz PPDU (Lim, ¶0117 - 0118); an aggregate of two 996-tone RUs (MRU(2×996)) in each 320MHz frequency subblock of the 480MHz or 640MHz PPDU (Lim, ¶0117 - 0118); an aggregate of three 996-tone RUs (MRU(3×996)) in each 320MHz frequency subblock of the 480MHz or 640MHz PPDU; an aggregate of four 996-tone RUs (MRU(4×996)) in a 480MHz or 640MHz PPDU (Lim, ¶0117 - 0118); an aggregate of five 996-tone RUs (MRU(5×996)) in the 480MHz or 640MHz PPDU; an aggregate of six 996-tone RUs (MRU(6×996)) in the 640MHz PPDU; and an aggregate of seven 996-tone RUs (MRU(7×996)) in the 640MHz PPDU (Lim, ¶0117 - 0118).
12. Claim 20 is similarly analyzed as claim 5 for obviousness reasons discussed above.
13. As per claim 6, Park in view of Lim method of claim 1, wherein the generating of the one or more large-size MRUs comprise generating at least one aggregate of two 996-tone RUs and one 484-tone RU (MRU(2×996+484)) and at least one aggregate of two 996-tone RUs (MRU(2×996)) in a 240MHz bandwidth (Lim, ¶0117 - 0118).
14. As per claim 7, Park in view of Lim method of claim 1, wherein the generating of the one or more large-size MRUs comprise generating at least one aggregate of five 996-tone RUs (MRU(5×996), at least one aggregate of four 996-tone RUs (MRU(4×996)) and at least one aggregate of three 996-tone RUs (MRU(3×996)) in a 480MHz bandwidth (Lim, ¶0117 - 0118).
15. As per claim 8, Park in view of Lim method of claim 7, wherein the generating of the one or more large-size MRUs further comprise generating the one or more large-size MRUs with a subcarrier spacing (SCS) of 78.125 kHz (Lim, ¶0142).
16. As per claim 9, Park in view of Lim method of claim 1, wherein the generating of the one or more large-size MRUs comprise generating at least one aggregate of seven 996-tone RUs (MRU(7×996), at least one aggregate of six 996-tone RUs (MRU(6×996)) and at least one aggregate of four 996-tone RUs (MRU(4×996)) in a 640MHz bandwidth (Lim, ¶0114).
17. As per claim 10, Park in view of Lim method of claim 9, wherein the generating of the one or more large-size MRUs further comprise generating the one or more large-size MRUs with a subcarrier spacing (SCS) of 78.125 kHz (Lim, ¶0142).
18. As per claim 11, Park in view of Lim method of claim 9, wherein the generating of the at least one MRU(4×996) comprises puncturing a contiguous 320MHz hole out of the 640MHz bandwidth (Lim, ¶0180).
19. As per claim 12, Park in view of Lim method of claim 9, wherein the generating of the at least one MRU(4×996) comprises puncturing two contiguous 160MHz holes out of the 640MHz bandwidth (Lim, ¶0116).
20. As per claim 13, Park in view of Lim method of claim 1, wherein the generating of the one or more large-size MRUs comprise generating at least one aggregate of five 996-tone RUs (MRU(5×996), at least one aggregate of four 996-tone RUs (MRU(4×996)) and at least one aggregate of three 996-tone RUs (MRU(3×996)) in a 640MHz bandwidth (Lim, ¶0117).
21. As per claim 14, Park in view of Lim method of claim 13, wherein the generating of the one or more large-size MRUs further comprise generating the one or more large-size MRUs with a subcarrier spacing (SCS) of 78.125 kHz (Lim, ¶0142).
22. As per claim 15, Park in view of Lim method of claim 13, wherein the generating of the one or more large-size MRUs further comprises puncturing a contiguous 160MHz hole out of the 640MHz bandwidth (Lim, ¶0158).
Conclusion
THIS ACTION IS MADE FINAL. Applicant is reminded of the extension of time policy as set forth in 37 CFR 1.136(a).
ZEWDU A. KASSA
Examiner
Art Unit 2637
/ZEWDU A KASSA/Primary Examiner, Art Unit 2635