Detailed Action
Requirement for Unity of Invention
As provided in 37 CFR 1.475(a), a national stage application shall relate to one invention only or to a group of inventions so linked as to form a single general inventive concept (“requirement of unity of invention”). Where a group of inventions is claimed in a national stage application, the requirement of unity of invention shall be fulfilled only when there is a technical relationship among those inventions involving one or more of the same or corresponding special technical features. The expression “special technical features” shall mean those technical features that define a contribution which each of the claimed inventions, considered as a whole, makes over the prior art.
The determination whether a group of inventions is so linked as to form a single general inventive concept shall be made without regard to whether the inventions are claimed in separate claims or as alternatives within a single claim. See 37 CFR 1.475(e).
When Claims Are Directed to Multiple Categories of Inventions:
As provided in 37 CFR 1.475 (b), a national stage application containing claims to different categories of invention will be considered to have unity of invention if the claims are drawn only to one of the following combinations of categories:
(1) A product and a process specially adapted for the manufacture of said product; or
(2) A product and a process of use of said product; or
(3) A product, a process specially adapted for the manufacture of the said product, and a use of the said product; or
(4) A process and an apparatus or means specifically designed for carrying out the said process; or
(5) A product, a process specially adapted for the manufacture of the said product, and an apparatus or means specifically designed for carrying out the said process.
Otherwise, unity of invention might not be present. See 37 CFR 1.475 (c).
Restriction is required under 35 U.S.C. 121 and 372.
This application contains the following inventions or groups of inventions which are not so linked as to form a single general inventive concept under PCT Rule 13.1.
In accordance with 37 CFR 1.499, applicant is required, in reply to this action, to elect a single invention to which the claims must be restricted.
Group I, claim(s) 1-15, drawn to a breakstem blind rivet.
Group II, claim(s) 16-17, drawn to a method.
Group III, claim(s) 18, drawn to a method.
The groups of inventions listed above do not relate to a single general inventive concept under PCT Rule 13.1 because, under PCT Rule 13.2, they lack the same or corresponding special technical features for the following reasons:
Groups I-III lack unity of invention because even though the inventions of these groups require the technical feature of the features of Claim 10 , this technical feature is not a special technical feature as it does not make a contribution over the prior art in view of Mauer (US4781500).
Claim 10
Mauer teaches a breakstem blind rivet (Figure 1) for electrically conductive riveting of a first component to a second component (Figure 2, Items 9 and 10), comprising: a sleeve (1) which is configured with a head (2) and a shank (1), and a tension mandrel (3) which is configured with a mandrel head (4), wherein the shank and/or the mandrel head has/have at least one scraping element (6, 7) which is arranged on an outer circumferential face thereof (Figure 1) and which is provided, when the sleeve is introduced into a rivet hole provided for this purpose, to scrape along the hole wall and to remove paint deposits and/or impurities. (Col. 3, Lines 57-68)
During a telephone conversation with Jeffrey D. Sanok (Reg 32169) on 07/09/2026 a provisional election was made to prosecute the invention of Group I (Claims 1-15). Affirmation of this election must be made by applicant in replying to this Office action. Claims 16-18 are withdrawn from further consideration by the examiner, 37 CFR 1.142(b), as being drawn to a non-elected invention.
The examiner has required restriction between product or apparatus claims and process claims. Where applicant elects claims directed to the product/apparatus, and all product/apparatus claims are subsequently found allowable, withdrawn process claims that include all the limitations of the allowable product/apparatus claims should be considered for rejoinder. All claims directed to a nonelected process invention must include all the limitations of an allowable product/apparatus claim for that process invention to be rejoined.
In the event of rejoinder, the requirement for restriction between the product/apparatus claims and the rejoined process claims will be withdrawn, and the rejoined process claims will be fully examined for patentability in accordance with 37 CFR 1.104. Thus, to be allowable, the rejoined claims must meet all criteria for patentability including the requirements of 35 U.S.C. 101, 102, 103 and 112. Until all claims to the elected product/apparatus are found allowable, an otherwise proper restriction requirement between product/apparatus claims and process claims may be maintained. Withdrawn process claims that are not commensurate in scope with an allowable product/apparatus claim will not be rejoined. See MPEP § 821.04. Additionally, in order for rejoinder to occur, applicant is advised that the process claims should be amended during prosecution to require the limitations of the product/apparatus claims. Failure to do so may result in no rejoinder. Further, note that the prohibition against double patenting rejections of 35 U.S.C. 121 does not apply where the restriction requirement is withdrawn by the examiner before the patent issues. See MPEP § 804.01.
Claim Interpretation
This application includes one or more claim limitations that do not use the word “means,” but are nonetheless being interpreted under 35 U.S.C. 112(f) or pre-AIA 35 U.S.C. 112, sixth paragraph, because the claim limitation(s) uses a generic placeholder that is coupled with functional language without reciting sufficient structure to perform the recited function and the generic placeholder is not preceded by a structural modifier. Such claim limitation(s) is/are:
Scaping element in Claim 10: (A) the claim uses the generic term “element”; (B) the element performs the function of scraping along the hole wall and to remove paint deposits and/or impurities.; (C) the claim does not include further structure to perform the claimed action. The limitation will be interpreted under 35 USC 112(f) as a rib, ring or curved member as claimed in Claims 11-13.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 112
Claims 10-15 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 112(b) or 35 U.S.C. 112 (pre-AIA ), second paragraph, as being indefinite for failing to particularly point out and distinctly claim the subject matter which the inventor or a joint inventor (or for applications subject to pre-AIA 35 U.S.C. 112, the applicant), regards as the invention.
Claim 10 recites “the hole wall”. There is insufficient antecedent basis for this limitation.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 102
Claims 10-12 and 14 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 102(a)(1) as being anticipated by Mauer (US4781500A).
Claim 10
Mauer teaches a breakstem blind rivet (Figure 1) for electrically conductive riveting of a first component to a second component (Figure 2, Items 9 and 10), comprising: a sleeve (1) which is configured with a head (2) and a shank (1), and a tension mandrel (3) which is configured with a mandrel head (4), wherein the shank and/or the mandrel head has/have at least one scraping element (6, 7) which is arranged on an outer circumferential face thereof (Figure 1) and which is provided, when the sleeve is introduced into a rivet hole provided for this purpose, to scrape along the hole wall and to remove paint deposits and/or impurities. (Col. 3, Lines 57-68)
Claim 11
Mauer teaches the breakstem blind rivet according to claim 10, wherein the scraping element is a radially protruding rib. (7)
Claim 12
Mauer teaches the breakstem blind rivet according to claim 10, wherein the scraping element is a circumferential ring. (Figure 1 shows the scraping element portion (6, 7) is formed as a ring around the circumference of the shank (1).)
Claim 14
Mauer teaches the breakstem blind rivet according to claim 10, wherein the scraping element, which is in a form of a rib, a ring or a resilient curved member, is arranged in a front end region of the shank and extends in an axial direction over only a part-length of the shank. (Figure 1)
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claim 13 is rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Mauer in view of Richards (US5908277A).
Claim 13
Mauer teaches the breakstem blind rivet according to claim 10.
Mauer does not disclose wherein the scraping element is a resilient curved member.
However, Richards (US5908277A) teaches the scraping element is a resilient curved member. (Figure 2A teaches a resilient curved member (22) that fits around the shank of the fastener and is used to remove excess material from within the bore (See Col. 3, Lines 37-44).)
One of ordinary skill would have been motivated to either combine (MPEP 2143(I)(A)) or substitute (MPEP 2143(I)(B)) the resilient curved member of Richards with the rivet of Mauer in order to significantly reduce the amount of material within the bore. (See Col. 3, Lines 43-44 and 47-48)
Claim 15 is rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Mauer in view of Smith (EP0825353A2).
Claim 15
Mauer teaches the breakstem blind rivet according to claim 10
Mauer does not disclose wherein a plurality of lower head ribs, which extend into the shank, are arranged in a lower side of the head.
However, Smith (EP0825353A2) teaches a plurality of lower head ribs, which extend into the shank, are arranged in a lower side of the head. (Figures 1-3 teach a rivet sleeve (1) having a head (6) and ribs (14,15) extending into the shank (2).)
One of ordinary skill would have been motivated to combine the tangs of Smith with the rivet of Mauer since the tangs (14, 15) remove paint from a region of the hole in a metal workpiece to ensure an electrical connection is made. (Smith Page 2, Col. 2, Lines 9-14)
Therefore, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art, at the time the invention was effectively filed, to combine the known tangs of Smith with the rivet of Mauer because it has been held to be prima facie obvious to combine prior art structures according to known methods to yield predictable results. See MPEP 2143(I)(A).
Conclusion
The prior art made of record and not relied upon is considered pertinent to applicant's disclosure can be found on the PTO-892 Form.
Document
Date
Description of Relevant Subject Matter
US5908277A
1998-05-08
Figures 2A-2F teaches a ring (22) on a fastener that is used to remove material from within the bore of the two workpieces to be joined.
US5560394
1996-10-01
“so that an outer periphery 49 of the disk 40 will engage against an interior wall or surface 51 of the tube 13 to scrape away any dirt, debris or other contamination 53 to provide a good clean sealing surface for engagement by the compressible member 24.”
US5207588A
1991-10-31
Figures 9-10 teach a grounding stud having barbed elements (44) that connects to the panel (48) to create an electrical connection. “In automotive applications, it is common for paints, rust preventative coatings, oils, and other non-electrically conductive (or poor electrically conductive) substances to be deposited (either intentionally or unintentionally) on surfaces of a panel 48 which is to have a grounding stud 30 affixed to it. Because of these materials which reside, or inevitably find their way between grounding stud 30 and panel 48”
EP0825353A2
1997-08-08
Figures 1-3 teach a rivet sleeve (1) having a head (6) and ribs (14,15) extending into the shank (2). The tangs (14, 15) remove paint from a region of the hole in a metal workpiece to ensure an electrical connection is made. (Page 2, Col. 2, Lines 9-14)
US20120210557A1
2010-08-20
Figure 2 teaches a blind rivet (200) having a sleeve (202); a mandrel (214); the sleeve having a scraping element (210).
US20050207862A1
2004-09-13
Figure 1 teaches a blind rivet (100); a sleeve (104); a pull mandrel (108); the mandrel having a scraping element (118/120) intended to remove material from the aperture (¶0039).
GB2557566A
2018-06-27
Figure 1 teaches a curved resilient member (25) that is positioned on the shank (Figure 3) and removes material from within the bore (¶0015)
US20050121189A1
2003-12-09
Figure 3 teaches a curved resilient wiper element (30) that is used to clean the interior bore (¶0014) where the wiper element is passing. The wiper element is made of sheet material (¶0013)
US20160221050A1
2016-01-28
Figure 1 teaches resilient elements (14b) that scrape the inside of a pipe to clean it.
/MICHAEL W HOTCHKISS/Primary Examiner, Art Unit 3726