DETAILED ACTION
Acknowledgment
This Office Action is responsive to amendment filed on 10/23/2025.
Drawings
Figure 1 should be designated by a legend such as --Prior Art-- because only that which is old is illustrated. See MPEP § 608.02(g). Corrected drawings in compliance with 37 CFR 1.121(d) are required in reply to the Office action to avoid abandonment of the application. The replacement sheet(s) should be labeled “Replacement Sheet” in the page header (as per 37 CFR 1.84(c)) so as not to obstruct any portion of the drawing figures. If the changes are not accepted by the examiner, the applicant will be notified and informed of any required corrective action in the next Office action. The objection to the drawings will not be held in abeyance.
Claim Objections
Claim 4 is objected to because of the following informalities:
The recitation of “the shroud..” in line 2 is needed to change to - - the shroud. - -.
Appropriate correction is required.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 102
Claim(s) 1-3, 6 and 8 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 102(a)(1) as being anticipated by Copeland et al. (US 7,317,426, previously cited).
Regarding claim 1, Copeland teaches an EAS surveillance system (600, fig. and 6) comprising an EAS antenna (602) disposed adjacent to a surface (checkstand surface) oriented vertically relative to a ground surface (fig. 1 and abstract, lines 11-14); where the EAS antenna is selected from a ferrite antenna (col. 3, lines 21-23) and the EAS antenna is disposed substantially horizontal relative to the ground surface (antenna 602 is disposed horizontal relative to the ground surface, fig. 6). See col. 2, lines 45-62 and col. 5, lines 18-45).
Regarding claim 2, Copeland further teaches a shroud (pedestal which serves as shroud) disposed on the surface, the shroud defining an interior space surrounding the EAS antenna (col. 2, lines 56-60).
Regarding claim 3, Copeland further teaches the shroud comprises a cavity (housing or casing inherently includes cavity) defined in the interior space for receiving the EAS antenna (col. 2, lines 56-60).
Regarding claim 6, Copeland further teaches wherein the vertically oriented surface is a wall (wall of the checkstand, fig. 1).
Regarding claim 8, Copeland further teaches wherein the vertically oriented surface is a portion of a checkout station (fig. 1).
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claim(s) 4, 5, 9-15 and 17 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Copeland in view of Minasy (EP 0352513, previously cited).
Regarding claims 4 and 5, Copeland teaches all subject matter claimed as applied above. Copeland further teaches the EAS antenna (109) may be mounted in a housing such as pedestal (pedestal serve as shroud, col. 2, lines 56-58) but silent to the shroud comprises a removable as claimed.
However, Minasy EAS system comprising a shroud (col. 7, lines 24-42); and wherein the shroud comprises a removable section (100) for providing access to the interior space of the shroud and further limitations as claimed (figs. 8-9 and col. 9, line 45 to col. 10, line 17).
In view of Minasy’s teaching, it would have been obvious to a person of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to modify the invention of Copeland by incorporating the teaching as taught by Minasy in order to arrive at the claimed invention.
Regarding claim 9, Copeland teaches a checkout station (checkstand, fig. 1) comprising a customer side defining a surface vertically oriented relative to a ground surface (checkstand of supermarket or drugstore (col. 1, lines 48-51) inherently includes a customer side defining a surface); and a EAS antenna (602) disposed adjacent the surface of the customer side, the EAS antenna selected from a ferrite antenna (col. 3, lines 21-23) and being disposed horizontal relative to the ground surface (antenna 602 is disposed horizontal relative to the ground surface, fig. 6). See col. 2, lines 45-62 and col. 5, lines 18-45).
Copeland fails to teach the checkstand of the supermarket comprising an upper shelf area as claimed.
However, Minasy teaches a checkout station (14, fig. 1): comprising an upper shelf area (20) having a first end (front of counter 20), a second end (end of the counter 20) opposite the first end (col. 4, line 58 to col. 5, line 30), the first customer side (side of the cart 18), and a second sales clerk side (side of clerk 27), and a EAS tag deactivator (deactivation device) disposed between the first end and the second end (col. 5, line 55 to co. 6, line 2); the customer side defining a surface vertically oriented relative to a group surface (figs. 1-2); an EAS antenna (34) disposed adjacent to the surface of the customer side (fig. 1-2) and teaches the EAS antenna disposed between the EAS tag deactivator and the second end (fig. 3).
In view of Minasy’s teaching, it would have been obvious to a person of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to modify the invention of Copeland by incorporating the teaching as taught Minasy in order to at the claimed invention. Such modification would not involve any inventive feature since it is just a matter of design option for the checkout station.
Regarding claim 10, Copeland as modified by Minasy teaches all subject matter claimed as applied above. Both Copeland and Minasy further teach a shroud (housing/casing) surrounding the EAS antenna (Copeland: col. 2, lines 56-57. Minasy: fig. 5, col. 7, lines 24-42).
Regarding claim 11, Copeland as modified by Minasy teaches all subject matter claimed as applied above. Both Copeland and Minasy further teach the shroud (housing/casing) defines an interior space into which the EAS antenna is disposed (Copeland: col. 2, lines 56-57. Minasy: fig. 5, col. 7, lines 24-42).
Regarding claim 12, Copeland as modified by Minasy teaches all subject matter claimed as applied above. Minasy further teaches wherein the shroud comprises a removable section (100) for providing access to the interior space of the shroud (fig. 8 and col. 9, line 45 to col. 10, line 17).
Regarding claim 13, Copeland as modified by Minasy teaches all subject matter claimed as applied above. Minasy further teaches wherein the removable section is a removable cap (100) positioned at an end of the shroud (figs. 8-9 and col. 9, line 45 to col. 10, line 17).
Regarding claim 14, Copeland as modified by Minasy teaches all subject matter claimed as applied above. Both Copeland and Minasy further teach the shroud comprises a cavity (housing or casing inherently includes cavity) defined in the interior space for receiving the EAS antenna (Copeland: col. 2, lines 55-61. Minasy: col. 7, lines 24-42).
Regarding claim 15, Copeland as modified by Minasy teaches all subject matter claimed as applied above. Minasy further teaches wherein the shroud comprises a removable cap (100) covering the cavity (figs. 7-9).
Regarding claim 17, Copeland as modified by Minasy teaches all subject matter claimed as applied above except for the placement or position of the EAS antenna as claimed. However, it would have been obvious to a person of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to modify the combination of Copeland and Minasy for the position of the EAS antenna is at least 50 cm away from the tag deactivator as claimed since it is just a matter of position or arranging of the EAST antenna on the surface of the customer side of the counter. Moreover, it has been decided that a mere rearrangement of parts is an obvious expedient over a prior art. See M.P.E.P. 2144.01 (VI)(C).
Claim(s) 7 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Copeland in view of Clucas et al. (US 2003/0001739, previously cited).
Regarding claim 7, Copeland teaches all subject matter claimed as applied above. Copeland further teaches the EAS system may be established at an exit area of the retail store (col. 1, lines 11-17) but silent to a door as claimed.
However, Clucas teaches an EAS system disposed adjacent to a surface oriented surface is a door (fig. 3 and [0029]).
In view of Clucas’s teaching, it would have been obvious to a person of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to modify the invention of Copeland by incorporating the teaching as taught Clucas since it is just a matter of arranging and placing the EAS system as other defined area (see Clucas: [0029]).
Claim(s) 16 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Copeland as modified by Minasy as applied to claim 10 above, and further in view of Barkan et al. (US 2017/0301204, previously cited).
Regarding claim 16, Copeland as modified by Minasy teaches all subject matter claimed as applied above except for the shroud is a bumper rail disposed adjacent an upper end of the shelf area.
However, Barkan teaches EAS system installable in product processing workstation (checkout counter, fig.1) comprises a shroud (68, fig. 5) having surrounding antenna (40); wherein the shroud is a rail disposed adjacent an upper end of the shelf area (figs. 3-5, 9; [0027]-[0029]).
In view of Barkan’s teaching, it would have been obvious to a person of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to modify the combination of Copeland and Minasy by incorporating the teaching of the arrangement of the antenna disposed on the shelf area as taught by Barkan since it just a matter of positioning and arranging the EAS antenna in the rail. Moreover, it has been decided that a mere rearrangement of parts is an obvious expedient over a prior art. See M.P.E.P. 2144.01 (VI)(C).
Response to Arguments
Applicant's arguments filed 10/23/2025 have been fully considered but they are not persuasive.
Applicant argued to the rejection by arguing that both Copeland and Minasy fail to teach “a single ferrite antenna disposed horizontally along the vertical surface of the system or checkout station” while Copeland teaches series of antennas as shown in figures 6 and 7. Examiner respectfully disagrees.
As stated in claims 1 and 9, the claims call for “comprising” which means that the reference can have more than what are being claimed. As long as the reference teaches the limitation of ferrite antenna being arranged in horizontally as recited. Copeland shows the ferrite antenna (602, fig. 6) being arranged horizontally. Therefore, Copeland meets the claimed limitations.
Based on above rationale, it is believed that the claimed limitations as still met by Copeland.
Conclusion
THIS ACTION IS MADE FINAL. Applicant is reminded of the extension of time policy as set forth in 37 CFR 1.136(a).
/TUYEN K VO/ Primary Examiner, Art Unit 2876