DETAILED ACTION
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claim 1 is rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over KR 101661659, hereinafter KR ‘659, in view of Ng et al. (US 2006/0126326 A1).
In regard to claim 1, KR ‘659 discloses a mobile terminal cover 1 (denoted “case”, see e.g. page 3, sixth full paragraph of English translation) for covering a mobile terminal (see e.g. page 3, third full paragraph of English translation) comprising (see e.g. Figures 1-4):
a camera 20 (denoted “camera module”, see e.g. page 3, fourth full paragraph of English translation),
the mobile terminal cover 1 being configured to form a cylinder 10 (denoted “hood unit”, see e.g. page 3, fourth full paragraph of English translation) for shielding light from a lens of the camera by folding a part (i.e. hood pieces 11, see e.g. page 3, sixth full paragraph of English translation) of a member (i.e. portion including hood pieces 11) of the mobile terminal cover 1 (see e.g. page 3, sixth full paragraph of English translation).
KR ‘659 fails to disclose
a light emitter.
However, Ng et al. discloses
a light emitter (see e.g. paragraph [0007] for LEDs in a mobile phone for a flash function).
Given the teachings of Ng et al., it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to modify the device of KR ‘659 with a light emitter.
Providing a light emitter for a flashing function in the device provides a better image quality obtained by the camera.
Claim 2 is rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over KR ‘659 (KR 101661659) in view of Ng et al. (US 2006/0126326 A1) and further in view of Yang et al. (CN 109471212).
In regard to claim 2, KR ‘659, in view of Ng et al., discloses the limitations as applied to claim 1 above, but fails to disclose
wherein a part of the member is provided with an adhesive member for stabilizing the cylinder.
However, Yang et al. discloses (see e.g. Figure 1):
wherein a part of the member (i.e. portion of element 1) is provided with an adhesive member 6 (denoted “foam double-sided rubber soft magnetic patch”, see e.g. page 5, sixth full paragraph) for stabilizing the cylinder 1 (denoted “light shielding member”, see e.g. page 3, last paragraph of English translation).
Given the teachings of Yang et al., it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to modify the device of KR ‘659, in view of Ng et al., with wherein a part of the member is provided with an adhesive member for stabilizing the cylinder.
Providing the adhesive member allows the light shading cylinder to be stably attached to the device.
Claim 3 is rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over KR ‘659 (KR 101661659) in view of Ng et al. (US 2006/0126326 A1) and further in view of Seaton (US 2017/0212413 A1).
In regard to claim 3, KR ‘659, in view of Ng et al., discloses the limitations as applied to claim 1 above, but fails to disclose
a strap connected to the mobile terminal cover, and a cover connected to the strap, wherein the cover is made of a material softer than the member, and is configured to be attachable to the cylinder.
However, Seaton discloses (see e.g. Figures 3a-c, 7):
a strap 102 (denoted “flat rubber band”, see e.g. paragraph [0015]) and a cover 103 (denoted “cinch strap”, see e.g. paragraph [0015]) connected to the strap 102, wherein the cover 103 is made of a material softer than the member 101 (i.e. lens hood, see e.g. paragraph [0016] and note the flexibility of element 103 in Figure 7), and is configured to be attachable to the cylinder (i.e. of member 101, see e.g. Figures 3, 7).
Given the teachings of Seaton, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to modify the device of KR ‘659, in view of Ng et al., with a strap connected to the mobile terminal cover, and a cover connected to the strap, wherein the cover is made of a material softer than the member, and is configured to be attachable to the cylinder.
Providing the strap allows the light shielding member to be easily attached to a device.
Claim 4 is rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over KR ‘659 (KR 101661659) in view of Ng et al. (US 2006/0126326 A1) and further in view of Kim (KR-101626842).
In regard to claim 4, KR ‘659, in view of Ng et al., discloses the limitations as applied to claim 1 above, but fails to disclose
a mechanism for fitting a close-up macro lens so as to cover the lens of the camera.
However, Kim discloses (see e.g. Figure 2):
a mechanism (i.e. slide mechanism, see e.g. page 3, first-fourth paragraphs of English translation) for fitting a close-up macro lens 21 (see e.g. page 3, first paragraph) so as to cover the lens of the camera (see e.g. page 3, second paragraph).
Given the teachings of Kim, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to modify the device of KR ‘659, in view of Ng et al., with a mechanism for fitting a close-up macro lens so as to cover the lens of the camera.
Providing a macro lens fitting to the device would allow an object located close to the subject to be enlarged and photographed (see e.g. page 3, second paragraph of English translation).
Conclusion
/JESSICA M MERLIN/Primary Examiner, Art Unit 2871