DETAILED ACTION
Priority
Receipt is acknowledged of certified copies of papers required by 37 CFR 1.55.
Information Disclosure Statement
The information disclosure statement (IDS) submitted on 6/11/26, 12/17/24, 12/2/24 are in compliance with the provisions of 37 CFR 1.97. Accordingly, the information disclosure statement is being considered by the examiner.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 102
Claim(s) 13-15, 17, 18, 23, 25, 26 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 102(a)(1) as being anticipated by Jakupi, WO2021/168265
Regarding claim13, Jakupi discloses a switch arrangement, comprising: a local memory device (Figs. 1, 6; computing system 600 which is an example of circuit breaker 104 or edge device 106 having storage 604); a switch (Fig.1; breaker 104 is a switch), the switch arrangement is configured to: carry out a test aimed at one aspect of a functionality of said switch (¶[00115]; diagnostics performed on breaker 104); store data related to the test conducted in said local memory device (¶[00116]; trip history and diagnostics are stored); and respond to a request, transmitted by means of a first wireless communication protocol (¶[00115]; external diagnostic request), for the data stored in said local memory device relating to at least one conducted test by transferring the data relating to one or more conducted tests by means of at least one message to a recipient specified by the request (¶[00117]-[00120]; diagnostic report can be sent to user device 120 ).
Regarding claim 14, Jakupi teaches wherein the first wireless communication protocol is a Zigbee protocol (¶[0053]).
Regarding claim 15, Jakupi teaches wherein the request for the data relating to the one or more conducted tests and the at least one message for a transfer of the data relating to the conducted tests takes place by means of Zigbee commands (¶[0053]).
Regarding claim 17, Jakupi teaches wherein said switch is a circuit breaker (Fig. 1; breaker 104).
Regarding claim 18, Jakupi discloses a system, comprising: a switch arrangement having a switch and a local memory device (Figs. 1, 6; computing system 600 which is an example of circuit breaker 104 or edge device 106 having storage 604), said switch arrangement configured to: carry out a test aimed at one aspect of a functionality of said switch (¶[00115]; diagnostics performed on breaker 104); store data related to a conducted test in said local memory device (¶[00116]; trip history and diagnostics are stored); and respond to a request, transmitted by means of a first wireless communication protocol, for the data stored in said local memory device relating to one or more conducted tests by transferring the data relating to the conducted tests by means of at least one message to a recipient specified by the request (¶[00115]; external diagnostic request); and a terminal device having a software app configured to receive the data relating to the one or more conducted tests, and to export the data from said software app in a file (¶[00117]-[00120]; diagnostic report can be sent to user device 120).
Regarding claim 23, Jakupi teaches wherein said switch is a circuit breaker (fig. 1).
Regarding claim 25, Jakupi discloses a method for wireless provision of information from switch function tests(Figs. 1, 6; computing system 600 which is an example of circuit breaker 104 or edge device 106 having storage 604), which comprises the steps of: conducting a test aimed at one aspect of a functionality of a switch(¶[00115]; diagnostics performed on breaker 104); storing data relating to the test conducted in a local memory device for the switch (¶[00116]; trip history and diagnostics are stored); receiving a request for the data relating to one or more tests conducted, sent by means of a first wireless communication protocol(¶[00115]; external diagnostic request); and sending at least one message containing the data relating to the tests conducted to a recipient specified by the request (¶[00117]-[00120]; diagnostic report can be sent to user device 120 ).
Regarding claim 26, Jakupi teaches wherein the request for the data relating to the one or more conducted tests and the sending of the at least one message containing the data relating to the conducted tests take place by means of Zigbee commands (¶[0053]).
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claim 16, 27 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Jakupi, WO2021/168265 in view of VanderZee, US 20140280650
Regarding claim 16, Jakupi is silent wherein the data relating to the conducted tests, required as part of the request, is divided over a plurality of messages by Zigbee fragmentation for transfer to the recipient. VanderZee teaches wherein data is divided over a plurality of messages by Zigbee fragmentation for transfer to the recipient (Abstract). It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the filing date of the invention to incorporate the teaching of VanderZee into Jakupi for the benefit of sending/ receiving large amount of data.
Regarding claim 27, Jakupi is silent wherein the data relating to the conducted tests, required as part of the request, is divided over a plurality of messages by Zigbee fragmentation for transfer to the recipient. VanderZee teaches wherein data is divided over a plurality of messages by Zigbee fragmentation for transfer to the recipient (Abstract). It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the filing date of the invention to incorporate the teaching of VanderZee into Jakupi for the benefit of sending/ receiving large amount of data.
Claim(s) 19, 21, 22 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Jakupi, WO2021/168265 in view of Freeman et al., US 2022/0109997
Regarding claim 19, Jakupi does not explicitly disclose wherein said software app of said terminal device is configured to send, by means of a second wireless communication protocol, the request for the data stored in said local memory device relating to the one or more conducted tests and to receive the at least one message containing the data requested transferred by means of the second wireless communication protocol. Freeman teaches a software of a terminal device configured to send, by means of a second wireless communication protocol, data stored in a local memory device and to receive the at least one message by means of the second wireless communication protocol (¶[0072]; Fig. 4; multiple wireless communication schemes used to transmit data). It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the filing date of the invention to incorporate the teaching of Freeman into Jakupi for the benefit of providing multiple communications to various devices over several frequencies so as to provide greater efficiency.
Regarding claim 21, Jakupi does not explicitly disclose a data collector configured to: receive the request from the software app, sent by means of the second wireless communication protocol, for the data relating to the one or more conducted tests conducted by said switch arrangement; send, by means of the second wireless communication protocol, the at least one message containing the data requested from said switch arrangement to said terminal device; adapt the request, sent by means of the second wireless communication protocol, for the data stored in said local memory device relating to the one or more conducted tests to said switch arrangement for transfer by means of the first wireless communication protocol and to transfer the request to said switch arrangement; and receive the at least one message containing the data requested transferred by means of the first wireless communication protocol from said switch arrangement, and to adapt the at least one message for transfer by means of the second wireless communication protocol and to send the at least one message by means of the second wireless communication protocol to said terminal device. Freeman teaches a data collector which is configured to receive a request sent by means of a second wireless protocol for the data relating to the one or more conducted tests conducted by said switch arrangement (Fig. 4; Wireless communication components 410); send, by means of the second wireless communication protocol, the at least one message containing the data requested from said switch arrangement to a terminal device; adapt the request, sent by means of the second wireless communication protocol, for the data stored in said local memory device relating to the one or more conducted tests to said switch arrangement for transfer and to transfer the request to said switch arrangement; and receive the at least one message containing the data requested transferred by means of the first wireless communication protocol from said switch arrangement, and to adapt the at least one message for transfer by means of the second wireless communication protocol and to send the at least one message by means of the second wireless communication protocol to said terminal device (¶[0072], [0128]; Fig. 4; Radio 418-1, Radio 418-2; communication using multiple wireless communication schemes ). It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the filing date of the invention to incorporate the teaching of Freeman into Jakupi for the benefit of providing multiple communications to various devices over several frequencies so as to provide greater efficiency.
Regarding claim 22, Freeman teaches where the second wireless communication protocol is a transmission control protocol (TCP) or Bluetooth (¶[0072];). It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the filing date of the invention to incorporate the teaching of Freeman into Jakupi for the benefit of providing multiple communications to various devices over several frequencies so as to provide greater efficiency.
Claim(s) 20, 24 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Jakupi, WO2021/168265 in view of Freeman et al., US 2022/0109997 in view of Vashi et al., US 20130089039
Regarding claim 20, Jakupi teaches said terminal device is configured to send, by means of one of the first and second wireless communication protocols, the request for the data stored in said local memory device relating to the one or more conducted tests, to said switch arrangement and to receive the at least one message containing the data requested from said switch arrangement. Jakupi in view of Freeman is silent in wherein: said first wireless communication protocol and said second wireless communication protocol are identical. Vashi teaches a first wireless communication protocol and said second wireless communication protocol are identical (¶[0040]; “wireless communication protocols used by the first transceiver 504 and by the second transceiver 506 respectively can be identical”). It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the filing date of the invention to incorporate the teaching of Vashi into Jakupi for the benefit of providing reliability in wireless transmission by using multiple communication protocols.
Regarding claim 24, Jakupi teaches wherein the system is configured for power circuit breakers (Fig. 1).
Conclusion
/FEBA POTHEN/Examiner, Art Unit 2858