DETAILED ACTION
Priority
Acknowledgment is made of applicant’s claim for foreign priority under 35 U.S.C. 119 (a)-(d).
Information Disclosure Statement
The information disclosure statements (IDS) submitted on 12/02/2024 and 03/23/2026 are in compliance with the provisions of 37 CFR 1.97. Accordingly, the information disclosure statements are being considered by the examiner.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 102
Claim(s) 1, 2, 4, 5, 7, 9, and 10 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 102(a)(1) as being anticipated by Murzyn et al (pub # 20200319512).
Consider claim 1. Murzyn et al teaches A display device, (abstract).
in particular for a vehicle, for displaying information, (Fig. 1 and paragraph 0028, The platform 90 generally includes a body 92 and multiple displays 100a-100c. The body 92 may implement a body of a vehicle.).
comprising
- an electronic display with a front face, which has a display surface, and a rear face facing away from the front face, (Fig. 2 and paragraph 0030, transmissive display 104).
- a backlighting unit for backlighting the display, said backlighting unit having a light output face arranged so as to face the rear face of the display, (Fig. 2 and paragraph 0039, The backlight source 108 may implement a highly collimated source of light used to backlight the active diffuser 106 and the transmissive display 104.).
- an optoelectronic panel which is arranged between the display and the backlighting unit, (Fig. 2 and paragraph 0030, active diffuser 106 between transmissive display 104 and backlight source 108).
wherein the optoelectronic panel comprises at least two or more than two areas adapted to be operated independently either in a private mode or in a sharing mode, (See at least paragraph 0025, The active diffuser may be divided into multiple independently defined zones (or segments). Each zone may be independently controllable between the public viewing mode and the private viewing mode.).
in which modes light impinging from the backlighting unit is transmittable in a bundled manner to regions of the display, each flush with these areas, for the visibility of information displayed on the display surface, when operated in the private mode, (paragraph 0025, For each zone in the private viewing mode of operation, the active diffuser may provide little to no scattering of the collimated light resulting in a private (e.g., narrow angle) viewing of the transmissive display. Also see Fig. 4 and paragraph 0047, FIG. 4 illustrates a schematic diagram of the zone 120 in the active diffuser 106 in the non-scattered state in accordance with one or more embodiments of the platform 90. The collimated light C may be received at the second plate 124 from the lenses 112. The collimated light C may be presented from the first plate 122 to the transmissive display 104. The collimated light C may be transformed into the intermediate light I while the active diffuser 106 in the scattered state. While the scatter control signal SC is in the “on” state (e.g., a high voltage), the electric field across the first plate 122 and the second plate 124 may be sufficient to reorient the liquid crystals 126. In the presence of the electric field, the liquid crystals 126 may be orientated perpendicular to the planes of the first plate 122 and the second plate 124. The liquid crystals 126 may also be aligned with the collimated light C. The perpendicular orientations may pass the collimated light C with little to no scattering. The collimated light C may depart from the first plate 122 at angles of up to ±25 degrees relative to the normal line perpendicular to the plane of the first plate 122. A non-scattered state can read on a “bundled manner”).
and is transmittable in a scattered manner to regions of the display, each flush with these areas, for the visibility of information displayed on the display surface, when operated in the sharing mode, (paragraph 0025, For each zone in the public viewing mode of operation, the active diffuser may provide active scattering of the collimated light used for public (e.g., wide angle) viewing of the transmissive display. Also see Fig. 3 and paragraph 0043, FIG. 3 illustrates a schematic diagram of a zone 120 in the active diffuser 106 in the scattered state in accordance with one or more embodiments of the platform 90. The active diffuser 106 generally comprises a first plate 122, a second plate 124 and multiple liquid crystals 126. The collimated light (e.g., C) may be received at the second plate 124 from the lenses 112. A scattered light (e.g., S) may be presented from the first plate 122 to the transmissive display 104. The scattered light S may form the intermediate light (e.g., I) while the active diffuser 106 is in the scattered state. An example of how the active diffuser 106 may scatter light may be simulated with a passive diffuser film mounted in front of a collimated light source.).
and- an electronic control unit for controlling both the optoelectronic panel for operating areas in the private mode or in the sharing mode, as well as the display and the backlighting unit. (Fig. 2 and paragraph 0031, A display signal (e.g., D) may be generated by the controller circuit 102 and received by the transmissive display 104. The display signal D may carry information used by the transmissive display 104 to modulate the optical signal DSP. A scatter control signal (e.g., SC) may be generated by the controller circuit 102 and presented to the active diffuser 106. The scatter control signal SC may carry control information used by the active diffuser 106 to scatter/not scatter light in the various zones. The controller circuit 102 may also generate a brightness signal (e.g., B) received by the light sources 114. The brightness signal B may convey brightness information used to control the luminance of the light sources 114 in the various zones.).
Consider claim 2. Murzyn et al further teaches The display device according to claim 1, characterized in that the backlighting unit comprises a light guide and/or an optical film and/or a diffusor film (Fig. 2 and paragraph 0030, passive diffuser 110).
as well as light sources arranged in particular distributed in a matrix shape, and is arranged on the rear side of the light guide and/or the optical film and/or the diffusor film, (Fig. 2 and paragraph 0042, The light sources 114 may implement a two-dimensional matrix (or array) of light sources.).
which faces away from the optoelectronic panel, or is arranged at a distance therefrom and facing the same. (Fig. 2).
Consider claim 4. Murzyn et al further teaches The display device according to claim 1, characterized in that the backlighting unit comprises a plurality of light sources, at least one of which is assigned to one other of the independently operable areas of the optoelectronic panel, respectively, (Fig. 2 and paragraph 0042, In various embodiments, the light sources 114 may be arranged in the multiple zones, where a brightness of each zone is independently controllable by the brightness signal B.).
and that the at least one light source which is assigned to an area of the optoelectronic panel to be operated in the private mode, is dimmable by means of the control unit. (Fig. 2 and paragraph 0042, In various embodiments, the light sources 114 may be arranged in the multiple zones, where a brightness of each zone is independently controllable by the brightness signal B. Paragraph 0031, The controller circuit 102 may also generate a brightness signal (e.g., B) received by the light sources 114. The brightness signal B may convey brightness information used to control the luminance of the light sources 114 in the various zones.).
Consider claim 5. Murzyn et al further teaches The display device according to claim 1, characterized in that the regions on the display surface can be selected manually for the visibility of the information displayed there in the private mode or in the sharing mode. (paragraph 0027, Each defined zone may be adjusted to a different brightness level. Due to the collimation of the light produced by the backlight source, one or more of the zones may be operated in the private viewing mode and/or the public viewing mode at a user selectable brightness level.).
Consider claim 7. Murzyn et al further teaches The display device according to claim 2, characterized in that the backlighting unit comprises a plurality of light sources, at least one of which is assigned to one other of the independently operable areas of the optoelectronic panel, respectively, (Fig. 2 and paragraph 0042, In various embodiments, the light sources 114 may be arranged in the multiple zones, where a brightness of each zone is independently controllable by the brightness signal B.).
and that the at least one light source which is assigned to an area of the optoelectronic panel to be operated in the private mode, is dimmable by means of the control unit. (Fig. 2 and paragraph 0042, In various embodiments, the light sources 114 may be arranged in the multiple zones, where a brightness of each zone is independently controllable by the brightness signal B. Paragraph 0031, The controller circuit 102 may also generate a brightness signal (e.g., B) received by the light sources 114. The brightness signal B may convey brightness information used to control the luminance of the light sources 114 in the various zones.).
Consider claim 9. Murzyn et al further teaches The display device according to claim 2, characterized in that the regions on the display surface can be selected manually for the visibility of the information displayed there in the private mode or in the sharing mode. (paragraph 0027, Each defined zone may be adjusted to a different brightness level. Due to the collimation of the light produced by the backlight source, one or more of the zones may be operated in the private viewing mode and/or the public viewing mode at a user selectable brightness level.).
Consider claim 10. Murzyn et al further teaches The display device according to claim 4, characterized in that the regions on the display surface can be selected manually for the visibility of the information displayed there in the private mode or in the sharing mode. (paragraph 0027, Each defined zone may be adjusted to a different brightness level. Due to the collimation of the light produced by the backlight source, one or more of the zones may be operated in the private viewing mode and/or the public viewing mode at a user selectable brightness level.).
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claim(s) 3, 6, and 8 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Murzyn et al (pub # 20200319512) in view of Fan Jiang et al (U.S. Pat # 10,649,248).
Consider claim 3. Murzyn et al further teaches The display device of claim 2, characterized in that the light sources comprise illuminants, in particular LEDs, (paragraph 0042, Each element of the light sources 114 may be implemented as a light emitting diode (LED).).
Murzyn et al does not specifically disclose and reflectors. However Fan Jiang et al in at least Fig. 3 and Col. 5 lines 35-59 discloses a backlight structure 42 for a display that comprises a light source 72 and a reflector 80. Therefore it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to combine the reflector of Fan Jiang et al with the display of Murzyn et al so that light may be distributed throughout the light guide layer (Fan Jiang et al, col. 5 lines 49-50).
Consider claim 6. Murzyn et al does not specifically disclose The display device according to claim 5, characterized in that a touch sensor system is assigned to the display surface and that the regions on the display surface can be selected by being marked through a touch operation. However Fan Jiang et al in at least col. 4 lines 5-25 discloses a display device that is capable of operating in a normal viewing mode or a privacy mode. In at least col. 2 lines 53-65 discloses that this display device may be a touch screen display that incorporates a layer of conductive capacitive touch sensor electrodes or other touch sensor components (e.g., resistive touch sensor components, acoustic touch sensor components, force-based touch sensor components, light-based touch sensor components, etc.). Therefore it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to modify the display of Murzyn et al to be a touch screen as disclosed by Fan Jiang et al in order to provide more control features for the user and provide an overall better user experience.
Consider claim 8. Murzyn et al further teaches The display device according to claim 7, characterized in that the light sources comprise illuminants, in particular LEDs, (paragraph 0042, Each element of the light sources 114 may be implemented as a light emitting diode (LED).).
Murzyn et al does not specifically disclose and reflectors. However Fan Jiang et al in at least Fig. 3 and Col. 5 lines 35-59 discloses a backlight structure 42 for a display that comprises a light source 72 and a reflector 80. Therefore it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to combine the reflector of Fan Jiang et al with the display of Murzyn et al so that light may be distributed throughout the light guide layer (Fan Jiang et al, col. 5 lines 49-50).
Conclusion
/CHAYCE R BIBBEE/Examiner, Art Unit 2624