DETAILED ACTION
Election/Restrictions
Applicant’s election without traverse of Group II (plate claims 15-21) in the reply filed on March 13, 2026 is acknowledged.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 112
Claims 15-21 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 112(a) or 35 U.S.C. 112 (pre-AIA ), first paragraph, as failing to comply with the written description requirement. The claim(s) contains subject matter which was not described in the specification in such a way as to reasonably convey to one skilled in the relevant art that the inventor or a joint inventor, or for applications subject to pre-AIA 35 U.S.C. 112, the inventor(s), at the time the application was filed, had possession of the claimed invention.
Claim 15 requires the conical portion to taper from a maximum diameter at the bone contacting surface to a minimum diameter at the opposing surface. Looking at Fig. 2 and reading the specification, the claim does not seem to represent the figures and specification. Fig. 2 shows the bore and paragraph [0140] states portion 7b of the bore is cylindrical. Therefore, the portion “at” the bone contacting surface is not tapering as required by the claim. If the term “at” is interpreted potentially unreasonably broader it would be the same claim as previously presented. In this case the same rejection would apply, which is provided below.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 102
Claim(s) 15-18 and 20-21 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 102(a)(1) as being anticipated by Smith et al. (US 2015/0105779; “Smith”).
Claim 15, Smith discloses an orthopaedic plate (Fig. 2A) for securing to a bone (abstract), the plate having an elongate shaft (part that 102 points towards) with a bone contact surface (Fig. 2C; 214) configured to contact the bone (Fig. 2C) and an opposing surface (212), the elongate shaft having an array of threaded bores (Fig. 2A; paragraph [0046] mentions holes are threaded, 206d, 206e 206h, 208), each bore for receiving a respective fastener (Fig. 2A), and wherein at least one of the array of threaded bores is a conical plate bore (Fig. 3A; 208) having a conical portion (from top to bottom it goes, cylindrical, conical taper, cylindrical lip, conical taper, then cylindrical portion) tapering from a maximum diameter at the bone contact surface to a minimum diameter at the opposing surface (Fig. 3A; interpreting “at” as meaning near).
Claim 16, Smith discloses the plate according to claim 15 wherein the plate comprises a head portion (Fig. 2A; 202) at an axial end (near where 206e points) of the elongate shaft (Fig. 2A), the plate comprising at least one head bore (206-a-g, 210a), the head portion extending at an angle (Fig. 2A; note how it flares out just like the applicant’s) to the elongate shaft (Figs. 2 and 6A).
Claim 17, Smith discloses the plate according to claim 16 wherein the head portion comprises a tool receiving portion (Fig. 2A; any part of the head can receive a tool) for receiving a tool (Fig. 2A).
Claim 18, Smith discloses the plate according to claim 15 wherein at least one of the array of threaded bores is a threaded plate bore (paragraph [0046]).
Claim 20, Smith discloses the plate according to claim 15 wherein the elongate shaft comprises a tapered insertion portion (Figs. 2A; where 204 points; Fig. 5C also shows how the end rounds/tapers off) terminating at an insertion axial end (Fig. 2A; 204).
Claim 21, Smith discloses the plate according to claim 20 wherein the array of threaded bores comprises an insertion portion bore (Fig. 2A; 206d) at or proximal the insertion axial end (Fig. 2A), wherein the insertion portion bore is a cylindrical threaded bore (Fig. 3B; 301b; paragraph [0046]).
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claim(s) 19 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Smith et al. (US 2015/0105779; “Smith”), in view of Huebner et al. (US 2012/0083847; “Huebner”), in further view of Terrill et al. (US 9510880; “Terrill”).
Claim 19, Smith discloses the plate according to claim 15 wherein the bore has multiple regions which may or may not have threads.
Technically Smith is missing the cylindrical portion, even though Fig. 3A looks like a cylindrical cross section, this is for hole 208 which is not circular or elliptical, only substantially elliptical (paragraph [0040]), so it doesn’t make a true cylinder.
Huebner teaches a conical plate bore (Fig. 2; abstract) comprising a cylindrical portion (paragraph [0029]; 32) proximal to one surface of the plate, with a shoulder (90) between the cylindrical portion and a conical threaded bore (paragraph [0021]; threaded portion 34 may be tapered slightly less than the screw taper).
It would have been obvious to one having ordinary skill in the art at the time the invention was made to modify at least one bore in the Smith plate to have a cylindrical portion next to a threaded conical section, since this is a well-known shape of a bore that can accept a bone screw (Figs. 1-2; abstract).
This combination would ultimately lead one to believe the cylindrical portion would be only on the side that is not contacting bone.
However, Terrill teaches putting a cylindrical looking counterbore on the bone contacting side of the bore (Fig. 4). The big difference between this reference and the current invention is that the threaded region conically tapers the opposite way.
It would have been obvious to one having ordinary skill in the art at the time the invention was made to put the countersink on the bone facing side, as taught by Terrill, in the combination of Smith in view of Huebner, in order to allow the threaded region to be more easily inspected after manufacture (col. 7, lines 21-24).
Response to Arguments
In response to Applicant’s argument that the previous rejection does not teach the new limitation, it should be noted that the new amendment creates a different issue of being new matter. However, if the amendment is interpreted in an overly broad manner the previous rejection would still read on the amended claims. See Office action above for more clarification.
Conclusion
Applicant's amendment necessitated the new ground(s) of rejection presented in this Office action. Accordingly, THIS ACTION IS MADE FINAL. See MPEP § 706.07(a). Applicant is reminded of the extension of time policy as set forth in 37 CFR 1.136(a).
/Zade Coley/Primary Examiner, Art Unit 3775