DETAILED ACTION
Claim Interpretation
This application includes one or more claim limitations that do not use the word “means,” but are nonetheless being interpreted under 35 U.S.C. 112(f) or pre-AIA 35 U.S.C. 112, sixth paragraph, because the claim limitation(s) uses a generic placeholder that is coupled with functional language without reciting sufficient structure to perform the recited function and the generic placeholder is not preceded by a structural modifier. Such claim limitation(s) is/are:
Energy delivery device in claim 1: interpreted as a defibrillator (200DEFIB, Fig. 5, [0164-0165]).
Converter device in claim 1: interpreted as a combination of capacitors and resistors (200CVT, Fig. 6, [0164]).
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 102
Claim 1 is rejected under 35 U.S.C. 102(a)(1) as being anticipated by Wessels et al. (US Patent No. 8,473,051), hereinafter ‘Wessels’.
Regarding claim 1, Wessels teaches a system for providing post operative treatment of atrial fibrillation to a patient (col. 1, ll. 13-14, treatment of atrial fibrillation), the system comprising:
one or more leads (leads 152-156, Fig. 6), each lead comprising one or more electrodes for delivering energy to the heart of the patient (defibrillation electrodes 11, Fig. 1) (col. 5, ll. 46-57);
an energy delivery device (defibrillation high-voltage generation circuit 216, Fig. 8) for providing energy comprising a first waveform; and
a converter device (pulse-shaping generation circuit 218) electrically connected to the energy delivery device, the converter device configured to:
receive the energy comprising the first waveform from the energy delivery device (col. 14, ll. 27-28, voltage signal output fed to pulse shaping circuit);
convert the energy comprising the first waveform into energy comprising a second waveform (col. 10, ll. 21-28, control therapy shape); and
deliver the energy comprising the second waveform to the patient's heart via the one or more electrodes of each of the one or more leads (col. 14, ll. 33-35, output as therapy, Fig. 5),
wherein the energy comprising the second waveform delivered by the converter treats atrial fibrillation of the patient (col. 14, ll. 38-39, defibrillation therapy).
Conclusion
The prior art made of record and not relied upon is considered pertinent to applicant's disclosure.
Butler (US Pre-Grant Publication 2025/0025703) teaches an electrotherapy waveform/pulse generation/delivery system.
Mangual-Soto et al. (US Pre-Grant Publication 2023/0158310) teaches a method for sensing/designating cardiac beats.
Shahandeh et al. (US Pre-Grant Publication 2020/0206519) teaches a method/system for detecting cardiac episodes and delivering multi-phase VF therapy.
Rubin et al. (US Pre-Grant Publication 2011/0144706) teaches a method for treating fibrillation utilizing biphasic waveforms.
/E.L.O./Examiner, Art Unit 3792
/LYNSEY C Eiseman/Primary Examiner, Art Unit 3796