DETAILED ACTION
Priority
Receipt is acknowledged of certified copies of papers required by 37 CFR 1.55.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 112(b)
Claims 15 and 22 rejected under 35 U.S.C. 112(b) or 35 U.S.C. 112 (pre-AIA ), second paragraph, as being indefinite for failing to particularly point out and distinctly claim the subject matter which the inventor or a joint inventor (or for applications subject to pre-AIA 35 U.S.C. 112, the applicant), regards as the invention. The limitation “and stopping the motor if the number is at least a predefined minimum number for a predetermined time interval.” is very vague and does not distinctly limit the claim to any specific function. It is unclear if predetermined time interval is a time period where the counting can take place or a minimum amount of time before the motor is turned back on. The limitation only appears to be determined in the dependent claims and needs more clarity in the independent claim. For the purposes of examination, it is interpreted to mean a threshold being violated once and stopping the motor.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 102
Claims 15-28 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 102(a)(1) and (a)(2) as being anticipated by SERGYEYENKO US20150041164.
Regarding Claims 15 and 22: A method for running a machine to drill a hole or set a screw along a setting axis into a workpiece, wherein the machine includes a motor having a shaft, the method comprising providing electric current to the motor to rotationally drive the shaft ( SERGYEYENKO discloses ¶53 “drill driver 10 further includes a DC motor 34 and a motor transmission 35, the motor 34 operable using DC current from battery pack 16 and controlled by trigger 28.”):;
continuously determining a set of parameters characterizing a drilling or setting process (SERGYEYENKO discloses ¶81 “[0081] In the automated drive mode, the controller can monitor the rate of change in a parameter, such as current delivered to the motor, and interrupt transmission of torque in response to the rate of change of the parameter.”, ¶82 “While reference is made to motor current, it is readily understood that the concept set forth below is applicable to other types of tool parameters which may be monitored, including but not limited to rotational speed of the motor, torque on the output spindle, etc.”);
recognizing a parameter condition of each parameter of the set of parameters as constant if a change of the parameter over time is below a threshold; recognizing a parameter condition of each parameter of the set of parameters as changing if a change of the parameter over time is above the threshold; continuously determining a number of parameters, the parameter condition of which is changing; and stopping the motor if the number is at least a predefined minimum number for a predetermined time interval (Examiner notes: This is interpreted to mean monitoring a parameter for the number of times the parameter reaches the threshold and stopping the motor if the count reaches the minimum number, for the purposes of examination the minimum was determined to be once. SERGYEYENKO ¶83 discloses “In an exemplary embodiment, the rate of change in motor current indicates the placement of a fastener being driven by the power tool in relation to the workpiece. The controller will monitor the rate of change of the motor current until the setting criteria is reached. When an increase in motor current reaches the setting criteria (e.g., exceeds a threshold), transmission of torque to the output spindle can be interrupted at 509 by the controller, thereby setting the fastener at a desired position in relation to the workpiece; otherwise the controller continues to monitor the motor current as indicated at 502”.);
Independent Claim 22 also recites a motor having a shaft; a switch; a controller provided for providing electric current to the motor to rotationally drive the shaft (SERGYEYENKO ¶53 motor having shaft and a switch, ¶55 a controller).
Regarding Claims 16 and 23, the limitations of claims 15 and 22 are discussed above. wherein the set of parameters includes at least one of
an amperage of the electric current provided to the motor (SERGYEYENKO ¶90 discloses “FIGS. 28 and 29 further illustrating an automated technique for setting a fastener in a workpiece. Current (amperage) delivered to the electric motor is sampled periodically by the controller of the drill driver.”),
Regarding Claims 17 and 24, the limitations of 15 and 22 are discussed above, wherein the predefined minimum number is two (SERGYEYENKO ¶98 discloses the use of 4, 5 and 7 as a minimum number, in view of ¶83 which discloses interrupting the torque (stopping the motor) when reaching the desired position, it would be inherent that a minimum number of 0-5 could be used.).
Claim 18 and 25 , the limitations of 15 and 22 are discussed above, wherein the predefined minimum number is three (SERGYEYENKO ¶98 discloses the use of 4, 5 and 7 as a minimum number, in view of ¶83 which discloses interrupting the torque (stopping the motor) when reaching the desired position, it would be inherent that a minimum number of 0-5 could be used.).
Regarding Claims 19 and 26 , the limitations of 15 and 22 are discussed above, wherein the predefined minimum number is four (SERGYEYENKO ¶98 discloses the use of 4, 5 and 7 as a minimum number, in view of ¶83 which discloses interrupting the torque (stopping the motor) when reaching the desired position, it would be inherent that a minimum number of 0-5 could be used.).
Regarding Claims 20 and 27 , the limitations of 15 and 22 are discussed above, wherein the predefined minimum number is five or more (SERGYEYENKO ¶98 discloses the use of 4, 5 and 7 as a minimum number, in view of ¶83 which discloses interrupting the torque (stopping the motor) when reaching the desired position, it would be inherent that a minimum number of 0-5 could be used.).
Regarding Claims 21 and 28, the limitations of 15 and 22 are discussed above, wherein the predefined time interval is zero. (Examiner notes: this is interpreted to mean no minimum number and stopping based on the first instance of threshold violation or a minimum number of 1, SERGYEYENKO ¶98 discloses the use of 4, 5 and 7 as a minimum number, in view of ¶83 which discloses interrupting the torque (stopping the motor) when reaching the desired position, it would be inherent that a minimum number of 0-5 could be used.).
Conclusion
/C.D.C./Examiner, Art Unit 2115
/KAMINI S SHAH/Supervisory Patent Examiner, Art Unit 2115