DETAILED ACTION
Drawings
The drawings are objected to as failing to comply with 37 CFR 1.84(p)(5) because they include the following reference characters not mentioned in the description: 4 and 6.
The drawings are also objected to under 37 CFR 1.83(a). The drawings must show every feature of the invention specified in the claims. Therefore, the embodiments described in Claim 15 (cylindrical joint) and Claims 16 and 18-20 (orthotic device secured around: ankle joint, knee joint, wrist joint, elbow joint, shoulder joint) must be shown or the features canceled from the claim. No new matter should be entered.
Claim Objections
Claim 1 is objected to because of the following informalities: “biomechanical plans” should read “biomechanical planes”. Appropriate correction is required.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 112
Claims 1-4, 7-9, and 13-15 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 112(b) or 35 U.S.C. 112 (pre-AIA ), second paragraph, as being indefinite for failing to particularly point out and distinctly claim the subject matter which the inventor or a joint inventor (or for applications subject to pre-AIA 35 U.S.C. 112, the applicant), regards as the invention.
Claim 1 recites the following limitations: support structure located within a single biomechanical plane. It is unclear what the metes and bounds of this phrase entails, as the support structure is a three-dimensional device that wraps around a user’s body and has various attached rotational structures. The Specification provides no further explanation regarding how the Applicant intends for this limitation to be understood.
Claim 1 goes on to recite a full range of motion in all biomechanical plans. The Applicant does not clarify what specific planes these encompass, thus making the limitation broad and indefinite. For examination purposes, the examiner has interpreted the biomechanical plans as being in reference to the frontal, sagittal, and/or transverse planes.
The preamble of Claim 1 is also directed to a support structure […] for supporting an orthotic device. Based on this language, the independent claim is directed to the support structure, and the orthotic device is separate from said structure. It is unclear whether the orthotic device is intended to be positively recited as a part of the claimed invention, as Figure 1 depicts the orthotic device as being included within the support structure.
Claims 2 and 7 recite the following limitation: a zero-rigidity material. It is unclear what the metes and bounds of this phrase entail, as a constructing a wearable support structure with zero rigidity is not feasible. The Specification provides no further explanation regarding how the Applicant intends for this limitation to be understood. For examination purposes, the examiner has interpreted zero-rigidity to be understood as a low rigidity material and/or a material capable of being deformed.
Claims 3 and 8 recite the following limitation: an infinite rigidity material. It is unclear what the metes and bounds of this phrase entail, as constructing a wearable support structure with infinite rigidity is not feasible and renders the claim indefinite. The Specification provides no further explanation regarding how the Applicant intends for this limitation to be understood. For examination purposes, the examiner has interpreted infinite rigidity to be understood as a high rigidity material and/or a material that does has low deformability.
Claims 4 and 9 recite the following limitation: a material having a rigidity different than zero or infinity. It is unclear what the metes and bounds of this phrase entail, as the range encompasses all possible materials. The Specification provides no further explanation regarding how the Applicant intends for this limitation to be understood. For examination purposes, the examiner has interpreted this limitation broadly.
Claims 13-15 recite the following limitation: an off-axis sagittal plane translational DoF mechanism. It is unclear which specific axis the mechanism is intended to be offset from, as the claim does not define an axis of reference. For examination purposes, the examiner has interpreted this limitation to encompass any structure that is offset from the hip joint of a user.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 102
Claims 1-11, 16-17, and 19 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 102(a)(1) as being anticipated by Bujold et al. (US 20190358809 A1, hereinafter "Bujold").
Regarding Claim 1, as best understood based on the 35 U.S.C. 112(b) issue identified above, Bujold discloses: A compact, multi-Degree of Freedom (DoF) support structure located within a single biomechanical plane, for supporting an orthotic device allowing for a user's full range of motion in all biomechanical plans (Paragraph 0001, The present invention generally relates to exoskeletons and other wearable structures configured to assist humans in carrying loads, and more particularly relates to passive and/or non-powered exoskeletons and other passive and/or non-powered wearable structures configured to assist humans in carrying loads), the support structure comprising:
a support belt configured to be secured around the user's body, connected to a multi- DoF motion element through a first interconnection (Paragraph 0100, As best shown in FIG. 9, when the complementary fasteners 224L and 224R are attached together, the hip section 200 forms a belt which fully circumscribes the hip region of the user), (Paragraph 0103, In that sense, the hip connector assembly 310L comprises a belt connector 312L, first hip joint member 314L pivotally connected to the belt connector 312L, a second hip joint member 316L pivotally connected to the first hip joint member 314L, and a third hip joint member 318L pivotally connected to the second hip joint member 316L);
the multi-DoF motion element including a first (Figure 9, pivotal connection 313L), a second (Figure 9, pivotal connection 315L) and a third rotational DoF mechanisms (Figure 9, pivotal connection 317L),
the first rotational DoF mechanism being connected to the second rotational DoF mechanism through a second interconnection (Paragraph 0104, As can be seen in FIG. 9, the pivotal connection 313L between the belt connector 312L and first hip joint member 314L defines a first pivot axis 323L which allows for lateral movements (i.e. left-right movements) of the leg of the user. For its part, the pivotal connection 315L between the first hip joint member 314L and second hip joint member 316L defines a second pivot axis 325L which allows for longitudinal movements (i.e. front-rear movements) of the leg of the user),
and the second rotational DoF mechanism being connected to the third rotational DoF mechanism through a third interconnection (Paragraph 0104, Finally, the pivotal connection 317L between the third hip joint member 318L and the second hip joint member 316L defines a third pivot axis 327L which for axial movements (i.e. rotational movements) of the leg of the use),
each of the first, second and third rotational DoF mechanisms being uniquely selected from a group consisting of a frontal plane rotational DoF mechanism, a transverse plane rotational DoF mechanism and a sagittal plane rotational DoF mechanism (Paragraph 0104, The three pivot axes 323L, 325L and 327L are generally perpendicular to each other, thereby generally providing three degrees of freedom to the rest of the leg section 300L and thus to the leg of the user. Hence, by providing three degrees of freedom, the hip connector assembly 310L allows the upper and lower leg members 330L and 350L to properly follow the movements of the leg of the user during use);
the multi-DoF motion element further including an attachment mechanism for connecting thereto an orthotic device (Paragraph 0097, Referring now to FIGS. 9 and 10, in addition to FIGS. 1 to 6, the hip section 200 is a bridging section between the upper torso section 100 and the lower leg sections 300L and 300R. In that sense, the hip section 200 is generally configured to transfer and redirect the load from the back, where it receives the load from the spine assembly 120, to the sides where it transfers the load to the leg sections 300L and 300R);
wherein in use the compact, multi-Degree of Freedom (DoF) support structure supports the orthotic device while allowing for the user's full range of motion in all biomechanical plans (Paragraph 0104, The three pivot axes 323L, 325L and 327L are generally perpendicular to each other, thereby generally providing three degrees of freedom to the rest of the leg section 300L and thus to the leg of the user. Hence, by providing three degrees of freedom, the hip connector assembly 310L allows the upper and lower leg members 330L and 350L to properly follow the movements of the leg of the user during use), (Paragraph 0051, To allow a load transfer which is more aligned with human biomechanics, the leg sections of the exoskeleton are generally connected to the sides of the hip section but are configured to entirely transfer the load on the inner side of the feet).
Regarding Claim 2, as best understood based on the 35 U.S.C. 112(b) issue identified above, Bujold discloses all of the limitations of Claim 1. Bujold further discloses: wherein the support belt includes a zero-rigidity material (Paragraph 0100, In the present embodiment, for added comfort to the user, the inner surface of the lower back member 210 and of the hip members 220L and 220R is lined with a layer of resilient material such as elastomeric foam 230 […] The layer of resilient material therefore generally prevents the hip section 200 to define painful contact points with the hips of the user).
Regarding Claim 3, as best understood based on the 35 U.S.C. 112(b) issue identified above, Bujold discloses all of the limitations of Claim 1. Bujold further discloses: wherein the support belt includes an infinite rigidity material (Paragraph 0089, In that sense, the torso section 100, the hip section 200 and the leg sections 300L and 300R are generally all provided with various adjustment mechanisms […] as well as mechanical fittings, bolts, screws and nuts) to properly adjust the various sections 100, 200, 300L and 300R to the particular size and shape of the body of the user).
The recited “mechanical fittings, bolts, screws, and nuts” can reasonably be assumed to be made of high rigidity material that can withstand the rotational and tension forces applied on the interconnected mechanisms.
Regarding Claim 4, as best understood based on the 35 U.S.C. 112(b) issue identified above, Bujold discloses all of the limitations of Claim 1. Bujold further discloses: wherein the support belt includes a material having a rigidity different than zero and infinity (Paragraph 0089, In that sense, the torso section 100, the hip section 200 and the leg sections 300L and 300R are generally all provided with various adjustment mechanisms (e.g. straps, lateral and longitudinal adjustments on the hips (1 inch), on the ankle (half an inch), and on the spine (4 inches) […] to properly adjust the various sections 100, 200, 300L and 300R to the particular size and shape of the body of the user).
The straps can be reasonably assumed to be made of a different material from the elastomeric foam cushioning (low rigidity) and the mechanical fittings (high rigidity).
Regarding Claim 5, as best understood based on the 35 U.S.C. 112(b) issue identified above, Bujold discloses all of the limitations of Claim 1. Bujold further discloses: wherein the support belt includes a material selected from the group consisting of fabric, foam, plastic and metal (Paragraph 0100, In the present embodiment, for added comfort to the user, the inner surface of the lower back member 210 and of the hip members 220L and 220R is lined with a layer of resilient material such as elastomeric foam 230 […] The layer of resilient material therefore generally prevents the hip section 200 to define painful contact points with the hips of the user).
Regarding Claim 6, Bujold discloses all of the limitations of Claim 1. Bujold further discloses: wherein the frontal rotational DoF mechanism, the transverse rotational DoF mechanism and the sagittal rotational DoF mechanism take the form of a mechanism selected from the group consisting of a pivot, a hinge, a passive rotational mechanism and an active rotational mechanism (Paragraph 0103, In that sense, the hip connector assembly 310L comprises a belt connector 312L, first hip joint member 314L pivotally connected to the belt connector 312L, a second hip joint member 316L pivotally connected to the first hip joint member 314L, and a third hip joint member 318L pivotally connected to the second hip joint member 316L)
Regarding Claim 7, as best understood based on the 35 U.S.C. 112(b) issue identified above, Bujold discloses all of the limitations of Claim 1. Bujold further discloses: wherein the frontal rotational DoF mechanism, the transverse rotational DoF mechanism and the sagittal rotational DoF mechanism include a zero-rigidity material (Paragraph 0117, the rear surface of the leg sections 380L and 390L could be provided with a layer of resilient material such as elastomeric foam for added comfort)
Regarding Claim 8, as best understood based on the 35 U.S.C. 112(b) issue identified above, Bujold discloses all of the limitations of Claim 1. Bujold further discloses: wherein the frontal rotational DoF mechanism, the transverse rotational DoF mechanism and the sagittal rotational DoF mechanism include an infinite rigidity material (Paragraph 0148, Typically, the exoskeleton 10 is generally made of titanium or other lightweight alloy. Still, the exoskeleton 10 could have some of its components made of composite material, such as carbon fiber or aramid and/or a combination of both, the articulations and the vertebrae remaining however in titanium. In order to reduce the weight further, the titanium could be made of a sparse material (i.e. metallic alloy comprising embedded gas bubbles)).
Regarding Claim 9, as best understood based on the 35 U.S.C. 112(b) issue identified above, Bujold discloses all of the limitations of Claim 1. Bujold further discloses: wherein the frontal rotational DoF mechanism , the transverse rotational DoF mechanism and the sagittal rotational DoF mechanism include a material having a rigidity different than zero and infinity (Paragraph 0089, In that sense, the torso section 100, the hip section 200 and the leg sections 300L and 300R are generally all provided with various adjustment mechanisms (e.g. straps, lateral and longitudinal adjustments on the hips (1 inch), on the ankle (half an inch), and on the spine (4 inches) […] to properly adjust the various sections 100, 200, 300L and 300R to the particular size and shape of the body of the user).
The straps can be reasonably assumed to be made of a different material from the elastomeric foam cushioning (low rigidity) and the mechanical fittings (high rigidity).
Regarding Claim 10, Bujold discloses all of the limitations of Claim 1. Bujold further discloses: wherein the frontal rotational DoF mechanism, the transverse rotational DoF mechanism and the sagittal rotational DoF mechanism include a material selected from the group consisting of fabric, foam, plastic and metal (Paragraph 0148, Typically, the exoskeleton 10 is generally made of titanium or other lightweight alloy. Still, the exoskeleton 10 could have some of its components made of composite material, such as carbon fiber or aramid and/or a combination of both, the articulations and the vertebrae remaining however in titanium. In order to reduce the weight further, the titanium could be made of a sparse material (i.e. metallic alloy comprising embedded gas bubbles)).
Regarding Claim 11, Bujold discloses all of the limitations of Claim 1. Bujold further discloses: wherein the orthotic device is a passive orthosis (Paragraph 0001, The present invention generally relates to exoskeletons and other wearable structures configured to assist humans in carrying loads, and more particularly relates to passive and/or non-powered exoskeletons and other passive and/or non-powered wearable structures configured to assist humans in carrying loads)
Regarding Claim 16, Bujold discloses all of the limitations of Claim 1. Bujold further discloses: wherein the orthotic device includes a joint selected from the group consisting of an ankle joint, a knee joint, a hip joint, a wrist joint, an elbow joint and a shoulder joint, aligned with a corresponding user's joint (Paragraph 0108, These two extremities 352L are pivotally connected to the two extremities 352L of the lower region 336L of the upper leg member 330L. The pivotal connected between the extremities 338L and extremities 352L is generally aligned with the knee of the user in order to allow the leg of the user to bend along the knee).
Regarding Claim 17, Bujold discloses all of the limitations of Claim 1. Bujold further discloses: wherein the support belt is configured to be secured around the user's torso or waist above the hip joint (Paragraph 0097, Referring now to FIGS. 9 and 10, in addition to FIGS. 1 to 6, the hip section 200 is a bridging section between the upper torso section 100 and the lower leg sections 300L and 300R), (Paragraph 0103, In that sense, the hip connector assembly 310L comprises a belt connector 312L, first hip joint member 314L pivotally connected to the belt connector 312L, a second hip joint member 316L pivotally connected to the first hip joint member 314L, and a third hip joint member 318L pivotally connected to the second hip joint member 316L).
Regarding Claim 19, Bujold discloses all of the limitations of Claim 1. Bujold further discloses: wherein the support belt is configured to be secured around the user's leg above the knee joint (Paragraph 0108, These two extremities 352L are pivotally connected to the two extremities 352L of the lower region 336L of the upper leg member 330L. The pivotal connected between the extremities 338L and extremities 352L is generally aligned with the knee of the user in order to allow the leg of the user to bend along the knee).
Claims 1, 12-15, 18, and 20 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 102(a)(1) as being anticipated by Arzanpour et al. (US 20180325766 A1, hereinafter "Arzan").
Regarding Claim 1, as best understood based on the 35 U.S.C. 112(b) issue identified above, Arzan discloses: A compact, multi-Degree of Freedom (DoF) support structure located within a single biomechanical plane, for supporting an orthotic device allowing for a user's full range of motion in all biomechanical plans (Paragraph 0001, This invention relates generally to spatial orientation guidance systems and more particularly to a system with motion generation, motion transfer, target interfacing, feedback, and controller subsystems that interact to actively guide or measure three degree-of-freedom rotational movements of joints or joint systems capable of three degree-of-freedom rotational movements) the support structure comprising:
a support belt configured to be secured around the user's body, connected to a multi- DoF motion element through a first interconnection (Paragraph 0046, FIG. 2 illustrates the device 1000 for guiding and detecting motions of a three degree-of-freedom (DOF) joint system of the present invention used as a hip joint exoskeleton module. An ergonomic adjustable-length strap 1 and a trunk orthotic 2 can be used to attach the device 1000 to the human body, for example adjacent to the hip joint, so that the device 1000 can be easily mounted for use or taken off when not in use);
the multi-DoF motion element including a first, a second and a third rotational DoF mechanisms (Paragraph 0053, FIG. 5 illustrates a motion assistance exoskeleton system 4000 used as an aid device to help the user during walking operation. As depicted in FIG. 5, the respective coordinated actions 43-45 of the rotary actuators 5-7 generate 3-DOF rotary motion 46 of the moving plate 14 about its center of rotation point that does not coincide with the center of rotation of the hip joint)
the first rotational DoF mechanism being connected to the second rotational DoF mechanism through a second interconnection (Paragraph 0047, Attached to the trunk orthotic 2 is the 3-DOF rotational motion generator 16 that can comprise an actuator base structure 4 which can rigidly support three rotary actuators 5-7. The actuators 5-7 can interface with corresponding gearheads 8-10. The gearheads 8-10 are alternative and, in some implementations, they can be omitted. Each gearhead 8-10 or rotary actuator 5-7, if the former is absent, connects to a distal linkage 11. Sequentially, each distal linkage 11 connects to a proximal linkage 12 via a passive 1-DOF rotary joint 13. Each proximal linkage 12 in turn connects to a moving component, such as a moving plate 14, via another passive 1-DOF rotary joint 15),
and the second rotational DoF mechanism being connected to the third rotational DoF mechanism through a third interconnection (Paragraph 0047, Attached to the trunk orthotic 2 is the 3-DOF rotational motion generator 16 that can comprise an actuator base structure 4 which can rigidly support three rotary actuators 5-7. The actuators 5-7 can interface with corresponding gearheads 8-10. The gearheads 8-10 are alternative and, in some implementations, they can be omitted. Each gearhead 8-10 or rotary actuator 5-7, if the former is absent, connects to a distal linkage 11. Sequentially, each distal linkage 11 connects to a proximal linkage 12 via a passive 1-DOF rotary joint 13. Each proximal linkage 12 in turn connects to a moving component, such as a moving plate 14, via another passive 1-DOF rotary joint 15),
each of the first, second and third rotational DoF mechanisms being uniquely selected from a group consisting of a frontal plane rotational DoF mechanism, a transverse plane rotational DoF mechanism and a sagittal plane rotational DoF mechanism (Paragraph 0053, FIG. 6 more clearly illustrates the correlation between actions of the actuators 5-7 and corresponding motion and actions of the respective linkages and passive joints. The combination of the above motions 43-49 result in a motion response by the target joint, such as the user's hip joint 50 (i.e. upper leg's motion with respect to the pelvis 51) in one or any combination of its 3-DOF rotation capabilities 52 when the exoskeleton system is properly interfaced with the human body via the motion transfer and target interfacing unit 27. The system of linkages 17,18 and 20, and the passive rotary and prismatic joins 19,21 and the sliding component 22, interconnected as described above provide 3-DOF motion with a center of rotation that coincide with the center of rotation of the hip joint);
the multi-DoF motion element further including an attachment mechanism for connecting thereto an orthotic device (Paragraph 0047, Attached to the trunk orthotic 2 is the 3-DOF rotational motion generator 16 that can comprise an actuator base structure 4 which can rigidly support three rotary actuators 5-7), (Paragraph 0048, Moving plate 14 is attached to a linkage 17, which connects to another linkage 18 by way of a passive 1-DOF rotary joint 19 […] With respect to this embodiment of the device 1000, the components 1, 2, 17-25 are part of the motion transfer and target interfacing unit 27 while components 4-15 are part of the motion generator 16);
wherein in use the compact, multi-Degree of Freedom (DoF) support structure supports the orthotic device while allowing for the user's full range of motion in all biomechanical plans (Paragraph 0006, In one aspect, a device for guiding and detecting motions of a target joint is provided. The device comprises a motion generator configured to generate a three degree-of-freedom (3-DOF) motion of the target joint, a motion transfer and target interfacing unit configured to convert the motion generated by the motion generator to the target joint so that the target joint moves with a 3-DOF about its own center of rotation, and a controller that is in communication with the motion generator and the motion transfer and target interfacing unit to control the motion generator and the motion transfer and target interfacing unit), (Paragraph 0022, FIG. 6 is a mechanical schematic of an example of a device for guiding motions of a target showing joint and linkage components with joint motion capabilities where as labeled ‘R’ designates rotary joints, ‘P’ designates prismatic joints, ‘S’ designates ball-in-socket joints, underline designates active joints, no underline designates passive joints, and ‘*’ designates the target joint for guidance).
Regarding Claim 12, Arzan discloses all of the limitations of Claim 1. Arzan further discloses: wherein the orthotic device is a powered orthosis (Paragraph 0045, The motion generator 16 conveys mechanical action to the target joint 53 via the motion transfer and target interfacing unit 27, which physically supports the target 53 in some extent and converts action from the motion generator 16 to the desired movements of the target 53), (Paragraph 0068, An actuation mechanism, such as the drivers of the actuators, can be electric, pneumatic, hydraulic, etc. In case of electric drivers (e.g. electric motors), the motion assistance system (exoskeleton) can be battery powered and can be equipped with a battery and a power management circuit board).
Regarding Claim 13, as best understood based on the 35 U.S.C. 112(b) issue identified above, Arzan discloses all of the limitations of Claim 1. Arzan further discloses: wherein the third rotational DoF mechanism is a sagittal plane rotational DoF mechanism (Paragraph 0053, As depicted in FIG. 5, the respective coordinated actions 43-45 of the rotary actuators 5-7 generate 3-DOF rotary motion 46 of the moving plate 14 about its center of rotation point that does not coincide with the center of rotation of the hip joint. The linkage 17 also experiences a 3-DOF rotary motion about that point because it is attached to the moving plate 14. Motion of the linkage 17 produces synchronized responses 47 and 48 of the passive rotary joints 19 and 21 along with the response 49 of the passive prismatic joint resulting in an interaction between the sliding component 22 and the track component 23), and the attachment mechanism is an off- axis sagittal plane translational DoF mechanism passively linking the third rotational DoF mechanism to the orthotic device (Paragraph 0053, The system of linkages 17,18 and 20, and the passive rotary and prismatic joins 19,21 and the sliding component 22, interconnected as described above provide 3-DOF motion with a center of rotation that coincide with the center of rotation of the hip joint, despite the fact that the center of rotation of the moving plate 14 of the motion generation unit 16 does not overlap with the center of rotation of the hip target joint 50),
wherein the off-axis sagittal plane translational DoF mechanism is a self-adjusting variable length structure allowing a variation of distance between the third rotational DoF mechanism and the orthotic device (Paragraph 0048, This final linkage 20 is attached to a sliding component 22 (see FIG. 3) of a linear-motion joint. The linear-motion joint can be for example a passive 1-DOF prismatic joint, a 2-DOF cylindrical joint or a linear motor, in which the sliding component 22 is configured to slide up and down along a corresponding track component 23. The track component 23 is connected to an ergonomic upper leg orthotic structure 24 with attached straps 25 that facilitate interface with the user's upper leg 26 (see FIG. 3)) so as to prevent misalignment from imposing physical constraints on the movement of the biological joints (Paragraph 0053, Thus, the motion generation unit 16 can be mounted away from the hip and the motion transfer and target interfacing unit 27 will allow 3-DOF motion of the hip target joint 50 about the center of rotation of such target 50 (or an arbitrary point in space). The motions 43-49 and the user's hip joint response are all facilitated by the collective DOFs of the passive (or in some implementations active) rotary and/or prismatic joints).
Regarding Claim 14, as best understood based on the 35 U.S.C. 112(b) issue identified above, Arzan discloses all of the limitations of Claim 13. Arzan further discloses: wherein the off-axis sagittal plane translational DoF mechanism is in the form of a prismatic joint (Paragraph 0048, The linear-motion joint can be for example a passive 1-DOF prismatic joint, a 2-DOF cylindrical joint or a linear motor, in which the sliding component 22 is configured to slide up and down along a corresponding track component 23).
Regarding Claim 15, as best understood based on the 35 U.S.C. 112(b) issue identified above, Arzan discloses all of the limitations of Claim 13. Arzan further discloses: wherein the off-axis sagittal plane translational DoF mechanism is in the form of a cylindrical joint (Paragraph 0048, The linear-motion joint can be for example a passive 1-DOF prismatic joint, a 2-DOF cylindrical joint or a linear motor, in which the sliding component 22 is configured to slide up and down along a corresponding track component 23).
Regarding Claim 18, Arzan discloses all of the limitations of Claim 1. Arzan further discloses: wherein the support belt is configured to be secured around the user's shoulders above the shoulder joint (Paragraph 0046, FIG. 2 illustrates the device 1000 for guiding and detecting motions of a three degree-of-freedom (DOF) joint system of the present invention used as a hip joint exoskeleton module. An ergonomic adjustable-length strap 1 and a trunk orthotic 2 can be used to attach the device 1000 to the human body, for example adjacent to the hip joint, so that the device 1000 can be easily mounted for use or taken off when not in use. This is for illustrational purposes only and person skilled in the art would understand that the device 1000 can be used for guiding and detecting motions of any other human target joint (i.e. a knee, an ankle, a shoulder, a wrist, an elbow, a finger, etc.) or any other target joint (i.e. a ball-and-socket spherical joint) without departing from the scope of the invention).
Regarding Claim 20, Arzan discloses all of the limitations of Claim 1. Arzan further discloses: wherein the support belt is configured to be secured around the user's arm above the elbow joint (Paragraph 0046, FIG. 2 illustrates the device 1000 for guiding and detecting motions of a three degree-of-freedom (DOF) joint system of the present invention used as a hip joint exoskeleton module. An ergonomic adjustable-length strap 1 and a trunk orthotic 2 can be used to attach the device 1000 to the human body, for example adjacent to the hip joint, so that the device 1000 can be easily mounted for use or taken off when not in use. This is for illustrational purposes only and person skilled in the art would understand that the device 1000 can be used for guiding and detecting motions of any other human target joint (i.e. a knee, an ankle, a shoulder, a wrist, an elbow, a finger, etc.) or any other target joint (i.e. a ball-and-socket spherical joint) without departing from the scope of the invention).
Conclusion
The prior art made of record and not relied upon is considered pertinent to applicant's disclosure:
Barnes (US 10548800 B1) discloses an exoskeleton pelvic link having a hip joint and inguinal joint
Arzanpour et al. (WO 2021108892 A1) discloses a system for a motion guiding device that utilizes rotary joints and linkage assemblies
Vitiello et al. (US 20170367919 A1) discloses an actuation system for a hip orthosis
/MISHAL HUSSAIN/
Examiner
Art Unit 3785
/BRANDY S LEE/Supervisory Patent Examiner, Art Unit 3785