DETAILED ACTION
Double Patenting
Claims 1-19 are provisionally rejected on the ground of nonstatutory double patenting as being unpatentable over claims 1-18 of copending Application No. 18/868071 (reference application). Although the claims at issue are not identical, they are not patentably distinct from each other because both claim sets require itaconic anhydride and may further contain hydrolysed proteins.
This is a provisional nonstatutory double patenting rejection because the patentably indistinct claims have not in fact been patented.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 112
Claim 19 is rejected under 35 U.S.C. 112(b) or 35 U.S.C. 112 (pre-AIA ), second paragraph, as being indefinite for failing to particularly point out and distinctly claim the subject matter which the inventor or a joint inventor (or for applications subject to pre-AIA 35 U.S.C. 112, the applicant), regards as the invention. A “use” claim does not recite any active, positive steps for how the use is practiced and so is indefinite.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 102
Claims 1-4, 6, 9, and 10 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 102a1 as being anticipated by Hwang et al, US 2020/0017730.
Hwang et al teach an adhesive composition comprising the reaction product of a 1:1 lysine to itaconic acid mixture added to water with heating (¶89). The examiner maintains the reacted itaconic acid with heating is itaconic anhydride, and of course small amounts of reaction products itaconic acid and water will be present. This appears to be precisely the invention claimed and so the reference is anticipatory. An amino acid is the ultimate hydrolysed protein and so this limitation is satisfied.
Claims 1-4, 6, 9, and 10 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 102a1 as being anticipated by Miller et al, US 2019/0023839.
Miller et al teach the preparation of 1-carboxymethyl pyrrolidone carboxylic acid by which begins by reacting 1.3:0.75 itaconic acid to glycine mixture with heating (¶168). The examiner maintains the reacted itaconic acid with heating is itaconic anhydride, and of course small amounts of reaction products itaconic acid and water will be present. This appears to be precisely the invention claimed and so the reference is anticipatory. An amino acid is the ultimate hydrolysed protein and so this limitation is satisfied.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claims 1-4, 6, 9, and 10 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Tomalia et al, US 2019/0352258.
Tomalia et al teach the reaction product of itaconic acid and amino acid (¶269) with heating (¶361) where the amino acid may be glycine (¶126). Itaconic anhydride may also be used (¶124). The examiner maintains the reacted itaconic acid with heating is itaconic anhydride, and of course small amounts of reaction products itaconic acid and water will be present. It would have been obvious for one of ordinary skill in the art to react itaconic anhydride and glycine as this reaction product is contemplated by the reference.
Claims 1-19 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Hudson, US 2015/0105310.
Hudson teaches laundry additives from crude modified protein sources (see abstract). Suitable protein sources are vegetable protein (¶9) and suitable modifiers include anionic modifiers, such as phthalic anhydride and itaconic anhydride, both dicarboxylic acids, wherein the protein and modifier are reacted with heating (¶26). The examiner maintains the heating results in hydrolysis of the protein and of course small amounts of reaction products itaconic acid and water will be present. It would have been obvious for one of ordinary skill in the art to modify a vegetable protein with itaconic anhydride with confidence of making an effective laundry additive. This product may be added to laundry detergents and softeners (¶47) to provide antiredeposition benefits, prevent dye transfer, and provide a soil repellant surface for fabrics (¶48). The examiner maintains that laundry detergents and softeners immediately call to mind standard detergent and softener additives, such as preservatives, perfumes, and quaternary ammonium compounds. It is obvious to add standard detergent ingredients to detergents.
Claims 1-19 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Krinski et al, US 5,112,520 in view of Hudson, US 2015/0105310.
Krinski et al teach a liquid laundry detergent comprising an anionic surfactant, nonionic surfactant, and an anti-redeposition agent, which is a modified vegetable protein with an anionic monomer (see abstract). The preferred anionic monomer is phthalic acid, a dicarboxylic acid, and the modification takes place with heating (col. 5, example 1 and col. 6, table 1). The examiner maintains the heating results in hydrolysis of the protein. Although the vegetable protein is modified with a dicarboxylic acid, itaconic acid is not taught by the reference.
Hudson is relied upon as set forth above. Recall that Hudson also teaches laundry additives from crude modified protein sources, wherein the protein may be modified by phthalic anhydride and itaconic anhydride. It would have been obvious for one of ordinary skill in the art to modify the protein of Krinski with itaconic anhydride as Hudson specifically teaches this as another suitable dicarboxylic acid for modifying proteins. The examiner maintains that laundry detergents and softeners immediately call to mind standard detergent and softener additives, such as preservatives, perfumes, and quaternary ammonium compounds. It is obvious to add standard detergent ingredients to detergents.
/CHARLES I BOYER/Primary Examiner, Art Unit 1761