DETAILED ACTION
Priority
Receipt is acknowledged of certified copies of papers required by 37 CFR 1.55.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 112
Claims 5-6 and 13-14 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 112(b) or 35 U.S.C. 112 (pre-AIA ), second paragraph, as being indefinite for failing to particularly point out and distinctly claim the subject matter which the inventor or a joint inventor (or for applications subject to pre-AIA 35 U.S.C. 112, the applicant), regards as the invention.
With respect to Claim 5, the claim is rendered indefinite due to the phrase “n1 is a value greater than 0”. The variable that n1 represents is not explicitly disclosed in the claim or specification; therefore, it is unclear if “n1” is referring to a refractive index of some material inside the light source unit or some other value all together. For the prosecution on merits, examiner interprets the claimed subject matter described above as introducing optional elements, optional structural limitations, optional expressions, and optional functionality within the light source unit.
Claims 6 and 13-14 depend on claim 5 and therefore inherit the same deficiency.
With respect to Claim 6, the claim is rendered indefinite due to the phrase “n1 is 11 or less”. The variable that n1 represents is not explicitly disclosed in the claim or specification; therefore, it is unclear if “n1” is referring to a refractive index of some material inside the light source unit or some other value all together. For the prosecution on merits, examiner interprets the claimed subject matter described above as introducing optional elements, optional structural limitations, optional expressions, and optional functionality within the light source unit.
With respect to Claim 13, the claim is rendered indefinite due to the phrase “n2 is a value greater than 0”. The variable that n1 represents is not explicitly disclosed in the claim or specification; therefore, it is unclear if “n2” is referring to a refractive index of some material inside the light source unit or some other value all together. For the prosecution on merits, examiner interprets the claimed subject matter described above as introducing optional elements, optional structural limitations, optional expressions, and optional functionality within the light source unit.
Claim 14 depends on claim 13 and therefore inherits the same deficiency.
With respect to Claim 14, the claim is rendered indefinite due to the phrase “n2 is 11 or less”. The variable that n1 represents is not explicitly disclosed in the claim or specification; therefore, it is unclear if “n2” is referring to a refractive index of some material inside the light source unit or some other value all together. For the prosecution on merits, examiner interprets the claimed subject matter described above as introducing optional elements, optional structural limitations, optional expressions, and optional functionality within the light source unit.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claims 1-3, 7-8, and 11-12 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Hong (US20200150429A1, patented as US11287649B2 of record in the IDS dated 12/2/2024).
With respect to Claim 1, Hong discloses a light source unit (Fig. 1-- elements 10 and 30) comprising:
a first display device (Fig. 1-- portion of element 12 that displays the second light ray, display unit; [0073]) configured to display a first picture ([0073]: element 12 outputs the first light ray with the first image);
a second display device (Fig. 1-- portion of element 12 that displays the first light ray, display unit; [0073]) configured to display a second picture ([0073]: element 12 outputs the second light ray with the second image);
a first polarizing plate (Fig. 1-- portion of element 20 that coverts the second light ray, first conversion element; [0041]) configured to convert light emitted from the first display device (Fig. 1-- portion of element 12 that displays the second light ray, display unit; [0073]) into first polarized light having a first polarization direction ([0015]: second linearly polarized condition is p polarization; [0041]: element 20 is configured to second light ray with the second image to be displayed into a second polarization light);
a second polarizing plate (Fig. 1-- portion of element 20 that coverts the first light ray, first conversion element; [0041]) configured to convert light emitted from the second display device (Fig. 1-- portion of element 12 that displays the first light ray, display unit; [0073]) into second polarized light having a second polarization direction different from the first polarization direction ([0015]: the first linearly polarized condition is s polarization; [0041]: element 20 is configured to convert the first light ray with the first image to be displayed into a first polarization light);
a reflective polarizing plate (Fig. 1-- element 31, polarization light-splitting element; [0053]) configured to transmit the first polarized light and reflect the second polarized light ([0053]: element 31 is capable of reflecting the first linearly polarized light incident thereon and transmitting the second linearly polarized light);
a first reflective member (Fig. 1-- element 32, first concave reflecting element; [0057]) that comprises a first concave surface (Fig. 1—element 32 has a concave reflective surface), and is configured to reflect, from the first concave surface the first polarized light transmitted through the reflective polarizing plate (Fig. 1-- element 31, polarization light-splitting element; [0053]) toward the reflective polarizing plate (Fig. 1-- element 31, polarization light-splitting element; [0053]) and project a first image corresponding to the first picture on a projection part ([0042]: element 42 corresponds to the second light ray emitted by element 12), thereby allowing an image visually recognizable by a viewer to be displayed beyond the projection part when viewed by the viewer (Fig. 1—element 42, second image; [0071]);
a first wave plate (Fig. 1-- element 34, first wave plate; [0058]) disposed between the reflective polarizing plate (Fig. 1-- element 31, polarization light-splitting element; [0053]) and the first reflective member (Fig. 1-- element 32, first concave reflecting element; [0057]);
a second reflective member (Fig. 1-- element 33, second concave reflecting element; [0056]) that comprises a second concave surface (Fig. 1—element 33 has a concave reflecting surface), and is configured to reflect, from the second concave surface, the second polarized light reflected by the reflective polarizing plate (Fig. 1-- element 31, polarization light-splitting element; [0053]) toward the reflective polarizing plate (Fig. 1-- element 31, polarization light-splitting element; [0053]) and project a second image corresponding to the second picture on the projection part ([0042]: element 41 corresponds to the second light ray emitted by element 12), thereby allowing an image visually recognizable by the viewer to be displayed beyond the projection part when viewed from by the viewer (Fig. 1—element 41, first image; [0071]); and
a second wave plate (Fig. 1-- element 34, first wave plate; [0058]) disposed between the reflective polarizing plate (Fig. 1-- element 31, polarization light-splitting element; [0053]) and the second reflective member (Fig. 1-- element 33, second concave reflecting element; [0056]), wherein:
the curvature of the first concave surface is different than the curvature of the second concave surface ([0056]: The first concave reflecting element 32 may for example have a curvature radius different from that of the second concave reflecting element 33).
However, Hong does not explicitly disclose wherein:
(i) a first optical path length of the light emitted from the first display device from the first display device to the first reflective member is longer than a second optical path length of the light emitted from the second display device from the second display device to the second reflective member, and a curvature of the first concave surface is larger than a curvature of the second concave surface, or (ii) the first optical path length is shorter than the second optical path length and the curvature of the first concave surface is smaller than the curvature of the second concave surface.
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date to shorten the first optical path length, since it has been held that discovering an optimum value of a result effective variable involves only routine skill in the art. In re Antonie 195 USPQ 6 (CCPA 1977); In re Boesch 205 USPQ 215 (CCPA 1980).
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date to make the curvature of the first concave surface is smaller than the curvature of the second concave surface, since it has been held that discovering an optimum value of a result effective variable involves only routine skill in the art. In re Antonie 195 USPQ 6 (CCPA 1977); In re Boesch 205 USPQ 215 (CCPA 1980).
With respect to Claim 2, Hong discloses the light source unit (Fig. 1-- elements 10 and 30) according to claim 1, and discloses further comprising:
a third wave plate (Fig. 1-- element 70, second conversion element; [0067]) configured to transmit the light reflected by the first reflective member (Fig. 1-- element 32, first concave reflecting element; [0057]) and reflected by the reflective polarizing plate (Fig. 1-- element 31, polarization light-splitting element; [0053]) and the light reflected by the second reflective member (Fig. 1-- element 33, second concave reflecting element; [0056]) and transmitted through the reflective polarizing plate (Fig. 1-- element 31, polarization light-splitting element; [0053]).
With respect to Claim 3, Hong discloses the light source unit (Fig. 1-- elements 10 and 30) according to claim 2, and further discloses wherein the first wave plate (Fig. 1-- element 34, first wave plate; [0058]), the second wave plate (Fig. 1-- element 34, first wave plate; [0058]), and the third wave plate (Fig. 1-- element 70, second conversion element; [0067]) are 1/4 λ plates ([0059]: Each of the first wave plate 34 and the second wave plate 35 is for example a quarter wave plate).
With respect to Claim 7, Hong discloses the light source unit (Fig. 1-- elements 10 and 30) according to claim 1, and further discloses wherein the first display device (Fig. 1-- portion of element 12 that displays the second light ray, display unit; [0073]) is a first LED display comprising a plurality of LED elements ([0021]: element 12 may be an Lcos or DLP display which commonly use LED light sources), and
the second display device (Fig. 1-- portion of element 12 that displays the first light ray, display unit; [0073]) is a second LED display comprising a plurality of LED elements ([0021]: element 12 may be an Lcos or DLP display which commonly use LED light sources).
With respect to Claim 8, Hong discloses the light source unit (Fig. 1-- elements 10 and 30) according to claim 7, and further discloses wherein light emitted from an LED element of the LED elements ([0021]: element 12 may be an Lcos or DLP display which commonly use LED light sources) has a substantially Lambertian light distribution ([0021]: element 12 may be an Lcos or DLP display which commonly use LED light sources; LED lights have a Lambertian light distribution).
With respect to Claim 11, Hong discloses an image display device comprising:
the light source unit (Fig. 1-- elements 10 and 30) according to claim 1; and further discloses
a reflection unit (Fig. 1-- element 50, third reflecting element; [0065]) that is spaced apart from the light source unit (Fig. 1-- elements 10 and 30) and is configured to reflect light emitted from the light source unit (Fig. 1-- elements 10 and 30), wherein:
the first reflective member (Fig. 1-- element 32, first concave reflecting element; [0057]) is configured to project the first image to a location between (Fig. 1—element 32 reflects the imaging light towards element 50) the light source unit (Fig. 1-- elements 10 and 30) and the reflection unit (Fig. 1-- element 50, third reflecting element; [0065]), and
the second reflective member (Fig. 1-- element 33, second concave reflecting element; [0056]) is configured to project the second image to a location between (Fig. 1—element 33 reflects the imaging light towards element 50) the light source unit (Fig. 1-- elements 10 and 30) and the reflection unit (Fig. 1-- element 50, third reflecting element; [0065]).
With respect to Claim 12, Hong discloses an automobile comprising:
a vehicle ([0072]: the display device may be used in a vehicle); and
the image display device (Fig. 1—element 11, display device; [0039]) according to claim 11, the image display device (Fig. 1—element 11, display device; [0039]) being fixed to the vehicle ([0072]: the display device may be used in a vehicle).
Claims 4-6 and 13-14 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Hong (US20200150429A1, patented as US11287649B2 of record in the IDS dated 12/2/2024) in view of Connor (US 20060262514 A1).
With respect to Claim 4, Hong discloses the light source unit (Fig. 1-- elements 10 and 30) according to claim 1, and further discloses:
the first reflective member (Fig. 1-- element 32, first concave reflecting element; [0057]) and the second reflective member (Fig. 1-- element 33, second concave reflecting element; [0056]), and
the light emitted from the first display device (Fig. 1-- portion of element 12 that displays the second light ray, display unit; [0073]) and/or the light emitted from the second display device (Fig. 1-- portion of element 12 that displays the first light ray, display unit; [0073]) has a substantially Lambertian light distribution ([0021]: element 12 may be an Lcos or DLP display which commonly use LED light sources; LED lights have a Lambertian light distribution).
However, Hong does not explicitly disclose wherein:
the first reflective member and/or the second reflective member has a substantially telecentric property on a side of the first image and/or a side of the second image.
Hong and Connor are related as both pertaining to the field of illumination systems. Connor discloses a light source unit wherein the first reflective member and/or the second reflective (Fig. 1—element 123, reflective layer; [0034]) member has a substantially telecentric property ([0032]: element 107 may be substantially telecentric when it is incident on element 123) on a side of the first image and/or a side of the second image ([0032]: image light is telecentric when it reaches element 123).
Therefore, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to combine the light source unit of Hong with the substantially telecentric property of Connor in order to create a device which does not need to use optical elements for focusing (Connor, [0032]).
With respect to Claim 5, Hong and Connor disclose the light source unit (Fig. 1-- elements 10 and 30) according to claim 4, and Hong further discloses wherein the light emitted from the first display device (Fig. 1-- portion of element 12 that displays the second light ray, display unit; [0073]) has a light distribution pattern in which a luminous intensity of the light emitted from the first display device (Fig. 1-- portion of element 12 that displays the second light ray, display unit; [0073]) in a direction at an angle θ with respect to an optical axis of the light emitted from the first display device (Fig. 1-- portion of element 12 that displays the second light ray, display unit; [0073]) is approximated by cosn1θ times a luminous intensity on the optical axis, and
n1 is a value greater than 0 ([0021]: element 12 may be an Lcos or DLP display which commonly use LED light sources; LED lights have a Lambertian light distribution. Thus, the value of n1 of a system with a substantially Lambertian light distribution must be greater than 0).
With respect to Claim 6, Hong and Connor disclose the light source unit (Fig. 1-- elements 10 and 30) according to claim 5, and Hong further discloses wherein n1 is 11 or less ([0021]: element 12 may be an Lcos or DLP display which commonly use LED light sources; LED lights have a Lambertian light distribution. Thus, the value of n1 of a system with a substantially Lambertian light distribution must be 11 or less).
With respect to Claim 13, Hong and Connor disclose the light source unit (Fig. 1-- elements 10 and 30) according to claim 5 and Hong further discloses, wherein:
the light emitted from the second display device (Fig. 1-- portion of element 12 that displays the first light ray, display unit; [0073]) has a light distribution pattern in which a luminous intensity of the light emitted from the second display device (Fig. 1-- portion of element 12 that displays the first light ray, display unit; [0073]) in a direction at the angle θ with respect to the optical axis of the light emitted from the second display device (Fig. 1-- portion of element 12 that displays the first light ray, display unit; [0073]) is approximated by cosn2 θ times a luminous intensity on the optical axis, and
n2 is a value greater than 0 ([0021]: element 12 may be an Lcos or DLP display which commonly use LED light sources; LED lights have a Lambertian light distribution. Thus, the value of n2 of a system with a substantially Lambertian light distribution must be greater than 0).
With respect to Claim 14, Hong and Connor disclose the light source unit (Fig. 1-- elements 10 and 30) according to claim, 13 and Hong further discloses n2 is 11 or less ([0021]: element 12 may be an Lcos or DLP display which commonly use LED light sources; LED lights have a Lambertian light distribution. Thus, the value of n2 of a system with a substantially Lambertian light distribution must be 11 or less).
Claim 9 is rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Hong (US20200150429A1, patented as US11287649B2 of record in the IDS dated 12/2/2024) in view of Iguchi (US20180358339A1, of record in the IDS dated 12/2/2024).
With respect to Claim 9, Hong discloses the light source unit (Fig. 1-- elements 10 and 30) according to claim 7 and further discloses:
the first display device (Fig. 1-- portion of element 12 that displays the second light ray, display unit; [0073]), and
the second display device (Fig. 1-- portion of element 12 that displays the first light ray, display unit; [0073]).
Hong and Iguchi are related as both pertaining to head-up displays. Iguchi discloses the first display device (Fig. 12—pixel; [0164]) further comprises a first wavelength conversion member (Fig. 12—element 62, wavelength conversion layer; [0165]) that is disposed above an LED element of the LED elements (Fig. 12—elements 1R, 1B, and, LED display chips; [0164]) of the first display device (Fig. 12—pixel; [0164]) and is configured to receive light emitted from the LED element (Fig. 12—elements 1R, 1B, and, LED display chips; [0164]).
Therefore, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the
effective filing date of the claimed invention to combine the first and second displays of Hong with the wavelength conversion layer of Iguchi in order to create a device which is capable of converting light from LEDs into a different wavelength which is not provided by the LEDs (Iguchi, [0084]).
Claim 10 is rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Hong (US20200150429A1, patented as US11287649B2 of record in the IDS dated 12/2/2024) in view of Travers (US 20050180021 A1).
With respect to Claim 10, Hong discloses the light source unit (Fig. 1-- elements 10 and 30) according to claim 1, and further discloses:
the first display device (Fig. 1-- portion of element 12 that displays the second light ray, display unit; [0073]) and the first reflective member (Fig. 1-- element 32, first concave reflecting element; [0057]); and
the second display device (Fig. 1-- portion of element 12 that displays the first light ray, display unit; [0073]) and the second reflective member (Fig. 1-- element 33, second concave reflecting element; [0056]).
However, Hong does not further disclose comprising:
a first light-shielding member that is disposed on an optical path from the first display device to the first reflective member, comprises an aperture through which a part of light traveling from the first display device toward the first reflective member passes, and is configured to block another part of the light traveling from the first display device toward the first reflective member; and
a second light-shielding member that is disposed on an optical path from the second display device to the second reflective member, comprises an aperture through which a part of light traveling from the second display device toward the second reflective member passes, and is configured to block another part of the light traveling from the second display device toward the second reflective member.
Hong and Travers are related as both pertaining to the field of display devices. Travers discloses a first light-shielding member (Fig. 1—element 20, entrance window; [0045]) that is disposed on an optical path from the light source (Fig. 1—element 39, ambient light; [0050]) to the first reflective member (Fig. 1—element 28, reflective focusing optic; [0048]), comprises an aperture (Fig. 1—element 16, ambient-light-admitting aperture; [0049]) through which a part of light traveling from the light source (Fig. 1—element 39, ambient light; [0050]) toward the first reflective member (Fig. 1—element 28, reflective focusing optic; [0048]) passes, and is configured to block another part of the light traveling from the light source (Fig. 1—element 39, ambient light; [0050]) toward the first reflective member (Fig. 1—element 28, reflective focusing optic; [0048]).
Therefore, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the
effective filing date of the claimed invention to combine the first and second display devices of Hong with the entrance window assembly of Travers in order to regulate the amount of light which enters in to the optical system (Travers, [0053]).
Conclusion
The prior art made of record and not relied upon is considered pertinent to applicant's disclosure.
Border (US 20160062121 A1) discloses aspects of the instant invention, see Fig. 8 and [0237]-[0238].
Hirata (US 20190196188 A1) discloses aspects of the instant invention, see Fig. 1 and [0056]-[0064].
/MACKENZI BOURQUINE/Examiner, Art Unit 2872
/WILLIAM R ALEXANDER/Primary Examiner, Art Unit 2872