DETAILED ACTION
Preliminary Amendment Acknowledgement
The Preliminary Amendment filed on 12/02/2024 has been acknowledged and considered by the examiner.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 102
Claim(s) 1-4, 7-14, 16-17, 20-21, 23 and 26 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 102(a)(2) as being anticipated by Lalwaney (Pub. No. US 2016/0029204).
Regarding claim 1. Lalwaney teaches an electronic device (Lalwaney, the Abstract, Fig. 2), comprising:
a plurality of processors, wherein the processor comprises an application processor AP and a modem processor Modem (Lalwaney, Fig. 2, pp [73]-[75]);
a memory (Lalwaney, Fig. 2, pp [73]-[75]); and
one or more computer programs, wherein the one or more computer programs are stored in the memory, and when the computer programs are executed by the one or more processors (Lalwaney, Fig. 2, pp [73]-[75]), the electronic device is enabled to perform the following operations:
obtaining, by the AP, a configuration state of a first on-card configuration characteristic on the Modem side in response to a state of inserting a SIM card, wherein the configuration state is a first state (Lalwaney, Fig. 6, pp [146]-[148]: a processor 600 is configured to obtain and classify configuration routines of an inserted SIM card);
obtaining, by the AP, an expected state of the first on-card configuration characteristic stored on the AP side, wherein the expected state is a second state (Lalwaney, Fig. 6, pp [149]-[153]: detecting a trigger event and selecting a target set of configuration routines); and
when the first state is inconsistent with the second state, indicating, by the AP, the Modem to adjust the configuration state of the first on-card configuration characteristic to the second state, wherein the configuration state of the first on-card configuration characteristic indicates electronic device capability information that needs to be reported to a network side (Lalwaney, Fig. 6, pp [157]-[160]: reconfiguring of configuration routines based on target set of configuration routines).
Regarding claim 14. Lalwaney teaches a configuration management method for an on-card configuration characteristic, applied to an electronic device, wherein the electronic device comprises an application processor AP and a modem processor Modem (Lalwaney, the Abstract), and the method comprises:
obtaining, by the AP of the electronic device, a configuration state of a first on-card configuration characteristic on the Modem side in response to a state of inserting a SIM card, wherein the configuration state is a first state (Lalwaney, Fig. 6, pp [146]-[148]: a processor 600 is configured to obtain and classify configuration routines of an inserted SIM card);
obtaining, by the AP, an expected state of the first on-card configuration characteristic stored on the AP side, wherein the expected state is a second state (Lalwaney, Fig. 6, pp [149]-[153]: detecting a trigger event and selecting a target set of configuration routines); and
when the first state is inconsistent with the second state, indicating, by the AP, the Modem to adjust the configuration state of the first on-card configuration characteristic to the second state, wherein the configuration state of the first on-card configuration characteristic indicates electronic device capability information that needs to be reported to a network side (Lalwaney, Fig. 6, pp [157]-[160]: reconfiguring of configuration routines based on target set of configuration routines).
Regarding claim 2. Lalwaney teaches the electronic device according to claim 1, wherein the first on-card configuration characteristic is related to a core network service capability (Lalwaney, pp [61], [109]); and
when the computer programs are executed by the one or more processors, the electronic device is enabled to perform the following operations:
after the AP indicates the Modem to adjust the configuration state of the first on-card configuration characteristic to the second state, in response to a user operation received, determining, by the electronic device, capability information based on the second state, and reporting the capability information to the network side, wherein the user operation is used for initiating a first service (Lalwaney, pp [109], [122], [157]-[160]).
Regarding claim 3. Lalwaney teaches the electronic device according to claim 1, wherein when the computer programs are executed by the one or more processors, the electronic device is enabled to perform the following operations:
obtaining, by the AP, system version information and/or area information of the electronic device (Lalwaney, pp [90]-[94]); and
querying, by the AP, the expected state of the first on-card configuration characteristic based on the system version information and/or the area information (Lalwaney, pp [96]-[99]).
Regarding claim 4. Lalwaney teaches the electronic device according to claim 1, wherein the first on-card configuration characteristic is related to a radio access capability (Lalwaney, pp [61], [109]); and
when the computer programs are executed by the one or more processors, the electronic device is enabled to perform the following operations:
generating, by the electronic device when accessing the network side, capability information based on the first state, and reporting the capability information to the network side (Lalwaney, pp [109], [122]); and
after the AP indicates the Modem to adjust the configuration state of the first on-card configuration characteristic to the second state, updating the capability information based on the second state, and reporting updated capability information to the network side (Lalwaney, pp [157]-[160]).
Regarding claim 7. Lalwaney teaches the electronic device according to claim 4, wherein the first on-card configuration characteristic is whether voice on new radio VONR is supported or whether voice over LTE VOLTE is supported (Lalwaney, pp [49]).
Regarding claim 8. Lalwaney teaches the electronic device according to claim 2, wherein the first on-card configuration characteristic is whether an enhanced voice service EVS encoding mode is supported.
Regarding claim 9. Lalwaney teaches the electronic device according to claim 1, wherein the first on-card configuration characteristic is an on-card configuration characteristic that the AP is interested.
Regarding claim 10. Lalwaney teaches the electronic device according to claim 1, wherein when the computer programs are executed by the one or more processors, the electronic device is enabled to perform the following operations:
configuring, by the Modem in response to the state of inserting the SIM card, a state of each on-card configuration characteristic based on a configuration requirement corresponding to the SIM card (Lalwaney, pp [116]-[117]).
Regarding claim 11. Lalwaney teaches the electronic device according to claim 10, wherein when the computer programs are executed by the one or more processors, the electronic device is enabled to perform the following operations:
in response to the state of inserting the SIM card, configuring, by the Modem, the state of each on-card configuration characteristic based on the configuration requirement corresponding to the SIM card when operator information of the SIM card is inconsistent with historical card insertion information, wherein the historical card insertion information indicates operator information of a SIM card most recently inserted by a user (Lalwaney, pp [90]-[92], [116]-[117]).
Regarding claim 12. Lalwaney teaches the electronic device according to claim 11, wherein when the computer programs are executed by the one or more processors, the electronic device is enabled to perform the following operations:
in response to the state of inserting the SIM card, obtaining, by the AP, the configuration state of the first on-card configuration characteristic on the Modem side when the operator information of the SIM card is inconsistent with the historical card insertion information (Lalwaney, pp [90]-[92], [116]-[117]).
Regarding claim 13. Lalwaney teaches the electronic device according to claim 1, wherein the electronic device is a dual-card device, and the Modem comprises a first Modem and a second Modem (Lalwaney, pp [50]-[51]); and
when the computer programs are executed by the one or more processors, the electronic device is enabled to perform the following operations:
obtaining, by the AP, a first configuration state of the first on-card configuration characteristic on the first Modem side in response to a state of inserting a first SIM card for the first Modem, wherein the first configuration state is the first state, and when the first state is inconsistent with the second state, indicating the first Modem to adjust the first configuration state to the second state (Lalwaney, pp [157]-[160], [116]-[117]); and
obtaining, by the AP, a second configuration state of the first on-card configuration characteristic on the second Modem side in response to a state of inserting a second SIM card for the second Modem, wherein the second configuration state is the first state, and when the first state is inconsistent with the second state, indicating the second Modem to adjust the second configuration state to the second state (Lalwaney, pp [157]-[160], [116]-[117]).
Regarding claim 15. Lalwaney teaches the method according to claim 14, wherein the first on-card configuration characteristic is related to a core network service capability; and
after the indicating, by the AP, the Modem to adjust the configuration state of the first on-card configuration characteristic to the second state (Lalwaney, pp [109], [122], [157]-[160]), the method further comprises:
in response to a user operation received, determining, by the electronic device, capability information based on the second state, and reporting the capability information to the network side, wherein the user operation is used for initiating a first service (Lalwaney, pp [109], [122], [157]-[160]).
Regarding claim 17. Lalwaney teaches the method according to claim 14, wherein the first on-card configuration characteristic is related to a radio access capability, the method further comprises:
generating, by the electronic device when accessing the network side, capability information based on the first state, and reporting the capability information to the network side (Lalwaney, pp [109], [122]); and
after the indicating, by the AP, the Modem to adjust the configuration state of the first on-card configuration characteristic to the second state (Lalwaney, pp [157]-[160]), the method further comprises:
updating, by the electronic device, the capability information based on the second state, and reporting updated capability information to the network side (Lalwaney, pp [157]-[160]).
Regarding claim 20. Lalwaney teaches the method according to claim 17, wherein the first on-card configuration characteristic is whether voice on new radio VONR is supported or whether voice over LTE VOLTE is supported (Lalwaney, pp [49]).
Regarding claim 21. Lalwaney teaches the method according to claim 15, wherein the first on-card configuration characteristic is whether an enhanced voice service EVS encoding mode is supported or, the first on-card configuration characteristic is an on-card configuration characteristic that the AP is interested.
Regarding claim 23. Lalwaney teaches the method according to claim 14, further comprising:
configuring, by the Modem in response to the state of inserting the SIM card, a state of each on-card configuration characteristic based on a configuration requirement corresponding to the SIM card (Lalwaney, pp [116]-[117]); wherein
the configuring, by the Modem in response to the state of inserting the SIM card, a state of each on-card configuration characteristic based on a configuration requirement corresponding to the SIM card (Lalwaney, pp [116]-[117]), comprises:
in response to the state of inserting the SIM card, configuring, by the Modem, the state of each on-card configuration characteristic based on the configuration requirement corresponding to the SIM card when operator information of the SIM card is inconsistent with historical card insertion information, wherein the historical card insertion information indicates operator information of a SIM card most recently inserted by a user (Lalwaney, pp [90]-[92], [116]-[117]); wherein
the obtaining, by the AP of the electronic device, a configuration state of a first on-card configuration characteristic on the Modem side in response to a state of inserting a SIM card (Lalwaney, pp [116]-[117]), comprises:
in response to the state of inserting the SIM card, obtaining, by the AP, the configuration state of the first on-card configuration characteristic on the Modem side when the operator information of the SIM card is inconsistent with the historical card insertion information (Lalwaney, pp [90]-[92], [116]-[117]).
Regarding claim 26. Lalwaney teaches the method according to claim 14, wherein the electronic device is a dual-card device, and the Modem comprises a first Modem and a second Modem (Lalwaney, pp [50]-[51]); and the method comprises:
obtaining, by the AP, a first configuration state of the first on-card configuration characteristic on the first Modem side in response to a state of inserting a first SIM card for the first Modem, wherein the first configuration state is the first state, and when the first state is inconsistent with the second state, indicating the first Modem to adjust the first configuration state to the second state (Lalwaney, pp [116]-[117], [157]-[160]); and
obtaining, by the AP, a second configuration state of the first on-card configuration characteristic on the second Modem side in response to a state of inserting a second SIM card for the second Modem, wherein the second configuration state is the first state, and when the first state is inconsistent with the second state, indicating the second Modem to adjust the second configuration state to the second state (Lalwaney, pp [116]-[117], [157]-[160]).
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claim(s) 5 and 16 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Lalwaney (Pub. No. US 2016/0029204) and further in view of Chen et al. (Pub. No. US 2018/0352421).
Regarding claim 5. Lalwaney does not teach the electronic device according to claim 1, wherein when the computer programs are executed by the one or more processors, the electronic device is enabled to perform the following operations:
obtaining, by the AP, the configuration state of the first on-card configuration characteristic from an XmL file on the Modem side.
Chen teaches “obtaining, by the AP, the configuration state of the first on-card configuration characteristic from an XmL file on the Modem side.” (Chen, pp [31], [50]: a mobile device loads one or more configuration files corresponding to SIM card, wherein the configuration files in the single software build may be written and stored as Extensible Markup Language (XML) files).
Therefore, it would have been obvious to a person of ordinary skill in the art before the affective filing date of the claimed invention was made to modify Lalwaney by incorporating teachings of Chen, method and system apply one or more aspects of one of a plurality of configuration files stored in the mobile device to a configuration of the mobile device. The event may include one of the following: (1) detecting an insertion of a subscriber identity module (SIM) card into the mobile device, (2) receiving a notification from an operator indicating availability of an upgrade for the one of the plurality of configuration files, and (3) receiving a user command to change the configuration of the mobile device, wherein the configuration files character in XML format saved in the configuration database made it convenient for on-the-fly change when desired.
Regarding claim 16. Lalwaney teaches the method according to claim 14, wherein the obtaining, by the AP, an expected state of the first on-card configuration characteristic comprises:
obtaining, by the AP, system version information and/or area information of the electronic device (Lalwaney, pp [90]-[94]); and
querying, by the AP, the expected state of the first on-card configuration characteristic based on the system version information and/or the area information (Lalwaney, pp [90]-[94], [96]-[99]).
Lalwaney however, does not teach “the obtaining, by the AP, a configuration state of a first on-card configuration characteristic on the Modem side comprises: obtaining, by the AP, the configuration state of the first on-card configuration characteristic from an XmL file on the Modem side.”
Chen teaches “the obtaining, by the AP, a configuration state of a first on-card configuration characteristic on the Modem side comprises: obtaining, by the AP, the configuration state of the first on-card configuration characteristic from an XmL file on the Modem side.” (Chen, pp [31], [50]: a mobile device loads one or more configuration files corresponding to SIM card, wherein the configuration files in the single software build may be written and stored as Extensible Markup Language (XML) files).
Therefore, it would have been obvious to a person of ordinary skill in the art before the affective filing date of the claimed invention was made to modify Lalwaney by incorporating teachings of Chen, method and system apply one or more aspects of one of a plurality of configuration files stored in the mobile device to a configuration of the mobile device. The event may include one of the following: (1) detecting an insertion of a subscriber identity module (SIM) card into the mobile device, (2) receiving a notification from an operator indicating availability of an upgrade for the one of the plurality of configuration files, and (3) receiving a user command to change the configuration of the mobile device, wherein the configuration files character in XML format saved in the configuration database made it convenient for on-the-fly change when desired.
Conclusion
/HUY C HO/Primary Examiner, Art Unit 2644