DETAILED ACTION
This communication responsive to the Application No. 18/871,007 filed on December 02, 2024. A preliminary amendment was filed on 12/02/2024 in which claims 1, 3-4, 6, 8, 11, 13, and have been amended, claims 2, 5, 7, 14-15 and 18-68 have been canceled, and claims 69-76 have been added new. Claims 1, 3-4, 6, 8-13, 16-17 and 69-76 are pending and are directed towards PERSONAL IOT NETWORK (PIN) PRIMITIVE CREDENTIAL CONFIGURATION METHOD AND APPARATUS, COMMUNICATION DEVICE, AND STORAGE MEDIUM.
Information Disclosure Statement
The information disclosure statement (IDS) submitted on 12/01/2016 was Acknowledge. The submission is in compliance with the provisions of 37 CFR 1.97. Accordingly, the information disclosure statement is being considered by the examiner.
Specification
The use of the term “WI-FI” and “BLUETOOTH” in para [0400], which is a trade name or a mark used in commerce, has been noted in this application. The term should be accompanied by the generic terminology; furthermore the term should be capitalized wherever it appears or, where appropriate, include a proper symbol indicating use in commerce such as ™, SM , or ® following the term.
Although the use of trade names and marks used in commerce (i.e., trademarks, service marks, certification marks, and collective marks) are permissible in patent applications, the proprietary nature of the marks should be respected and every effort made to prevent their use in any manner which might adversely affect their validity as commercial marks.
Claim Objections
Claims 75-76 objected to because of the following informalities:
both claims referring to features recited in independent claim 69. Examiner suggested that these features being explicitly cited instead of referring to claims 69.
Appropriate correction is required.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 112
Claims 1, 3-4, 6, 8-13, 16-17 and 69-76 rejected under 35 U.S.C. 112(b) or 35 U.S.C. 112 (pre-AIA ), second paragraph, as being indefinite for failing to particularly point out and distinctly claim the subject matter which the inventor or a joint inventor (or for applications subject to pre-AIA 35 U.S.C. 112, the applicant), regards as the invention.
Claim 1, 11 and 69 recite the acronym “IoT” which is not defined.
Claims 8 and 16 recite the limitation “wherein the information indicating successful authentication indicates an effective time of the information indicating successful authentication.” Which is vague and not clear. it is not understood what is meant by “effective time” or how is it indicating successful authentication.
Claims 3-4, 6, 9-10, 12-13, 17 and 70-74 are rejected by dependency.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 102
Claim(s) 1, 3, 4, 6, 8-13, 16 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 102(a)(1) as being anticipated by Shi et al. US 2024/0314534 A1 (hereinafter “Shi”).
As per claims 1 and 11, Shi teaches a method for personal loT network (PIN) element credential provisioning (The system (e.g., 5G system) may be enhanced so that a PINE with management capabilities (PEMC) may authenticate and/or authorize a PINE that has been provisioned with an identity and a credential. Shi, para [0004]), wherein the method is performed by a PIN element gateway (A PEGC and a PIN GW may be used interchangeably herein. For example, functions that may be performed by a PEGC may be performed by a PEMC. As another example, functions that may be performed by a PEMC may be performed by a PEGC. Shi, para [0091]), and the method comprises:
receiving first information sent by a PIN element, wherein the first information is used to request for provisioning a credential to the PIN element (The PINE's PIN bootstrap information may be used in a procedure between the PINE and a PEMC or PEGC (e.g., discovery, authentication, and/or authorization) and the PEMC or PEGC may obtain (e.g., need to obtain) the PIN bootstrap information for the PINE, or at least a subset of the PINE's PIN bootstrap information. A PEMC or PEGC may obtain the PINE's PIN bootstrap information before or during the execution of an authentication procedure with the PINE. The PINE's PIN bootstrap information may be obtained from the system (e.g., 5GC) via NAS signaling or from a AAA server via user plane interaction. Shi, para [0169])( The PEMC and PINE may perform a PIN bootstrap procedure where the PEMC configures the PINE with credentials that may be used by the PINE to communicate with other devices within the PIN. For example, the PEMC may determine what PEGC(s) the PINE may communicate with and may configure the PINE with a PEGC ID, a routable PEGC address (e.g., an IP Address), and a value (e.g., key ID and/or key index) that may be used to derive and/or obtain a key that may be used to communicate (e.g., securely communicate) with the PEGC. Shi, para [0180]); and
sending authentication result information to the PIN element in response to the PIN element gateway performing an operation of credential provisioning (When the PEMC obtains the PINE bootstrap information, the PEMC may execute an authentication and/or authorization procedure with the PINE. The PEMC may send a message to the PINE to indicate that the authentication and/or authorization procedures are completed. Shi, para [0178-0180])
As per claim 3, Shi teaches the method according to claim 1, wherein the operation of credential provisioning by the PIN element gateway comprises:
sending sixth information to a first network function (The PEMC may configure other devices with information that may be used to authenticate and/or authorize the PINE. Shi, para [0182]) (PEMC may act as an onboarding PEMC which may provide the connectivity for the PINE and assist in provisioning with PIN bootstrap information from the system (e.g., 5GC) via NAS signaling (e.g., control plane) or from the application server via user plane interactions. Shi, para [0170]);
wherein the first information indicates at least one of: a credential provisioning indicator; or a PIN element identifier (The PEMC may configure other devices with information that may be used to authenticate and/or authorize the PINE. For example, the PEMC may configure a PEGC with the PINE ID, PINE ID alias, and/or a value that may be used to derive a key that may be used to communicate with the PINE. In examples, where there are multiple PEMCs in the PIN, the PEMC may configure the other PEMCs with the information. Shi, para [0182]).
As per claim 4, Shi teaches the method according to claim 3, wherein sending the sixth information to the first network function comprises:
sending the sixth information to the first network function based on a protected manner (PEMC may act as an onboarding PEMC which may provide the connectivity for the PINE and assist in provisioning with PIN bootstrap information from the system (e.g., 5GC) via NAS signaling (e.g., control plane) or from the application server via user plane interactions. Shi, para [0170]).; wherein sending the sixth information to the first network function based on the protected manner comprises: sending the sixth information to the first network function through a non-access stratum (NAS) message (PEMC may act as an onboarding PEMC which may provide the connectivity for the PINE and assist in provisioning with PIN bootstrap information from the system (e.g., 5GC) via NAS signaling (e.g., control plane) or from the application server via user plane interactions. Shi, para [0170]).
As per claim 6, Shi teaches the method according to claim 3, wherein the operation of credential provisioning by the PIN element gateway comprises:
receiving the authentication result information sent by the first network function (A response message may be received from the WTRU, for example, when the WTRU ID has been authenticated. The response message may indicate that the WTRU is authorized to join the PIN. The response message may indicate authorization information. Shi, para [0085]);
wherein the authentication result information comprises at least one of:
a credential provisioning indicator;
a PIN element identifier;
information indicating successful authentication (A response message may be received from the WTRU, for example, when the WTRU ID has been authenticated. The response message may indicate that the WTRU is authorized to join the PIN. The response message may indicate authorization information. Shi, para [0085]);
a fully qualified domain name (FQDN) of a provisioning server (PVS);
address information of a provisioning server (PVS); or
a user plane credential provisioning indicator.
As per claims 8 and 16, Shi teaches the method according to claims 6 and 13, wherein the information indicating successful authentication indicates an effective time of the information indicating successful authentication (The WTRUs 102a, 102b, 102c may communicate with gNBs 180a, 180b, 180c using subframe or transmission time intervals (TTIs) of various or scalable lengths (e.g., containing varying number of OFDM symbols and/or lasting varying lengths of absolute time). Shi, para [0065])( the PIN element (e.g., a PIN GW, PIN element with management capabilities, a PEMC, a PEGC, and/or a combination thereof) may broadcast an announcement message, which may include an availability status. The PIN element availability status may indicate in which time window the PIN element may be accessed. Shi, para [0158]).
As per claim 9, Shi teaches the method according to claim 6, wherein the method further comprises: in response to the authentication result information indicating successful authentication, requesting for establishing a protocol data unit (PDU) session for operator credential provisioning (Reachability status may include an IP address, MAC address, and/or protocol data unit (PDU) session ID which may be used for accessing via a PIN GW, a PIN relay, or via a core network. Shi, para [0150])( establish a communication path based on the received PIN GW's ID, PIN relay's ID, or PLMN ID; or communicate with the PIN element by using the IP address, MAC address, or PDU session ID based on the received reachability status. Shi, para [0155]).
As per claim 10, Shi teaches the method according to claim 1, wherein sending the authentication result information to the PIN element comprises: in response to the authentication result information indicating successful authentication, sending the authentication result information to the PIN element (When the PEMC obtains the PINE bootstrap information, the PEMC may execute an authentication and/or authorization procedure with the PINE. The PEMC may send a message to the PINE to indicate that the authentication and/or authorization procedures are completed. Shi, para [0178-0180])
As per claim 12, Shi teaches the method according to claim 11, wherein the method further comprises: establishing a secure connection between the PIN element and the PIN element gateway (A guest PIN element may establish a secure connection with the PIN GW (e.g., e.g., PIN element with management capabilities, a PEMC, a PEGC, and/or a combination thereof) before receiving discovery policy configuration information from the PIN GW. Shi, para [0136]).
As per claim 13, Shi teaches the method according to claim 11, wherein sending the first information to the PIN element gateway comprises:
sending the first information to the PIN element gateway based on the secure connection (A guest PIN element may establish a secure connection with the PIN GW (e.g., e.g., PIN element with management capabilities, a PEMC, a PEGC, and/or a combination thereof) before receiving discovery policy configuration information from the PIN GW. Shi, para [0136]).;
wherein the first information indicates at least one of:
a credential provisioning indicator; or a PIN element identifier(The PEMC may configure other devices with information that may be used to authenticate and/or authorize the PINE. For example, the PEMC may configure a PEGC with the PINE ID, PINE ID alias, and/or a value that may be used to derive a key that may be used to communicate with the PINE. In examples, where there are multiple PEMCs in the PIN, the PEMC may configure the other PEMCs with the information. Shi, para [0182]).
wherein the authentication result information comprises at least one of:
a credential provisioning indicator;
information indicating successful authentication (When the PEMC obtains the PINE bootstrap information, the PEMC may execute an authentication and/or authorization procedure with the PINE. The PEMC may send a message to the PINE to indicate that the authentication and/or authorization procedures are completed. Shi, para [0178-0180]);
a fully qualified domain name (FQDN) of a provisioning server (PVS);
address information of a provisioning server (PVS); or
a user plane credential provisioning indicator.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claim(s) 17 is rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Shi et al. US 2024/0314534 A1 (hereinafter “Shi”) in view of Lv et al. US 2024/0388912 A1 (hereinafter “Lv”)
As per claim 17, Shi teaches the method according to claim 11. Shi does not explicitly teach wherein the PIN element is preconfigured with at least one of a fully qualified domain name (FQDN) of a provisioning server (PVS), or address information of a PVS.
However, Lv teaches wherein the PIN element is preconfigured with at least one of a fully qualified domain name (FQDN) of a provisioning server (PVS), or address information of a PVS (the routing information includes at least one of the following: an IP address of a user plane function (UPF), a port number of the UPF, a fully qualified domain name (FQDN) of the UPF, or a data network (DN) connected by using the UPF. The PEGC visits the target network by accessing the UPF, and the target network may be a 5G network. Lv, para [0075]).
Therefore, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention, to modify the teaching of shi in view of Lv. One would be motivated to do so, to enhanced the system by incorporating the functions of FQDN and PVS.
Allowable Subject Matter
Claims 69-70 are allowed. As allowable subject matter has been indicated, applicant's reply must either comply with all formal requirements or specifically traverse each requirement not complied with. See 37 CFR 1.111(b) and MPEP § 707.07(a).
Conclusion
The prior art made of record and not relied upon is considered pertinent to applicant's disclosure.
A. Manithara Vamanan et al. US 2023/0308986 A1 directed to personal internet of things network discovery
B. Shah et al. US 2024/0430312 A1 directed to personal IoT network and presidential network management server.
C. Sethi et al. US 2025/0071666 A1 directed to systems for personal IoT network gateway selection.
Respectfully submitted
/KHALID M ALMAGHAYREH/Primary Examiner, Art Unit 2492