DETAILED ACTION
Election/Restrictions
Applicant's election with traverse of Group I drawn to a limiter device in the reply filed on 09/29/2025 is acknowledged.
The traversal is on the ground(s) that claims 1-18 as amended involve the same or corresponding special technical features and have unity of invention. This is not found persuasive because although amended claims 1-18 share a corresponding technical feature as detailed in the previous restriction requirement, the corresponding technical feature is not a special technical feature as it does not make a contribution over the prior art (see rejection below). The newly added amendments do not rectify the lack of unity of invention.
The requirement is still deemed proper and is therefore made FINAL.
Therefore, claims 16-18 are withdrawn for being drawn to Species II and Species III.
Drawings
The drawings are objected to under 37 CFR 1.83(a). The drawings must show every feature of the invention specified in the claims. Therefore, the fastener having at least one tab as stated in claim 8 must be shown or the feature(s) canceled from the claim(s). No new matter should be entered.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 102
Claims 1-2, 4-9 and 15 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 102(a)(1) as being anticipated by Bader et al., US20080188116 (hereinafter, Bader).
Regarding claim 1, A device (320, see Fig. 5) for construction, the device comprising:
a body (see body of retainer device 320) having a channel (see central opening/channel of the device 320 in Fig. 5) extending through the body and at least one feature 325 in a wall (see cylindrical wall of device 320) of the body, the body having a top end (upper end of the device in Fig. 5) and a bottom end (lower end of the device in Fig. 5), and at least one notch 416 defined along a perimeter (see Fig. 5)of the top end of the body and configured to receive a retention tab (device 320 is capable of being configured to receive a retention tab).
Regarding claim 2, Bader discloses the device of claim 1, the channel being a hollow central passage (see hollow central passage of device 320 in Fig. 5) extending through the body from the top end to the bottom end (see Fig. 5).
Regarding claim 4, Bader discloses the device of claim 1, the body further comprising a seam 410 at an outer wall of the body (see Fig. 5).
Regarding claim 5, Bader discloses the device of claim 4, wherein the seam extends from the top end of the body to the bottom end of the body (see Fig. 5).
Regarding claim 6, Bader discloses the device of claim 4, wherein the seam is an indent (see Fig. 5 and para. [0031]).
Regarding claim 7, Bader discloses the device of claim 4, wherein the body is compressible radially by narrowing the width of the seam (see para. [0031]).
Regarding claim 8, As best understood, Bader discloses the device of claim 1, wherein the channel is configured to receive a fastener 310, the fastener having at least one tab configured to reside in the channel when installed in the channel (the Examiner interprets external threads of the bolt to be tabs, therefore at least one tab/thread is configured to reside in the channel upon installation.).
Regarding claim 9, Bader discloses the device of claim 4, wherein the seam is configured to receive a rib in a host (the Examiner interprets that the seam in the device is capable of being configured to receive a rib in a host).
Regarding claim 15, Bader discloses the limiter device of claim 4, wherein the cylindrical body (see Fig. 5) contains a vertical opening 410 that extends along the height of the limiter device (see Fig. 5).
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claims 3 and 12-13 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Bader in view of Booher et al., US20080157483 (hereinafter, Booher).
Regarding claim 3, Bader discloses the device of claim 1, the at least one feature comprising at least one opening 325, but fails to expressly teach that each opening extending into the channel.
However, Booher teaches similar limiter device 10 comprising opening 22 extending into a channel (see Figs. 1-2 & 4-5).
The Examiner interprets it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of claimed invention for aperture in the device of Bader to be modified to through hole as taught by Booher so the through hole may serve multiple purposes, like engaging of compression tool as taught in Bader (see Bader para. [0031]) and/or distribution of plastic material into the holes for uniform holding power (see Booher para. [0026]).
Regarding claim 12, Bader discloses a device similar to a limiter device (320, see Fig. 5), comprising:
a cylindrical body (see cylindrical body of device 320), wherein the cylindrical body is defined by an outer surface and an inner surface (see Figs. 5-6 showing a hollow central passage formed by an outer surface and an inner surface) and wherein the cylindrical body contains a hollow central passage (see Figs. 5-6);
at least one notch 416 defined along a perimeter of a top end of the body (see notch formed in upper end along a perimeter of a top end in Fig. 5) and configured to receive a retention tab (device 320 is capable of being configured to receive a retention tab).
Bader fails to expressly teach wherein a plurality of features that extend from the outer surface through to the inner surface.
However, Booher teaches similar limiter device 10 comprising opening 22 extending from outer surface to the inner surface (see Figs. 1-2 & 4-5).
The Examiner interprets it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of claimed invention for aperture in the device of Bader to be modified to through hole as taught by Booher so the through hole may serve multiple purposes, like engaging of compression tool as taught in Bader (see Bader para. [0031]) and/or distribution of plastic material into the holes for uniform holding power (see Booher para. [0026]).
Regarding claim 13, Bader in view of Booher teaches and/or make obvious of the limiter device of claim 12, wherein Booher further teaches the plurality of features comprise a plurality of holes 22 and wherein the plurality of holes are substantially circular (see Fig. 1).
Claim 14 is rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Bader in view of Booher, in further view of Brower et al., US20210180641 (hereinafter, Brower).
Regarding claim 14, Bader in view of Booher teaches and/or make obvious of the limiter device of claim 12, Bader further teaches wherein each notch is comprised of two sides parallel to the height of the cylindrical body and one side perpendicular to the height of the cylindrical body (see notch 416 in “U” shape where bottom portion is perpendicular to the heigh of the cylindrical body and two sides are parallel to the height of the cylindrical body of device 320 in Fig. 5).
Bader in view of Booher fails to teach said plurality of features comprise a plurality of notches.
However, Brower teaches similar force-limiting element (5, see Fig. 3) having plurality of notches (13, see Fig. 3)
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of claimed invention to have modified a notch in Bader to plurality of notches as taught by Brower improved stability of limiter and for additional inflow openings into the interior of the limiter device (see para. [0016]).
Further, the Examiner interprets it would have been obvious to one having ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to modify device of Bader to have plurality of notches, since it has been held that mere duplication of the essential working parts of a device involves only routine skill in the art. (see MPEP 2144.05)
Conclusion
/DIL K. MAGAR/Examiner, Art Unit 3675
/CHRISTINE M MILLS/Supervisory Patent Examiner, Art Unit 3675