DETAILED ACTION
The present application, filed on or after 16 March 2013, is being examined under the first inventor to file provisions of the AIA .
Response to Election/Restriction
Applicant’s election without traverse of Group I, claims 1-8, and the species cellulose nanocrystals, agarose, calcium carbonate, nonionic surfactant sorbitan monooleate, and epichlorohydrin in the reply filed on 26 August 2026 is acknowledged.
Status of Claims
Claims 1-15 are pending in the instant Office Action.
Claims 9-15 withdrawn from further consideration pursuant to 37 CFR 1.142(b) as being drawn to a nonelected invention, there being no allowable generic or linking claim. Election was made without traverse in the reply filed on 26 August 2026.
Claims 1-8 are under consideration in the instant Office Action, to the extent of the following elected species:
the specific rigid nanoparticles are cellulose nanocrystals; and
the specific polysaccharide is agarose.
Priority
Acknowledgment is made of applicant’s claim for foreign priority under 35 U.S.C. 119 (a)-(d). The certified copy of parent Chinese Application No. CN 202210632048.9, filed on 7 June 2022, has been received from the International Bureau.
Information Disclosure Statement
The information disclosure statements (IDSs) submitted on 2 December 2024 and 12 June 2026 were in compliance with the provisions of 37 CFR 1.97. Accordingly, the IDSs are being considered by the examiner.
Claim Objections
Claims 1-2 and 5-6 are objected to because of the following informalities:
Claim 1 recites “Polymeric microparticle…” in line 1. Subsequent limitations recited in claim 1 refer to polymeric microparticles in the plural and the quoted phrase should be pluralized to parallel the rest of the claim.
Claim 2 recites “the rigid nanoparticle is a biomacromolecule” in lines 1-2. Claim 1, from which claim 2 depends, recites “rigid nanoparticles” and the quoted phrase should be amended to recite “the rigid nanoparticles are biomacromolecules” (bold added for emphasis).
Claims 5-6 recite “a portion of the gel pore” line 2 of each claim. Claim 1, from which claim 5 depends and claim 6 indirectly depends, recites “gel pores”. The quoted phrase from claims 5-6 should be pluralized to mirror claim 1.
Appropriate correction is required.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 112
Claims 1-8 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 112(b) or 35 U.S.C. 112 (pre-AIA ), second paragraph, as being indefinite for failing to particularly point out and distinctly claim the subject matter which the inventor or a joint inventor (or for applications subject to pre-AIA 35 U.S.C. 112, the applicant), regards as the invention.
Claim 1 recites “Polymeric microparticle with dual size pores, wherein the polymeric microparticles are formed by crosslinking at least partially cross-linkable oligomer materials, including rigid nanoparticles, wherein at least one of the rigid nanoparticles has a non-spherical shape in a solution; the polymeric microparticles have two sets of pores having distinctive sizes distributed inside, wherein the first set of pores are macropores larger in size, and the second set of pores are gel pores that are smaller in size and formed internal structural ordering at least in regions.”
The phrases “distinctive sizes,” “macropores larger in size,” “gel pores that are smaller in size,” and “formed internal structural ordering at least in regions” in claim 1 are relative phrases and lack objective boundaries. “Distinctive,” “larger,” “smaller,” and “internal structural ordering” are not defined by quantitative or qualitative criteria that would allow a skilled artisan to determine the scope of the claim with reasonable certainty. While numerical ranges are later provided for pore diameters, the preceding qualitative descriptors remain indefinite and do not clearly correlate with those ranges, rendering the claim indefinite. Claims 2-8 depend from claim 1, incorporate all of its limitations, and are therefore also rejected as being indefinite.
Claim 3 recites “the non-spherical rigid nanoparticles” in lines 1-2. Claim 1, from which claim 3 depends, recites “at least one of the rigid nanoparticles has a non-spherical shape in a solution”. It is unclear if the quoted limitation from claim 3 is limiting one non-spherical rigid nanoparticle, multiple non-spherical rigid nanoparticles, or all rigid nanoparticles which therefore must be non-spherical, rendering the claim indefinite. Applicant may overcome this rejection by amending claim 3 to recite “the at least one rigid nanoparticle having a non-spherical shape” or amending claim 1 to recite “one or more spherical rigid nanoparticles and one or more non-spherical rigid nanoparticles”.
Claim 3 also recites “the molecule” in the final line of the claim. Neither claim 3 nor claim 1, from which claim 3 depends, recite “a molecule”. Applicant may overcome this rejection by replacing the subject “molecule” with a subject recited in claims 1 or 3.
Claim 4 recites “the non-spherical rigid nanoparticles” in lines 1-2. Claim 1, from which claim 4 depends, recites “at least one of the rigid nanoparticles has a non-spherical shape in a solution”. It is unclear if the quoted limitation from claim 4 is limiting one non-spherical rigid nanoparticle, multiple non-spherical rigid nanoparticles, or all rigid nanoparticles which therefore must be non-spherical, rendering the claim indefinite. Applicant may overcome this rejection by amending claim 4 to recite “the at least one rigid nanoparticle having a non-spherical shape” or amending claim 1 to recite “one or more spherical rigid nanoparticles and one or more non-spherical rigid nanoparticles”.
Claims 3-4 recite a “feature direction” in the final line of each claim. The meaning of a “feature direction” is unclear and the specification does not provide a definition, rendering the claims indefinite.
Claim 5 recites “its adjacent one has a certain correlation”. The phrase “adjacent one” is ambiguous because it is unclear what the “one” is and the phrase “a certain correlation” is unclear, rendering the claim indefinite.
Claim 5 also recites “wherein at least in a substantially ordered area, at least a portion of the gel pore and at least a portion of its adjacent one has a certain correlation with the arrangement of their directions and positions.” The specification defines “substantially ordered” in paragraph 0057 of the PG Pub publication US 2025/0339379 in language that substantially tracks the claim: “substantially ordered refers to that at least in a substantially ordered area, at least a portion of the pore and at least a portion of its adjacent one has a certain correlation with the arrangement of their directions and positions. Specifically, at least in a substantially ordered area, at least a portion of the pore is substantially parallel, fan-shaped, or spirally arranged with at least a portion of its adjacent one.” However, this definition is circular and does not provide objective criteria (such as a statistical measure of correlation, or a standardized measurement method). Illustrative examples in the specification (radial, bipolar, or loop configurations observed under crossed polarizers) do not define the boundary between a region that is “substantially ordered” and one that is not, nor do they define what constitutes “a certain correlation.” The terms “substantially ordered area” and “a certain correlation” therefore render claim 5 indefinite.
Claim 6 also recites “its adjacent one” in the final line. As stated above, this limitation is ambiguous because it is unclear what the “one” is and the claim is indefinite.
Claim 6 depends from claim 5 and recites that “at least a portion of the gel pore is substantially parallel, fan-shaped, or spirally arranged with at least a portion of its adjacent one.” As with claim 5, the terms “substantially parallel,” “fan-shaped,” and “spirally arranged” are relative descriptors of degree or qualitative arrangement that lack defined quantitative boundaries. The specification’s definition of “substantially ordered” expressly incorporates these same terms without supplying angular deviation limits, curvature criteria, or measurement methods. Combined with the indefinite “substantially ordered area” of claim 5, the scope of claim 6 cannot be determined with reasonable certainty.
Claim 7 recites “having no obvious non-spherical shape” in lines 2-3. The meaning of an “obvious” non-spherical shape is unclear and no clear manner of determining what is obvious or non-obvious is disclosed, rendering the claim indefinite.
Claim 8 recites that the polymeric microparticles “are used as stationary phases for chromatographic separations.” While this is a use limitation, it is indefinite in the present context because it does not clearly limit the structure of the claimed microparticles. It is unclear whether the claim requires that the microparticles possess any particular structural feature that makes them suitable as stationary phases, or whether any microparticle meeting claim 1 automatically satisfies the limitation merely by being capable of such use. The claim therefore fails to particularly point out the structural scope of the invention.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claims 1-3 and 5-8 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Levin et al. (Chem. Mater. 2018, 30, 8040., provided by Applicant in the IDS filed on 2 December 2024, hereafter referred to as Levin) as evidenced by Spencer et al. (J. Chem. Phys. 2022, 156, 114902.) in view of Zhao et al. (Biochem. Eng. J. 2021, 166, 107826., hereafter referred to as Zhao).
Levin teaches the use of cross-linked cellulose nanocrystals to form ultraporous micrometer-sized particles for applications in, among other fields, sorption (Abstract). The integration of biobased materials into porous microparticles is taught to be desirable, particularly in the case of cellulose, because of the biomacromolecule’s biodegradability, high abundance, high surface area, and tunable mechanical properties (pg. 8041, left col., para. 2). Cellulose nanocrystals (CNC) are taught to be of particular interest due to their commercial availability, high surface area, biocompatibility, degradability, renewability, and “impressive mechanical strength” (pg. 8041, left col., final para.). Levin teaches that cellulose nanocrystals are typically “rodlike nanoparticles” (pg. 8041, left col., final para.), which is considered equivalent to “rod-shaped” as recited in instant claim 3.
Levin utilizes the properties of CNC to cross-link the biomacromolecule to produce microparticles that are easy to process and employ sustainable materials to produce “cross-linked solid particles…with sizes and mechanical properties tunable through fabrication conditions” (pg. 8041, right col., para. 2). The microparticles taught by Levin comprise CNC cross-linked to CNC, which they describe as “all-CNC microparticles” (pg. 8041, right col., para. 2 and pg. 8043, right col., final para.). The microparticles are taught to have “macropores and mesopores” (Abstract), which Levin teaches to be <50 nm (mesopores) and >1 mm (macropores) (pg. 8047, right col., para. 1 and 2).
Finally, Levin teaches the internal structure of the CNC microparticles to have order, specifically chiral nematic ordering in the case of CNC microparticles that have not been cross-linked (pg. 8045, right col., para. 1 and Fig. S1) and radial ordering in cross-linked CNC microparticles (pg. 8047, left col., para. 2). As evidenced by Spencer et al., a chiral nematic orientation describes objects which rotate about an axis normal to the nematic director, have a chiral pitch, and rotate 360° about a central axis, which is considered equivalent to the recited “spirally arranged” in instant claim 6.
Guidelines on the obviousness of similar and overlapping ranges, amounts, and proportions are provided in MPEP § 2144.05. With respect to claimed ranges which “overlap or lie inside ranges disclosed by the prior art” a prima facie case of obviousness exists. In re Wertheim, 541 F.2d 257, 191 USPQ 90 (CCPA 1976); In re Woodruff, 919 F.2d 1575, 16 USPQ2d 1934 (Fed. Cir. 1990). These guidelines apply to the two sets of pore diameters taught by Levin.
Levin does not teach the CNC to be cross-linked with agarose. This deficiency is offset by the teachings of Zhao.
Zhao teaches high-strength and low-crystallinity microspheres of cellulose and agarose and their application in protein separation (Title and Abstract). Efficient and stable protein purification is taught to be an area of focus and while attempts have been made to use cellulose-based chromatography in this area, Zhao teaches that the mechanical properties and specific surface area of cellulose lead to undesirable impacts on service life and adsorption capacity when used in chromatography (pg. 1, Introduction, para. 1-2). Two common strategies to overcome the drawbacks associated with cellulose are taught to be doping with polymers or rigid materials and chemical cross-linking, but Zhao teaches that both of these approaches can have their own drawbacks such as increased hydrophobicity, which is incompatible with protein purification, reduced biocompatibility/biodegradability, and poor yields in cross-linking reactions (pg. 1-2, Introduction, para. 3). In particular, Zhao teaches that issues in cross-linking reactions typically occur because they are performed after the formation of gel structures, which Zhao names “post-crosslinking” (pg. 1-2, Introduction, para. 3).
To overcome issues with post-crosslinking of cellulose and inherent properties adverse to the purification of proteins, Zhao teaches a “pre-crosslinking” reaction which creates cellulose/agarose composite microspheres (CAMs) (pg. 2, left col., para. 3). Zhao teaches this approach produces microspheres that have “enhanced mechanical properties and high specific surface area” and compared the CAMs produced via pre-crosslinking to microspheres prepared via the traditional post-crosslinking method, termed PRCA and POCA, respectively (pg. 2, left col., para. 3 and 2.2. Preparation of cellulose/agarose composite microspheres). Utilizing various techniques, Zhao demonstrated that the PRCA microspheres had superior surface area and mechanical strength as compared to the POCA microspheres and found that the PRCA microspheres had “excellent performances for protein separation, including high adsorption capacities, recyclability, and dynamic binding capacity” (pg. 7-8, 4. Conclusions).
It would have been prima facie obvious to a person of ordinary skill in the art, prior to the filing of the instant application, to modify the invention of Levin to “pre-crosslink” cellulose nanocrystals with agarose in view of the teachings of Zhao because the use of a known technique to improve a similar invention in a known manner produces predictable results. Levin teaches porous microparticles comprising rod-like cellulose nanocrystals which are cross-linkable arranged in chiral nematic ordering, which is considered equivalent to “spirally arranged”, or radial ordering. The microparticles are taught to have two sets of pores – macropores, which are >1 mm in diameter, and mesopores, which are <50 nm in diameter. Finaly, Levin teaches the microparticles to have applications in the field of sorption, which is related to chromatography.
In view of the teachings of Zhao, one of ordinary skill would be motivated to crosslink the cellulose nanocrystals in the invention of Levin with agarose because Zhao teaches the resulting cellulose/agarose microspheres to have superior properties than cellulose alone in the field of chromatography, with specific applications in protein purification. Levin teaches that the cellulose microparticles of their invention have application in fields such as chromatography and an ordinary artisan would desire their invention to have optimal properties for its intended purpose. In addition, while Levin teaches applications in sorption, they do not teach the specific field of protein chromatography. The teachings of Zhao introduce a new area of research interest to which an ordinary artisan can apply their invention, which a person of ordinary skill would recognize as desirable.
The recitation of the phrases “are formed by” in instant claim 1 and “are copolymerized to form” in instant claim 7 are considered steps in product-by-process claims. “The patentability of a product does not depend on its method of production. If the product in the product-by-process claim is the same as or obvious from a product of the prior art, the claim is unpatentable even though the prior product was made by a different process." In re Thorpe, 777 F.2d 695, 698, 227 USPQ 964, 966 (Fed. Cir. 1985). See MPEP § 2113. The teachings of Levin and Zhao rendered obvious polymeric microparticles comprising rod-like cellulose nanocrystals and agarose with macropores and mesopores. Therefore, because the product is obvious in view of the prior art, the claims are unpatentable even if the obvious product is made by a different process.
Instant claim 8 recites the intended use of “the polymeric microparticles are used as stationary phases for chromatographic separations”. A recitation of the intended use of the claimed invention must result in a structural difference between the claimed invention and the prior art in order to patentably distinguish the claimed invention from the prior art. If the prior art structure is capable of performing the intended use, then it meets the claim.
Applicant is claiming a product in claim 1, from which claim 8 depends. Once the structure is met by the prior art the intended use of the claim is an innate property of the product or composition. "Products of identical chemical composition can not have mutually exclusive properties." In re Spada, 911 F.2d 705, 709, 15 USPQ2d 1655, 1658 (Fed. Cir. 1990). A chemical composition and its properties are inseparable. Therefore, if the prior art teaches the identical chemical structure, the properties applicant discloses and/or claims are necessarily present. Id. Therefore, because the product is has been rendered obvious by the teachings of Levin and Zhao, the intended use of cellulose/agarose polymeric microparticles “used as stationary phases for chromatographic separations” is met. As a result, there is a reasonable expectation of success in arriving at the invention of claims 1-3 and 5-8 in view of the teachings of Levin and Zhao.
Claim 4 is rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Levin (Chem. Mater. 2018, 30, 8040., provided by Applicant in the IDS filed on 2 December 2024) as evidenced by Spencer et al. (J. Chem. Phys. 2022, 156, 114902.) in view of Zhao (Biochem. Eng. J. 2021, 166, 107826.) as applied to claims 1-3 and 5-8 above, and further in view of Torlopov et al. (Carbohydr. Polym. 2018, 200, 162., hereafter referred to as Torlopov).
Levin and Zhao have been described above.
Levin and Zhao do not teach the cellulose nanocrystals to be disk shaped. This deficiency is offset by the teachings of Torlopov.
Torlopov teaches the preparation of disk-like cellulose nanocrystals from regenerated cellulose (Abstract). Cellulose nanocrystals are taught to be obtained by various methods including acid-catalyzed hydrolysis, mechanochemical, oxidative, and biotechnological methods, and heteropolyacid treatment, and are typically produced with a rod-like morphology (pg. 162, right col., para. 2 - pg. 163, left col., para. 1). Torlopov teaches that cellulose nanocrystals are capably of undergoing polymorphic transition which changes hydrogen bonding, crystalline shape and size, nanoparticle surface, and nanoparticle surface interactions, resulting in modifiable stability and rheological properties (pg. 163, left col., para. 2).
In the current study, Torlopov teaches that regenerated cellulose can be obtained from treatment of abundantly available cotton fibers treated successively with a basic solution and freeze-drying (pg. 164-165, 3.2. Preparation of CNC). Relatively short solvolysis for ~40 min. of the regenerated cellulose in an acetic acid and octanol solution with a phosphotungstic acid catalyst produced cellulose nanocrystals with a plate- or disk-like shape (pg. 164-165, 3.1. Preparation of CNC and 3.2. Size and morphology of CNC). Cellulose nanocrystals prepared via the solvolysis method are taught to be equally thermostable as the starting regenerated cellulose (pg. 167, 3.5. Thermogravimetric analysis and pg. 170, 4. Conclusions), to have plate-like morphology, and to allow “improvement of the existing applications” of cellulose nanocrystals (pg. 170, 4. Conclusions).
It would have been prima facie obvious to a person of ordinary skill in the art, prior to the filing of the instant application, to modify the invention rendered obvious by the teachings of Levin and Zhao to use disk-shaped cellulose nanocrystals in view of the teachings of Torlopov because simple substitution of one known element for another to impart an economic benefit produces predictable results. The teachings of Levin and Zhao rendered obvious porous cellulose/agarose microparticles comprising cellulose nanocrystals which are cross-linkable arranged in chiral nematic ordering, which is considered equivalent to “spirally arranged”, or radial ordering and two sets of pores – macropores, which are >1 mm in diameter, and mesopores, which are <50 nm in diameter.
Levin teaches cellulose nanocrystals to typically have rod-like morphology, but does not teach a benefit to the shape nor teach a method of producing the cellulose nanocrystals. In view of the teachings of Torlopov, one of ordinary skill would be motivated to produce cellulose nanocrystals through the solvolysis of regenerated cellulose, which have disk-like morphology, because Torlopov teaches cellulose nanocrystals produced in this manner are obtainable from the readily available and inexpensive material of cotton fibers. The ordinary artisan would recognize this source as economically beneficial and would be motivated to obtain the cellulose nanocrystals from the method taught by Torlopov. In addition, Torlopov teaches the disk-like cellulose nanocrystals produced via their method to be stable and capable of improving existing applications, which the ordinary artisan would recognize as desirable in their invention and would subsequently be motivated to incorporate the material. As a result, there is a reasonable expectation of success in arriving at the invention of claim 4 in view of the teachings of Levin and Zhao and further in view of the teachings of Torlopov.
Double Patenting
Claims 1-8 are provisionally rejected on the ground of nonstatutory double patenting as being unpatentable over claims 1, 4-5, 9, 12, 15-16, 24, 26, and 36 of copending Application No. 18/730,210 in view of Levin (Chem. Mater. 2018, 30, 8040., provided by Applicant in the IDS filed on 2 December 2024).
This is a provisional nonstatutory double patenting rejection.
Commonly assigned copending Application No. 18/730,210 recites porous polymer microparticles comprising partially cross-linkable oligomer materials including non-spherical rigid nanoparticles which form a substantially ordered structure (claim 1). The shape of the non-spherical rigid nanoparticles is recited to be rod-, strip-, sheet-, needle-, disk-, or linear shaped (claims 4-5). The non-spherical rigid nanoparticles are recited to be biomacromolecules, in one embodiment cellulose nanocrystals (claims 9 and 12). Application ‘210 further recites the polymer microparticles to comprise a polysaccharide “having no obvious non-spherical shape in a solution”, which in one embodiment is agarose (claims 15-16). Finally, ‘210 recites the pores in the microparticles to be ordered and have diameters of 1-1000 nm (claims 24 and 26) and the polymer microparticles to be used as stationary phases for chromatography (claim 36).
Commonly assigned copending Application No. 18/730,210 does not recite the order of the pores nor pore sizes of 2-20 mm. These deficiencies are offset by the teachings of Levin.
Levin has been described above.
Instant claims 1-8 are obvious variations of copending Application No. 18/730,210 because it would have been prima facie obvious to a person of ordinary skill in the art at the time of filing to modify the pores in the polymer microparticles recited by Application ‘210 to order the pores in a radial or chiral nematic arrangement and to have sizes of >1 mm in diameter in addition to the smaller pores in view of the teachings of Levin.
One of ordinary skill would be motivated to modify the pores in the invention recited by Application ‘210 to be ordered in view of the teachings of Levin because ‘210 does not recite the spatial arrangement of the pores recited in their invention and Levin provides missing information the ordinary artisan would need to complete their invention. In addition, Application ‘210 only recites one size of pores for use in their chromatographic medium, one of which encompasses the size range of mesopores taught by Levin. A person of ordinary skill would be motivated to have dual size pores, with the larger macropores having a size of >1 mm in diameter, in view of the teachings of Levin because the reference teaches that dual size pores are viable in chromatographic media comprising cellulose nanocrystal and the ordinary artisan would recognize the increased chromatography applicability of their invention with two different pore sizes.
Claims 1-8 are provisionally rejected on the ground of nonstatutory double patenting as being unpatentable over claims 1-11 and 13 of copending Application No. 18/871,082 in view of Levin (Chem. Mater. 2018, 30, 8040., provided by Applicant in the IDS filed on 2 December 2024).
This is a provisional nonstatutory double patenting rejection.
Commonly assigned copending Application No. 18/871,082 recites a chromatography medium composed of polymer materials comprising cross-linkable oligomer materials, including non-spherical rigid nanoparticles, which are ordered (claims 1-4). The non-spherical rigid nanoparticles are recited as being rod-, strip-, sheet-, needle-, disk-, or linear shaped (claims 5-6). The polymer materials are recited as having internal order that may be parallel, fan-shaped, or spirally arranged along a defined direction (claims 7-8). The rigid nanoparticles are recited as being in some embodiments cellulose nanocrystals (claims 9-10). Application ‘082 further recites the polymer materials to comprise a polysaccharide having no obvious non-spherical shape in a solution, which in one embodiment is agarose (claims 11 and 13).
Commonly assigned copending Application No. 18/871,082 does not recite the chromatography medium to have pores nor the arrangement or size of pores. These deficiencies are offset by the teachings of Levin.
Levin has been described above.
Instant claims 1-8 are obvious variations of copending Application No. 18/871,082 because it would have been prima facie obvious to a person of ordinary skill in the art at the time of filing to modify the invention recited by Application ‘082 to possess pores with dual sizes and a specific arrangement in view of the teachings of Levin.
One of ordinary skill would be motivated to modify the invention recited by Application ‘082 to have pores in view of the teachings of Levin because Levin teaches the pores to provide the chromatographic functionality in the cellulose nanocrystal containing microparticles, which the ordinary artisan would recognize as necessary for the application recited in Application ‘082. Levin teaches that the pores in microparticles comprising cellulose nanocrystals are ordered in radial or chiral nematic arrangement and have dual sizes of >1 mm in diameter and <50 nm in diameter, which the ordinary artisan would be motivated to incorporate in the invention of ‘082 because it provides missing information necessary to use the polymeric microparticles in chromatographic applications.
Claims 1-8 are directed to an invention not patentably distinct from claims 1, 4-5, 9, 12, 15-16, 24, 26, and 36 and claims 1-11 and 13 of commonly assigned copending Application Nos. 18/730,210 and 18/871,082, respectively, in view of Levin. Specifically, see above.
The U.S. Patent and Trademark Office may not institute a derivation proceeding in the absence of a timely filed petition. The USPTO normally will not institute a derivation proceeding between applications or a patent and an application having common ownership (see 37 CFR 42.411). Commonly assigned copending Application Nos. 18/730,210 and 18/871,082, discussed above, may form the basis for a rejection of the noted claims under 35 U.S.C. 102 or 103 if the commonly assigned case qualifies as prior art under 35 U.S.C. 102(a)(2) and the patentably indistinct inventions were not commonly owned or deemed to be commonly owned not later than the effective filing date under 35 U.S.C. 100(i) of the claimed invention.
In order for the examiner to resolve this issue the applicant or patent owner can provide a statement under 35 U.S.C. 102(b)(2)(C) and 37 CFR 1.104(c)(4)(i) to the effect that the subject matter and the claimed invention, not later than the effective filing date of the claimed invention, were owned by the same person or subject to an obligation of assignment to the same person. Alternatively, the applicant or patent owner can provide a statement under 35 U.S.C. 102(c) and 37 CFR 1.104(c)(4)(ii) to the effect that the subject matter was developed and the claimed invention was made by or on behalf of one or more parties to a joint research agreement that was in effect on or before the effective filing date of the claimed invention, and the claimed invention was made as a result of activities undertaken within the scope of the joint research agreement; the application must also be amended to disclose the names of the parties to the joint research agreement.
A showing that the inventions were commonly owned or deemed to be commonly owned not later than the effective filing date under 35 U.S.C. 100(i) of the claimed invention will preclude a rejection under 35 U.S.C. 102 or 103 based upon the commonly assigned case. Alternatively, applicant may take action to amend or cancel claims such that the applications, or the patent and the application, no longer contain claims directed to patentably indistinct inventions.
Conclusion
No claims are allowed.
/S.J.S./
Examiner, Art Unit 1619
/TIGABU KASSA/Primary Examiner, Art Unit 1619