DETAILED CORRESPONDENCE
This is the first Office Action on the merits of Application 18/871,019 filed on 12/2/24. Claims 1-15 are pending.
Priority
Receipt is acknowledged of certified copies of papers required by 37 CFR 1.55.
Information Disclosure Statement
The information disclosure statement (IDS) submitted on 12/2/24 & 11/20/25 are in compliance with the provisions of 37 CFR 1.97. Accordingly, the information disclosure statements are being considered by the examiner.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 102
Claims 1-3, 12 & 15 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 102(a)(1) as being anticipated by EP 2961634 to Clause et al. (applicant cited reference).
Claim 1
Clause discloses in Figs 1-5,
A window glass assembly comprising: a glass panel (e.g. 1) having a through hole (e.g. 2) formed thereon, the through hole extending through the glass panel in a thickness direction of the glass panel; a connecting member (e.g. 4) fixedly arranged on a panel surface of the glass panel in a circumferential direction around the through hole; a bracket assembly (e.g. 3) connected to the connecting member; and a switch key assembly (paragraph 24, see electric device in Figs 4 & 5) mounted on the bracket assembly, a key of the switch key assembly being inserted into the through hole.
Claim 2
The window glass assembly according to claim 1, wherein the connecting member is integrally formed between the panel surface of the glass panel and the bracket assembly by injection molding; or the connecting member is an adhesive member (e.g. 4 & 37, paragraphs 31 and 33), and is bonded and fixed to the panel surface of the glass panel and the bracket assembly.
Claim 3
The window glass assembly according to claim 2, wherein a spacing between an inner edge of the connecting member and a hole edge of the through hole is defined as d, and wherein d>0.5 mm (Fig 1b, Paragraph 31).
Claim 15
A vehicle, comprising the window glass assembly according to claim 1 (paragraph 33).
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claims 12 & 13 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over EP 2961634 to Clause et al. (applicant cited reference).
Claim 12
Clause discloses a window glass assembly with a glass panel, connecting member, bracket assembly and switch key assembly. Clause however, does not explicitly disclose that a minimum spacing between a central axis of the through hole and an edge of the glass panel is defined as S, a radius of the through hole is defined as r, and S and r satisfy the following expression: S>3r. It would have been obvious for one having ordinary skill in the art before the claims were effectively filed to select a minimum spacing between a central axis of the through hole and an edge of the glass panel is defined as S, a radius of the through hole is defined as r, and S and r satisfy the following expression: S>3r., since it has been held that discovering an optimum value of a result effective variable involves only routine skill in the art. In re Boesch, 617 F.2d 272, 205 USPQ 215 (CCPA 1980).
Claim 13
Clause does not explicitly disclose wherein the connecting member is a thermoplastic encapsulation, and a hardness of the connecting member is in a range of 50 Shore to 80 Shore; and the connecting member is a thermosetting encapsulation, and a hardness of the connecting member is above 80 Shore. It would have been obvious for one having ordinary skill in the art before the claims were effectively filed to wherein the connecting member is a thermoplastic encapsulation, and a hardness of the connecting member is in a range of 50 Shore to 80 Shore; and the connecting member is a thermosetting encapsulation, and a hardness of the connecting member is above 80 Shore, since it has held to be within the general skill of a worker in the art to select a known material on the basis of its suitability for the intended use as a matter of obvious design choice. In re Leshin, 125 USPQ 416.
Allowable Subject Matter
Claims 4-11 & 14 objected to as being dependent upon a rejected base claim, but would be allowable if rewritten in independent form including all of the limitations of the base claim and any intervening claims.
Conclusion
The prior art made of record and not relied upon is considered pertinent to applicant's disclosure.
Shimomura ‘225 teaches a glass sheet and glad window for a vehicles.
Gates ‘840 teaches a vehicle liftgate window component module.
Yu ‘921 teaches a vehicle window glass assembly and manufacturing thereof.
/HUAN LE/Primary Examiner, Art Unit 3655