DETAILED ACTION
Status of Claims
The status of the claims as filed in the submission dated 12/2/2024 are as follows:
Claims 1-10 are pending and are being examined.
Specification
The following guidelines illustrate the preferred layout for the specification of a utility application. These guidelines are suggested for the applicant’s use.
Arrangement of the Specification
As provided in 37 CFR 1.77(b), the specification of a utility application should include the following sections in order. Each of the lettered items should appear in upper case, without underlining or bold type, as a section heading. If no text follows the section heading, the phrase “Not Applicable” should follow the section heading:
(a) TITLE OF THE INVENTION.
(b) CROSS-REFERENCE TO RELATED APPLICATIONS.
(c) STATEMENT REGARDING FEDERALLY SPONSORED RESEARCH OR DEVELOPMENT.
(d) THE NAMES OF THE PARTIES TO A JOINT RESEARCH AGREEMENT.
(e) INCORPORATION-BY-REFERENCE OF MATERIAL SUBMITTED ON A READ-ONLY OPTICAL DISC, AS A TEXT FILE OR AN XML FILE VIA THE PATENT ELECTRONIC SYSTEM.
(f) STATEMENT REGARDING PRIOR DISCLOSURES BY THE INVENTOR OR A JOINT INVENTOR.
(g) BACKGROUND OF THE INVENTION.
(1) Field of the Invention.
(2) Description of Related Art including information disclosed under 37 CFR 1.97 and 1.98.
(h) BRIEF SUMMARY OF THE INVENTION.
(i) BRIEF DESCRIPTION OF THE SEVERAL VIEWS OF THE DRAWING(S).
(j) DETAILED DESCRIPTION OF THE INVENTION.
(k) CLAIM OR CLAIMS (commencing on a separate sheet).
(l) ABSTRACT OF THE DISCLOSURE (commencing on a separate sheet).
(m) SEQUENCE LISTING. (See MPEP § 2422.03 and 37 CFR 1.821 - 1.825). A “Sequence Listing” is required on paper if the application discloses a nucleotide or amino acid sequence as defined in 37 CFR 1.821(a) and if the required “Sequence Listing” is not submitted as an electronic document either on read-only optical disc or as a text file via the patent electronic system.
The disclosure is objected to because of the following informalities: The specification does not have section headers as outlined above.
Appropriate correction is required.
Claim Interpretation
Claim 6 recites “preassembly means for preassembly”, which invokes 112(f). The applicants’ disclosure outlines the preassembly means for as a protrusion and hole between the two side plates. Thus, the “preassembly means for preassembly will be interpreted as such and equivalent structure.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 102
Claims 1, 2, 4, and 6-10 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 102(a)(1) as being anticipated by Kolder (US2018/0306520A1).
Re Claim 1. Kolder teaches a heat exchanger (1) comprising (Figures 1-3):
an exchange core bundle (3) through which a heat-transfer liquid and a gas flow are intended to pass, the exchange core bundle comprising (Figures 1-3; Paragraphs 37-44):
a plurality of plates (2) stacked one on another along a stacking direction and delimiting, between at least two adjacent plates (Figures 1-3; Paragraphs 37-44); and
at least one circulation duct (internal flow path between plates) for the heat-transfer liquid, wherein each circulation duct communicating by way of a first end with a first channel of the exchange core bundle and by way of a second end with a second channel of the exchange core bundle (Figures 1-3; Paragraphs 37-44); and
a housing (8) surrounding the exchange core bundle (Figures 1-3; Paragraphs 37-44), the housing comprising:
at least one upper cover plate (12), a lower cover plate (opposite plate to 12), at least one main side cover plate (13), wherein the main side cover plate is arranged in a continuation of the upper cover plate and/or of the lower cover plate, and at least one intermediate side cover plate (4) interposed between the exchange core bundle and the main side cover plate (Figures 1-3; Paragraphs 37-44) .
Re Claim 2. Kolder teaches the first channel and the second channel are formed by stacking the plates in a stacking direction (Figures 1-3; Paragraphs 37-44).
Re Claim 4. Kolder teaches the housing has at least one junction zone (i.e. connection points between components) between at least one main side cover plate and the upper cover plate and/or the lower cover plate, wherein the intermediate side cover plate extending along the main side cover plate, the lower cover plate and/or the upper cover plate and said junction zone (Figures 1-3; Paragraphs 37-44).
Re Claim 6. Kolder teaches the housing comprises a preassembly means (6, 7, 16) for preassembly between the intermediate side cover plate and the main side cover plate against which said intermediate side cover plate bears (Figures 1-3; Paragraphs 37-44; Plate 4 comprises protrusions 6, 7 and the main cover 13 comprises a recessed housing with holes 16 for the protrusions of 4).
Re Claim 7. Kolder teaches the preassembly means comprises an interaction between at least one protruding element (6, 7) and one hole (16), wherein the protruding element is integral with one of the side cover plates and the hole is formed in the other side cover plate (Figures 1-3; Paragraphs 37-44).
Re Claim 8. Kolder teaches the intermediate side cover plate comprises: a first edge in contact with the upper cover plate; and a second edge in contact with the lower cover plate (Figures 1-3; Paragraphs 37-44; The intermediate side cover plate extends between the upper and lower cover plates).
Re Claim 9. Kolder teaches the upper cover plate and/or the lower cover plate comprises at least one edge provided with a fillet (edges are curved and thus are considered a fillet. No specific dimensional requirement for the fillet is recited), wherein the first edge and/or the second edge of the intermediate side cover plate having a complementary rounding to the fillet (Figures 1-3; Paragraphs 37-44).
Re Claim 10. Kolder teaches the housing comprises two intermediate side cover plates (4, 5), each being connected to a main side cover plate (Figures 1-3; Paragraphs 37-44).
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claim 5 is rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Kolder (US2018/0306520A1) in view of Garrett (US2011/0168365A1).
Re Claim 5. Kolder teaches the junction zone comprises: at least one first join between the intermediate side cover plate and the upper cover plate and/or the lower cover plate; a second join between the intermediate side cover plate and the main side cover plate; and a third join between the main side cover plate and the upper cover plate and/or the lower cover plate (Figures 1-3; Paragraphs 37-44).
Kolder fails to specifically teach the joins are brazed together.
However, Garrett teaches it is known to braze together a heat exchanger with multiple joints (Figures 1-2; Paragraphs 21-27, 37-38, 43, 46, 56-61).
Therefore, in view of Garrett's teaching, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art at the time the invention was filed to braze the assembly of Kolder in order to provide a fluid tight assembly, as is well-known in the art.
Allowable Subject Matter
Claim 3 is objected to as being dependent upon a rejected base claim, but would be allowable if rewritten in independent form including all of the limitations of the base claim and any intervening claims.
The following is a statement of reasons for the indication of allowable subject matter:
Claim 3 recites “the intermediate side cover plate has a dimension greater than a dimension of the main side cover plate against which said intermediate side cover plate bears, these dimensions being measured parallel to the stacking direction”. The intermediate cover of Kolder is overlapped by the main cover. If the intermediate cover of Kolder was modified to have a dimension greater than a dimension of the main side cover plate against which said intermediate side cover plate bears, the main side cover plate of Kolder would not be able to be secured to the rest of the housing. There would be no motivation to further modify the prior art without utilizing impermissible hindsight reasoning or without changing the principle of operation of the prior art. Therefore, the invention is novel and non-obvious in view of the prior art.
Conclusion
The prior art made of record and not relied upon is considered pertinent to applicant's disclosure. See attached PTO-892 for other relevant prior art.
/TRAVIS RUBY/Primary Examiner, Art Unit 3763