Response to Amendment
The amendments filed on 12/02/2024 have been fully considered and are made of record.
Claims 1-11 have been amended.
Claims 12-19 have been newly added.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 102
Claim(s) 1-2, 4-13 and 15-19 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 102(a1) as being anticipated by Kieffel et al. (Pub NO. Us 2016/0241004 A1; hereinafter Kieffel).
Regarding Claim 1, Kieffle teaches a high-voltage device (See [0001]) comprising
an encapsulating housing (housing 22 in Fig. 6; See [0143]) and at least one active component arranged in the encapsulating housing (active component 24 inside housing 22 in Fig. 5; See [0143]),
wherein the at least one active component is coated with at least one polymer (active component 24 is coated with polymer 25/26 in Fig. 6; See [0143]).
Regarding Claim 2, Kieffle teaches the high-voltage device according to claim 1, wherein the at least one polymer is formed on the at least one active component in the form of an insulating layer (polymer 25/26 is on active component 24 as insulating layer in fig. 6; See [0143]).
Regarding Claim 4, Kieffle teaches the high-voltage device according to claim 1, wherein the high-voltage device includes a measuring transducer or is a measuring transducer (See [0074]).
Regarding Claim 5, Kieffle teaches the high-voltage device according to claim 1, wherein the encapsulating housing is filled in part or completely with clean air (See [0009]).
Regarding Claim 6, Kieffle teaches the high-voltage device according to claim 1, wherein the at least one active component is any combination of a current active part and a voltage active part or includes any combination of a current active part and a voltage active part (See [0055]-[0057]).
Regarding Claim 7, Kieffle teaches the high-voltage device according to claim 1, wherein the at least one polymer is configured in the form of any combination of a shrink tubing, a dip coating (thick layer is dip coating; See [0143]), a spray coating, and vulcanisation.
Regarding Claim 8, Kieffle teaches the high-voltage device according to claim 1, wherein the at least one polymer comprised of any combination of polytetrafluoroethylene (PTFE) (See [0072]), polychlorotrifluoroethylene (PCTFE), polyolefin, and ethylene tetrafluoroethylene copolymers (ETFE).
Regarding Claim 9, Kieffle teaches the high-voltage device according to claim 1, wherein the at least one active component is comprised of a core shell (active component 25 is core shell of enclosure 22 in Fig. 5; See [0143]).
Regarding Claim 10, Kieffle teaches the high-voltage device according to claim 1, wherein the at least one active component is comprised of any combination of an electrode (active component 24 is electrode in Fig. 6; See [0143]).
Regarding Claim 11, Kieffle teaches a method for increasing a dielectric strength in ahigh-voltage device, the method comprising:
providing an encapsulating housing (housing 22 in Fig. 5; See [0143]);
providing at least one active component arranged in the encapsulating housing (active component 24 inside housing 22 in Fig. 5; See [0143]); and
coating the at least one active component with at least one polymer (active component 24 is coated with polymer 25/26 in Fig. 5; See [0143]), wherein the encapsulating housing is filled with clean air (See [0009]).
Regarding Claim 12, Kieffle teaches the high-voltage device according to claim 1, wherein the high-voltage device is any combination of a current transducer, a voltage transducer and a combination transducer (See [0074]).
Regarding Claim 13, Kieffle teaches the high-voltage device according to claim 5, wherein the clean air is dry, purified air.
Regarding Claim 15, Kieffle teaches the high-voltage device according to claim 1, wherein the at least one active component is comprised of a core shell (active component 25 is core shell of enclosure 22 in Fig. 5; See [0143]) that further comprises any combination of a current active part, a voltage active part (See [0055]-[0057]), an electrode (active component 24 is electrode in Fig. 6; See [0143]), and a conductor through which current flows (conductor 20 in Fig. 5; See [0143]).
Regarding Claim 16, Kieffle teaches the high-voltage device according to claim 15, wherein the conductor further comprises any combination of a primary conductor (primary conductor 20 in fig. 5; See [0143]) and a discharge pipe.
Regarding Claim 17, Kieffle teaches the high-voltage device according to claim 9, wherein the core shell is comprised of any combination of a current active part, a voltage active part (See [0055]-[0057]) and a discharge pipe, and wherein the core shell is coated in part with the at least one polymer (active component 24 is coated with polymer 25/26 in Fig. 5; See [0143]).
Regarding Claim 18, Kieffle teaches the high-voltage device according to claim 17, wherein the polymer coating is on the outside of the core shell (active component 24 is coated with polymer 25/26 in Fig. 5; See [0143]).
Regarding Claim 19, Kieffle teaches the method of claim 11, wherein the at least one polymer is applied by any combination of shrink tubing, dip coating (thick layer is dip coating; See [0143]), spray coating, and vulcanization.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claim(s) 3 and 14 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Kieffle.
Regarding Claim 3, The high-voltage device according to claim 2, wherein the insulating layer has a layer thickness in (See [0139]-[0140]).
Kieffle is silent about the range of 0.5 to 5 millimetres in a region of one millimetre and above.
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art at the time the invention was made to use the range of 0.5 to 5 millimetres in a region of one millimetre and above, since it has been held that where the general conditions of a claim are disclosed in the prior art, discovering the optimum or working ranges involves only routine skill in the art. In re Aller, 105 USPQ 233, in order to achieve high-voltage equipment including a leaktight enclosure (Kieffle; abstract).
Regarding Claim 14, Kieffle teaches the high-voltage device of claim 5, wherein the clean air is at a pressure (See [0048]-[0052]).
Kieffle is silent about in a range of 7 to 15 bar.
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art at the time the invention was made to use in a range of 7 to 15 bar, since it has been held that where the general conditions of a claim are disclosed in the prior art, discovering the optimum or working ranges involves only routine skill in the art. In re Aller, 105 USPQ 233, in order to achieve high-voltage equipment including a leaktight enclosure (Kieffle; abstract).
Conclusion
The prior art made of record and not relied upon is considered pertinent to applicant's disclosure.
Watson et al. (Pub NO. Us 2021/0190851 A1) discloses Digital Modulation/Demodulation with Active Monitoring.
Hansen et al. (Pub NO. US 2019/0259549 A1) discloses Encapsulated Supercapacitor.
ERDMANN et al. (Pub NO. US 2018/0275172 A1) discloses Device for High Voltage.
/ZANNATUL FERDOUS/Examiner, Art Unit 2858
/LEE E RODAK/Supervisory Patent Examiner, Art Unit 2858