Drawings
The drawings are objected to under 37 CFR 1.83(a). The drawings must show every feature of the invention specified in the claims. Therefore, the
Claim 57 “a supporting ring”
must be shown or the feature(s) canceled from the claim(s). No new matter should be entered.
Claim Objections
Claim 53 is objected to because of the limitation “the first lock body” in paragraphs 3 and 4. It is suggested amending the limitation to “the first displaceable lock body.” Appropriate correction is required.
Claims 54-60 need similar amendments. Appropriate correction is required.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 112
Claim 53-72 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 112(b) or 35 U.S.C. 112 (pre-AIA ), second paragraph, as being indefinite for failing to particularly point out and distinctly claim the subject matter which the inventor or a joint inventor (or for applications subject to pre-AIA 35 U.S.C. 112, the applicant), regards as the invention.
Claim 59 recites “the lock body” in line 2. It is not clear whether the “lock body” refers which lock body, the first lock body or the second lock body. Appropriate correction is required.
Claim 53 recites the limitation "“the first lock body” in paragraphs 3 and 4. There is insufficient antecedent basis for this limitation in the claim. Appropriate correction is required.
Claims 54-60 recite the limitation "“the first lock body.” There is insufficient antecedent basis for this limitation in the claim. Appropriate correction is required.
Claim 60 recites “the latch” in line 5. There is insufficient antecedent basis for this limitation in the claim. Appropriate correction is required.
Claim(s) that depend(s) from the rejected claim(s), that is, claim(s) 61-72 is/are rejected.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 102
Claim(s) 53-54 and 56-71 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 102 (a) (1) as being anticipated by Cetnar (US Pub. App. 2007-0210588).
For claim 53, Cetnar discloses, in Figures 1-8, a latch mechanism (10) comprising a latch body (116, 20; Figure 1A and 3) and a lock mechanism comprising a first displaceable lock body (18), the lock mechanism defining a lock opening (54, Figure 3) and being configurable in one of
an unlocked configuration, in which the lock opening is open allowing a portion of the latch body (116) to be displaceable thereinto to cause the latch body (20) to unlatch from a catch formation (In the unlocked configuration, the hook 18 releases the striker from the catch formation state, and the portion of the latch body 116 does not inhibit the lock opening. Para. [0025-0026], Figure 4.); and
a locked configuration, in which the first lock body (18) is displaced at least partially into the lock opening, thereby inhibiting the portion of the latch body (20) from being displaced into the lock opening (In the locked configuration, the hook 18 engages the striker. Para. [0025-0026]. Figures 2 and 4.),
the latch mechanism further comprising an automated actuating mechanism for displacing the first lock body (Key fob 212 actuates release mechanism 220. Para. [0031].)
For claim 54, Cetnar discloses the latch mechanism according to claim 53, wherein the automated actuating mechanism comprises an electronic actuating mechanism (220) comprising an electric motor (98) associated with a gear arrangement (34), the gear arrangement configured to displace the first lock body (Para. [0031].)
For claim 56, Cetnar discloses the latch mechanism according to claim 53, wherein the automated actuating mechanism (220) is received within a housing which is fixed to a main body of the latch mechanism and wherein the first lock body or a drive body associated with the first lock body extends at least partially through an opening in the main body of the latch mechanism (Figure 5. Para. [0017].)
For claim 57, Cetnar discloses the latch mechanism according to claim 56, wherein the first lock body or the drive body is supported by a support ring (66) which extends from the housing (Figure 3), and wherein the support ring comprises a limiting formation, provided for interacting with a complementary shoulder or stopper formation on the first lock body or drive body, for limiting a range of permissible displacement of the first lock body (Figure 3.)
For claim 58, Cetnar discloses the latch mechanism according to claim 54, further comprising a control unit operatively connected to a power source and including a receiving means in the form of a radio receiver, configured for receiving a signal from a command module, wherein the signal is selected from a group comprising: a radio frequency (RE) signal, an RFID signal, a WIFl signal, a Bluetooth signal, and an IoT and wherein the control unit is configured for causing the electric motor to actuate the first lock body based on a command received from the command module (Fob sends signal to electronic controller 210. Para. [0020].)
For claim 59, Cetnar discloses the latch mechanism according to claim 53, comprising a second lock body (70) which is displaceable independently relative to the first lock body (18) and wherein, when the lock body is configured in the locked configuration, at least one of the first and second lock bodies is displaced at least partially into the lock opening (Figure 2A.)
For claim 60, Cetnar disclose the latch mechanism according to claim 59, wherein the first and second lock bodies (18, 70) are pivotably displaceable relative to each other about an axis of rotation the first lock body is pivotably supported relative to a main body of the latch mechanism; the second lock body is pivotably supported by a handle portion of the latch; and the second lock body is configured to be actuated by external means in the form of a key which is turned to displace the second lock body between active and inactive configurations (Para. [0034].)
For claim 61, Cetnar discloses the latch mechanism according to claim 59, wherein each of the first and second lock bodies has a cross-sectional shape of one of a ring segment and pin (63 and 57 have circular cross-section. Figure 1A.)
For claim 62, Cetnar discloses the latch mechanism according to claim 59, wherein each of the first and second lock bodies (18, 70) is displaceable between an active and inactive configuration (Figures 3-4) and wherein, when the first and second lock bodies are configured in their respective inactive configurations, the first and second lock bodies are located proximate each other in adjoining fashion, without physical interference between the first and second lock bodies, while defining between them, the open lock opening (Figures 4)
For claim 63, Cetnar discloses the latch mechanism according to claim 53, taking the form of a pressure plate latch mechanism or pressure lever lock or latch mechanism, wherein the latch mechanism comprises a main body with which the catch formation is associated; handle body associated with a main latch formation and a latch surface, the handle body pivotably fixed relative to the main body between a first configuration which is towards the main body and a second configuration which is away from the main body the handle body biased towards the second configuration, wherein the latch mechanism is configurable in a latched configuration in which the latch surface latches onto the catch formation, and an unlatched configuration, in which the latch surface does not catch onto the catch formation (Latch mechanism can be locked or unlocked via a pressure sensitive switch 216. Abstract. Para. [0021 and 0027].)
For claim 64, Cetnar discloses the latch mechanism according to claim 53, wherein the catch formation is formed on a catch body (56) which is displaceable relative to a main body (46) of the latch mechanism between an operative and inoperative position, and wherein the catch body is biased towards the operative position (Para. [0027].)
For claim 65, Cetnar discloses the latch mechanism according to claim 64, wherein the catch body comprises an extension which extends through an opening in the main body and defines a handle portion (222, Figure 8), facilitating manual displacement of the catch body towards the inoperative position (Para. [0021].)
For claim 66, Cetnar discloses the latch mechanism according to claim 64, wherein the catch body (56) is one of: pivotably displaceable relative to the main body (Main body 63. Figure 3.); axially displaceable relative to the main body; sideways-slidably displaceable relative to the main body; and rotatably displaceable relative to the main body Figure 3.)
For claim 67, Cetnar discloses the latch mechanism according to claim 64, further comprising an automated actuating mechanism (motor 30, Figure 5) provided for displacing the catch body between the operative and inoperative positions (Para. [0017] and [0032].)
For claim 68, Cetnar discloses the latch mechanism according to claim 53, further comprising a displaceable actuating lever (safety backup arm 158, Figure 1B) extending from a rear side of the latch mechanism and which interacts with the latch body (116), with which the latch body may be displaced to unlatch from the catch formation (Para. [0042].)
For claim 69, Cetnar discloses the latch mechanism according to claim 59, wherein one of the first and second lock bodies (78 of 18 and 80 of 70) is axially displaceable between an extended and retracted position, and wherein the relevant one of the first and second lock bodies is biased towards the extended position (Figure 3.)
For claim 70, Cetnar discloses the latch mechanism according to claim 69, wherein the relevant one of the first and second lock bodies comprises a lock pin (63, Figures 2A, 3) which is supported by a lock body support collar (Annular portion of 63 that supported in hole 64 defines the support collar.)
For claim 71, Cetnar discloses a structure defining an internal volume, the structure including at least one door which is provided with one or more latch mechanisms in accordance with claim53, and wherein the structure comprises one of: a canopy; a container; a trailer: a caravan; a camper; a car top carrier; a luggage box; a motor bike top boxes or pannier; a cubbyhole; a glove box; a cupboard; a service hatch; an access door; a toolbox; a security door; a flatbed tray; a gullwing door; a drawer; a safe; a safety deposit box; a slider; a load-bay cover of a pick-up truck; a roller door; a shutter or roller shutter a luggage compartment; and a door and/or window of a dwelling (The structure is used in door with controller and pressure sensitive switch on the outside handle of an automotive door. Abstract. Para. [0003].)
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claim(s) 55 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Cetnar (US Pub. App. 2007-0210588) in view of Ginsburg (US Patent No. 3,527,268).
For claim 55, Cetnar discloses the latch mechanism according to claim 54,
But does not disclose wherein: the gear arrangement has a gear ratio selected to ensure a sufficient amount of torque is exerted on the first lock body to pivotably displace same between active and inactive configurations (18 and 20 are rotated during locking and unlocking, para. [0025-0027]. Hence, there must be sufficient torque to operate the locking system.)
Cetnar does not disclose the gear ratio is between 1:40 and 1:100; and the gear arrangement comprises one of a bevel gear arrangement, spur gear arrangement, worm gear arrangement, spur and crown arrangement, rack and pinion arrangements and a multistage gear arrangement.
Ginsburg teaches a lock assembly with a worm gear (Col.16, L59), bevel gear (Col.18, L32), and the gear ratio can be adjusted depending upon the need (Col.18, L32-35). Ginsburg teaches a method of gear arrangement to select the gear ratio to depending upon the need. It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to modify Cetnar with a gear arrangement to have desired gear ratio (including between 1:40 and 1:100), as taught by Ginsburg with a reasonable expectation of success of providing a gear arrangement with gear ratio between 1:40 and 1:100 depending on the need of the environment.
Claim(s) 72 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Cetnar (US Pub. App. 2007-0210588) in view of Tran (US Pub. App. 2007-0290793).
For claim 72, Cetnar discloses the structure according to claim 71, further comprising a control unit for controlling automated actuating mechanisms of the one or more latch mechanism; at least a first sensor device provided in communication with the control unit, wherein the control unit is associated with a siren or alarm module and wherein the first sensor device is selected from a list comprising: a motion detector device; a smoke detector device; a temperature sensing device; a sound detector device; a door or window proximity sensor; and a light sensor (Controller 210. Abstract. Figure 8.)
Tran teaches mesh network door lock with at least a sensor provided in communication with the control unit, wherein the control unit is associated with a siren or alarm module and wherein the first sensor device is selected from a list comprising a motion detector device.; a smoke detector device; a temperature sensing device; a sound detector device; a door or window proximity sensor; and a light sensor (the network nodes can be mesh network appliances to provide voice communications, home security, door access control, lighting control, power outlet control, dimmer control, switch control, temperature control, humidity control, carbon monoxide control, and fire alarm control. Para. [0026].) Tran teaches a method of automatic control of the lock operation efficiently and remotely. It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to modify Cetnar to have at least a first sensor device provided in communication with the control unit, wherein the control unit is associated with a siren or alarm module and wherein the first sensor device is selected from a list comprising: a motion detector device; a smoke detector device; a temperature sensing device; a sound detector device; a door or window proximity sensor; and a light sensor, as taught by Tran with a reasonable expectation of success of having an automatic control of the lock operation efficiently and remotely.
Conclusion
Prior art made of record and not relied upon is considered pertinent to applicant's disclosure and provides examples of similar inventions. There are no suggestions in the prior art of record for combining any of the references to arrive at as claimed. A few of the prior art cited but not applied includes Mills (US 5,632,702); House (US 8,499,495); and Kleefeldt (US 4,440,006).
/NATHAN CUMAR/Primary Examiner, Art Unit 3675