Information Disclosure Statement
The information disclosure statements (IDS) submitted on 12/03/2024 and 12/22/2025 have been considered and are in compliance with the provisions of 37 CFR 1.97.
Claim Interpretation
This application includes one or more claim limitations that do not use the word “means,” but are nonetheless being interpreted under 35 U.S.C. 112(f) or pre-AIA 35 U.S.C. 112, sixth paragraph, because the claim limitation(s) uses a generic placeholder that is coupled with functional language without reciting sufficient structure to perform the recited function and the generic placeholder is not preceded by a structural modifier. Such claim limitation(s) is/are: “first receiving unit”, “second receiving unit”, and “determination unit” in claim 1, “notification unit” in claim 2, and “identification unit” in claim 3.
Regarding claim 1, the first and second receiving units have structure support found in the specification in Para. [0014] as a “communication unit”, with such communication unit as nothing more than “hardware” for controlling “transmission and reception of data”, as seen in Para. [0028]. Furthermore claim 1 discloses “determination unit” which has supporting structure in the specification in Para. [0031] with the determination unit being described as “the monitoring device functions as…a determination unit”, with the monitoring device amounting to no more than “a sever device”, see Para. [0028], or a “computer device”, see Para. [0007].
Regarding Claim 2, the notification unit has structure support in the specification found in Para. [0029], where the application discusses a notification screen created by the notification screen creation unit. While the exact phrase “notification unit” is not found within the specification, the examiner will interpret the notification unit and notification screen unit to be analogous for purposes of examination. Furthermore, structure of the notification screen creation unit is found in Para. [0031], where the monitoring device is disclosed as a functioning notification screen creation unit.
Regarding Claim 3, the identification unit has no structure support in the specification. At best the application discusses the identifying of a product to be produced, which amounts to no more than a code or robot name for identifying the target product. Furthermore, the specification provides no support as to which part of the monitoring device and system which performs the identification of the product target. Therefore the examiner interprets identification unit as no more than a software or program step and is not interpreted to have any hardware structure.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 102
Claims 1-5 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 102(a)(2) as being anticipated by Ozawa et al. (US 2023/0305528; hereinafter Ozawa).
Regarding Claim 1:
Ozawa discloses a monitoring device comprising: a first receiving unit configured to receive, in accordance with a production program for causing a robot to execute a predetermined production operation (Ozawa, Para. [0089], Ozawa discloses a transmission/reception unit for receiving execution information for the robotic apparatus production), an execution history record including a start date and time and an end date and time of the production operation from a robot control device configured to control the robot (Ozawa, Para. [0089], [0171], Ozawa discloses the transmission unit communicates the execution schedule and operations for the current operation and previous executions of the programmed operation);
a second receiving unit configured to receive a change history record including a date and time when the production program or a variable was manually changed from the robot control device (Ozawa, Para. [0110-0114], Ozawa discloses parameters of the execution operation may be changed dependent on the target product, with such changes in production being communicated by the transmission or reception unit or communication device of the user, see at least Fig. 1); and
a determination unit configured to determine whether or not a time at which the production program or the variable was manually changed is during the production operation by comparing the change history record with the execution history record (Ozawa, Para. [0110], [0177-0179], Ozawa discloses a template execution procedure generation unit which selects a parameter which is determined to be changed, and determines if the change in the execution schedule is to occur during the current operation or a subsequent operation).
Regarding Claim 2:
Ozawa discloses the monitoring device according to claim 1.
Ozawa further discloses a notification unit configured to notify a user that the production program or the variable was manually changed during the production operation of the robot (Ozawa, Para. [0398], Ozawa discloses notifying the user through a display unit that the execution schedule is changed and whether the change in execution schedule or operations was successful).
Regarding Claim 3:
Ozawa discloses the monitoring device according to claim 1.
Ozawa further discloses wherein the execution history record includes production target information for individually identifying a production target, and the monitoring device further comprises: an identification unit configured to identify a production target when the change was made during the production operation of the robot, based on the production target information (Ozawa, Para. [0182-0186], Ozawa discloses the arithmetic processing unit and the continuous determination unit are configured to determine the changes in execution schedule, incorporate the new variables, and generate a new execution schedule based on the production target).
Regarding Claim 4:
Ozawa discloses the monitoring device according to claim 1.
Ozawa further discloses wherein the production operation includes a plurality of processes, the first receiving unit receives from the robot control device an execution history record including a start date and time and an end date and time of each of the processes together with the start date and time and the end date and time of the production operation (Ozawa, Para. [0089], [0171], Ozawa discloses the transmission unit communicates the execution schedule and operations for the current operation and previous executions of the programmed operation), and
the determination unit identifies one process in which the production program or the variable was manually changed out of the plurality of processes constituting the production operation by comparing the change history record with the execution history record (Ozawa, Para. [0110], [0177-0179], Ozawa discloses a template execution procedure generation unit which selects a parameter which is determined to be changed, and determines if the change in the execution schedule is to occur during the current operation or a subsequent operation).
Regarding Claim 5:
The claim recites analogous limitations to claim 1 above, and is therefore rejected on the same premise.
Conclusion
The prior art made of record and not relied upon is considered pertinent to applicant's disclosure.
Foreman et al. (USP 11,944,105) – discloses a robot and robotic system for performing production operations for a target product, with improvements to the operations being incorporated as supervised learning.
/Z.J.W./Examiner, Art Unit 3656
/WADE MILES/Supervisory Patent Examiner, Art Unit 3656