DETAILED ACTION
Election/Restrictions
Claims 1-10, 15 and 17 are withdrawn from further consideration pursuant to 37 CFR 1.142(b) as being drawn to a nonelected invention, there being no allowable generic or linking claim. Election was made without traverse in the reply filed on 7/14/26.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 112
Claims 11-14 and 18 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 112(b) or 35 U.S.C. 112 (pre-AIA ), second paragraph, as being indefinite for failing to particularly point out and distinctly claim the subject matter which the inventor or a joint inventor (or for applications subject to pre-AIA 35 U.S.C. 112, the applicant), regards as the invention.
Claim 11 recites “the direction of the convex” and “the ends of the opposing” which lack antecedent basis. Claims 12-14 and 18 are rejected for depending from claim 11.
Claim 13 recites “the middle” lacking antecedent basis.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 102
Claim(s) 11 and 12 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 102(a)(1) as being anticipated by U.S. Patent No. 4,112,639 to Zimmermann.
Regarding claim 11, Zimmermann discloses silo panels being arced and with convex outer surface (fig. 2) with arc in one direction (as seen in fig. 2) and straight in a second direction (vertical as seen in fig. 1: 31, 32) and with panel bodies forming a cylinder shape of the silo, a circumferential flange (33, 34, 35, 36) around the periphery of the panel with arced top and bottom and straight opposite side sections.
Regarding claim 12, Zimmermann discloses a clamp (15) and engagement element (12).
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claim(s) 13, 14 and 18 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over U.S. Patent No. 4,112,639 to Zimmermann.
Regarding claim 13, Zimmermann does not disclose the clamp at a middle of the first angular direction. It would have been obvious to one having ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to modify Zimmerman by having the clamp at a middle since the positioning of the clamp may be construed as between two panels, of a plurality, which would constitute a middle section of two panels. Also, the placement in a middle position would have been an obvious design choice for further reinforcement.
Regarding claims 14 and 18, Zimmermann discloses the basic claim structure of the instant application but does not disclose specific dimensions. Applicant fails to show criticality for specifically claimed dimensions, therefore it would have been an obvious design choice to one having ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to modify Zimmermann to use the dimensions such as specified in these claims depending upon the strength needed for the clamp.
Conclusion
/BASIL S KATCHEVES/Primary Examiner, Art Unit 3633