Election/Restrictions
Applicant's election with traverse of Group I (claims 1-11) in the reply filed on 8/7/2026 is acknowledged. Claims 12-15 are withdrawn. The traversal is on the ground(s) that the reference Rimondi does not teach the special technical feature of per-batch determination of curing time used to control the immediate curing step as claimed. This is not found persuasive because Rimondi discloses, (for example) in Fig. 8, a system 63 for optimizing cure of a given compound 65 (col. 11, lines 10-11). Press 24 includes a plurality of temperature sensors 68, 70, 72, and 74 any one or more of which may be used to empirically determine a temperature-time profile 76 of curing process 67 (col. 11, lines 37-40). Here, the temperature-time profile of the curing process will include the determination of curing time when the process is used (in step 82) after completing the optimization (in step 80) (as shown in Fig. 8).
Thus, the prior art teaches the shared technical feature meaning that it is not a special technical feature and the claims lack unity of invention a posteriori.
The requirement is still deemed proper and is therefore made FINAL.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 112
Claims 1-11 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 112(b) or 35 U.S.C. 112 (pre-AIA ), second paragraph, as being indefinite for failing to particularly point out and distinctly claim the subject matter which the inventor or a joint inventor, or for pre-AIA the applicant regards as the invention.
Claim 1 recites the limitations "the time required for" in line 6. There is insufficient antecedent basis for these limitations in the claim. It is unclear which or where the item is pointed out. The claim 1 is indefinite.
Claims 2-11 depended on claim 1 are rejected as well.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 102
Claims 1-6, 10 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 102(a) (1) as being anticipated by Rimondi et al. (US 5,784,283).
Regarding claims 1, 10, Rimondi discloses that, as illustrated in Figs. 8, 11, a method to produce parts by shaping and curing a raw material comprising the steps (ABSTRACT):
a batch of raw material is produced (e.g., given compound 65 in Fig. 8 (col. 11, lines 10-14; col. 10, lines 8-9 (i.e., batch to batch)));
at least one cure property of the raw material of a sample is determined (i.e., a temperature-time profile 76 of curing process 67 (col. 11, lines 37-40); here, the temperature is considered as one cure property with the required time));
shaping the raw material (as shown in Fig. 11; col. 12, lines 9-19);
a time required for the shaped raw material to cure is determined taking into account the at least one cure property (e.g., as shown in Fig. 8, if cure is optimized, then system 63 ends at 82 and process 67 may be used to optimize cure for given compound 65 (col. 11, 59-60); i.e., the required time in the temperature-time profile 76 is determined after the completion of optimization);
curing of the shaped raw material until the determined time has elapsed (i.e., in the step 81, the required time in the temperature-time profile 76 is used for shaping the selected compound; it is also noticed that, as the time approaching the required time, the different temperatures will reach the final curing temperature (related to claim 10)).
Regarding claim 2, Rimondi discloses that, as illustrated in Figs. 8, 11, the shaped raw material is heated to cure the shaped raw material (col. 11, lines 15-21) and the supply of heat is stopped when the determined time has elapsed (col. 12, lines 9-19 (i.e., when the required time following the selected temperature-time profile 76 is reached, heating will be stopped)).
Regarding claim 3, Rimondi discloses that, as illustrated in Fig. 11, the raw material is brought into a mold (item 26 (including upper and lower mold halves 38, 40) in Fig. 11) and the shaped raw material (e.g., item 21 in Fig. 11 (col. 11, lines 19-21)) is cured by heating the mold (col. 11, lines 28-36).
Regarding claim 4, Rimondi discloses that, as illustrated in Fig. 11, an “optimized cure” provides the most complete cure with the lowest cure time and/or energy input, providing a tool to use plant facilities as economically as possible to produce high quality rubber products (col. 12, lines 42-46). Thus, Rimondi discloses that, a finished part, such as tire(s) (as shown in Fig. 11), is removed from the mold as soon as the determined time has elapsed.
Regarding claims 5, 6, Rimondi discloses that, as illustrated in Figs. 8, 11, a processing unit which shapes the raw material and cures the shaped raw material includes a computer (col. 12, lines 20-39), which determines the time required for curing by calculation (i.e., in step 80 for optimization). It is noticed that, as illustrated in Fig. 8, when the database 62 grows, the best second guess is also likely to become more accurate (col. 12, 37-38). Thus, when the optimization is finalized, the final temperature-time profile will be stored in the database for operator using (col. 12, lines 31-39) (related to claim 6).
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claims 7-9, 11 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Rimondi et al. (US 5,784m283) as applied to claim 1 above, further in view of Rodrigues et al. (US 2022/0152886).
Regarding claims 7, 11, Rimondi derives, as illustrated in Fig. 8, an optimized curing process for a given compound including use of the database (col. 5, lines 20-22). Thus, Rimondi has to identify the given compound for a later usage through the database. However, Rimondi does not explicitly disclose how to identify the compound (i.e., the batch of raw material) with a code reader.
In the same field of endeavor, casting of polymers, Rodrigues discloses that, it is preferred that a package of the raw material is equipped with a code like a barcode or a QR-code and that the scanner reads the code. It is very preferred that the electronic device (7) is a mobile electronic device comprising the scanner (i.e., a code reader) (Fig.; [0029], lines 12-17). The system comprises an electronic device 7 which might be a smartphone ([0039], lines 1-2) (related to claim 11). Rodrigues discloses that, the sever 11 according to this embodiment is remote to the electronic device 7 and might comprise a data base as well as a processing unit ([0038], lines 1-3 from bottom). Thus, the smartphone as the electronic device should, preferably, be connected with the server via wire-less connection ([0040], line 3 from bottom) (related to claim 11).
It would have been obvious to use the method of Rimondi to have the batch of raw material as Rodrigues teaches that it is known to have the smartphone to read the code on the package of the raw materials for identification and communicate wirelessly with the data base in the sever. It has been held that the combination of known technique to improve similar method is likely to be obvious when it does not more than yield predictable results to one of ordinary skill in the art. KSR Int’l Co. v. Teleflex Inc., 82 USPQ2d 1385 (2007) (See MPEP 2143- exemplary rationales).
Regarding claims 8, 9, Rimondi derives, as illustrated in Fig. 8, an optimized curing process for a given compound including use of the database (col. 5, lines 20-22). Thus, Rimondi has to identify the given compound for a later usage of curing through the database. However, Rimondi does not explicitly disclose how to identify the compound (i.e., the batch of raw material) by using a cell phone.
In the same field of endeavor, casting of polymers, Rodrigues discloses that, it is preferred that a package of the raw material is equipped with a code like a barcode or a QR-code and that the scanner reads the code. It is very preferred that the electronic device (7) is a mobile electronic device comprising the scanner (i.e., a code reader) (Fig.; [0029], lines 12-17). The system comprises an electronic device 7 which might be a smartphone ([0039], lines 1-2) (related to claim 9). Rodrigues discloses that, the sever 11 according to this embodiment is remote to the electronic device 7 and might comprise a data base as well as a processing unit ([0038], lines 1-3 from bottom).
It would have been obvious to use the method of Rimondi to have the batch of raw material as Rodrigues teaches that it is known to have the smartphone to read the code on the package of the raw materials for identification. It has been held that the combination of known technique to improve similar method is likely to be obvious when it does not more than yield predictable results to one of ordinary skill in the art. KSR Int’l Co. v. Teleflex Inc., 82 USPQ2d 1385 (2007) (See MPEP 2143- exemplary rationales).
Conclusion
/SHIBIN LIANG/Examiner, Art Unit 1741
/ALISON L HINDENLANG/Supervisory Patent Examiner, Art Unit 1741