DETAILED ACTION
Claims 1-10 are pending in the application.
Claim Objections
Claim 5 recites two “decoder”. For the purpose of prior art rejection, Examiner considers the first decoder an “encoder”. Claim 10 has similar issue.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 102
Claim(s) 1-10 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 102(a)(1) as being anticipated by Chen et al. (Chen YT, Yang EH, Chang WL, Lin J, Cheng HC, Huang CR. Mask focal modulation network for gastric intestinal metaplasia segmentation. In 2024 International Joint Conference on Neural Networks (IJCNN) 2024 Jun 30 (pp. 1-8). IEEE. Hereafter Chen).
As per claim 1, Chen teaches an analyzing method for gastric endoscopic image utilizing image segmentation technology (Abstract), the analyzing method adapted to a computer system (page 5 right column 4th line “a GTX 3080 GPU”) and comprising:
obtaining a gastric endoscopic image and cutting the gastric endoscopic image into a plurality of patches (Fig. 1 “Image” with dimension HXWX3 being input image; Abstract “gastric IM segmentation from endoscopic images”; Fig. 1 “patch partition”);
inputting one of the patches into an encoder to obtain an encoded feature map (Fig. 1 “Encoder”; page 3 right col. B. Encoder Module “The encoder has four stages. The width and height of the feature maps are divided by 2 and the number of channels is doubled in each stage as shown in Fig. 1”);
inputting the encoded feature map into a decoder to obtain a decoded feature map (Fig. 1 “Pixel Decoder”; page 3 right col. C. Pixel Decoder Module “The output f4 of the pixel decoder is the feature embedding of size 1/4 of the original resolution”);
inputting the decoded feature map into a mask focal modulation decoder, wherein the mask focal modulation decoder comprises a plurality of mask focal modulation stages (Fig. 1 showing 3 mask focal modulation stages; See below attached para. from page 3 right col. section D), and wherein one of the mask focal modulation stages is utilized to receive the decoded feature map and a first prototype feature (Fig. 1 the first stage receiving the decoded feature map and a first prototype feature “Prototypes NXC”);
inputting the first prototype feature into a focal modulation function to obtain a focal modulation feature (Fig. 2; page 4 eqn. (2)
is a focal modulation function applied to the first prototype feature);
inputting the decoded feature map into a scaling function then into a projection function to obtain a scaled feature (See below attached eqn. (2) and description from page 4 left col.;
representing applying a scaling function R(.) to decoded feature map fs, then applying projection function F(.));
;
generating a second prototype feature based on a mask, the scaled feature, and the focal modulation feature (See above attached para. from page 4 left col., in which MFM(pb,fs,mb) representing a second prototype feature, mb a binary mask,
the scaled function and
the focal modulation feature. See description in page 4 left col.); and
generating a prediction mask based on the second prototype feature, wherein the prediction mask comprises a plurality of pixels for segmenting a gastric intestinal metaplasia area (Fig. 1 “Predict Mask” with dimension HXWXK; Abstract “Gastric intestinal metaplasia (IM)”).
As per claim 2, dependent upon claim 1, Chen teaches wherein generating the prediction mask based on the second prototype feature comprises:
inputting the second prototype feature corresponding to a last stage among the mask focal modulation stages into a plurality of neural networks to obtain a mask feature and a category feature (See below Chen partial Fig. 1 (annotation added), in which second prototype feature from last stage with dimension NXC is input to neural networks MLP, generating a mask feature (“Mask Embeddings”) and a category feature (“Class Embeddings”));
performing element-wise multiplication on the mask feature and the decoded feature map to obtain a binarization mask (See below partial Fig. 1 first multiplication representing element-wise multiplication on the mask feature and the decoded feature map to obtain a binarization mask (“Binary Masks”)); and
performing element-wise multiplication on the binarization mask and the category feature to obtain the prediction mask (See below partial Fig. 1 second multiplication representing element-wise multiplication on the binarization mask and the category feature to obtain the prediction mask).
As per claim 3, dependent upon claim 1, Chen teaches wherein generating the second prototype feature based on the mask, the scaled feature, and the focal modulation feature comprises:
performing element-wise multiplication on the mask, the scaled feature, and the focal modulation feature to obtain the second prototype feature (page 4 eqn. (2), see below attached para.).
As per claim 4, dependent upon claim 1, Chen teaches wherein the mask comprises a plurality of values, and the analyzing method further comprises: determining whether each of the values of the mask is less than a threshold to generate a next stage mask (See below attached para. from page 4 left col.).
.
As per claim 5, dependent upon claim 1, Chen teaches wherein the
Claim 6, an independent system claim, recites steps corresponding to method claim 1. Therefore the recited steps of 6 are mapped to Chen in the same manner as corresponding steps in claim 1. Chen additionally teaches system elements, such as a memory and a processor (page 5 right column 4th line “a GTX 3080 GPU”).
Claim 7, dependent upon claim 6, recites similar steps corresponding to method claim 2. Therefore the recited steps of 7 are mapped to Chen in the same manner as corresponding steps in claim 2.
Claim 8, dependent upon claim 6, recites similar step corresponding to method claim 3. Therefore the recited step of 8 is mapped to Chen in the same manner as corresponding step in claim 3.
Claim 9, dependent upon claim 6, recites similar step corresponding to method claim 4. Therefore the recited step of 9 is mapped to Chen in the same manner as corresponding step in claim 4.
Claim 10, dependent upon claim 6, recites similar elements corresponding to method claim 5. Therefore the recited elements of 10 are mapped to Chen in the same manner as corresponding elements in claim 5.
Conclusion
Additional prior art Öztürk et al. (Öztürk Ş, Cukur T. Focal modulation network for lung segmentation in chest X-ray images. Turkish Journal of Electrical Engineering and Computer Sciences. 2023;31(6):1006-20) discloses a method for segmentation of lung regions using a focal modulation UNet model (FMN-UNet). The method includes receiving a high-resolution CXR image, projecting the input through a convolutional encoder stage to extract a relatively compact latent representation, processing encoded feature maps at the lowest and highest resolutions to capture both global and local contextual relationships between image features, and projecting feature maps through a convolutional decoder stage to produce segmentation masks. See Fig. 1, page 1008 2nd para., page 1009-1011 section 2.2. FMN-UNet.
Contact
/XUEMEI G CHEN/Primary Examiner, Art Unit 2661