DETAILED ACTION
Drawings
The drawings are objected to under 37 CFR 1.83(a). The drawings must show every feature of the invention specified in the claims. Therefore, the “opening part” must be shown or the feature(s) canceled from the claim(s). No new matter should be entered.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 112
Claims 4, 15, 16, 18, 24-26 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 112(b) or 35 U.S.C. 112 (pre-AIA ), second paragraph, as being indefinite for failing to particularly point out and distinctly claim the subject matter which the inventor or a joint inventor (or for applications subject to pre-AIA 35 U.S.C. 112, the applicant), regards as the invention.
Claim 4 recites: “wherein a change in the air pressure can be is generated by delivering additional air into the chamber and/or is coupled to the operation” – it is unclear how the change is “coupled” to the operation?
With regards to claim 15, there is insufficient antecedent basis for “the increase (in air pressure)”
Claim 24 recites: “wherein the pressure increase can be regarded as is a completed compression of a pellet” – it is unclear how a pressure increase is a completed compression.
With regards to claim 25, there is insufficient antecedent basis for “the housing side”
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 102
Claims 1, 2, 4, 6-8, 13-15, 18, 20, 23 and 24 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 102(a)(1) as being anticipated by Krauss (US Patent 6,154,943).
With regards to claim 1, Krauss discloses a hand tool comprising:
a chamber (21) in which an air volume with an air pressure is configured to be enclosed;
an actuator (handle 2);
a moving part (54); and,
an opening part (22 or 27) independent of the moving part,
wherein the actuator drives the moving part by a hydraulic medium configured to perform an intended operation [Column 6, lines 65+ - Column 7, lines 1-15],
wherein the moving part is configured to change the air pressure by delivering additional air into the chamber [Column 6, lines 65+ - Column 7, lines 1-15],
With regards to the following limitations: “wherein the air pressure is evaluated for identifying a state of the hand tool, and wherein the driving of the moving part is configured to be performed with or without making use of the pressure.” It is noted that absent any particular structure to perform the above functional limitations, under broadest reasonable interpretation, Krauss’s hand tool is considered to meet these limitations at least while the tool is in use i.e. under operation.
With regards to claim 2, Krauss discloses further comprising a pressure sensor (56) configured to measure the air pressure in the chamber, and a measured air pressure is evaluated for detecting the state of the hand tool. It is noted that absent any particular structure to perform the evaluation, under broadest reasonable interpretation, Krauss’s hand tool is considered to meet these limitations at least while the tool is in use i.e. under operation.
With regards to claim 4, Krauss is considered to meet the limitation “wherein a change in the air pressure can be is generated by delivering additional air into the chamber and/or is coupled to the operation” since absent any particular structure to perform the above functional limitation, under broadest reasonable interpretation, Krauss’s hand tool is considered to meet these limitations at least while the tool is in use i.e. under operation.
With regards to claim 6, Krauss discloses a hand tool comprising:
a chamber (cylinder 21) in which an air volume with an air pressure is configured to be enclosed;
an actuator (handle 2);
a moving part (plunger 54);
wherein the actuator drives the moving part by a hydraulic medium configured to perform an intended operation [Column 6, lines 65+ - Column 7, lines 1-15],
With regards to the following limitations: “wherein the air pressure is changed, and is evaluated for acquiring a state of the hand tool, and wherein the operation can be is performed independently of the air pressure that arises in the chamber” It is noted that absent any particular structure to perform the above functional limitations, under broadest reasonable interpretation, Krauss’s hand tool is considered to meet these limitations at least while the tool is in use i.e. under operation.
With regards to claim 7, Krauss discloses further comprising a pressure sensor (56) is provided, the pressure sensor being configured to measure the air pressure in the chamber, and a measured air pressure can be is evaluated for acquiring the state of the hand tool. It is noted that absent any particular structure to perform the evaluation, under broadest reasonable interpretation, Krauss’s hand tool is considered to meet these limitations at least while the tool is in use i.e. under operation.
With regards to claim 8, Krauss is considered to meet the limitation “wherein a change in the air pressure can be is generated by changing a size of the chamber and/or by changing a quantity in terms of a volume of air enclosed in the chamber and/or arises when the operation is triggered or performed” since absent any particular structure to perform the above functional limitation, under broadest reasonable interpretation, Krauss’s hand tool is considered to meet these limitations at least while the tool is in use i.e. under operation.
With regards to claim 13, Krauss discloses wherein the moving part (54) is a traversing part, which can be is traversed from a traversing start position into a traversing end position [Column 7, lines 5-10].
With regards to claim 14, Krauss discloses wherein a traversal of the traversing part (54) into the traversing end position is accompanied by a reduction of the volume of the chamber (18).
With regards to claim 15, Krauss discloses wherein the increase in air pressure is associated with an increase in a temperature of the air volume in the chamber (18) and/or wherein the air pressure increase provides a measure for a traversing path.
With regards to claim 18, Krauss discloses wherein the air pressure increase and the increase in temperature can be is regarded as a measure for the traversing path and absent any particular structure to perform the above functional limitation, under broadest reasonable interpretation, Krauss’s hand tool is considered to meet these limitations at least while the tool is in use i.e. under operation.
With regards to claim 20, Krauss discloses wherein the traversal of the traversing part (54) into the traversing end position makes it possible to raise the air pressure and/or wherein the increase in air pressure in the chamber can be regarded as is the traveling end position of the traversing part having been reached since absent any particular structure to perform the above functional limitation, under broadest reasonable interpretation, Krauss’s hand tool is considered to meet these limitations at least while the tool is in use i.e. under operation.
With regards to claim 23, Krauss discloses further comprising a working head has having a tool with a pressing contour (55), wherein the pressing contour (24) has an opening, as seen in Figure 1.
With regards to claim 24, as best understood, Krauss discloses wherein the pressure increase can be regarded as is a completed compression of a pellet since absent any particular structure to perform the above functional limitation, under broadest reasonable interpretation, Krauss’s hand tool is considered to meet these limitations at least while the tool is in use i.e. under operation.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claim 16 is rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Krauss in view of Rzasa et al. (hereafter “Rzasa”) (US 2017/0057040).
Krauss discloses the invention substantially as claimed except for wherein a temperature sensor is provided for measuring the increase in temperature. Rzasa is relied upon to teach a hand tool comprising a temperature sensor (126) is provided for measuring the increase in temperature. Therefore, it would have been obvious to one having ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to provide Krauss’ tool with a temperature sensor because combining prior art elements according to known methods to yield predictable results require only routine skill in the art. [KSR Int’l Co. v. Teleflex Inc., 127 S.Ct. 1727, 1742, 82 USPQ2d 1385, 1396 (2007)].
Claim 25 is rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Krauss in view of Frenken (US 2021/0339367).
Krauss discloses the invention substantially as claimed except for further comprising a connected accumulator, and that a pressure increase in the chamber is the presence of a properly connected accumulator undamaged on the housing side. Frenken is relied upon to teach a hand tool comprising a connected accumulator (10). Therefore, it would have been obvious to one having ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to provide Krauss’ tool with an accumulator because combining prior art elements according to known methods to yield predictable results require only routine skill in the art. [KSR Int’l Co. v. Teleflex Inc., 127 S.Ct. 1727, 1742, 82 USPQ2d 1385, 1396 (2007)].
Claim 26 is rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Krauss in view of Frenken and Rzasa.
The combination of Krauss and Frenken discloses the invention substantially as claimed except for wherein a movement of the gearbox is configured to increase the pressure in the chamber. Rzasa is relied upon to teach a hand tool with a gearbox (48). Therefore, it would have been obvious to one having ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to provide Krauss’ tool with a gearbox because combining prior art elements according to known methods to yield predictable results require only routine skill in the art. [KSR Int’l Co. v. Teleflex Inc., 127 S.Ct. 1727, 1742, 82 USPQ2d 1385, 1396 (2007)].
Allowable Subject Matter
Claims 3, 11-12 and 19 are objected to as being dependent upon a rejected base claim, but would be allowable if rewritten in independent form including all of the limitations of the base claim and any intervening claims.
Conclusion
The prior art made of record and not relied upon is considered pertinent to applicant's disclosure and further show the state of the art: US 2019/0232481.
/TERESA M EKIERT/Primary Examiner, Art Unit 3725